Rating:
8.0
Belphegor - Blood Magick Necromance
14 January 2011


01. In Blood - Devour This Sanctity
02. Rise To Fall And Fall To Rise
03. Blood Magick Necromance
04. Discipline Through Punishment
05. Angeli Mortis De Profundis
06. Impaled Upon The Tongue Of Sathan
07. Possessed Burning Eyes
08. Sado Messiah


Damn, I thought Belphegor's career was dead for sure. For a little insight into how important this album is to this band, let's take a quick look at this bands past releases: Lucifer Incestus & Goatreich-Fleshcult are arguably their strongest, most evil sounding albums they've ever put out. Pestapokalypse VI took the regular Belphegor style, but played it in a more naked, stripped-down fashion, then everything went wrong. Bondage Goat Zombie saw the band flashing some new claws, but frankly it was too little, too late - everything they did felt pretty tired at that point. Then came Walpurgis Rites...it was horrendous to put it frankly. It was the sound of a band with no direction, no inspiration, and no fucking clue what they were doing; it sounded like a self-parody.

Now, we have a new one. Needless to say, Belphegor are back...well, sort of. For anyone out there hoping this is some incredible bounce-back into glory, don't hold your breath. Blood Magick Necromance is Belphegor accepting where their strengths lie and exploiting those strengths, rather than making some embarrassing attempt at reinventing themselves. They are back to their typical blast-beat fuelled black & death hybrid. Dropping the attempt at crappy mid-paced (by Belphegor standards) melodeath, return to the deep, razor sharp guitar riffs with that slight hint of middle-eastern influence. Relatively speaking, this album is most akin to Lucifer Incestus, instead of that hard, crunchy production we've experienced from them in the past few releases, it's a smoother, clearer sound - no doubt something that can be attributed to the production work of Peter Tagtgren. The softer production topped off with a few more melodic bits makes this probably their most accessible album to date.

It's always good to see a band bounce back to any degree after releasing a shit album, it's something that rarely happens anymore; usually one bad album is just a prelude to a dying career. Yes, Belphegor is definitely over the hill, but at least they've seemed to come to terms with where they belong, and it's unlikely this band will release anything atrocious again, but rather some safe, briefly entertaining career up-keeps. Sometimes you gotta try and shake the metal world with some drastic reinventing, other times you just need to stick with what you're good at - Belphegor have done just that.


Band profile: Belphegor
Album: Blood Magick Necromance


 



Written on 08.03.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 362  
Search this topic:  


Bloody Rain - 08.03.2011 at 07:24  
When I was listening to this album, it was as though somebody opened up a window and let some fresh air into the room. Nice review!
wormdrink414 - 08.03.2011 at 07:39  
Maybe a tad hard on Walpurgis Rites. But, you're right. Definitely a return to form. I saw them on Saturday night and was actually disappointed that they didn't play Blood Magick (the song). That's got to be a good sign.

Fun fact: the bassist took three women back to their bus after the show. The fucking bassist! Three! Women!
J. N. - 08.03.2011 at 17:13  
This album blew my brains out when I heard it the first time.
Midnight Walker - 08.03.2011 at 17:55  
Am I the only person in the world who really likes Bondage Goat Zombie?
midland_don - 08.03.2011 at 18:41  
I like it too!
Koen Smits - 08.03.2011 at 20:35  
Written by Midnight Walker on 08.03.2011 at 17:55

Am I the only person in the world who really likes Bondage Goat Zombie?


No, I really like it too.

About the review: I don't agree with the first line. I saw them life 5+times in the past few years and I didn't think for a moment their career was dead.

About the album: It's better than Bondage and Walpurgis imo. I even think it's gonna be in my top 20 this year.
Luneth - 09.03.2011 at 00:10  
Great review.

Thought more or less the same, ending the album with 'sado messiah' was an awesome move very good album, expected it to be incredibly meh.
Troy Killjoy - 09.03.2011 at 00:57  
Written by wormdrink414 on 08.03.2011 at 07:39

Fun fact: the bassist took three women back to their bus after the show. The fucking bassist! Three! Women!

I'm in the wrong career.
wormdrink414 - 09.03.2011 at 01:31  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.03.2011 at 00:57

Written by wormdrink414 on 08.03.2011 at 07:39

Fun fact: the bassist took three women back to their bus after the show. The fucking bassist! Three! Women!

I'm in the wrong career.


He also almost got in a fight with one of the club's bouncers. He tried to take a drink outside, the bouncer yelled at him, bassist-dude dumped his drink out, put his face right in front of the bouncer's, then walked back inside. I'm sure he knew his Austrian sex-magic wouldn't have carried him through a fight with a 300 pounder, though.

Drinking, fighting, travelling, and fucking would be enjoyable for a few years, I'm sure, but I can't help but think all of it would get boring after a while. Maybe I'm just a pussy, though. Can't imagine the music would ever get tiring, but I won't speak for the guys in Belphegor.
thefallenalchmst - 11.03.2011 at 06:42  
I dunno about the rest of you, but I really liked this one.

Belphegor - Blood Magick Necromance (2011) - Already, I'm about to declare this monumental release from Belphegor to be the best metal album of the year thus far. Why? Simply listen to one of the 8 tracks on this 40 minute release, and you'll see that all of the little inklings of potential that Belphegor showed from "Lucifer Incestus" era forward, have now come to complete 100% fruition.

The bottom line is that this is the BEST Belphegor album that they have ever released, and I strongly believe that they cannot top this almost inhuman effort of black metal mastery. Notice that I said "black metal", meaning that the death metal you know from Belphegor has been stripped in favor of a many layered black metal style that is every bit what a black metal album should be. This album is so fucking great, that I've said to myself, "Hell, I want to hear that track again." I've wanted to listen to this thing about 3 or 4 or 5 or 10 more fucking times, yet I've got so much else to review that it'll have to wait.

I am so surprised and amazed by this fucking masterpiece of an album which has to be one of the best black metal albums I've heard in the past ten years. This album is better than my pick for 2010's best album, and it's better than the Nachtmystium and Agalloch before it. These gentlemen must have really sold themselves to the devil to make this release, which is a downright must buy, and probably the band's best era to see them on tour with.

Belphegor has made their bland albums, and they've made their weird albums, and they've made death metal albums that sound good in their own right, but this one is incredible.

OVERALL: GO GET THIS ALBUM NOW, AND LISTEN TO IT FOR YOURSELF. I WON'T EVEN BOTHER TELLING YOU WHAT TO EXPECT HERE, BECAUSE THAT WOULD RUIN THE WHOLE FUCKING SURPRISE. JUST GET IT!

Score: 666/5 (INHUMAN PERFECTION)
Array - 11.03.2011 at 17:31  
Written by thefallenalchmst on 11.03.2011 at 06:42

^

In my opinion it's nowhere near Goatreich, and could you please stop yelling, which you have done in your 666/3 posts.
Doc Godin - 12.03.2011 at 06:46  
Written by thefallenalchmst on 11.03.2011 at 06:42

OVERALL: GO GET THIS ALBUM NOW, AND LISTEN TO IT FOR YOURSELF. I WON'T EVEN BOTHER TELLING YOU WHAT TO EXPECT HERE, BECAUSE THAT WOULD RUIN THE WHOLE FUCKING SURPRISE. JUST GET IT!

As much as I like this album, I gotta admit there's no real "surprise" to ruin.
thefallenalchmst - 24.04.2012 at 21:06  
Sorry guys, I'm not quite so bombastic as I used to be. I haven't listened to that album in months since that review. I also rarely use caps.

My NWA Metal score card is like this:

0 and below - crap, not worthy of being called a release
1 - Poor, defiinitely an album, but not a very good one. Skip this and listen to something else.
1.5 - Almost mediocre, Still not worth checking out.
2 - Mediocre, sounds like everything you've already heard
2.5 - Slightly more than mediocre, almost a solid release
3 - Solid, worth checking out
3.5 - Solid, but almost a great album - definitely worth checking out
4 - A great album, a must listen
4.5 - Great album, almost awesome
5 - Awesome disc, no qualms or issues to be found
666 - Amazing disc, well worth checking out
777 - Legendary, only few albums recieve this rating, Metallica's Master Of Puppets and Iron Maiden's The Number Of The Beast rank in this category.

Sorry for the confusion. I wasn't trying to sound like a dick. A 666/5 rating means that the disc was amazing, though not legendary.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Belphegor - Blood Magick Necromance 7.5 29.03.2010 by
Reviews Belphegor - Conjuring The Dead 7.5 27.07.2014 by Lit.
Reviews Horseback - Half Blood 6 05.05.2012 by BloodTears
Reviews Marauder - Elegy Of Blood 6 17.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Goatwhore - Blood For The Master 6 07.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 6418 | This month: 98