Metalusion - Metalusion review



Reviewer:
N/A

6 users:
8.00
Band: Metalusion
Album: Metalusion
Release date: 2011


01. Ground Zero
02. Frozen Dream
03. Egyptian Danza [Al Di Meola cover]
04. Colors Of Infinity
05. Illusions Of Starlight
06. Don't Let The World Pass You By [Jean-Luc Ponty cover]
07. Mirage [Jean-Luc Ponty cover]
08. Ascension
09. The Purple Lagoon [Frank Zappa cover]
10. Filthy Habits [Frank Zappa cover]


Glen Drover. Some may know him as the founder of the power metal band, Eidolon, or his work with Megadeth and King Diamond, but I would assume that most of you weren't too familiar with his name before reading this review. But it's the music that matters, not names. Fortunately, Glen Drover and his band deliver some very good jazz fusion to the ears of rock fans who have an interest in such instrumental music.

I suppose if I had to make a simple comparison of this album to something the average metalhead would know, I'd say if Symphony X strapped their jazz boots on and put out an instrumental album, the end product would be something like Metalusion (This is a very loose comparison though). I think my favorite aspect about this album is that every single musician brings something to the table in every song. While they are showing off their technical prowess on their instruments, no one is ever stealing the show thanks to great song writing and the crystal-clear production. You can hear everyone playing their part at all times. I should also mention that while Glen does a great job constantly spitting out great solos, riffs, and melodies on the album (never soloing longer than he has to), Jim Glimor does a great job of shining just as bright on keys. He performs some awesome solos and even sneaks in some classical piano bits on a couple tracks when he is not layering the songs with the essential synth to give the music that soothing jazzy touch.

There are also four (if you combine "Purple Lagoon" and "Filthy Habits" as one song) excellent covers of classic jazz fusion songs that blend in perfectly with the album. I've always thought Al Di Meola's "Egyptian Danza" could have used a good metal cover, and well, here it is on this album. I suppose it's also worth noting that Vinnie Moore, Fredrik Akesson (Opeth), Jeff Loomis and Steve Smyth (both from Nevermore fame) make guest appearances. While that's cool and all for fans of those musicians, I don't think they really added (or took away) anything remarkable to the songs they are featured in.

While this album is not for everyone, it should please progressive metal fans with an interest in jazz music and people who've ever thought it'd be cool if a metal musician covered a Frank Zappa song (I know, very large demographic there). With an album that boasts such great musicianship and flow in terms of overall composition, it's always pretty difficult for me to hit the stop or skip button on my music player until Metalusion is finished. And if that doesn't define how a great album should be, then I don't know what does.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9

Written by Fat & Sassy! | 18.05.2011


 


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 210 users
18.05.2011 - 03:53
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Jazz isn't dead.

It's just METAL. >:[
----
You do you, brozzio.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 14:04
Doc Godin
Full Grown Hoser
I'm usually not into jazz-prog-instrumental type shit. But this album had a certain quality to it I can't quite put my finger on. Quite nice indeed.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 14:07
MechanisT
Account deleted
Looks like my kind of thing. I'll check them out.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 14:14
Yavanna
Oh Lord,
I Gotta check it out
----
Carry me to the shoreline
Bury me in the sand
Walk me across the water
And maybe you'll understand
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 14:32
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Should I be listening to this Fat? I guess so.

Thumbs up for the review by the way
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 15:11
Edmund Fogg
Great review. It's good and strange at the same time to read something from you that doesn't have sarcasm or or sassy humour in it. Mind you I've been away for quite some time now and slowly coming back tho MS. You managed to peak my curiosity with this review. This and the Zappa covers I gotta hear
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 15:41
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Doesn't sound like my cup o' java but it's on Spotify so will definitely give it a listen ;]
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 16:30
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Gratz on your first review. it's good
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 17:58
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Thanks for the comments, guys! =3

Written by Edmund Fogg on 18.05.2011 at 15:11

It's good and strange at the same time to read something from you that doesn't have sarcasm or or sassy humour in it.


Seeing as how this is my first review, I tried to keep it tame. That and, well... I think if I didn't like the album, I'd be more opt to write something kinda sarcastic and humorous! XD Yeah, but I mean, I will try and write things with my own flair of personality and if it seems appropriate, I have no problem being cheeky.
----
You do you, brozzio.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 18:02
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Doc Godin on 18.05.2011 at 14:04

I'm usually not into jazz-prog-instrumental type shit. But this album had a certain quality to it I can't quite put my finger on. Quite nice indeed.


I think the sharp metal elements of the music, along with the synth, give it a unique atmosphere for this kind of music. And it's quite catchy at times!

... That's my guess for you at least.
----
You do you, brozzio.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 19:07
Edmund Fogg
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 18.05.2011 at 17:58

Thanks for the comments, guys! =3

Written by Edmund Fogg on 18.05.2011 at 15:11

It's good and strange at the same time to read something from you that doesn't have sarcasm or or sassy humour in it.


Seeing as how this is my first review, I tried to keep it tame. That and, well... I think if I didn't like the album, I'd be more opt to write something kinda sarcastic and humorous! XD Yeah, but I mean, I will try and write things with my own flair of personality and if it seems appropriate, I have no problem being cheeky.


First review hin. I think you did a great job at describing the sound and feel of the album and kept a good flow. I can't wait for a review about something you didn't like. keep it up. there you go a review of a review hehe.
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
19.05.2011 - 10:32
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Hmm. Thanks for an interesting review. I don't think I would check this album otherwise; now, it's next on my list. Thanks again!
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
21.05.2011 - 17:48
Panterica
"While this album is not for everyone, it should please progressive metal fans with an interest in jazz music" - This sentence is clearly talking about me! I gotta check this album out!
----
Li'ed - Prog-Metal from Jerusalem
https://www.facebook.com/LiedBandMusic
http://lied-band.bandcamp.com/
Loading...
25.05.2011 - 12:15
Pyramid God
This is some pretty good instrumental stuff. Very prog-y sounding to my ears.
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 21:22
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Mirage is one great cover; so is Egyptian Danza. Frank Zappa was quite good too. It seems that the best songs on the album were covers.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...

Hits total: 4783 | This month: 4