Rating:
N/A
Fluxious - Why So Serious?
28 March 2011


01. Point Of View
02. Reaching Nowhere
03. Inside
04. Voodoo Mood
05. Huging
06. Sinner
07. Games'n'trials
08. Biatch
09. Unfair To You
10. True
11. What A Waste
12. It Belongs To You


What happens when you mix jazz and rock? Yeah, you get something along the lines of jazz-rock and fusion. But what happens when you mix jazz and metal? Yeah, wrong! I wouldn't exactly call it jazz-metal or heavy fusion. Or maybe I would, I still don't know. It just feels more appropriate if I call it heavy jazz for now as that's what Fluxious sounds like - jazzy songs in a heavy distortion coating. Not only that, of course, but in short, it's an awesome mix. Oh yeah, almost forgot to include in the introduction - there's a girl singing!

There's nothing like a good fusion, I tell you. Heavy enough, with proper drive, you know, something that really, really cooks. Normally, though, I stumble across bands that are more jazz than anything else, with occasional forays into rock. In general, I don't mind jazz, I just don't particularly like to listen to it in any other setting than live. Hence, it's a joy to come across something with an edge and a drive, like Fluxious.

Fluxious is not your speedy fusion that just gets you tripping. In this sense it's kind of closer to jazz. In a way it's a weird mix. If you take a jazz band centred around a female singer that kind of gives off a poppy vibe, that sounds somewhat like Fluxious. Now, if you add to it groovy guitars, this thick kind of fat, rolling bass sound, and make drums crisper and metal-like, you are getting closer. If, on top of that, you take into account the jazzy song structure, and make it heavy and edgy, you start to get the idea of how it all sounds.

A special kind of treat is the female singer, Joana Desfosses that fits this music perfectly. And while I like her somewhat ordinary (without any underlying meaning) sounding voice, there are small details that bother me. The band being Swiss, I can't help that they could use the services of - what you call the spell checker, only for pronunciation - yeah, that person! There are just occasional moments when it really rubs the wrong way. Other than that, the music and the vocals work excellently together.

In conclusion I have to say that the mix of jazz and metal that Fluxious offers really has the kick. They have what it takes to pull it off and make this formula work really well. I also can't help thinking that I feel about Fluxious a bit the same way as I did about District 97 that made into MS Awards 2010. While not exactly similar, these two bands do appear to have common qualities. If you liked District 97, you most definitely shouldn't pass this one by. If you don't know either one, well... shouldn't you already be checking them out?!


 



Written on 02.06.2011 by
Ivor
I shoot people.

Sometimes, I also write about it.
More reviews by Ivor ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 228  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 02.06.2011 at 11:25  
You dampened my high enthusiasm of checking out the music by mentioning District 97 XD (the rest I was totally sold haha)
Ivor - 02.06.2011 at 12:05  
Written by Ag Fox on 02.06.2011 at 11:25

You dampened my high enthusiasm of checking out the music by mentioning District 97 XD (the rest I was totally sold haha)

Now, I didn't say that if you didn't like District 97 you should skip this one, did I? So, keep being sold.

I.
seafood - 02.06.2011 at 12:39  
Actually , mentioning District 97 was something that definitely sold me . But I knew I would have to check it out anyway as soon as I read the third sentence. Always been interested in bands that mix jazz and metal for some reason.
BloodTears - 02.06.2011 at 14:38  
Curious. Will check it out.
Pyramid God - 02.06.2011 at 14:55  
Not my cup of tea, thats for sure.
Lokaeda - 02.06.2011 at 15:16  
Judging from the song "inside" I wouldn't say jazz but r'n'b or Beyonce-like stuff
Windrider - 02.06.2011 at 16:17  
Nice review... But I really do hate Jazz.
bluegreengod - 02.06.2011 at 16:46  
Mmmyeah..no
JohnDoe - 02.06.2011 at 17:13  
I'm curious, I'm gonna look for this.
Rupert - 02.06.2011 at 17:27  
This is much more appealing to me than District 97, but I get why you mentioned them.
Daydream Nation - 02.06.2011 at 19:12  
Hmm...this is an interesting album. I love jazz-fusion, so I'm going to check this out.
Tetravirulence - 02.06.2011 at 19:21  
Jazz and metal, definitely going to check 'em out, thanks for the review
silenius - 02.06.2011 at 19:49  
Om nom nom nom, getting my hands on this one fo'sho
K†ulu - 03.06.2011 at 00:38  
I have listened to the first five tracks on the way to university, and I have to say that the review describes what you can hear on this album ridiculously precisely. I don't have an opinion about the music yet, but the review is great! Good job!
AbovEviL - 04.06.2011 at 01:23  
Wow, just started second album spin in a row. So easy to listen, it just sucks you in. Great music.
Fat & Sassy! - 04.06.2011 at 21:51  
Written by Ag Fox on 02.06.2011 at 11:25

You dampened my high enthusiasm of checking out the music by mentioning District 97 XD (the rest I was totally sold haha)


My thoughts exactly. I actually groaned out loud when I read that. XD
Susan - 22.06.2011 at 20:16  
So I read this review back when you published but am just today listening to the album finally. Consider my life CHANGED. Wow, shit this is great music. As you say, "the mix of jazz and metal that Fluxious offers really has the kick." And how.

It's such a special day when you hear something really unique and enjoyable.
Thryce - 22.06.2011 at 20:46  
Came for the Dark Knight reference. Leaving unsatisfied.
Ivor - 23.06.2011 at 01:15  
Written by K†ulu on 03.06.2011 at 00:38
...I have to say that the review describes what you can hear on this album ridiculously precisely...

Sorry for late reply, but love this comment.

Written by Susan on 22.06.2011 at 20:16

So I read this review back when you published but am just today listening to the album finally. Consider my life CHANGED. Wow, shit this is great music. As you say, "the mix of jazz and metal that Fluxious offers really has the kick." And how.

It's such a special day when you hear something really unique and enjoyable.

Te-hee, that wasn't the first nor will likely be the last discovery.

Written by Thryce on 22.06.2011 at 20:46

Came for the Dark Knight reference. Leaving unsatisfied.

Aw, ma-an, that'd would have been great if not for the fact that I ain't seen the movie. Had to look up the reference myself now.

I.
BloodTears - 01.08.2011 at 00:04  
Definitely an interesting release. I need more listens though.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Fluxious - Why So Serious? 6 26.02.2012 by Draugen
Reviews Riverside - Anno Domini High Definition 3 08.07.2009 by BloodTears
Reviews Cultus Ferox - Beutezug 3 15.03.2013 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Pure Reason Revolution - Hammer And Anvil 3 12.04.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews Tiamat - Amanethes 3 03.05.2008 by Spyroid



Hits total: 4301 | This month: 43