Rating:
8.0
Beherit - Electric Doom Synthesis
1995


01. Ambush
02. We Worship
03. Dead Inside
04. Beyond Vision
05. Deep Night 23rd
06. Drawing Down The Moon
07. Sense
08. Temple Ov Lykos


Following up on their 1994 release, the embarrassingly novice album H418ov21.C, Beherit returned once more with sinister ambiance; Electric Doom Synthesis. However, don't expect any amateurish synth work this time around as Beherit has pulled out all of the stops to create a dark, gritty atmospheric album.

The music on Electric Doom Synthesis is, in all honesty, nothing too exceptional. While fairly original, each song is nothing more than a few droning synth lines, hi hat abuse, bass, and the occasional sharp metal riff. But, combined, each song, and the album as a whole, can entrance the listener to a despair filled, crime ridden state of mind. If Ulver's Perdition City brings to mind the jazz fueled gangster ridden cities of the 20's and 30's, then Beherit's Electric Doom Synthesis is the musical form of Paul Verhoeven's Robocop. Rather than an intelligent, hip underworld, Electric Doom Synthesis is a bleak, PCP fueled schizophrenia. There is no modern cityscape to be found here, only the criminal-inhabited ruined infrastructure of what could perhaps once be called civilization.

Unfortunately, due to reasons stated above, if you don't let yourself get fully sucked into this album there is very little reward. Besides some original compositions, this album has little else to offer but atmosphere; think of Earth's The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull - if you don't like/accept the immersion, you will more than likely hate this album. But, if you allow yourself to be swept up into Electric Doom Synthesis, a hopeless world of crime and paranoia awaits.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Beherit
Album: Electric Doom Synthesis


 


written by Marcus | 14.06.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 47  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 14.06.2011 at 04:20  
This record is staggeringly underrated and unfairly shunned by a lot of people despite the fact this is still arguably a guitar driven album for most of it. Quite possibly my favourite Beherit release - Dead Inside is such a cool track and as you say this record is pure atmosphere. I actually thought about reviewing this many times but it never happened so well done for bringing it to attention.
Troy Killjoy - 14.06.2011 at 05:06  
I quite like your reasoning behind what makes this a good record, even though I hate it. At least now I can understand why. I just didn't let myself "get it", so to speak. It's kind of ironic given my hippie speech in the latest Shining review.
Marcus - 14.06.2011 at 22:24  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.06.2011 at 04:20

This record is staggeringly underrated and unfairly shunned by a lot of people despite the fact this is still arguably a guitar driven album for most of it. Quite possibly my favourite Beherit release - Dead Inside is such a cool track and as you say this record is pure atmosphere. I actually thought about reviewing this many times but it never happened so well done for bringing it to attention.

Heh, somehow I figured you'd be the first one to comment on this. It is a great track but I personally like Ambush more, sets the mood for the whole album. Glad you appreciate it, I just want people to actually give this album a chance.

Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.06.2011 at 05:06

I quite like your reasoning behind what makes this a good record, even though I hate it. At least now I can understand why. I just didn't let myself "get it", so to speak. It's kind of ironic given my hippie speech in the latest Shining review.

Well I'm not gonna say that's exactly what there is to get, it's just the feeling/imagery I get everytime I listen to the album. Haha I remember that, I'd love to hear what Kvarforth thinks about your analysis of that album
Troy Killjoy - 15.06.2011 at 01:42  
Written by Marcus on 14.06.2011 at 22:24

Well I'm not gonna say that's exactly what there is to get, it's just the feeling/imagery I get everytime I listen to the album. Haha I remember that, I'd love to hear what Kvarforth thinks about your analysis of that album

He'd call me a fuckin' scumbag and tell me to kill myself like the rest of his worthless fans.
Marcus - 15.06.2011 at 03:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.06.2011 at 01:42

Written by Marcus on 14.06.2011 at 22:24

Well I'm not gonna say that's exactly what there is to get, it's just the feeling/imagery I get everytime I listen to the album. Haha I remember that, I'd love to hear what Kvarforth thinks about your analysis of that album

He'd call me a fuckin' scumbag and tell me to kill myself like the rest of his worthless fans.


Ha, Sounds like quite the people person.
trenticle - 18.06.2011 at 18:33  
Great album! My wife hates it, so I know its good!
Maxx666 - 19.06.2011 at 09:50  
Awesome album just awesome esp the atmosphere that it conjures... its more like a futuristic digital version of Drawing down the moon

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Beherit - Electric Doom Synthesis 7.5 15.09.2010 by Marcus
Melodic metal forum Electric Wizard 3 17.10.2007 by
Reviews Candlemass - Death Magic Doom 2.5 15.04.2009 by Ask
Extreme metal forum Descend into Despair 1.5 15.05.2011 by soldier_of_doom
News Mar De Grises - The Chilean Doom Band Signs With Season Of Mist 1.5 22.04.2010 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 2182 | This month: 2