Rating:
5.9
Motörhead - The Wörld Is Yours
14 December 2010


01. Born To Lose
02. I Know How To Die
03. Get Back In Line
04. Devils In My Head
05. Rock 'N' Roll Music
06. Waiting For The Snake
07. Brotherhood Of Man
08. Outlaw
09. I Know What You Need
10. Bye Bye Bitch Bye Bye


Motörhead are the same as a lot of long running bands. Every year or two they release an album, you know you're going to be in for a nice treat when you listen to it, but above all, you know you're not in for any surprises. Though, unlike many of these old school acts, with Motörhead there's always fluctuation in quality from album to album, where it's almost created a pattern in itself. Let's take a look; Inferno was just pure brilliance, probably one of the best albums of Lemmy's career, then came Kiss Of Death - the quality slightly dipped, but still offered a lot. Then came Motorizer; it was OK, but also had too much filler to be up for any awards. Now, right on the 2 year schedule we have the newest offering - The World Is Yours. Sorry to say folks, but this has to be one of the most uninspired records the great 'Head has ever produced.

It's already been established that Motörhead have AC/DC syndrome - they write great rock n' roll songs, but lack variation, they just put out what they do best and play it safe. So how could they manage to fuck it up? Well, it finally appears that Lemmy is showing signs of being mortal, as this album just feels tired and worn out; as if it was written by a 64-year-old or something. The riffs are mid-paced and generic, the lyrics seem incredibly contrived and cliché, and the voice behind them sounds like it really couldn't give a shit anymore. It lacks the bite a Motörhead record needs. Hell, their albums from 1995-1998 (probably Motörhead's weakest era) had significantly more bite that this. Do you want a good idea of how boring this one is? Take the weakest tracks from Motorizer, then make an entire album of them. Scratch that, "Bye Bye Bitch Bye Bye" is the good ol' classic Motörhead we love. Aside from that single track, it looks like we'll have to wait another 2 years for the Motörhead cycle to run it's natural course back to something a little less forced and occupational sounding.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Motörhead
Album: The Wörld Is Yours


 



Written on 20.12.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 442  
Search this topic:  


Captain Obvious - 20.12.2010 at 15:53  
For the life of me, I really cannot understand why people have such high expectations for new albums by old bands. Let me use the example of death magnetic: many people were disappointed with that record, but that's because people were expecting it to be like MoP or RtL. Same thing goes for this new Motorhead album, I guarantee many people were expecting another Overkill or AoS, and if you are expecting that, then you're setting the bar way too fucking high and you're obviously going to be disappointed.

Nevertheless I do agree with the first couple of sentences in this review, some of these new albums, as good as they are, aren't really groundbreaking. But who cares? Many of these old bands have earned the right to do whatever the fuck they want, so if they want to stick to same-old-same-old (Maiden, Motorhead), or experiment with classical elements (Priest) or just make a hybrid of everything they've done before (Metallica), I say go for it.
Mr. Doctor - 20.12.2010 at 16:17  
Written by Captain Obvious on 20.12.2010 at 15:53

For the life of me, I really cannot understand why people have such high expectations for new albums by old bands. Let me use the example of death magnetic: many people were disappointed with that record, but that's because people were expecting it to be like MoP or RtL. Same thing goes for this new Motorhead album, I guarantee many people were expecting another Overkill or AoS, and if you are expecting that, then you're setting the bar way too fucking high and you're obviously going to be disappointed.

Nevertheless I do agree with the first couple of sentences in this review, some of these new albums, as good as they are, aren't really groundbreaking. But who cares? Many of these old bands have earned the right to do whatever the fuck they want, so if they want to stick to same-old-same-old (Maiden, Motorhead), or experiment with classical elements (Priest) or just make a hybrid of everything they've done before (Metallica), I say go for it.


From the review you can tell that Doc Glodin isn't expecting a masterpiece at all and also knows that Motörhead doesn't reinvent themselves either.... He's just writing about the songwritting being bad and that doesn't have anything to do with "sticking to same-old same-old"... If you're gonna repeat the same style your entire career, it better be damn good stuff. Motörhead isn't doing that, therefore the average/negative review.
Axe Argonian - 20.12.2010 at 16:32  
This is primarily the reason why I only listen to "Best of" compilations by old bands like Motörhead.
the stranger - 20.12.2010 at 17:23  
Written by Axe Argonian on 20.12.2010 at 16:32

This is primarily the reason why I only listen to "Best of" compilations by old bands like Motörhead.


I second that.
skrätte - 20.12.2010 at 20:01  
Written by Captain Obvious on 20.12.2010 at 15:53

For the life of me, I really cannot understand why people have such high expectations for new albums by old bands. Let me use the example of death magnetic: many people were disappointed with that record, but that's because people were expecting it to be like MoP or RtL. Same thing goes for this new Motorhead album, I guarantee many people were expecting another Overkill or AoS, and if you are expecting that, then you're setting the bar way too fucking high and you're obviously going to be disappointed.


Not to go too far off topic, but with regards to Death Magnetic.. I, personally, didn't know of anyone who thought it was going to be an album akin to Ride or Master. In fact, they (myself included) expected another piece of shit like St. Anger. The only thing that even slightly lifted my spirits was the fact that Rick Rubin stepped in to replace Bob "let me ruin your metal credibility" Rock.

That said, once I finally heard some tracks from Death Magnetic.. I was actually surprised. Maybe I had set the bar too low. While it's not the Metallica I grew to love, it is certainly not the Metallica I grew to despise. It sounds like a step in the right direction (backwards). To me, it sounds like what an album released between Justice and the Black Album might sound like. Hopefully, they'll continue down that vein (moving backwards).

As for this new Motorhead... I didn't hate it. Inferno is still my favorite Motorhead album since 1916 (the album, not the year). It's weird, though, because I was just thinking about The World Is Yours and making the Motorhead-AC/DC comparison. It's like, some of these older bands go into some kind of Heavy Metal Retirement Home. Revered as Patriarchs, looking down the hall at the end of their careers, knowing that they've already done their parts to shape the music... so there's no real need to push the envelope, anymore. They've gotten their thrones, their loyal fanbases, and plenty of mentions from younger bands who cite them as influences. They could quit, but why? Fuck it. They like playing, recording, touring.. only now they can just do it because they want to, not because they have to.
Marcus - 20.12.2010 at 20:25  
Bummer, from the album title I thought this might be a Scarface based concept album.
Maxx666 - 20.12.2010 at 20:56  
Written by the stranger on 20.12.2010 at 17:23

Written by Axe Argonian on 20.12.2010 at 16:32

This is primarily the reason why I only listen to "Best of" compilations by old bands like Motörhead.


I second that.


I third that
Mikyz - 20.12.2010 at 20:59  
I listened to this a couple of weeks ago, I wasn't impressed but I wasn't expecting to be either, so there was no real disappointment for me.
Angelic Storm - 20.12.2010 at 21:53  
I didnt like the album at first, but after a couple more listens, I liked it quite a bit more. Songs like "I Know How To Die" and "Get Back In Line", are really great Head' songs. "Outlaw" is a great song as well. xD "Bye Bye Bitch Bye Bye" is actually one of the worst songs on the album imo. I dont like it much. lol

I think Motorhead have recorded worse albums than this one, (Eg: "Sacrifice" and "Snake Bite Love") though it's not one of their best either. *shrugs*

Written by Marcus on 20.12.2010 at 20:25

Bummer, from the album title I thought this might be a Scarface based concept album.


I totally didnt think of that!
Lit. - 20.12.2010 at 22:56  
Written by Maxx666 on 20.12.2010 at 20:56

Written by the stranger on 20.12.2010 at 17:23

Written by Axe Argonian on 20.12.2010 at 16:32

This is primarily the reason why I only listen to "Best of" compilations by old bands like Motörhead.


I second that.


I third that


Best of's are pointless. If you really want the best of Motorhead, buy the big 3: Overkill, Bomber and Ace of Spades. From there it really doesn't develope much.
Enemy of Reality - 21.12.2010 at 01:15  
This is no classic album but it doesn't deserve a 5.9 either.
RavenKing - 21.12.2010 at 02:45  
Written by Captain Obvious on 20.12.2010 at 15:53

For the life of me, I really cannot understand why people have such high expectations for new albums by old bands. Let me use the example of death magnetic: many people were disappointed with that record, but that's because people were expecting it to be like MoP or RtL. Same thing goes for this new Motorhead album, I guarantee many people were expecting another Overkill or AoS, and if you are expecting that, then you're setting the bar way too fucking high and you're obviously going to be disappointed.


Doesn't it point out the exact problem with old metal bands?

I mean, if the way to enjoy their new material is to keep your expectations as low as possible, because you know in advance it will never be on par with their best stuff, it says a lot about the quality of this new material and the (ir)relevance of those bands in the current scene.

"Expect it to suck, so you won't be disappointed". Isn't it a depressive and sad mentality? I think so.


Truth is those old bands are (and have been for quite a time already) dead, when it comes to creativity, and can't do better than rehearsing the same thing over and over with poorer result each time. It is uninspired, soulless, boring as all hell.
I always thought there are two kinds of band on this issue:
1- Those who call their quit when it is time and retire in glory
2- Those who stay way past their time and become pathetic


@Doc Godin: I wish to congratulate you for being as down-to-earth in your review. I know you're a big Motorhead fan, yet it really sounds as you're saying things as you believe they are, not trying to hide anything. It's not so easy to do (criticizing something we like very much). And that's what I call honesty and integrity.
O Sinistron - 21.12.2010 at 07:53  
Motörhead is my favourite band aside Rush. And one is completely different from the other.
I used to say "Rush is always inovating, without losing their essence. While Motörhead always plays the same without getting previsible!"
Well... just the first sentence still true nowadays. Nevertheless I still love Motörhead!
But I Don't expect too much. I hope that some day they bring us an happy surprise such as Inferno, their best 2000 decade album, and certainly one of their best career album too!
Written by Doc Godin on 20.12.2010 at 00:00
...it looks like we'll have to wait another 2 years for the Motörhead cycle to run it's natural course back to something a little less forced and occupational sounding.

Really...this is so fucking true. They have their "right on schedule" albums since 1996. Just look:
1996 - Overnight Sensation
1998 - Snake Bite Love
2000 - We Are Motorhead
2002 - Hammered
2004 - Inferno
2006 - Kiss Of Death
2008 - Motörizer
2010 - The Wörld Is Yours

PS: As previsible, occupational and unispired as this last album is, it worths more then 5.9 as rate.
Although Great Review Doc Godin
Written by RavenKing on 21.12.2010 at 02:45
@Doc Godin: I wish to congratulate you for being as down-to-earth in your review. I know you're a big Motorhead fan, yet it really sounds as you're saying things as you believe they are, not trying to hide anything. It's not so easy to do (criticizing something we like very much). And that's what I call honesty and integrity.

I second that.
JohnDoe - 21.12.2010 at 15:36  
Doc is right this time, the album lacks bite unfortunately.
Death To Posers - 22.12.2010 at 02:46  
Dude, I loved this album.. There were some pretty sick tracks on this shit.
Kooldip - 24.12.2010 at 08:04  
5.9 eh? well fair enough but i think it deserves a higher rating. i enjoyed this one much more than motorizer
Ph0eNiX - 24.12.2010 at 09:51  
I dunno I liek the tracks a bit better on this album a bit better than on most of the albums motorhead put out this decade. Feels like they were playing older with the way they've been writing music for the last 10yrs. Granted, the lyrics aren't overly amazing but they're not weirdly vague either. THis is a good follow up to motorizer. I think this is one of the better albums put out since snakebite love. This isn't Bastards or Another Perfect Day by any means but it's pretty solid for what motorhead has been doing.

I think this album did have more bite than Hammered, Inferno, Snake Bite Love, and Kiss of Death. I see what the main review is saying and I get it but I dunno if I can agree.
Doc Godin - 24.12.2010 at 10:01  
Written by Ph0eNiX on 24.12.2010 at 09:51

I think this album did have more bite than Hammered, Inferno, Snake Bite Love, and Kiss of Death. I see what the main review is saying and I get it but I dunno if I can agree.

More bite than Inferno? Seriously? Inferno was one of the best of their career, probably their best since Ace of Spades. It was varied while still keeping the Motorhead stamp. They played at more than just 2 tempos, and the riffs were actually distinguishable from one another, which is far more than I can say about this one. I'd argue the same for Kiss Of Death, but there was a few fillers on that one, so whatever. Inferno was sharp and aggressive, this just sounds like half-assed blues rock with heavy production. Granted, each song usually starts off with a pretty decent riff, but they fail to do anything with it past that. Inferno covered all bases with supremely well written songs that came to some sort of climax.
Angelic Storm - 24.12.2010 at 14:08  
I think the latest has less bite than any of those albums other than "Snake Bite Love". Which along with "Sacrifice", I see as being Motorhead's weakest album. Although the latter album's title track, and "Out Of The Sun" from the same album, is better than anything on the latest. "Inferno" is a great album. In fact I think only "Overkill", "Bomber", and "1916" (and maybe also "Orgasmatron") are better than it in Motorhead's catalogue. ("I've always thought "Ace Of Spades" was a bit overrated lol) "Kiss Of Death" is pretty patchy, but some of the songs are equally as great as "Inferno"'s songs.

I like the new album more than Doc, certainly. But I still see it as one of the band's weakest albums. Half of the album for me, is throwaway filler. The songs I mentioned in my earlier post though, I think are great. xD
RavenKing - 24.12.2010 at 17:47  
Written by Angelic Storm on 24.12.2010 at 14:08
Half of the album for me, is throwaway filler.


For me, an album like that sucks and is not enjoyable. From my point of view, if I have to search the garbage pile to find a few decent songs, the album doesn't worth the trouble.
I never buy albums I find only average or half-decent. I think it's better to focus on something more interesting and ignore mediocrity, otherwise I would get bored and I would hate the current metal scene even more than I do now.
Ph0eNiX - 25.12.2010 at 03:26  
Written by Doc Godin on 24.12.2010 at 10:01

Written by Ph0eNiX on 24.12.2010 at 09:51

I think this album did have more bite than Hammered, Inferno, Snake Bite Love, and Kiss of Death. I see what the main review is saying and I get it but I dunno if I can agree.

More bite than Inferno? Seriously? Inferno was one of the best of their career, probably their best since Ace of Spades. It was varied while still keeping the Motorhead stamp. They played at more than just 2 tempos, and the riffs were actually distinguishable from one another, which is far more than I can say about this one. I'd argue the same for Kiss Of Death, but there was a few fillers on that one, so whatever. Inferno was sharp and aggressive, this just sounds like half-assed blues rock with heavy production. Granted, each song usually starts off with a pretty decent riff, but they fail to do anything with it past that. Inferno covered all bases with supremely well written songs that came to some sort of climax.


Maybe we like different things about motorhead? For me I thought the career "Wow!!!" was "Bastards". Like when I span it all and listen thru it all (I started listening to motorhead at "march or die" and quickly went back) it all stays pretty "Shit, it's motorhead" even though it had already seen a few changes (Not trying to point out band member line ups). Inferno's a good album but it also sorta sparks up what overnight sensation was sorta doing. Motorhead sorta made their sound a bit more "theatrical for motorhead". Granted it's still brash and you still got the general mode for writing that motorhead has going on. At the same time you start to see the "dream state" sound in their song writing show out a bunch. (Example: When they wrote the songs/title tracks "Orgasmotron", "1916", or "March or Die" , that's what I mean by "dream state" songs. It's not like the older stuff from pre 1916 album at all. Aside from upping their studio production work you also see the band make certain writing changes.) They used to be more "broodishly bluesey" with their form not so much into production effects and mic effects. I think in a lot of ways the additions kept motorhead going well and in others sorta took motorhead to a sort of "cyclical pattern" with their writing. You start to see old lyrics being thrown into the newer songs or certain phrases becoming song titles.

Lemmy has done something cool though... he now has song titles for his "Born to lose, live to win" tattoo!

For me, over all on the motorhead stuff (And I actually did relisten to the albums from "Sacrifice" on thru now Minus motorizer). I can definately say that there's tracks that'd totally be on an "All Motorhead playlist" I would make. I would "need them there cuz it's motorhead for me" but I also can't say that it's got any of the same "wow" , "pow" or "zow" that the writing from the older material had going on. Althought I gotta say I agree with the "Blues rock" comment I really have to say they got atleast 2 "Blues rock songs" per album and also have pushed some country riffage too. Motorhead holds it together well. I just felt this one was taking it back a bit in order to "tune up their strings".
Angelic Storm - 25.12.2010 at 08:27  
Written by RavenKing on 24.12.2010 at 17:47
For me, an album like that sucks and is not enjoyable. From my point of view, if I have to search the garbage pile to find a few decent songs, the album doesn't worth the trouble.
I never buy albums I find only average or half-decent. I think it's better to focus on something more interesting and ignore mediocrity, otherwise I would get bored and I would hate the current metal scene even more than I do now.


Hmm... I can see your point, but Ive always came from the view that an album has to be pretty much all bad songs before I can label the album as a whole as garbage, or say that it sucks. Deicide's "In Torment In Hell" is one of the rare examples of an album by a band I like which has no songs on it I enjoy. So to me, that album is complete crap. lol Then there's the more frequent instances of albums that has songs I enjoy mixed in with some filler. In those instances, I can call the album "ok" or decent. Only if the whole album is great songs, or the filler is far outweighed by great songs, can I start placing an album into "very good" or "great" territory.

The never buying half-decent or average albums thing, Im pretty much with you on. I buy far fewer albums these days than I used to, and nowadays will only buy an album if it's one I really love.
Doc Godin - 25.12.2010 at 11:04  
Written by Ph0eNiX on 25.12.2010 at 03:26

Lemmy has done something cool though... he now has song titles for his "Born to lose, live to win" tattoo!

Actually there's already "Live to Win" and "Iron Horse/Born To Lose". I have the same tattoo on my chest.
RavenKing - 25.12.2010 at 15:53  
Written by Angelic Storm on 25.12.2010 at 08:27

mm... I can see your point, but Ive always came from the view that an album has to be pretty much all bad songs before I can label the album as a whole as garbage, or say that it sucks. Deicide's "In Torment In Hell" is one of the rare examples of an album by a band I like which has no songs on it I enjoy. So to me, that album is complete crap. lol Then there's the more frequent instances of albums that has songs I enjoy mixed in with some filler. In those instances, I can call the album "ok" or decent. Only if the whole album is great songs, or the filler is far outweighed by great songs, can I start placing an album into "very good" or "great" territory.

The never buying half-decent or average albums thing, Im pretty much with you on. I buy far fewer albums these days than I used to, and nowadays will only buy an album if it's one I really love.



Well, if half the songs are bad and half of them good, I think even if not all songs suck the album often sucks overall because it is really not enjoyable and the album can't build momentum. It's a matter of perspective but that's how I see it. It also depends on how bad the bad songs are and how good the good ones are. There is some 'bad vs good' ratio I kinda establish in my mind. Also, when I talk about bad songs, I mean songs I really don't like and don't want to hear again. Songs for which I have no interest. I don't mean a few less good songs that could well grow on me. It's rare that I will enjoy every song quite a lot at first listen. I need to allow the few songs I find less good at first grow on me with time. However, there are instances when I know right at first it has zero chance to grow on me. If I find a song forgettable or quite average, it could well grow on me. But if I outright hate it, there's no way it could grow on me.


"Only if the whole album is great songs, or the filler is far outweighed by great songs, can I start placing an album into "very good" or "great" territory."

I totally agree. That's how it works for me too.

P.S. I never said you had crappy tastes or low standards. Sure, there are albums you like I dislike and would never listen to but I think it is because you have broader tastes than me. And I'm sure you would dislike many albums I like. I don't think it has anything to do with some 'higher tolerance to crappiness'.
Angelic Storm - 25.12.2010 at 20:47  
Written by RavenKing on 25.12.2010 at 15:53
Well, if half the songs are bad and half of them good, I think even if not all songs suck the album often sucks overall because it is really not enjoyable and the album can't build momentum. It's a matter of perspective but that's how I see it. It also depends on how bad the bad songs are and how good the good ones are. There is some 'bad vs good' ratio I kinda establish in my mind. Also, when I talk about bad songs, I mean songs I really don't like and don't want to hear again. Songs for which I have no interest. I don't mean a few less good songs that could well grow on me. It's rare that I will enjoy every song quite a lot at first listen. I need to allow the few songs I find less good at first grow on me with time. However, there are instances when I know right at first it has zero chance to grow on me. If I find a song forgettable or quite average, it could well grow on me. But if I outright hate it, there's no way it could grow on me.


I think you are right in saying that an album that has so many fillers that it cant gain any real momentum sucks, regardless of the prescence of good songs. But I guess then, the question is, is it possible for a bad album to contain good songs? Is an album where about half of it is filler half-decent, or is it a crap album that just happens to contain some good songs? I think it is totally a matter of perpesective, and also, whether the "bad" songs really are awful, or just average, and not up to the standard of the album's great songs. I think there are so many variables in this instance, that its hard to give a definitive answer to those questions.

Im also pretty much the same when it comes to songs "growing" on me. If I really hate a song initially, chances are very high that I will never like it. But there has been quite a few occasions where I havent thought a song has sucked, but it hasnt really done anything for me, that eventually grows on me, and I begin to appreciate it a lot more than I did at first. xD

Quote:
I totally agree. That's how it works for me too.

P.S. I never said you had crappy tastes or low standards. Sure, there are albums you like I dislike and would never listen to but I think it is because you have broader tastes than me. And I'm sure you would dislike many albums I like. I don't think it has anything to do with some 'higher tolerance to crappiness'.


I know you've never said I have low standards. lol Well, there are some who think that just having broad tastes is a sign of "high tolerance for crappiness", but to me this is just as moronic an attitude as people who automatically call people stupid and "closed-minded" for having narrower tastes. *sighs*
Boxcar Willy - 26.12.2010 at 00:47  
I only like ace of spades and thats it.
Ph0eNiX - 26.12.2010 at 23:39  
Written by Doc Godin on 25.12.2010 at 11:04

Written by Ph0eNiX on 25.12.2010 at 03:26

Lemmy has done something cool though... he now has song titles for his "Born to lose, live to win" tattoo!

Actually there's already "Live to Win" and "Iron Horse/Born To Lose". I have the same tattoo on my chest.


I'm wary , it's why I said that. "Live to win" is on Ace of Spades, "iron horse/born to loose" is from "on parole"/"Motorhead" depending on which you wanna put up as the 1st release. (On parole was shelved originally)

Ouch on the tattoo location but very cool call on the ink.
Big-Al - 03.04.2012 at 14:53  
Written by RavenKing on 21.12.2010 at 02:45

Written by Captain Obvious on 20.12.2010 at 15:53

For the life of me, I really cannot understand why people have such high expectations for new albums by old bands. Let me use the example of death magnetic: many people were disappointed with that record, but that's because people were expecting it to be like MoP or RtL. Same thing goes for this new Motorhead album, I guarantee many people were expecting another Overkill or AoS, and if you are expecting that, then you're setting the bar way too fucking high and you're obviously going to be disappointed.


Doesn't it point out the exact problem with old metal bands?

I mean, if the way to enjoy their new material is to keep your expectations as low as possible, because you know in advance it will never be on par with their best stuff, it says a lot about the quality of this new material and the (ir)relevance of those bands in the current scene.

"Expect it to suck, so you won't be disappointed". Isn't it a depressive and sad mentality? I think so.


Truth is those old bands are (and have been for quite a time already) dead, when it comes to creativity, and can't do better than rehearsing the same thing over and over with poorer result each time. It is uninspired, soulless, boring as all hell.
I always thought there are two kinds of band on this issue:
1- Those who call their quit when it is time and retire in glory
2- Those who stay way past their time and become pathetic


@Doc Godin: I wish to congratulate you for being as down-to-earth in your review. I know you're a big Motorhead fan, yet it really sounds as you're saying things as you believe they are, not trying to hide anything. It's not so easy to do (criticizing something we like very much). And that's what I call honesty and integrity.

yet so many complain when an old band reinvents itself?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Motörhead - The Wörld Is Yours 7.5 15.08.2010 by Daikin
Reviews The Great Commission - Heavy Worship 6 17.07.2011 by cam
Reviews Powerwolf - Blood Of The Saints 6 12.09.2011 by The Shape 1973
Reviews Turisas - The Varangian Way 6 17.12.2011 by Milena
Reviews Last Call Chernobyl - Drowning Beneath The Sound Of Change 6 07.09.2010 by Moose



Hits total: 7452 | This month: 35