MIWA - My Wish Is Your Command review



Reviewer:
7.3
Band: MIWA
Album: My Wish Is Your Command
Release date: January 2011


01. Finally Found You
02. Playing With Fire
03. My Wish Is Your Command
04. Crazy
05. Gimme What You Got
06. Point Seven
07. Samenaide
08. Virus
09. Kizu
10. Without You


Yep, that's the official album art for MIWA's My Wish is Your Command

I'd be willing to wager that the person behind it is either a twelve year old or an avid Pokemon card collector. Currently leaning toward the latter, although both are probably true.

If you look past the abominable album cover and give the music a chance, though, there's a lot of respectable hard rock and heavy metal to be heard. The musicianship is solid, the songs are fun, the riffs are consistently good, blah, blah. I like it.

Despite featuring some biggish names like Bjorn Englen, who plays bass for Yngwie Malmsteen, and Chris Slade, formerly of AC/DC, the star of MIWA is undoubtedly Miwa, the Japanese femme fatale. The vocalist. Sure, her singing isn't wonderful, but her yelling is excellent, and she screams like a pro.

Miwa's versatile performance works well most of the time--she even belts her stuff out in Japanese for a few of the songs. That said, when she goes into ballad mode, she does stumble a bit. The slower, more singing-heavy songs are cloying enough to justify turning the album off prematurely. So that's a problem.

When Miwa blunders, however, she's supported by riffing and soloing that's, most of the time, nothing short of terrific. The guitarist gives the impression that he can simply feel good riffs--the impression that he doesn't need to spend much time reworking and honing his stuff. Their work seems to flow naturally. Only on a few occasions are toes stubbed and/or elbows poked out. But even the album's imperfections have a charming quality to them. I like metal that's rough around the edges.

But back to the questionable Pokemon reference: My Wish isn't quite a Charizard of an album. Not quite. But it's definitely a mid-level Charmelon. It'll melt a few faces and it certainly has no trouble clawing down many of the newer hard rock and heavy metal bands. Some of MIWA's songs make Airbourne look like a sickly, malnourished Bellsprout. They're more evolved and have more firepower than many of the throwback heavy metal/hard rock outfits around and they deserve attention.

Highlights: "My Wish is Your Command", "Kizu", and "Gimme What You Got".


 



Written on 18.05.2011 by Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 206 users
18.05.2011 - 06:03
bloodwrage
Pagan Angel
More albums should be given scores based on Pokemon. I'm gonna check this out.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 15:20
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Good album indeed, great review Thanks
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 15:36
Edmund Fogg
Good review. I'm hearing a couple of tracks and I like what I hear so far. Sounds like great summer bbq music for me
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 16:36
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Written by bloodwrage on 18.05.2011 at 06:03

More albums should be given scores based on Pokemon. I'm gonna check this out.
indeed! lol
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 18:13
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Last paragraph is so awesome. XD

So, would you say this album is a.... *ROCK SMASH*? >:[
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 21:02
BudDa
Interesting. I never thought MIWA would ever be reviewed on this site. And while I have not yet got my hands on this..the first time I came in contact with her music was on her song "Change" which was featured as one of the theme songs for the anime series BLEACH
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 21:44
THIS_IS_MY_ID
Written by BudDa on 18.05.2011 at 21:02

Interesting. I never thought MIWA would ever be reviewed on this site. And while I have not yet got my hands on this..the first time I came in contact with her music was on her song "Change" which was featured as one of the theme songs for the anime series BLEACH


This is not "that" Miwa. Miwa you are thinking about had released her first album "Guitarissimo" about a month ago. And "Change" is on that album.
Loading...
18.05.2011 - 22:44
BudDa
Written by THIS_IS_MY_ID on 18.05.2011 at 21:44

Written by BudDa on 18.05.2011 at 21:02

Interesting. I never thought MIWA would ever be reviewed on this site. And while I have not yet got my hands on this..the first time I came in contact with her music was on her song "Change" which was featured as one of the theme songs for the anime series BLEACH


This is not "that" Miwa. Miwa you are thinking about had released her first album "Guitarissimo" about a month ago. And "Change" is on that album.

Oh? Ok, thanx for clearing that up
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
24.05.2011 - 08:58
Doc Godin
Full Grown Hoser
The last paragraph was epic.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...

Hits total: 3673 | This month: 4