Rating:
7.5
HellLight - ...And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell...
20 December 2010


01. The Light That Brought Darkness
02. Downfall Of The Rain
03. Soaring Higher
04. Children Of Doom
05. The Secrecy
06. Beneath The Light Of The Moon


So this marks the third leg of the "BitterCOld South American Doom Tour", following previous stops in Argentina Fungoid Stream), and a double-header (Mar De Grises , Procession) in Chile, we now find ourselves bound for Brazil with Helllight.

The music of …And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell… is primarily death doom with some funeral influences. Tracks, as you can imagine are slow, crushing, and horribly depressing. Miserable, distorted riffs coupled with plodding drumming and subsonic growled vocals punish the listener…

But why stop there?

In addition to the standard aforementioned components of the genre, Helllight also toss some other elements into the mix to pile further misery onto the listening experience. Keyboards illuminate the album with a hellish ambiance and piano lines add melancholy to the misery. Frontman Fabio (no, not that Fabio!) mixes up his growls with some whiny-tortured sounding clean vocals vaguely reminiscent of Black Sabbath-era Ozzy, bringing in another element of woe.

Somehow, while long and unrelenting, the band do manage to capture some different facets of misery in their songs… so while "The Light That Brought Darkness" might leave you feeling just as horrid as "Soaring Higher", it's a different kind of misery. You know, the difference between, say, finding out the family dog was hit by a car and realizing you are a complete failure, you'll never amount to anything and the best you can hope for in life is to work your way up to fry cook at the local burger joint. Both (songs and circumstances) will leave you crying into your pillow at night, praying for sleep (or sweet death) to come.

Perhaps the only thing longer than the album title, …And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell…, is the album itself. The six death doom songs that comprise this album take up damn near 80 minutes. The tracks all range between 12 and 15 minutes long, and feel twice that.

All in all it's grueling listen… bleak, oppressive, and perhaps a tad overwhelming. But that's the point. So if you are a masochist and like having your music violate your very being, …And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell… might serve as a good fix to your nasty habit.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 04.04.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 165  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 04.04.2011 at 22:11  
80 friggin music?! Damn that's very long even for doom standars. Might check it in the near future. It seems interesting with the clean vocals you named. Thanks for the heads up. Nice to see more doom from south america.
For a second I thought this was a black emtal album...
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.04.2011 at 22:14  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.04.2011 at 22:11

80 friggin music?! Damn that's very long even for doom standars. Might check it in the near future. It seems interesting with the clean vocals you named. Thanks for the heads up. Nice to see more doom from south america.
For a second I thought this was a black emtal album...

Have you been drinking?
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.04.2011 at 22:17  
Arg, their band name is really annoying. Why does it need 3 l's in a row?
Mr. Doctor - 04.04.2011 at 22:34  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.04.2011 at 22:14

Have you been drinking?


I did write the message kind of fast... But otherwise I don't know why you would think I was drinking some alcohol.
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.04.2011 at 22:35  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.04.2011 at 22:34

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.04.2011 at 22:14

Have you been drinking?


I did write the message kind of fast... But otherwise I don't know why you would think I was drinking some alcohol.

I can smell it on you. You lush.
Troy Killjoy - 05.04.2011 at 03:14  
Did someone say masochist? I'll definitely look into this.
Marcel Hubregtse - 05.04.2011 at 14:33  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.04.2011 at 22:17

Arg, their band name is really annoying. Why does it need 3 l's in a row?


Because that's how you correctly spell the name consisting of the words Hell + light
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.04.2011 at 14:37  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.04.2011 at 14:33

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.04.2011 at 22:17

Arg, their band name is really annoying. Why does it need 3 l's in a row?


Because that's how you correctly spell the name consisting of the words Hell + light

But 97% of people would realise that it looks completely retarded and adopt the more standard way of doing it and drop one of the l's. Would be far easier for the brain to recognise. Or better still just choose a decent name.
Marcel Hubregtse - 05.04.2011 at 14:56  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.04.2011 at 14:37

...and adopt the more standard way of doing it and drop one of the l's.


People might use that more often but of course that is totally incorrect
Mr. Doctor - 05.04.2011 at 15:00  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.04.2011 at 14:56

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.04.2011 at 14:37

...and adopt the more standard way of doing it and drop one of the l's.


People might use that more often but of course that is totally incorrect


That means 97% people don't know how to write correctly
Marcel Hubregtse - 05.04.2011 at 15:11  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.04.2011 at 15:00

That means 97% people don't know who to write correctly


yep.
But who is "who" in your sentence?
Mr. Doctor - 05.04.2011 at 15:12  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.04.2011 at 15:11

Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.04.2011 at 15:00

That means 97% people don't know who to write correctly


yep.
But who is "who" in your sentence?


fuck... I meant how... I swear. XD It's all K7's fault.
Marcel Hubregtse - 05.04.2011 at 15:24  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.04.2011 at 15:12

fuck... I meant how... I swear. XD It's all K7's fault.


I know I suffer from K7ism myself quite often.
Merchant of Doom - 06.04.2011 at 12:18  
It's HellLight... anyway, I have two "problems" with this album: its length and the whiny clean vocals. I don't understand why some bands want to record such long "songs"... they just repeat themselves and strip them of any freshness and originality. And OMG, although I have heard a lot worse in terms of clean vocals on doom albums - Night Of Suicide spring to mind - the singer should just stick to what he is good at... growling.
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.04.2011 at 12:31  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.04.2011 at 12:18

It's HellLight... anyway, I have two "problems" with this album: its length and the whiny clean vocals. I don't understand why some bands want to record such long "songs"... they just repeat themselves and strip them of any freshness and originality. And OMG, although I have heard a lot worse in terms of clean vocals on doom albums - Night Of Suicide spring to mind - the singer should just stick to what he is good at... growling.


concerning Night Of Suicide on what album/demo does Ben employ clean vocals? The one demo I have (their second) it's just growls.
Haven't heard the new album yet though. But I can't imagine Ben using clean vocals, tbh that would be jusat too weird seeing I have known Ben for about 5 years now and have only heard his normal talking voice and his growls.
Merchant of Doom - 06.04.2011 at 13:18  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.04.2011 at 12:31

Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.04.2011 at 12:18

It's HellLight... anyway, I have two "problems" with this album: its length and the whiny clean vocals. I don't understand why some bands want to record such long "songs"... they just repeat themselves and strip them of any freshness and originality. And OMG, although I have heard a lot worse in terms of clean vocals on doom albums - Night Of Suicide spring to mind - the singer should just stick to what he is good at... growling.


concerning Night Of Suicide on what album/demo does Ben employ clean vocals? The one demo I have (their second) it's just growls.
Haven't heard the new album yet though. But I can't imagine Ben using clean vocals, tbh that would be jusat too weird seeing I have known Ben for about 5 years now and have only heard his normal talking voice and his growls.


I only have 'Unanswered' and the last one, 'Desire', courtesy of Solitude Prod. Both albums have clean vocals, but there's more on 'Unanswered', and they are pretty much out of tune all the way! There's only one instance on 'Desire' and it's not too bad... it's a shame, because I love the music and the growling is awesome!
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.04.2011 at 13:27  
Mmm maybe I should replay Unasnwered cause I can't remember clean vocals there but then again last time I played it must be two years ago.
His growling is indeed awesome.
Btw Ben also organizes Dordrecht Doom Day which will feature the Spina Bifida reunion gig, hell yeah.
Merchant of Doom - 06.04.2011 at 13:58  
I really like Ben's output... his only weak point is his clean singing... lol, but you can't have everything! And I'm not the only one complaining...

http://www.doom-metal.com/reviews.php?album=1328
BitterCOld - 06.04.2011 at 20:06  
The clean vocals weren't the best, and nothing i would want to hear on other, less intense music... but within this album i liked them.
Troy Killjoy - 07.04.2011 at 01:41  
His cleans on Night of Suicide's latest are excellent, because they're more in line with "chanting", not Biebering.
Merchant of Doom - 07.04.2011 at 11:38  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.04.2011 at 01:41

His cleans on Night of Suicide's latest are excellent, because they're more in line with "chanting", not Biebering.


This is true...
Merchant of Doom - 07.04.2011 at 12:52  
Actually, I listened to this again this morning and it's very good indeed...
Boxcar Willy - 13.04.2011 at 22:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.04.2011 at 15:24

Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.04.2011 at 15:12

fuck... I meant how... I swear. XD It's all K7's fault.


I know I suffer from K7ism myself quite often.

em oot
Troy Killjoy - 14.04.2011 at 16:25  
Finally got around to this, and I must say the clean vocals are totally out of place and almost ruin the songs. It's like Freddy Mercury + funeral doom. But his growls are outstanding, and this is a good album overall with a ton of atmosphere.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews The Deadists - Time Without Light 6.5 26.04.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Albums HellLight - The Light That Brought Darkness [EP] 6 12.09.2013 by Cynic Metalhead
Reviews Whales And Aurora - The Shipwreck 6 26.10.2012 by Susan
Reviews Grieving Age - Merely The Fleshless We And The Awed Obsequy 6 06.12.2013 by Northern Danger
Reviews Terzij De Horde - A Rage Of Rapture Against The Dying Of The Light 6 14.07.2010 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 4047 | This month: 60