Rating:
6.0
In Flames - Sounds Of A Playground Fading
15 June 2011


01. Sounds Of A Playground Fading
02. Deliver Us
03. All For Me
04. The Puzzle
05. Fear Is The Weakness
06. Where The Dead Ships Dwell
07. The Attic
08. Darker Times
09. Ropes
10. Enter Tragedy
11. Jester's Door
12. A New Dawn
13. Liberation


In Flames are a massive band, which made A Sense Of Purpose three years ago a massive disappointment to a lot of people. Three years on with a new record label and a new album Sounds Of A Playground Fading, let's see what's going on.

The album title does little for confidence, but album number ten actually isn't as bad as the title would imply. This is the same In Flames as the last albums, but the quality of songs is a level higher. The album has some nice songs on it, especially at the front and back ends with "Deliver Us" and the lively "The Puzzle" from the beginning, and "A New Dawn" near the end. There are some nice hooks and melodies here, last track "Liberation" could easily be a metal cover of a pop song. For the most part of the album, In Flames do what they have been doing quite successfully recently, which is churning out incredibly modern-sounding metal for the masses.

Although the band have still not come close to topping their Reroute To Remain and Soundtrack To Your Escape albums in this style, the sounds coming from this apparent fading playground actually do have the potential to grow and perhaps become that adored album by some teenager discovering the world of metal. Now without founding member Jesper, Sounds Of A Playground Fading further solidifies the band's musical direction, with only the odd small throw back to times of past. This might be a better album than A Sense Of Purpose, but In Flames continue to push the envelope in the same direction that ultimately just isn't very interesting.

--

Modern metal
Sweden
Length: 53:44
Century Media

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: In Flames
Album: Sounds Of A Playground Fading


 



Written on 12.06.2011 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 64  
Users visited: 820  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 10.01.2012 at 22:17  
Saying "Come Clarity" and "best" in the same sentence is just wrong in an almost grammatical level.
Troy Killjoy - 10.01.2012 at 22:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.01.2012 at 22:17
Saying "Come Clarity" and "best" in the same sentence is just wrong in an almost grammatical level.

Actually it's wrong on a universal level unless the sentence also includes the words "definitely not their" in front of the word "best".
Angelic Storm - 11.01.2012 at 00:24  
Comparing an opinion on an album to grammatical errors is comical to say the least. There's no "universal level" of right or wrong when it comes to personal opinion on music.
Troy Killjoy - 11.01.2012 at 01:18  
Written by Angelic Storm on 11.01.2012 at 00:24
Comparing an opinion on an album to grammatical errors is comical to say the least. There's no "universal level" of right or wrong when it comes to personal opinion on music.

I'm not sure why, but for whatever reason you always respond with like... really serious (and sometimes overly defensive) comments when anyone posts something humorous in response to something you say. I don't know if you think we're attacking you or something, but my universal comment is obviously in no way some attempt at stating a fact and nobody here is really up in arms about your personal opinion.
Angelic Storm - 11.01.2012 at 01:34  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.01.2012 at 01:18
I'm not sure why, but for whatever reason you always respond with like... really serious (and sometimes overly defensive) comments when anyone posts something humorous in response to something you say. I don't know if you think we're attacking you or something, but my universal comment is obviously in no way some attempt at stating a fact and nobody here is really up in arms about your personal opinion.


That is absolutely not true. I doubt anyone looking at those posts below mine would think they weren't meant to be taken seriously. As in the Anthrax (Icon) thread yesterday, other people responded to your comment as if it was a legitimate opinion being expressed, and that it was not being said in jest. So it's hardly as if I was the only one who took it seriously. Everyone else did too. Like I said in that thread, you cannot present a point of view in a serious manner, and expect people to see it as being "humorous". If you're saying something in a homorous way, then present it as being such. You can't blame somebody for taking a point of view seriously, when that is how it's been presented.

As you are well aware, I absolutely have no problem with people disagreeing with my opinions. But you're also aware that when opinions are presented as facts to belittle my opinion, I take a totally different attitude. So I think you knew fine well what my response would be to that post, which is probably where the humour is supposed to come in. So i guess the joke is on me.
Mr. Doctor - 11.01.2012 at 01:39  
Written by Angelic Storm on 11.01.2012 at 00:24

Comparing an opinion on an album to grammatical errors is comical to say the least.


Yeah because... you know, it was meant to be funny... so I...succeeded?
Angelic Storm - 11.01.2012 at 01:47  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.01.2012 at 01:39
Yeah because... you know, it was meant to be funny... so I...succeeded?


Yep, because it was made totally obvious you were expressing an opinion that wasn't meant to be taken seriously...

Well, I guess if the premise was to make me look like an idiot, (which I am) then you definitely succeeded. lol
Mr. Doctor - 11.01.2012 at 01:58  
Written by Angelic Storm on 11.01.2012 at 01:47

Yep, because it was made totally obvious you were expressing an opinion that wasn't meant to be taken seriously...
Well, I guess if the premise was to make me look like an idiot, (which I am) then you definitely succeeded. lol


I think the joke is on me now.... I feel awkward in so many levels.
Well played.
Angelic Storm - 11.01.2012 at 02:03  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.01.2012 at 01:58
I think the joke is on me now.... I feel awkward in so many levels.
Well played.


Not so. If that opinion really wasn't meant to be taken seriously, then I am an idiot for failing to see that. I've never pretended to be particularly smart or intelligent, and I guess some humour is simply too high-brow and intelligent for me to understand.
s_t_s - 22.01.2012 at 16:24  
I just love Soundtrack To Your Escape and now listening to this album, which is pretty good compared to the previous one, makes me think that in flames has suddenly grown old Still sounds good, but oh so quiet compared to STYE. Not a bad album, but quite a soft one, i wouldn't even call it "metal".

Oh the last track is awful tho ! (reminds me of that terrible U2 cover by Fear Factory on Transgression !!)
Mr. Doctor - 22.01.2012 at 23:24  
Written by s_t_s on 22.01.2012 at 16:24
i wouldn't even call it "metal".


I don't get this.
s_t_s - 09.02.2012 at 14:55  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.01.2012 at 23:24

Written by s_t_s on 22.01.2012 at 16:24
i wouldn't even call it "metal".


I don't get this.


I mean this is way too soft to be called Metal, or maybe heavy metal or something like that ? Anyway, no offense meant, just missing the right words. Still like this album somehow.
SunFalcon - 15.05.2012 at 21:16  
I Like Their Melodic Death More Than This Album
wintress - 10.09.2013 at 04:49  
Meh, I still like them. People give them a lot of flak for changing but I, personally, don't mind it - I like that all of their albums actually sound different. But, then again, I have a weak spot for In Flames, since they practically introduced me to melodic death metal (back when they were creating it).

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums In Flames - Sounds Of A Playground Fading 7.5 05.10.2010 by cancel
Reviews In Flames - A Sense Of Purpose 7.5 26.03.2008 by Unconsecrated
Reviews In Flames - The Mirror's Truth 7.5 06.03.2008 by Infidel
Reviews Pitbull Terrorist - C.I.A. 4.5 07.11.2009 by Metal Maiden
Reviews Ensiferum - From Afar 4.5 08.09.2009 by Galar



Hits total: 16877 | This month: 115