Beherit - Electric Doom Synthesis review



Reviewer:
8.0

22 users:
6.68
Band: Beherit
Album: Electric Doom Synthesis
Release date: 1995


01. Ambush
02. We Worship
03. Dead Inside
04. Beyond Vision
05. Deep Night 23rd
06. Drawing Down The Moon
07. Sense
08. Temple Ov Lykos


Following up on their 1994 release, the embarrassingly novice album H418ov21.C, Beherit returned once more with sinister ambiance; Electric Doom Synthesis. However, don't expect any amateurish synth work this time around as Beherit has pulled out all of the stops to create a dark, gritty atmospheric album.

The music on Electric Doom Synthesis is, in all honesty, nothing too exceptional. While fairly original, each song is nothing more than a few droning synth lines, hi hat abuse, bass, and the occasional sharp metal riff. But, combined, each song, and the album as a whole, can entrance the listener to a despair filled, crime ridden state of mind. If Ulver's Perdition City brings to mind the jazz fueled gangster ridden cities of the 20's and 30's, then Beherit's Electric Doom Synthesis is the musical form of Paul Verhoeven's Robocop. Rather than an intelligent, hip underworld, Electric Doom Synthesis is a bleak, PCP fueled schizophrenia. There is no modern cityscape to be found here, only the criminal-inhabited ruined infrastructure of what could perhaps once be called civilization.

Unfortunately, due to reasons stated above, if you don't let yourself get fully sucked into this album there is very little reward. Besides some original compositions, this album has little else to offer but atmosphere; think of Earth's The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull - if you don't like/accept the immersion, you will more than likely hate this album. But, if you allow yourself to be swept up into Electric Doom Synthesis, a hopeless world of crime and paranoia awaits.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 8

Written by Marcus | 14.06.2011


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 7   Visited by: 50 users
14.06.2011 - 04:20
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
This record is staggeringly underrated and unfairly shunned by a lot of people despite the fact this is still arguably a guitar driven album for most of it. Quite possibly my favourite Beherit release - Dead Inside is such a cool track and as you say this record is pure atmosphere. I actually thought about reviewing this many times but it never happened so well done for bringing it to attention.
Loading...
14.06.2011 - 05:06
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I quite like your reasoning behind what makes this a good record, even though I hate it. At least now I can understand why. I just didn't let myself "get it", so to speak. It's kind of ironic given my hippie speech in the latest Shining review.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
14.06.2011 - 22:24
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Written by Guest on 14.06.2011 at 04:20

This record is staggeringly underrated and unfairly shunned by a lot of people despite the fact this is still arguably a guitar driven album for most of it. Quite possibly my favourite Beherit release - Dead Inside is such a cool track and as you say this record is pure atmosphere. I actually thought about reviewing this many times but it never happened so well done for bringing it to attention.

Heh, somehow I figured you'd be the first one to comment on this. It is a great track but I personally like Ambush more, sets the mood for the whole album. Glad you appreciate it, I just want people to actually give this album a chance.

Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.06.2011 at 05:06

I quite like your reasoning behind what makes this a good record, even though I hate it. At least now I can understand why. I just didn't let myself "get it", so to speak. It's kind of ironic given my hippie speech in the latest Shining review.

Well I'm not gonna say that's exactly what there is to get, it's just the feeling/imagery I get everytime I listen to the album. Haha I remember that, I'd love to hear what Kvarforth thinks about your analysis of that album
Loading...
15.06.2011 - 01:42
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Marcus on 14.06.2011 at 22:24

Well I'm not gonna say that's exactly what there is to get, it's just the feeling/imagery I get everytime I listen to the album. Haha I remember that, I'd love to hear what Kvarforth thinks about your analysis of that album

He'd call me a fuckin' scumbag and tell me to kill myself like the rest of his worthless fans.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.06.2011 - 03:18
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.06.2011 at 01:42

Written by Marcus on 14.06.2011 at 22:24

Well I'm not gonna say that's exactly what there is to get, it's just the feeling/imagery I get everytime I listen to the album. Haha I remember that, I'd love to hear what Kvarforth thinks about your analysis of that album

He'd call me a fuckin' scumbag and tell me to kill myself like the rest of his worthless fans.


Ha, Sounds like quite the people person.
Loading...
18.06.2011 - 18:33
trenticle
Great album! My wife hates it, so I know its good!
Loading...
19.06.2011 - 09:50
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Awesome album just awesome esp the atmosphere that it conjures... its more like a futuristic digital version of Drawing down the moon
Loading...

Hits total: 3092 | This month: 20