Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.4
TOAD - Rotten Tide [EP]
6 June 2011


01. Midnight Hunger
02. Pale Nimbus
03. Embody The Ghost
04. Morning Disgust
05. Necrophatic Vatican


Lord almighty, what is this vile wretchedness?! Honestly, who makes music this horrible sounding? If this music was a child, it would find it's way into an orphanage within minutes of it's birth, it's just that hideous. Ugly-as-sin doesn't even begin to describe Rotten Tide album in all it's glory.

How to describe this? Well...It's aggressive, that's for sure. It's got that raw, grooving rock n roll appeal that you'll find with the likes of Bison B.C., combined with the grim psychedelic feel offered by few other than Nachtmystium. The riffs are incredibly catchy, yet they're abrasively unique. It's almost like accidentally taking a bite of that mouldy hot dog that's been sitting in your fridge since before you moved in. It's a horrible, rotten experience, but there's that small part of you that's tempted by the prospect of a second bite. Isolate that slight fascination you derive from the dynamic taste of a rotting hot dog, focus on it entirely, then write a soundtrack for it. What you'll wind up with is something along the lines of TOAD's Rotten Tide. Unlike eating old processed food, you don't have to feel guilty about this. It's all the wretched fun without any of the shame and (possibly hallucinogenic) after-effects.

...Did I mention they have organs? Organs of the keyboard variety, of course. Not the guts & innards type...though I'm sure they have those too, but I digress. The subtle, underlying organs really beef up this music. Sure, the eccentric riffing makes it pretty spooky sounding as it is, but the keys just give it that extra layer that makes it creepier, without removing any of the mouth-frothing raw aggression. This is where my only complaint lies - the keys really could have been brought forward in the mix a little more. Well, rather they play their part subtly in the background than become a gimmicky center-piece of the music, I suppose.

If you enjoy truly ugly sounding music, surely this is the must hear album of the year for you.


 



Written on 30.05.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 353  
Search this topic:  


wormdrink414 - 30.05.2011 at 12:43  
The first track is catchy as fuck. Might need to buy this.
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.05.2011 at 12:46  
Suppose I better give this one a lick.
Doc Godin - 30.05.2011 at 12:57  
Written by wormdrink414 on 30.05.2011 at 12:43

The first track is catchy as fuck. Might need to buy this.

They're still pressing the hard copies, but Rotten Tide in its entirety is up for download, they have the link up on their myspace.
Tetravirulence - 30.05.2011 at 18:51  
Thanks I should try this one
Lokaeda - 30.05.2011 at 19:08  
I've listened to the tracks from that album on myspace. reading the review I was expecting something awesome, br00tal, ugly, and stuff. I'm disappointed.
that's good, surely not one of the best, but still decent. but that's it. I don't find it spectacular in any way, pretty basic if you ask me.
Pyramid God - 31.05.2011 at 05:31  
Its good, not 9.4 good, but good nonetheless.
malaikat - 31.05.2011 at 13:33  
This is, at best, 7 or 8. Yet again staff members pick some of their personal, underground favorite and gives them a godly rating / review.
(Aurora Borealis review, anyone? http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=8954)
Ozman - 31.05.2011 at 13:36  
Checked this one out and it is really good, but come on a 9.4? That would mean it is a true classic, and that sure as hel it isn't
I would rate this a solid 8.1 I think
Spirit Molecule - 31.05.2011 at 13:44  
I checked this one out after I read the review and saw the rating Doc had given it. I wasn't as impressed as him.
Ozman - 31.05.2011 at 13:46  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 31.05.2011 at 13:44

I checked this one out after I read the review and saw the rating Doc had given it. I wasn't as impressed as him.


Well he was also mightily impressed by Mares Of Thrace when that one was even really extremely average at best for what it did, whereas this one is a good solid album.
Cryptopsy1979 - 31.05.2011 at 15:02  
Mmh, I'm listening to this album on TOAD's Myspace, but my first impression is that this album is overrated by the reviewer. It might grow on me, but 9.4 would mean it will be an absolute classic. At least, that's what I think the grade SHOULD indicate. :-\
!J.O.O.E.! - 31.05.2011 at 15:45  
Yeah I like the Myspace songs, good stuff, though the first thing that comes into mind is how melodic they are. Just kinda sounds like you're describing a totally different record on this review. I was expecting something like Burning Witch and Dragged Into Sunlight's level of muck and disgust. That being said though it's solid stuff that I can get on board with quite easily.
Doc Godin - 31.05.2011 at 23:19  
Oh, fuck you all. I love this album.
Doc Godin - 31.05.2011 at 23:26  
Written by Ozman on 31.05.2011 at 13:46

Written by Spirit Molecule on 31.05.2011 at 13:44

I checked this one out after I read the review and saw the rating Doc had given it. I wasn't as impressed as him.


Well he was also mightily impressed by Mares Of Thrace when that one was even really extremely average at best for what it did, whereas this one is a good solid album.

I figured out I might just have a penchant for that more chaotic sounding sludge.
Spirit Molecule - 01.06.2011 at 08:23  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.05.2011 at 15:45

Yeah I like the Myspace songs, good stuff, though the first thing that comes into mind is how melodic they are. Just kinda sounds like you're describing a totally different record on this review. I was expecting something like Burning Witch and Dragged Into Sunlight's level of muck and disgust. That being said though it's solid stuff that I can get on board with quite easily.


Exactly, I thought Dragged into sunlight as well when i read the review.
Coolingsrock - 01.06.2011 at 22:37  
Written by Doc Godin on 31.05.2011 at 23:26

Written by Ozman on 31.05.2011 at 13:46

Written by Spirit Molecule on 31.05.2011 at 13:44

I checked this one out after I read the review and saw the rating Doc had given it. I wasn't as impressed as him.


Well he was also mightily impressed by Mares Of Thrace when that one was even really extremely average at best for what it did, whereas this one is a good solid album.

I figured out I might just have a penchant for that more chaotic sounding sludge.

Man This band sounds pretty sick to me.....few more listens and this just might make it to the deck in my car.:banger:
Slayer666 - 05.06.2011 at 13:07  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.05.2011 at 15:45

Just kinda sounds like you're describing a totally different record on this review. I was expecting something like Burning Witch and Dragged Into Sunlight's level of muck and disgust.

Totally. I was expecting all hell to break loose after the review, but it sounds like a castrated version of Dragged Into Sunlight.
I'm also saying it's not bad, but IMO the review is majorly misleading.
Susan - 17.07.2011 at 07:31  
I was drawn in by the Bison B.C. reference. Fuck everyone else this album is awesome. And nice review, haha my favourite part was this:

...Did I mention they have organs? Organs of the keyboard variety, of course. Not the guts & innards type...though I'm sure they have those too, but I digress.
Boxcar Willy - 03.12.2011 at 05:32  
Looks tasty
barmyarmy414 - 15.12.2011 at 17:33  
I find these guys to be pretty bland. The riffs are decent only half the time and the drummer sounds to tamed. Incorporating organs into black metal (or at least what is supposed to be black metal) kinda just brings it to a rather boring place.
Susan - 15.12.2011 at 17:42  
I'm baffled for the lack of love for this album...
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 19:17  
Written by Susan on 15.12.2011 at 17:42
I'm baffled for the lack of love for this album...

Bands with all-caps scare me. I don't like to be yelled at before I even listen to the music.
Susan - 15.12.2011 at 19:33  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 19:17

Written by Susan on 15.12.2011 at 17:42
I'm baffled for the lack of love for this album...

Bands with all-caps scare me. I don't like to be yelled at before I even listen to the music.




It's an acronym. But yeah... you do have a point

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews TOAD - Endless Night 7.5 20.07.2013 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Lay Down Rotten - Mask Of Malice 6 10.03.2012 by 3rdWorld
Albums TOAD - Rotten Tide 6 07.08.2011 by chaosscizzors
Reviews The Green Evening Requiem - Decomposer 4.5 11.06.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Last Call Chernobyl - Drowning Beneath The Sound Of Change 4.5 07.09.2010 by Moose



Hits total: 5497 | This month: 46