Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.2
Septic Mind - Начало [The Beginning]
30 November 2010


01. Начало
02. Уводящий
03. Покинувшие мир


Nachalo (The Beginning) starts off with one of those Evoken-like guitar tones... the clean, yet still dirty guitar with a little reverb... The tone that sets off your "Spidey sense" and gives you just enough warning to find a door frame in which to duck and cover before the impending slow motion train wreck of torment ensues and lays you to waste.

Sure enough, foreboding, suffocating doom follows shortly thereafter.

The Russian duo Septic Mind layeth down the pain in this and take their time tormenting their listeners. Nachalo might only list three songs on the album, but those three stretch on for over 60 minutes... For those of you not majoring in math, that's 20 minutes - or your average sitcom - per track. Wowzers.

The music itself switches from Funeral Doom to ambient noise at various times. Not particularly quickly... it's basically an indeterminable amount of time of them pushing one style, adjustment to the other for another seemingly endless period of time, then shifting back to the first. (Ok, so I wasn't timing the changes with a stop watch.) The effect is basically like slowly crushing your windpipe, then letting up to allow you to suck in air, precious air, before they resume throttling you.

Seriously, the funereal opening couple minutes (with Whovian noises to boot) of "The Ones Who Left This World", the third and final track on the album, is vile enough to kill all plant life within 10 meters/yards/parsecs of your speakers, and will cause all domestic pets smaller than Guinea pigs in hearing range to convulse uncontrollably until merciful ambient release sets in.

As one might think of an album with 60 minutes of music, and only three songs, things develop s l o w l y.

Very slowly.

I actually read the collected works of Ernest Hemingway in between drum beats to "The Misleading." And if you think that's something, I was also able to watch the Lord of the Rings trilogy - extended versions - before the drums even kicked in on that particular track.

Well, it's almost all slower.. until we come to a two minute span in the last 1/3rd of "The Ones Who Left Behind", in which the drummer starts guzzling liquid amphetamines and somehow manages to push the tempo to triple digit territory. By that point in the album, you've been slow riding for so damned long that this burst might as well have skipped straight past warp speed and hit plaid.

For those of you ADHD types that demand fun-superexciting- EXPLOSIONSBOOM shit happens at regular intervals to keep you hooked to music, this is a bad thing. You should probably avoid this release. Then again, my reviews occasionally meander beyond Haiku length, so such peoples just skipped all the blah blah blah wordswordswords and glanced straight at the score. Fuck them for being lazy. However, considering the average funeral doom fan probably digs tempos so slow you can age Scotch in between spins of an album, this is a positive. Your patience is rewarded. Well, not really. It's punished. But that's the point of doom, isn't it? Misery loves company. Suffer. Bastard.

The doomed Russian duo have created an album that is a wonderful blend of crushing punishment and fantastic release... This album is a great, versatile soundtrack, fitting in whether you slit your wrists while toasting bread in the bath tub as you are being buried alive in your porcelain coffin or just to jam to as you kick back and Astral travel your ass to Ganymede.

Buy this record. Either you'll love it and will give me e-high fives for turning you on to such a monument of awesome... or you'll hate it and I'll feast on your tears about what a downer it was or how it needed more car chases.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Septic Mind
Album: Начало [The Beginning]


 



Written on 30.04.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 150  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 30.04.2011 at 19:55  
So many lolers :')
NocturnalStalker - 30.04.2011 at 20:37  
I saw them live and they failed to impress me so I don't think I'll like the record.
Quote:
...in which the drummer starts guzzling liquid amphetamines and somehow manages to push the tempo to triple digit territory.

That sentence sounds pretty funny if you know they use a programmed drums.
BitterCOld - 30.04.2011 at 20:47  
Written by NocturnalStalker on 30.04.2011 at 20:37

I saw them live and they failed to impress me so I don't think I'll like the record.
Quote:
...in which the drummer starts guzzling liquid amphetamines and somehow manages to push the tempo to triple digit territory.

That sentence sounds pretty funny if you know they use a programmed drums.


so they just bathed the drum machine in a vat of liquid amphetamines...

i could see why they might struggle a bit live, as it's two guys and a huge chunk of sound. the long drifty bits are definitely not for everyone, either. i just happen to like that stuff.
NocturnalStalker - 30.04.2011 at 21:05  
Written by BitterCOld on 30.04.2011 at 20:47

i could see why they might struggle a bit live, as it's two guys and a huge chunk of sound. the long drifty bits are definitely not for everyone, either. i just happen to like that stuff.

Well, they weren't that bad and it was a bit fun to see two guys and a laptop on the stage. It's just that they were opening for Pantheist and Esoteric and, comparing them to that bands, they got no chance. At least, in my eyes.
Mr. Doctor - 30.04.2011 at 21:31  
Written by NocturnalStalker on 30.04.2011 at 21:05

Well, they weren't that bad and it was a bit fun to see two guys and a laptop on the stage. It's just that they were opening for Pantheist and Esoteric and, comparing them to that bands, they got no chance. At least, in my eyes.


That is understandable but I will never compare bands and just say "X was meh because they played with [incert BIG band name here]" That is not really aplicable imo. Every band imo would sound mediocre besides Esoteric
NocturnalStalker - 30.04.2011 at 23:21  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.04.2011 at 21:31

That is understandable but I will never compare bands and just say "X was meh because they played with [incert BIG band name here]" That is not really aplicable imo. Every band imo would sound mediocre besides Esoteric

Actually I think Pantheist's performance was the best. Esoteric only managed to destroy my hearing.
As for Septic Mind... They just sound too monotonous for my taste. But I will definitely give this album a try. Who knows, maybe it will open up a door in a whole new musical landscape for me?
Mr. Doctor - 30.04.2011 at 23:52  
Written by NocturnalStalker on 30.04.2011 at 23:21

Actually I think Pantheist's performance was the best. Esoteric only managed to destroy my hearing.
As for Septic Mind... They just sound too monotonous for my taste. But I will definitely give this album a try. Who knows, maybe it will open up a door in a whole new musical landscape for me?


Also, there are many bands that are (sadly) better on cd than live
Troy Killjoy - 01.05.2011 at 00:02  
I really enjoyed this the first time I heard it, but it didn't draw me in enough to listen to it again. I definitely remember thinking of similarities with Evoken though, which is never a bad thing.

Funny review.
Merchant of Doom - 01.05.2011 at 01:14  
I loved this record... a bit long, but then you have plenty of time to make yourself a cup of tea during the ambient passages...
Daydream Nation - 01.05.2011 at 02:08  
"I actually read the collected works of Ernest Hemingway in between drum beats to "The Misleading." And if you think that's something, I was also able to watch the Lord of the Rings trilogy - extended versions - before the drums even kicked in on that particular track. "
BEST PASSAGE OF A REVIEW I HAVE EVER SEEN. This alone made me want to check it out.
Boxcar Willy - 24.12.2012 at 04:14  
Wow, hilarious yet descriptive review. Very well done!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Septic Mind - Истинный Зов [The Tr 7.5 06.01.2012 by Susan
Albums Septic Mind - Начало [The Beginning] 4.5 11.03.2013 by Alex Fenger
News Septic Mind - Entire New Album Streaming Online 3 30.12.2011 by BitterCOld
Reviews Sunpocrisy - Atman 3 01.12.2009 by -DC-002-
Reviews Fracture Point - Inherit The Downfall 3 28.04.2010 by Visioneerie



Hits total: 3060 | This month: 35