Process Of Guilt - The Circle review



Reviewer:
8.4

15 users:
7.60
Band: Process Of Guilt
Album: The Circle
Release date: January 2011


01. The Circle (Erosion Part I)
02. The Circle (Erosion Part II)
03. The Circle (Erosion Part III)
04. The Circle (Erosion Part IV)
05. The Circle (Erosion Part V)
06. The Circle (Erosion Part VI)


Preface:

This is a remix album. Normally I treat remix albums with dread. I suppose it's because The Cure is my favorite band ever and they opted to follow up their greatest album, Disintegration, with the dance re-mix abortion of their hits that is Mixed Up. Nearly 20 years on, I still suffer from PTSD thanks to that release.

So a remix album?

At least, per his interview with me/us, Hugo of Process Of Guilt is a Godflesh fan. Justin Broadrick is good at the whole remix thing, so maybe it will rub off. But it's one thing to take a mulligan and remix what is arguably the band's worst album, which Godflesh did with Songs Of Love And Hate. It takes cojones - big titanium ones - to take 2009 MS Staff Doom Pick Erosion, toss it in a blender, then release the results.

OK, so The Circle isn't exactly a puréed version of Erosion in its entirety. Rather it takes the last track off that album, "Circle," and remixes it six ways to Sunday.

It starts off innocuously enough, as "Circle I" sounds like, well, "Circle". From there, the ship leaves the dock and starts its departure towards previously uncharted waters.

"Circle II" is already a significant deviation from the Process Of Guilt norm. The low end seems to travel along, scraping the sea floor while atmospheric melodies, the two elements combine to form a version with a relaxing feel to it.

Other iterations continue to evolve/devolve the original track. "III" is centered around a creepy sound bite, "This is the time…. Of sin and disease." Another involves what I think to be a cello providing a different - but dramatic flair. By the time they reach the final iteration, the track has all but disintegrated to the point of being completely unidentifiable as the original… and this was the point they left me behind. "VI" contains lots of low-end thumps and booms, high pitches noises and metallic scraping - it's almost a concatenation of "things which annoy BitterCOld"…. I'm pretty sure they even have, buried within the track, nails on chalkboard.

But I guess the band knew that invariably they would leave segments of their audience behind on various stages of this cruise.

So kudos to the band for having the audacity - and stones - to do something so adventurous to a track (and album) that a lot of folks hold in a great deal of esteem. They did a great job in reinterpreting one track through five entirely different lenses.

This is definitely worth checking out if you liked Erosion and perhaps some of Ulver's EPs over the last decade. Just don't expect Circle II through VI to be Erosion II.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 



Written on 26.12.2010 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 268 users
26.12.2010 - 12:14
Glabrezu
I'm waiting the album in a few days, it's already been shipped!!
Thank you for the well-timed review, now I have a better idea of what to expect from The Circle.

"This is definitely worth checking out if you liked Erosion and perhaps some of Ulver's EPs over the last decade"

I think I will absolutely love it!!
----
Exploring life
Without fear without feeling
I am one with my torment
And forever blind
Loading...
26.12.2010 - 15:27
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
I can't wait for my die-hard pack to arrive.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
26.12.2010 - 18:17
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by Glabrezu on 26.12.2010 at 12:14


"This is definitely worth checking out if you liked Erosion and perhaps some of Ulver's EPs over the last decade"

I think I will absolutely love it!!


it doesn't sound like Ulver so much as Ulver's post-2000 releases, particularly EP's gives a decent frame of reference for the level of departure from Planet Metal and into electronic/ambient territory.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
27.12.2010 - 03:31
Darkside Momo
Retired
Methinks I should check this one, then.
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
28.12.2010 - 02:19
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I can't wait for my pre-order to arrive and give this a spin! I tend to like some of the same music you do and definitely loved Erosion, so I don't imagine I'll be disappointed by this.

PoG are fast becoming one of my favorite bands.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
28.12.2010 - 04:53
Jason W.
Razorbliss
It seems like they've succeeded in what they set out to do on this Looking forward to hearing the results, along with getting the new shirt for its release
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
05.01.2011 - 17:54
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Just received it plus the T-shirt.
Cd's numbered 052/300
and an extra copy numbered 011/030 which was sent especially to friends it says on the sticker containing the number.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.01.2011 - 18:29
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.01.2011 at 17:54

Just received it plus the T-shirt.
Cd's numbered 052/300
and an extra copy numbered 011/030 which was sent especially to friends it says on the sticker containing the number.

Where'd you find what number it is? Mine just says Bleak Recordings 2011, 1st edition, limited to 300.

I assume that means it's just the first print run (and last based on the limit), and not that it's the 1st of 300.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
14.01.2011 - 18:54
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.01.2011 at 18:29

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.01.2011 at 17:54

Just received it plus the T-shirt.
Cd's numbered 052/300
and an extra copy numbered 011/030 which was sent especially to friends it says on the sticker containing the number.

Where'd you find what number it is? Mine just says Bleak Recordings 2011, 1st edition, limited to 300.

I assume that means it's just the first print run (and last based on the limit), and not that it's the 1st of 300.


There is a transparant sticker on the plastic wrapping which has xxx/300 on it.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.01.2011 - 19:17
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2011 at 18:54

Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.01.2011 at 18:29

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.01.2011 at 17:54

Just received it plus the T-shirt.
Cd's numbered 052/300
and an extra copy numbered 011/030 which was sent especially to friends it says on the sticker containing the number.

Where'd you find what number it is? Mine just says Bleak Recordings 2011, 1st edition, limited to 300.

I assume that means it's just the first print run (and last based on the limit), and not that it's the 1st of 300.


There is a transparant sticker on the plastic wrapping which has xxx/300 on it.

46/300. Can't believe I missed that! Thanks. haha
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
14.01.2011 - 23:38
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.01.2011 at 17:54

Just received it plus the T-shirt.
Cd's numbered 052/300
and an extra copy numbered 011/030 which was sent especially to friends it says on the sticker containing the number.


nice surprise in the mailbox today and my turn to show off e-peen and join the kool kvly kiddie klvb ... 017/030. tks, H.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
15.01.2011 - 00:36
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by BitterCOld on 14.01.2011 at 23:38

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.01.2011 at 17:54

Just received it plus the T-shirt.
Cd's numbered 052/300
and an extra copy numbered 011/030 which was sent especially to friends it says on the sticker containing the number.


nice surprise in the mailbox today and my turn to show off e-peen and join the kool kvly kiddie klvb ... 017/030. tks, H.


Cool the special limited to 30 friends edition for you too.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
15.01.2011 - 02:10
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.01.2011 at 00:36

Written by BitterCOld on 14.01.2011 at 23:38

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.01.2011 at 17:54

Just received it plus the T-shirt.
Cd's numbered 052/300
and an extra copy numbered 011/030 which was sent especially to friends it says on the sticker containing the number.


nice surprise in the mailbox today and my turn to show off e-peen and join the kool kvly kiddie klvb ... 017/030. tks, H.


Cool the special limited to 30 friends edition for you too.

I guess they don't make them out to fanboys.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...

Hits total: 6109 | This month: 15