Rating:
7.5
Seven Thorns - Return To The Past
23 November 2010


01. Liberty
02. End Of The Road
03. Through The Mirror
04. Freedom Call
05. Countdown
06. Forest Majesty
07. Spread Your Wings
08. Fires And Storms
09. Return To The Past


Wow...I think the last time I remember feeling this immense feeling of heart-pounding cheesiness since first hearing Edguy's Vain Glory Opera when discovering this sub-genre known as "power metal".

I've got to hand it to Seven Thorns though, they've managed to actually create something here. The cookie cutter mold for a lot of power metal these days is so repetitive - lay down the same driving rhythm track from end to end across the album, then paste a few keyboard & guitar leads on top. These guys on the other hand use that layout as more of a loose skeleton for the music, and expand on that framework. Another commendable aspect of Return To The Past is the bands appreciation of the fact that metal was built around massive guitar sounds. The keyboards are there, and quite prominent, but act more complimentary rather than compensation for lack of creativity in the riff department. As a kicker, this vocalist doesn't wuss-up the music with poor-ranged crying into the mic. He's got one thing that seems to be a constant in all great power metal - a vocalist with some range. It's dynamic - which is a lot more than we can say for a good chunk of bands around today.

It's cliche, I'll give you that. When I say "dynamic", I mean they know how to make up where so many bands are failing - making songs that stand out from one another. It doesn't really offer anything that you probably haven't heard already, but it's a good portrayal of this genre's better moments. A must listen for anyone who wants metal back in there power metal.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Seven Thorns
Album: Return To The Past


 



Written on 20.02.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 189  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 20.02.2011 at 14:27  
Based on the review, I' surprised this only get a 7.5. It sounds innovative and well-structured, but that's just my take on it (the review, not the music).
Danyael - 20.02.2011 at 15:11  
Sounds like something I'd probably be intersted in. Tho like Troy said, you made it sound like this album deserves at least 8,5.

On the other hand, i'm pretty sure you were just HOPING for another flower power band to knock yourself out once again haha
RavenKing - 20.02.2011 at 16:13  
@Doc: I agree with everything you're saying about the Powermetal genre, as you probably know already.
However, I fail to see in which way this band is different. To me, it's no more than generic Powermetal music and as boring as any other generic Powermetal band.
Your review picked my curiosity because you seem to share my views on the genre, but I expected more from the album than the few songs I heard.
If I can draw a comparison, I would say that the new Forgotten Tales album is more interesting than this one (still not enough for me to buy it but I will probably never buy another Powermetal album in my life).
Danyael - 20.02.2011 at 17:23  
Based on what I heard on their myspace, I must say I agree with RavenKing: nothing really special about this band. Ah well.
atkmetal123 - 21.02.2011 at 19:04  
I've tried this album , not too bad, at least it deserve 8 . Nothing special about this band, but this album is really interesting
anarchist_36 - 23.02.2011 at 00:00  
Why the fuck does this say it's about Path of Golcanda? The names aren't even similar it's ridiculous
Promonex - 23.02.2011 at 00:11  
Written by anarchist_36 on 23.02.2011 at 00:00

Why the fuck does this say it's about Path of Golcanda? The names aren't even similar it's ridiculous

Error in the database. It's fixed already.
sinister - 02.03.2011 at 21:32  
Power metal is my favorite genre. I listen to all metal. 7 Thorns are talented, but nothing shines here. They do metal similar to freedom call, but freedom call kicks your ass with shit kicking songs that have you putting your fist in the air and singing along. I'm going to watch this band because they could be great in the future.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Megaton Leviathan - Past 21 Beyond The Arctic Cell 7.5 03.09.2014 by Apothecary
Reviews The Ritual - Beyond The Fragile Horizon 6.5 14.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Viathyn - The Peregrine Way 6 07.09.2010 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Norris - The Great White North 6 10.04.2011 by Collin
Reviews Titans Eve - The Divine Equal 6 02.02.2011 by Yojimbo



Hits total: 4096 | This month: 2