Rating:
9.7
Ulcerate - The Destroyers Of All
25 January 2011


01. Burning Skies
02. Dead Oceans
03. Cold Becoming
04. Beneath
05. The Hollow Idols
06. Omens
07. The Destroyers Of All


Contrary to what those purists tell you, about how those "good old days" where the best, the truth is music must evolve. Whether for better or for worse, it is strictly a subjective matter and will differ from person to person. Yet, we have these flamboyant artists, who produce such remarkable work, that it stands as a testament to this un-retractable change.

And without the slightest bit of doubt, Ulcerate's The Destroyers of All is one such album. It gives a peek into the future and warns death metal fans of what's in store for them.

The album employs these long winding and turning riffs, decorated by relentless blast beats. The result is an unnerving apocalyptic atmosphere, with elements of that death metal brutality. The vocalist has a coarse deep voice, and sings a mournful tune which blends beautifully with the music. The lyrical themes are mostly misanthropic and are written with depth and sensitivity, which also adds to the severity of the album. The music draws comparisons with bands like Immolation, Suffocation and even Deathspell Omega.

The songwriting and structure of the tracks are top-notch. Moments of pace and aggression suddenly give way to airy interludes filled with eerie tunes and weird time signatures. All the tracks stay within their welcome and the songs seldom drag. The last track though, I found slightly drawn out. The production of the album is beyond doubt a masterstroke. The instruments are allowed to blend into each other, yet there is a level of distinction. The drums are the most overpowering and are kept at the top of the mix.

The most remarkable aspect about this album is that each and every element is tweaked and twisted to perfection, and only enhances the overall ambiance of the album. If you are a death metal fan and haven't acquired this album yet, then you are clearly missing the elephant in the room. Hurry now, before it sells out.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Ulcerate
Album: The Destroyers Of All


 


written by VloRD | 26.05.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 151  
Search this topic:  


oroboros - 26.05.2011 at 18:43  
This album made an instant impact. Already a fan of their death metal sound, but this album is album is equivalent to what DsO has done to black metal.
!J.O.O.E.! - 26.05.2011 at 19:41  
Quote:
Contrary to what those purists tell you, about how those "good old days" where the best, the truth is music must evolve.


Damn straight.

I seriously can't see any other death metal albums topping this one this year. It would be a feat if it did. Nice work on the review
(((O))) - 26.05.2011 at 20:02  
Great review!

Is there any other DM bands with this kind of atmosphere?
Troy Killjoy - 26.05.2011 at 21:36  
Written by (((O))) on 26.05.2011 at 20:02

Great review!

Is there any other DM bands with this kind of atmosphere?

Mitochondrion is the first that comes to mind. Portal too.
!J.O.O.E.! - 26.05.2011 at 21:56  
I personally think Mitochondrion is too steeped in old-school atmosphere to match this. Portal comes closer but again its atmosphere is a little on the harsh and dank side. I've heard nothing like this myself.
Mikyz - 26.05.2011 at 22:16  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 26.05.2011 at 21:56

I personally think Mitochondrion is too steeped in old-school atmosphere to match this. Portal comes closer but again its atmosphere is a little on the harsh and dank side. I've heard nothing like this myself.


The old-school atmosphere of Mitochondrion gives Parasignosis the edge imo. But it's really on whether you enjoy that atmosphere or not, because musically they're both excellent.
Tetravirulence - 26.05.2011 at 22:31  
Excellent review and finally it got the rating it deserves. Ulcerate is like a magnet and The destroyers of all and Everything is fire are its south pole and north pole. Dead Oceans is simply outstanding and the final track is very very epic imho
Tetravirulence - 26.05.2011 at 22:32  
Written by Mikyz on 26.05.2011 at 22:16

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 26.05.2011 at 21:56

I personally think Mitochondrion is too steeped in old-school atmosphere to match this. Portal comes closer but again its atmosphere is a little on the harsh and dank side. I've heard nothing like this myself.


The old-school atmosphere of Mitochondrion gives Parasignosis the edge imo. But it's really on whether you enjoy that atmosphere or not, because musically they're both excellent.


Agreed
Dangerboner - 27.05.2011 at 18:13  
Written by (((O))) on 26.05.2011 at 20:02

Great review!

Is there any other DM bands with this kind of atmosphere?

The closest album comparable to this would be Paracletus by DSO.

Anyways, I think The Destroyers of All is a huge step down from Everything is Fire. The drumming is still amazing, but this one doesn't grab me nearly as much
Troy Killjoy - 28.05.2011 at 00:31  
Written by Dangerboner on 27.05.2011 at 18:13

Anyways, I think The Destroyers of All is a huge step down from Everything is Fire. The drumming is still amazing, but this one doesn't grab me nearly as much

The reason for that is most likely the focus on atmosphere this time around (or at least a different atmosphere), which is a purely subjective element. Some people enjoy a certain style, others don't - which would explain why you don't hate the musicianship but still feel let down by this considering its predecessor. I acknowledge the differences as well, only both albums manage to cater to my personal tastes.
Dangerboner - 28.05.2011 at 00:33  
They just seemed to write it too quickly. They didn't have Goaters on guitar this time, and only two members wrote this album. I'm not sure if it was written individually or together, or what the writing process was like for EiF, but that's just what I assumed
VloRD - 28.05.2011 at 10:54  
I don't really like to compare their earlier work with this. Both are extremely intriguing in their own ways. I tend enjoy this a bit more...
Kuroboshi - 07.07.2011 at 14:06  
This band is destined to be huge, up there with Nile and Suffocation and friends.
-DC-002- - 08.01.2012 at 10:25  
WOW! This album really grows into a monster as it's played. A steamroller of an album. Or maybe An Insatiable Rape Demon of an album! I'll have to check out their other stuff. It's thick cohesive atmosphere reminds me of Esoteric if they played Death metal, but maybe that's the trick.
VloRD - 08.01.2012 at 10:57  
Written by -DC-002- on 08.01.2012 at 10:25

WOW! This album really grows into a monster as it's played. A steamroller of an album. Or maybe An Insatiable Rape Demon of an album! I'll have to check out their other stuff. It's thick cohesive atmosphere reminds me of Esoteric if they played Death metal, but maybe that's the trick.

Check out Everything is Fire (the album released before this) for a less atmospheric, yet much more brutal assault.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Ulcerate - The Destroyers Of All 7.5 13.01.2011 by gorguts
Reviews Gojira - The Way Of All Flesh 4 15.10.2008 by
Albums Dark The Suns - All Ends In Silence 3 20.07.2011 by Milena
Lists Some Of The Best Albums Of All Time (In No Particular Order) 3 16.07.2014 by The Philosopher
Events GBR, Birmingham - Destroyers Of The Faith 3 27.10.2011 by Necrogeddon



Hits total: 3950 | This month: 52