The Project Hate MCMXCIX - Bleeding The New Apocalypse (Cum Victriciis In Manibus Armis) review



Reviewer:
9.0

78 users:
7.99
Band: The Project Hate MCMXCIX
Album: Bleeding The New Apocalypse (Cum Victriciis In Manibus Armis)
Release date: February 2011


01. Iesus Nazarenus, Servus Mei
02. They Shall All Be Witnesses
03. A Revelation Of Desecrated Heavens
04. Summoning Majestic War
05. The Serpent Crowning Ritual
06. Bring Forth Purgatory


The Project Hate MCMXCIX is a band whose existence I was aware of, yet I never had the chance to listen to, but with their brand new 2011 release I managed to get a glimpse of what they are about, in the present of course. Bleeding The New Apocalypse (Cum Victriciis In Manibus Armis) is its title and the cover artwork serves its purpose well concerning the first impression it wants to give; a mystical, mechanized, apocalyptic scenery with eulogies from the future.

The album consists of 6 lengthy compositions and spreads its legs like an octopus upon the metal map, ranging from At The Gates references to groovier death metal moments, from industrial passages to more atmospheric soundscapes etc, marching into darkness to slowly emerge and devour. Of course you will find pleasing or lunatic keyboards, intriguing electronics and maneuvering FX making their appearance quite enough times, playing their very important part on the atmosphere-evoking factor. The main core of ambiance though relies on Jörgen Sandström's tremendous, boiling grunts and Ruby Roque's surrounding, floating, intense interpretation alongside the guitars that forge an ever-exploding core of blooming riffology upon the to the point rhythm section.

The production is simply spot on, complimenting every single instrument, FX and vocal part, keeping the balance and never failing to bring forth or keep in the background anything required, to emphasize or make you listen more carefully to discover something "hidden" for a reason respectively. Of course there are some sound references, but in the end, the overall outcome is being filtered through tough sound lens and personality is what remains.

If you'd like to refer to this album in genre terms it would go likes this: avant-garde flirting industrial/atmospheric death metal with distinctive sound and mature ideas. No, Bleeding The New Apocalypse is not fragile, it's a beast of power that's not afraid to dive into more atmospheric waters whenever needed, something like "A Revelation Of Desecrated Heavens", who could have said it better if not the band itself?

65 minutes of atmospheric violence that will keep your interest at high levels await you if you get to listen to The Project Hate MCMXCIX's latest birth, personally I can't stop listening to it.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 24.03.2011 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 374 users
25.03.2011 - 00:29
Ag Fox
Angel No More
My favourite release from 2011 so far (and the band as well actually) ^^
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 00:54
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Hm. I've never been a fan of these guys...but this review makes it seem like they've changed a lot. Any long-time fans who can verify whether or not this is in line with any of their previous material?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 02:23
Nacur
I know these guys for quite some time, and I have to say that TPH is a band of awesome songs but not awesome albums.
And this one, Bleeding The New Apocalypse, is not an exception. I would rate it 7.5~8.

IMO, Armageddon March Eternal is their best effort...by far.
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 02:59
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Nacur on 25.03.2011 at 02:23

I know these guys for quite some time, and I have to say that TPH is a band of awesome songs but not awesome albums.
And this one, Bleeding The New Apocalypse, is not an exception. I would rate it 7.5~8.

IMO, Armageddon March Eternal is their best effort...by far.

So...you'd say this release doesn't bring anything new to the table?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 04:41
DethDonald
I still prefer Armageddon March like Nacar. But I've only heard very little of the album, I haven't actually got a hold of it yet. This new album does seem to bring in some new ideas but I can't see someone who didn't like them before liking this album.

Then again like I said I've heard very little.
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 08:57
Enemy of Reality
I think that someone who starts listen to them on this album will think that this is a great and their best effort.
But long time fans, will like it, but consider it not as good as Armageddon March Eternal.
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 10:17
malaikat
"Avantgarde-flirting industrial/death" metal? It sounds like a plain melodeath record to me... It IS good(ish), but I don't see it as a 9.0 release. Somewhere 7.O and 7.5 for me.
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 11:09
arj
This album is a beast. Very close for me whether Armageddon March or this is king, I love them both that's for sure and in general all their disco is excellent.
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 17:22
bluegreengod
Account deleted
Written by arj on 25.03.2011 at 11:09

This album is a beast. Very close for me whether Armageddon March or this is king, I love them both that's for sure and in general all their disco is excellent.

Ah, a disco band? I'll have to check that out 'cause all I wanna do is DANCE!
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 21:29
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.03.2011 at 02:59

So...you'd say this release doesn't bring anything new to the table?
I was okay with their previous stuff, because they sound pretty unique, but at the same time, the music tend to wander (or my mind lol). This one... is a lot more captivating imo and I think it has to do with the new singer.
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
25.03.2011 - 22:15
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Ag Fox on 25.03.2011 at 21:29

Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.03.2011 at 02:59

So...you'd say this release doesn't bring anything new to the table?
I was okay with their previous stuff, because they sound pretty unique, but at the same time, the music tend to wander (or my mind lol). This one... is a lot more captivating imo and I think it has to do with the new singer.

Hm. Maybe I'll check it out in the future, but I don't see myself going out of my way to hear it.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
26.03.2011 - 11:30
arj
Written by Guest on 25.03.2011 at 17:22

Written by arj on 25.03.2011 at 11:09

This album is a beast. Very close for me whether Armageddon March or this is king, I love them both that's for sure and in general all their disco is excellent.

Ah, a disco band? I'll have to check that out 'cause all I wanna do is DANCE!


"disco is excellent" quote for truth
Loading...
30.03.2011 - 01:54
Doombreeder
This is the first I've heard of this band and I'm really impressed. The review is spot-on.
Loading...
01.01.2012 - 20:06
Susan
Smeghead
This review seems pretty appropriate. I've been listening to this album for a few days and it keeps growing on me. All the elements you mention are there aplenty The atmosphere is probably what stands out the most about this music.. and it floats nicely in the space between several genres.

Damn, now I have to rework my best of 2011 list to accommodate this haha.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
01.03.2012 - 18:17
Night Sight
This is not their best effort but their weakest.just listen to hate,dominate,eliminate,congregate and armageddon march eteranl.can't compare them with this one .i can't have good relationship with the new singer rubby .jonnna was better so far,the voice the singing, in everyting
----
Alone in birth
Alone in the darkness
Alone in death
Alone in the daylight
Loading...
02.03.2012 - 03:39
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
This sounds like an expansion of their previous two works but that is ok with me. Good stuff.
Loading...

Hits total: 6073 | This month: 14