Evergrey - Glorious Collision review



Reviewer:
7.5

208 users:
7.56
Band: Evergrey
Album: Glorious Collision
Release date: February 2011


01. Leave It Behind Us
02. You
03. Wrong
04. Frozen
05. Restoring The Loss
06. To Fit The Mold
07. Out Of Reach
08. The Phantom Letters
09. The Disease...
10. It Comes From Within
11. Free
12. I'm Drowning Alone
13. ...And The Distance
14. ...And The Distance [featuring Carina Englund] [bonus]


Some people might've thought this album would be a disaster, after the departure of two of the band members who participated on some of the best albums of the band. Have they lost their spark? Is it all coming to an abrupt end? Well, the album isn't a disaster. But it isn't monumental either; it is competent. This is a less edgy version of Evergrey, to say the least.

The album is uneven in quality and there is a clear division between the songs' appeal. Aside from that, let's forget about that album cover, shall we?

On one hand, there is some recycling of old ideas. That is the downside of the album. We have some uninspired and average songs that seem to go nowhere and never pick up the pace. Songs like "The Disease…" which is predictable and unpolished. Similarly, "…And The Distance" appears to be more of a filler than anything else remotely interesting. These two are probably the weakest songs on Glorious Collision. In addition to that, "Restoring the Loss" almost seems out of sync with the album; it would be best fitting for Torn, since it follows the same vein.

On the other hand, and contrasting with that, we have the songwriting talent of Englund and Zander, which still comes to the surface. Englund is looking for some variety on his vocals and searching for new melodies; that comes across on some of the songs. His vocals are stunning, as usual. "Out of Reach" and "Frozen" catch our ear, as you might say, and show us that there is still room for Evergrey to explore, as long as they continue wanting to be dynamic and feel motivated about their music. We also have a new addition as well, namely the use of more acoustic guitars on the album, which is rather unusual in Evergrey's discography.

There is a lyrical continuity on this album that doesn't stray away much from the usual concepts employed by the band. Also, Evergrey do ballads really well; "Wrong" and "Free" being a case in point. But they run the risk of becoming overused. "The Phantom Letters", which also starts off as a ballad, is one of the most varied and multidimensional songs of the album.

At the end of the day, and despite its flaws, Glorious Collision is still an enjoyable album because you have good songs. Some of the more demanding progressive metal fans, though, might find it a little disappointing, given the history of the band. But the past is in the past and the listeners who are familiar with the band will know better than to listen to this album looking for originality.

Highlights: "Out of Reach", "Frozen", "Free" and "To Fit The Mold".


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 22.03.2011 by News chief, random reviewer, professional progger and wannabe surfer.


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 410 users
22.03.2011 - 17:59
Susan
Smeghead
I agree with your rating but don't think it's a less edgy version of their other releases - I definitely hear some of their best recent work. Maybe the glory days are long gone but they still know how to make exceptional, beautiful music. You're so right that it's not "a disaster or monumental" but I'd say it's quite good

"But the past is in the past and the listeners who are familiar with the band will know better than to listen to this album looking for originality." SO RIGHT! Evergrey has their own special sound and thankfully they never deviate too far from it.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
22.03.2011 - 18:07
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Susan on 22.03.2011 at 17:59

I agree with your rating but don't think it's a less edgy version of their other releases - I definitely hear some of their best recent work. Maybe the glory days are long gone but they still know how to make exceptional, beautiful music. You're so right that it's not "a disaster or monumental" but I'd say it's quite good

"But the past is in the past and the listeners who are familiar with the band will know better than to listen to this album looking for originality." SO RIGHT! Evergrey has their own special sound and thankfully they never deviate too far from it.


Thanks for your comments.

I really do think they are less edgy, but when I say that I'm thinking about the old Evergrey albums I love. A bit of nostalgia there. I agree with you though, it's quite good.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
22.03.2011 - 18:39
THIS_IS_MY_ID
Well, to me, this album is fantastic. Almost every song is great, & Lyrics are out of this world. Funny thing is, to me, "Out of Reach" is weakest song on album .
IMO best song is "I'm Drowning Alone"...
Loading...
22.03.2011 - 19:28
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Can't find a thing I disagree here
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
22.03.2011 - 19:42
Luneth
Great review, sums the album up nicely. Nothing spectacular, but nothing awful.
----
Evil? I am not Malevolent, I simply am!
Apocalypse, X-Men
Loading...
22.03.2011 - 20:49
stationarytravel
Account deleted
For me "You" was definitely a highlight, as well as "Frozen" and "The Disease...". The album does sound flat at times, but melodically it's way beyond Torn.
Loading...
23.03.2011 - 14:18
SexyCat_1113
Written by Guest on 22.03.2011 at 20:49

For me "You" was definitely a highlight, as well as "Frozen" and "The Disease...". The album does sound flat at times, but melodically it's way beyond Torn.

The solo of "You" is so ugly ... i don't like this track , "Frozen" and "Out Of Reach" are good job !
Loading...
23.03.2011 - 15:46
Dark Blood
The Avenger
Hey, I didn't know you write reviews
I haven't heard of the album yet so I can't judge it in its entirely, but I liked what I heard so far. The samples and the song "Wrong" are quite nice.
You did a nice job in writing this. Too bad I can't compare it with the album yet, but I'll let you know as soon as I have a formed opinion. Good Job
----
It is humanity who must pay homage to the greatness of the Universe... not the Universe to the human narcissism.
Loading...
23.03.2011 - 16:23
stationarytravel
Account deleted
Written by SexyCat_1113 on 23.03.2011 at 14:18

Written by Guest on 22.03.2011 at 20:49

For me "You" was definitely a highlight, as well as "Frozen" and "The Disease...". The album does sound flat at times, but melodically it's way beyond Torn.

The solo of "You" is so ugly ... i don't like this track , "Frozen" and "Out Of Reach" are good job !


Hey, at least it's kind of new and different for Evergrey.
Loading...
23.03.2011 - 16:31
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Dark Blood on 23.03.2011 at 15:46

Hey, I didn't know you write reviews
I haven't heard of the album yet so I can't judge it in its entirely, but I liked what I heard so far. The samples and the song "Wrong" are quite nice.
You did a nice job in writing this. Too bad I can't compare it with the album yet, but I'll let you know as soon as I have a formed opinion. Good Job


Thanks

Well, I didn't write many reviews before, only 1 actually, but this year I'm gonna do a lot more of that. So, it's good to hear some encouragement.

I would like to know your opinion about the album, so please do tell!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
23.03.2011 - 17:05
thehondo
Agree that "You" is the highlight. Overall acurate review. Way better than Torn, but nothing close to Recreation Day or In Search Of Truth. I think those days are gone for Englund. Evergrey is still great but falling from the ranks of best prog metal.
----
No time like the present
Loading...
23.03.2011 - 17:30
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
This is a less edgy version of Evergrey, to say the least.<=== This.
Loading...
23.03.2011 - 22:34
BlankFile
I think they played safe with this one and some songs in this cd are really good, but others are completely forgettable. Still the inconsistency of the band remains, and im affraid it will never dissapear. "In Search of Truth" remains their best effort by far and one of the best prog albums i´ve heard in all my life.
Loading...
24.03.2011 - 15:53
Dark Blood
The Avenger
Written by BlankFile on 23.03.2011 at 22:34

I think they played safe with this one and some songs in this cd are really good, but others are completely forgettable. Still the inconsistency of the band remains, and im affraid it will never dissapear. "In Search of Truth" remains their best effort by far and one of the best prog albums i´ve heard in all my life.

Someone who has the same opinion about "In Search of Truth" as me. That's good
----
It is humanity who must pay homage to the greatness of the Universe... not the Universe to the human narcissism.
Loading...
24.03.2011 - 19:32
Carrion Misery
I do agree with most of your review and it's well written, but here's my only feedback: stating "Well, the album isn't a disaster. But it isn't monumental either" is an over-said and useless statement in reviews. I believe your review should sum up that statement without having to say it.

Oddly enough, their last album, Torn, was ok, but for some reason after listening to Glorious Collision, Torn sounded much better than I remember. It's not because GC is mediocre or bad, but it brought out many tidbits I over look. I think the solos on here are definitely close to some of their best. After listening to this album 10s of times and then listening to it after their entire discography, I think it is a wonderful addition. I'm already singing along!
----
-- Carrion Misery
Loading...
24.03.2011 - 19:34
JohnDoe
Account deleted
I'm listening to the album for the first time right now, I really enjoy what I've heard so far, much, much better than their previous two albums.
Loading...
24.03.2011 - 19:43
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Carrion Misery on 24.03.2011 at 19:32

I do agree with most of your review and it's well written, but here's my only feedback: stating "Well, the album isn't a disaster. But it isn't monumental either" is an over-said and useless statement in reviews. I believe your review should sum up that statement without having to say it.



Thanks for your feedback.

I do like the premise of saying what you are gonna say and saying it, though. So I don't see it as a useless tool.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
24.03.2011 - 20:24
Carrion Misery
Premises are great, but I suppose I'm tired of seeing that one in particular.
----
-- Carrion Misery
Loading...
26.08.2016 - 21:17
BlankFile
A pretty decent realease, like the 2 before this one.
Loading...

Hits total: 7165 | This month: 27