HellLight - ...And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell... review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.5

9 users:
8.00
Band: HellLight
Album: ...And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell...
Release date: December 2010


01. The Light That Brought Darkness
02. Downfall Of The Rain
03. Soaring Higher
04. Children Of Doom
05. The Secrecy
06. Beneath The Light Of The Moon


So this marks the third leg of the "BitterCOld South American Doom Tour", following previous stops in Argentina Fungoid Stream), and a double-header (Mar De Grises , Procession) in Chile, we now find ourselves bound for Brazil with Helllight.

The music of …And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell… is primarily death doom with some funeral influences. Tracks, as you can imagine are slow, crushing, and horribly depressing. Miserable, distorted riffs coupled with plodding drumming and subsonic growled vocals punish the listener…

But why stop there?

In addition to the standard aforementioned components of the genre, Helllight also toss some other elements into the mix to pile further misery onto the listening experience. Keyboards illuminate the album with a hellish ambiance and piano lines add melancholy to the misery. Frontman Fabio (no, not that Fabio!) mixes up his growls with some whiny-tortured sounding clean vocals vaguely reminiscent of Black Sabbath-era Ozzy, bringing in another element of woe.

Somehow, while long and unrelenting, the band do manage to capture some different facets of misery in their songs… so while "The Light That Brought Darkness" might leave you feeling just as horrid as "Soaring Higher", it's a different kind of misery. You know, the difference between, say, finding out the family dog was hit by a car and realizing you are a complete failure, you'll never amount to anything and the best you can hope for in life is to work your way up to fry cook at the local burger joint. Both (songs and circumstances) will leave you crying into your pillow at night, praying for sleep (or sweet death) to come.

Perhaps the only thing longer than the album title, …And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell…, is the album itself. The six death doom songs that comprise this album take up damn near 80 minutes. The tracks all range between 12 and 15 minutes long, and feel twice that.

All in all it's grueling listen… bleak, oppressive, and perhaps a tad overwhelming. But that's the point. So if you are a masochist and like having your music violate your very being, …And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell… might serve as a good fix to your nasty habit.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 04.04.2011 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments

Comments: 24   Visited by: 167 users
04.04.2011 - 22:11
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
80 friggin music?! Damn that's very long even for doom standars. Might check it in the near future. It seems interesting with the clean vocals you named. Thanks for the heads up. Nice to see more doom from south america.
For a second I thought this was a black emtal album...
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.04.2011 - 22:14
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.04.2011 at 22:11

80 friggin music?! Damn that's very long even for doom standars. Might check it in the near future. It seems interesting with the clean vocals you named. Thanks for the heads up. Nice to see more doom from south america.
For a second I thought this was a black emtal album...

Have you been drinking?
Loading...
04.04.2011 - 22:17
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Arg, their band name is really annoying. Why does it need 3 l's in a row?
Loading...
04.04.2011 - 22:34
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 04.04.2011 at 22:14

Have you been drinking?


I did write the message kind of fast... But otherwise I don't know why you would think I was drinking some alcohol.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.04.2011 - 22:35
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.04.2011 at 22:34

Written by Guest on 04.04.2011 at 22:14

Have you been drinking?


I did write the message kind of fast... But otherwise I don't know why you would think I was drinking some alcohol.

I can smell it on you. You lush.
Loading...
05.04.2011 - 03:14
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Did someone say masochist? I'll definitely look into this.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.04.2011 - 14:33
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 04.04.2011 at 22:17

Arg, their band name is really annoying. Why does it need 3 l's in a row?


Because that's how you correctly spell the name consisting of the words Hell + light
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
05.04.2011 - 14:37
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.04.2011 at 14:33

Written by Guest on 04.04.2011 at 22:17

Arg, their band name is really annoying. Why does it need 3 l's in a row?


Because that's how you correctly spell the name consisting of the words Hell + light

But 97% of people would realise that it looks completely retarded and adopt the more standard way of doing it and drop one of the l's. Would be far easier for the brain to recognise. Or better still just choose a decent name.
Loading...
05.04.2011 - 14:56
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 05.04.2011 at 14:37

...and adopt the more standard way of doing it and drop one of the l's.


People might use that more often but of course that is totally incorrect
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
05.04.2011 - 15:00
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.04.2011 at 14:56

Written by Guest on 05.04.2011 at 14:37

...and adopt the more standard way of doing it and drop one of the l's.


People might use that more often but of course that is totally incorrect


That means 97% people don't know how to write correctly
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
05.04.2011 - 15:11
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.04.2011 at 15:00

That means 97% people don't know who to write correctly


yep.
But who is "who" in your sentence?
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
05.04.2011 - 15:12
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.04.2011 at 15:11

Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.04.2011 at 15:00

That means 97% people don't know who to write correctly


yep.
But who is "who" in your sentence?


fuck... I meant how... I swear. XD It's all K7's fault.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
05.04.2011 - 15:24
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.04.2011 at 15:12

fuck... I meant how... I swear. XD It's all K7's fault.


I know I suffer from K7ism myself quite often.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.04.2011 - 12:18
Merchant of Doom
It's HellLight... anyway, I have two "problems" with this album: its length and the whiny clean vocals. I don't understand why some bands want to record such long "songs"... they just repeat themselves and strip them of any freshness and originality. And OMG, although I have heard a lot worse in terms of clean vocals on doom albums - Night Of Suicide spring to mind - the singer should just stick to what he is good at... growling.
Loading...
06.04.2011 - 12:31
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.04.2011 at 12:18

It's HellLight... anyway, I have two "problems" with this album: its length and the whiny clean vocals. I don't understand why some bands want to record such long "songs"... they just repeat themselves and strip them of any freshness and originality. And OMG, although I have heard a lot worse in terms of clean vocals on doom albums - Night Of Suicide spring to mind - the singer should just stick to what he is good at... growling.


concerning Night Of Suicide on what album/demo does Ben employ clean vocals? The one demo I have (their second) it's just growls.
Haven't heard the new album yet though. But I can't imagine Ben using clean vocals, tbh that would be jusat too weird seeing I have known Ben for about 5 years now and have only heard his normal talking voice and his growls.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.04.2011 - 13:18
Merchant of Doom
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.04.2011 at 12:31

Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.04.2011 at 12:18

It's HellLight... anyway, I have two "problems" with this album: its length and the whiny clean vocals. I don't understand why some bands want to record such long "songs"... they just repeat themselves and strip them of any freshness and originality. And OMG, although I have heard a lot worse in terms of clean vocals on doom albums - Night Of Suicide spring to mind - the singer should just stick to what he is good at... growling.


concerning Night Of Suicide on what album/demo does Ben employ clean vocals? The one demo I have (their second) it's just growls.
Haven't heard the new album yet though. But I can't imagine Ben using clean vocals, tbh that would be jusat too weird seeing I have known Ben for about 5 years now and have only heard his normal talking voice and his growls.


I only have 'Unanswered' and the last one, 'Desire', courtesy of Solitude Prod. Both albums have clean vocals, but there's more on 'Unanswered', and they are pretty much out of tune all the way! There's only one instance on 'Desire' and it's not too bad... it's a shame, because I love the music and the growling is awesome!
Loading...
06.04.2011 - 13:27
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Mmm maybe I should replay Unasnwered cause I can't remember clean vocals there but then again last time I played it must be two years ago.
His growling is indeed awesome.
Btw Ben also organizes Dordrecht Doom Day which will feature the Spina Bifida reunion gig, hell yeah.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.04.2011 - 13:58
Merchant of Doom
I really like Ben's output... his only weak point is his clean singing... lol, but you can't have everything! And I'm not the only one complaining...

http://www.doom-metal.com/reviews.php?album=1328
Loading...
06.04.2011 - 20:06
BitterCOld
Gringo
The clean vocals weren't the best, and nothing i would want to hear on other, less intense music... but within this album i liked them.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
07.04.2011 - 01:41
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
His cleans on Night of Suicide's latest are excellent, because they're more in line with "chanting", not Biebering.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
07.04.2011 - 11:38
Merchant of Doom
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.04.2011 at 01:41

His cleans on Night of Suicide's latest are excellent, because they're more in line with "chanting", not Biebering.


This is true...
Loading...
07.04.2011 - 12:52
Merchant of Doom
Actually, I listened to this again this morning and it's very good indeed...
Loading...
13.04.2011 - 22:13
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.04.2011 at 15:24

Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.04.2011 at 15:12

fuck... I meant how... I swear. XD It's all K7's fault.


I know I suffer from K7ism myself quite often.

em oot
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
14.04.2011 - 16:25
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Finally got around to this, and I must say the clean vocals are totally out of place and almost ruin the songs. It's like Freddy Mercury + funeral doom. But his growls are outstanding, and this is a good album overall with a ton of atmosphere.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...

Hits total: 4948 | This month: 17