Rating:
6.0
Hæresiarchs Of Dis - In Obsecration Of The Seven Darks
19 April 2011


01. In Obsecration Of The Seven Darks
02. Onward Through The Oculus
03. Remembrance Of He Who Defied God
04. Aut Vincere Aut Mori
05. Confounded By The Vanquished Coil
06. Passage
07. Ensorcelled By Khaos
08. Grazioso Drone
09. Consummation Of The Seed/ Dawn


Black metal
United States
Moribund Records

Line-up on the CD:
Cernunnos - vocals, all instruments


So it appears Cernunnos is back with another Hæresiarchs Of Dis release. Last time around, I called out the multi-instrumentalist for his lack of direction and mentioned a trip up North might serve him good. Turns out, whether or not the vacation was had, In Obsecration Of The Seven Darks is a lot more focused on a single direction, which benefits the atmosphere and makes concentrating on the task at hand far easier.

The problem is, while you're busy analyzing the music and concentrating so hard on the songwriting, you start thinking to yourself...what exactly has transpired over the course of the last 50 minutes? Not a hell of a lot, to be honest. Carryover from the previous album includes, but is not limited to, Emperor worship, cliche black metal riffs sprinkled with moments (or a moment) of brilliance, "necro" production, songs that are longer than they really should be, predictability, occult chanting... Need I say more?

Probably not, but I will anyway because you don't have anything better to do than to read about the anguish Cernunnos causes me.

The problem with In Obsecration Of The Seven Darks is that, in spite of its more focused direction, it simply fails to entice. "Grazioso Drone", a ballad-esque hymn, is easily the most grabbing track on the release, and that's only because it disrupts the pattern of ambient instrumental - black metal onslaught - ambient instrumental - black metal onslaught. At least Cernunnos gives an honest effort in the vocal department; his screams reach an all-time grating high, but that effort unfortunately does not make up for the monotony that is the music.

As per usual, black metal aficionados will likely give this a shot in hopes that tastes differ and Hæresiarchs Of Dis is actually the best modern American black metal band in existence. I wouldn't recommend anyone but that select group give this a look unless you want to experience an hour-long session of harmless background music.


MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/heresiarchsofdis

Performance: 6
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 8


Website: http://www.toadstoolcomics.com/dis/


 



Written on 05.04.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 122  
Search this topic:  


toadstoolcomics - 05.04.2011 at 23:00  
Your review here has inspired me to sign in to this site and post a comment.

For whatever reason you have strong issues with this band, so I must ask, if this music is not your cup of tea why are you reviewing it? Shouldn't someone else who does not already have pre-conceptions review it?

I always appreciate a reviewer's opinion, but you do not justify your reasoning with objectivity. Show, do not tell. We do not care how artfully you can criticize a release if you cannot back it up with nothing more than a shallow subjective opinion. It suggests lack of credibility, and I am not just talking about this review here but the previous release by this artist Denuntiatus Cinis. If I recall your review generated quite a stir in the comments.

Simply not a lot of credibility here if you can do little more than complain. You suggest this new album is better than the band's last, yet you give it a rating of 6, whereas the last received a 7. That is interesting. Maybe if you were some Black Metal icon one might care a bit more about your thoughts, but it seems you are just another narcissistic forum junkie high on his/her own self-worth through the wonderfully open arena of the internet.

Do not bother responding as I will not return to this site. Unfortunately, your biased opinion that is full of spite--with slander such as "a trip up north might serve him good," does little to your credibility, or to Metal Storm. Comments like "read about the anguish Cernunnos causes me" really tells me nothing about the music, and is unprofessional. I can find more thoughtful and honest reviews elsewhere.
Troy Killjoy - 05.04.2011 at 23:15  
Written by toadstoolcomics on 05.04.2011 at 23:00

Your review here has inspired me to sign in to this site and post a comment.

For whatever reason you have strong issues with this band, so I must ask, if this music is not your cup of tea why are you reviewing it? Shouldn't someone else who does not already have pre-conceptions review it?

I always appreciate a reviewer's opinion, but you do not justify your reasoning with objectivity. Show, do not tell. We do not care how artfully you can criticize a release if you cannot back it up with nothing more than a shallow subjective opinion. It suggests lack of credibility, and I am not just talking about this review here but the previous release by this artist Denuntiatus Cinis. If I recall your review generated quite a stir in the comments.

Simply not a lot of credibility here if you can do little more than complain. You suggest this new album is better than the band's last, yet you give it a rating of 6, whereas the last received a 7. That is interesting. Maybe if you were some Black Metal icon one might care a bit more about your thoughts, but it seems you are just another narcissistic forum junkie high on his/her own self-worth through the wonderfully open arena of the internet.

Do not bother responding as I will not return to this site. Unfortunately, your biased opinion that is full of spite--with slander such as "a trip up north might serve him good," does little to your credibility, or to Metal Storm. Comments like "read about the anguish Cernunnos causes me" really tells me nothing about the music, and is unprofessional. I can find more thoughtful and honest reviews elsewhere.

Like you said, there's no point quoting you because you won't return/respond, but I feel the need to defend myself and will do so by responding to your criticism.

Firstly, I have no issues with the band. The last HoD album I listened to was pretty generic stuff, and I didn't enjoy it - for reasons listed in my review. This album presented more of the same cons, even if there seemed to be more focus. Why did I bother reviewing it even though I didn't like it? I dunno...probably because a press contact requested me to, and it's not a matter of it not being my cup of tea: Black metal happens to be my favorite genre of music.

Secondly, nobody on this site is a black metal icon, and neither are you. What you're saying is nobody cares about what anyone says about a black metal album unless it's Varg or Fenriz. Good luck trying to get either of them to review your material. That's why people like me are contacted in order to do this. I like the music, I like writing about it, and I like ensuing debates regarding my critique. What I don't like is someone (from a label or a band, especially) who has a problem with my review because I didn't praise it to high heaven and my impact on the (black) metal scene is non-existent because I didn't help establish the scene in the first place.

Lastly, I stand by my statements and write what I believe to be true about the music I'm hearing. I try to bring a more humorous approach to my reviews because keeping users' interest is hard enough while writing about some underground band not a lot of people here will even bother to check out, let alone comment on. After all, I'm just one narcissistic forum junkie high on my own self-worth through the wonderfully open arena of the internet, so what I have to say regarding a band's music shouldn't get anyone's panties all tied in a bunch anyway.
Kwis - 06.04.2011 at 00:00  
God forbid someone shouldn't like this album...
CMcD - 10.06.2011 at 23:37  
Listen to this one in a record store again?
toadstoolcomics - 11.06.2011 at 00:09  
Thanks for the reply. I had not planned on responding (commenting is usually a bunch of BS), but found this on a search so thought I'd jump back in. And apparently you live off internet gossip and this stuff in particular... so great!

I appreciate your response, but as you say, it is in "defense" just like your diatribe with this band's previous release. I dare not think that you were so concerned with your online reputation and status that you'd feel compelled to rebuttal... Guess I was wrong there. True, I worked with the band a while back before Moribund, and yes! I do enjoy the music. So as a matter of continuation, I do like to see what is being said about said band. That is why I Google the band online to see what is going on and what is being said.

I have enjoyed informative negative reviews form several sources, and a few positive. I like to hear no biased reviewers, and truth be known, I prefer this band's previous release (Again, why your score here?! Avoiding that?).

The bottom line is your review is a pompous-narcissistic point of view common to what I see in the unregulated internet these days. Your previous Haeresiarchs review re-enforces this. AND that's cool, it is your opinion... No problem there, but as a new reader I would like reviews to be more informative. Give more info, not biased opinion. So, because the label sends you somethihg you can say "Fuck these guys" because you have to?! Again, does not say much for your site. You sound bored.

Big BM fan, eh? Yeah okay. So is my teenage neighbor next-door.

Fenriz and Varg... WTF?! You trying to impress with your BM knowledge? Yeah, real good there. Credibility again, my friend. Black metal icon?! WTF again! Dude, get over it! Sorry man, but you strike me as another punk kid out to force his "superior" opinion on others because of your own insecurities in other areas.

So, go ahead and defend your integrity, because you seem really good at that. And ehat is up with "by humorous approach"?! What's that all about? You trying to cater to diminished intellectual capacity or something?! You saying people who listen to metal require a "humorous" take so they understand? Great, that really inspires me to read your posts.

BTW, it looks as if Moribund has sold out of this album... So, like I said, some better analysis of the material might be in order, or METAL STORM needs to get someone better. I call on the latter. Assume always that there is a general audience reading your review. But I am sure you are too good for advice. Yeah?

Enjoy your online reputation! Again, not seeing the value of this site (Do most sites with "Metal" in them lack integrity?)
Troy Killjoy - 11.06.2011 at 01:06  
Written by toadstoolcomics on 11.06.2011 at 00:09

lol

You've done two things here: returned to the site, thus nullifying your apparent attitude of apathy towards my thoughts on your comment(s); and fully misinterpreted a vast majority of my response due to your obvious egocentric nature.

If you don't like me or this site, that's fine. We already have enough trolls as it is.

Peace.
toadstoolcomics - 17.07.2011 at 00:27  
I stand so corrected. You obviously are master of your domain, I will not second guess your knowledge again. My mistake. Anyone who disagrees with your opinion is obviously in the wrong. And as you will always need (and get) the last word you will always be right. This virtual existence is incredibly important to you I see, therefore I rather not dethrone you.

Egocentric? Trolls? That is so very descriptive, and what I expected in reply. Accusatory and emotion charged. Did you use your thesaurus for that one? Wow, just keep building that credibility! Maybe one day you can take your vast knowledge and do something substantial with it. Congrats! I have been put in my place.

And yeah, returning here because it is hilarious to see you stumble at responses. If it is important, go ahead an delete me from this site. I am sure I can find another one. I honestly have not looked around this site simply because I can't get past your presence. I admit that is unfair. But thus is life.

Enjoy your reign!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Hæresiarchs Of Dis - Denuntiatus Cinis 9 12.01.2011 by Mikyz
Reviews The Royal Arch Blaspheme - The Royal Arch Blaspheme 6 03.05.2010 by Mikyz
Reviews Cruxifiction - The Coming 6 21.05.2011 by Rupert
Reviews Valediction - The Primitive Architecture 6 08.05.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews Sargeist - Let The Devil In 6 12.01.2011 by



Hits total: 4128 | This month: 58