Rating:
8.5
Suidakra - Book Of Dowth
25 March 2011


01. Over Nine Waves
02. Dowth 2059
03. Battle-Cairns
04. Biróg's Oath
05. Mag Mell
06. The Dark Mound
07. Balor
08. Stone Of The Seven Suns
09. Fury Fomoraigh
10. Otherworlds Collide
11. Rise Of Taliesin [classical re-arranged version] [Digipak bonus]
12. When Eternity Echoes [classical re-arranged version] [Digipak bonus]
+ Dowth 2059 [video] [Digipak bonus]


Some bands play violins near a frozen fjord and call it Folk Metal. Some bands get drunk in a sauna and record Polka songs and call it Folk Metal [you know who you are]. Not so with the German metallers of Suidakra. What you get is breakneck Melodic Death drenched in Folk influences and the tradition continues with Book Of Dowth. Logical successor to 2006's Caledonia and 2009's Crógacht, this album might finally crown the band with glory.

The folk cloak is always there to wrap a tight rhythm section while the driving force behind the music is as always their killer guitar riffs and head banging melodies. Front man Arkadius Antonik once more handles all kinds of vocals with brio from clean to growls.

What makes this record exceptional in my view is the order of the tracks. The killer intro blends in with the juggernaut "single". The calm interludes and semi-ballad only reinforce the strength of the album, which is something few bands have achieved over the years. However, the real genius fact is that the album seems to keep building with the last two songs - if you exclude the outro - being the true killer tracks.

The digipack edition also allows listeners to rediscover some of their previous work as it includes classical re-arranged versions of "Rise Of Taliesin" [originally from 2000's The Arcanum] and "When Eternity Echoes" [from 2003's Sign For The Fallen].

Another year goes by, another killer Suidakra offering to enjoy. Book Of Dowth continues the trend without repeating its predecessors, a testament to their ingenuity. A very solid, uniform monolith of Folk influenced Melodic Death Metal to feast on. Let's bring out the bagpipes and celebrate in unison.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Suidakra
Album: Book Of Dowth


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 12.05.2011



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 353  
Search this topic:  


BlueMobius - 12.05.2011 at 02:43  
I should catch up on their latest work. The last album I listened to was Caledonia, so maybe I will check out the new album.
VloRD - 12.05.2011 at 10:55  
Awesome album, Great Review...
The Bagpipe intro is just kick ass.
sordid - 12.05.2011 at 11:25  
Written by BlueMobius on 12.05.2011 at 02:43

I should catch up on their latest work. The last album I listened to was Caledonia, so maybe I will check out the new album.


check out crógacht. it's different from caledonia,and in my view,way better.
this new one i hadn't listen carefully yet.
Vikcen - 12.05.2011 at 13:08  
Nice review... i ordered the digipack edition 3 days ago, waiting to listen it with all the glory that deserve this album hehe =) (discovered thanks to MetalStorm again)
flamey - 12.05.2011 at 13:13  
Suidakra is one of those bands where you know they're not gonna try anything groundbreaking, but rather will stick to their sound yet still put out enjoyable albums. This one wasn't exception. Love the acoustic parts too.
Susan - 12.05.2011 at 18:11  
Thanks for reviewing this DT! Excellent album, really reaffirmed my faith in this great band. So right about the first paragraph. They don't just play some gimmicky version of folk metal and call it a day.

WHO is the female vocalist on Birog's Oath? She is fabulous and versatile, fits the music perfectly, and totally stole the show for me
Troy Killjoy - 12.05.2011 at 18:16  
Written by Susan on 12.05.2011 at 18:11

WHO is the female vocalist on Birog's Oath? She is fabulous and versatile, fits the music perfectly, and totally stole the show for me

Tina Stabel
Enemy of Reality - 12.05.2011 at 23:02  
Birogs Oath is awesome!
Dark Blood - 13.05.2011 at 03:52  
Honestly I never got into these guys that much, I only heard a few songs. But what I heard from this album on their Myspace page + this review makes me want to know more of them. Really interesting stuff.
Until the End - 13.05.2011 at 14:39  
'Battle-Cairns', 'The Dark Mound', 'Balor' and 'Fury Fomoraigh' are all great tracks with the latter being my favourite song on the album. Didn't really care much for the female vocal or clean vocal tracks stuck in the middle.
tirim4 - 14.05.2011 at 15:07  
I really could like Folk Metal if it wasn't so cheesy. Eluveitie is the one Folk Metal band that I have found that stood out a little from the typical cheesy fiddles and flutes and happy hobit metal most folk metal is. This album however, while it still has a little of that, is actually quite good. There are some really good moments and just a few of the hobit metal ones.
ensiferumlism - 16.05.2011 at 12:31  
I dont hear them for a long time. I think i should come back with them ! tks for awesome reviews.
Daydream Nation - 19.05.2011 at 00:13  
Written by Until the End on 13.05.2011 at 14:39

'Battle-Cairns', 'The Dark Mound', 'Balor' and 'Fury Fomoraigh' are all great tracks with the latter being my favourite song on the album. Didn't really care much for the female vocal or clean vocal tracks stuck in the middle.

I agree completely with you. The album itself was structured poorly-- with the last half of the album being fantastic and the first half being relatively poor, in my opinion. I didn't think that the clean or female vocal tracks were bad-- I just thought they were poorly placed or could have been incorporated into some of the existing songs.
WorpeX - 20.09.2012 at 03:06  
This album is fantastic! I keep finding myself listening to this album even after having it for over a year now. LOVE IT!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Suidakra - Crógacht 7.5 07.06.2009 by Elio
Albums Suidakra - Book Of Dowth 6 09.02.2011 by Spanishkiller
Reviews Opeth - Watershed 4.5 22.08.2008 by TopGun
Reviews Vanden Plas - The Seraphic Clockwork 4.5 11.10.2010 by Dark Blood
Reviews Sculptured - Embodiment 4.5 26.01.2008 by dancingdecember



Hits total: 5291 | This month: 46