Rating:
8.0
Children Of Bodom - Relentless Reckless Forever
8 March 2011


01. Not My Funeral
02. Shovel Knockout
03. Roundtrip To Hell And Back
04. Pussyfoot Miss Suicide
05. Relentless Reckless Forever
06. Ugly
07. Cry Of The Nihilist
08. Was It Worth It?
09. Northpole Throwdown
10. Party All The Time [Eddie Murphy cover] [iTunes bonus]
11. Angels Don't Kill [Live at Bloodstock] [Japanese bonus]
12. Every Time I Die [Live at Bloodstock] [Japanese bonus]

[Digipak Edition Bonus DVD]
+ Was It Worth It? music video
+ Making of Was It Worth It?
+ Angels Don't Kill - Live at Bloodstock
+ Everytime I Die - Live at Bloodstock
+ The Rockhouse Method with Alexi Laiho - DVD trailer
+ The Rockhouse Method with Alexi Laiho - instructional DVD excerpt


Even before this album was released and before anyone could have heard a sound of it, quite everyone knew that this will not become an album worth a 10. Children Of Bodom have changed too much to return to the old awesome tunes. The band stated before the release of it that Relentless Reckless Forever would happen to be the best Bodom album ever. Blah blah the same shit a band always cries out for marketing, but in this case it even sounded ridiculous. I admit that I was one of those who decided not to spend money on this record. But now I am glad that I am not that firm with my principles in some cases! Expecting some Blooddrunk shit with only more party atmosphere it was a real surprise to me when I first listened to it.

Relentless Reckless Forever starts off very cool with the opener and best song "Not My Funeral." From the first seconds it's clear that Children Of Bodom have not created a new Follow The Reaper, but Blooddrunk also lies in the past. The transition during the last two albums is over and Alexi Laiho has found a new masterplan for his band. It keeps this thrashy sound (resembling Megadeth sometimes) and adds some really catchy and harmonious melodies to it. It all happens to be better planned and thought out. Having already mentioned the opener I think it is also a good example of the new lyrics that the songs are dealing with. It is definitely not the "was there / done that" stories but something worth to print in the booklet and read, which could not be claimed of most other Bodom albums.

So why is this album very good? To get this point you must understand and accept that Children Of Bodom are now a new band playing new music. Now relax and listen to the songs. Passages from harsh and edged thrash riffs become soft chords that underline melodies and arpeggios by both keyboard and lead guitar. The yet even darker voice of Alexi adds an atmosphere to it which could best be described as anything in between drunk party and talented metal feeling. It is mainly the composition of fore- and background elements that makes this. The only problem is that one has to obey to the music and let his mood be controlled by it, which some experts unfortunately have unlearned during years. The best example for that on Relentless Reckless Forever is the chorus of my second favourite song, "Pussyfoot Miss Suicide." Maybe the dumbest song title ever with the best party chorus ever.

I already can hear the voices "blah bad album blah too high rating blah dead band blah." The 2000s are over and your beloved band has changed for eight years now. Relax and listen, this record ain't bad as long as you wake up and stop putting a once good bands down, which don't fit the new music.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Children Of Bodom
Album: Relentless Reckless Forever


 


written by Windrider | 21.06.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Loathera

Rating:
5.0
Imagine a man walking down the road, traveling right down the middle, never wavering, never stopping. Maybe it's dark out, a slight echo to his footsteps. All of a sudden, the man stops. His ears perk up for a second, shrugs it off and keeps right on walking. That is about as close as Children Of Bodom are on this record to returning to their classic sound.

Read more ››
published 14.03.2012 | Comments (40)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 265  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 21.06.2011 at 10:06  
You wrote the review which I wanted to write, and our opinions pretty much match for me, it was catchy and fun as shit, didn''t drag. Maybe a song or two I didn't like but it entertained me. The boys have always had a punkish attitude to them, and you can clearly see they just wanna have some fun now.
'The only problem is that one has to obey to the music and let his mood be controlled by it, which some experts unfortunately have unlearned during years.'
I hate that shit too. If you don't put the CD in the player and not expect to hear anything at least half decent, chances are you WON'T. I hate those 'tr00' metalheads who listen to something only to pick it apart later. The music is there to immerse you (shit, let me know if I used that verb right).


(edit: Now I see you're the guy who wrote many of the reviews I enjoyed reading, keep up the good work. Also, still no hateful comments? Wow, just wow )
Cuca Beludo - 21.06.2011 at 17:38  
Some bands change and become better (Iron Maiden), some still be awesome (Children Of Bodom) and there's the ones who become bad (Bathory).
I think it all depends on the musicas taste of the listener. Some peoples listened too much an early work of the band, and when the guys try to write and sing other things, anyone begin to blame then, again, it's all depends of the musical taste of the listener.

Oh, and a very good review, man Keep up the good work
Daniell - 21.06.2011 at 17:47  
Written by Guest on 21.06.2011 at 17:38

Some bands change and become better (Iron Maiden), some still be awesome (Children Of Bodom) and there's the ones who become bad (Bathory).


Let me correct that for you
Some bands change and become better (Bathory), some still be awesome (Iron Maiden) and there's the ones who become bad (Children of Bodom).

Although I do admit that this album isn't too bad
Cuca Beludo - 21.06.2011 at 18:16  
Written by Daniell on 21.06.2011 at 17:47

Written by Guest on 21.06.2011 at 17:38

Some bands change and become better (Iron Maiden), some still be awesome (Children Of Bodom) and there's the ones who become bad (Bathory).


Let me correct that for you
Some bands change and become better (Bathory), some still be awesome (Iron Maiden) and there's the ones who become bad (Children of Bodom).

Although I do admit that this album isn't too bad


Are you crazy?

Bathory changed and become bad!! Requiem and Octagon is bad, not because it's don't have anything with the other viking albuns, but Post - Hardcore don't fit Quorthon voice, although "Destroyer Of The Worlds" is quite good.

Iron maiden: Bruce is better than Paul. Again, the older albuns are damn good.

Children of Bodom: Well, don't know much 'bout then...

As i said before, it all depends on the musical taste
Troy Killjoy - 22.06.2011 at 01:00  
Did someone just say CoB have gotten better with time.
Mr. Doctor - 22.06.2011 at 01:55  
Written by Daniell on 21.06.2011 at 17:47

Written by Guest on 21.06.2011 at 17:38

Some bands change and become better (Iron Maiden), some still be awesome (Children Of Bodom) and there's the ones who become bad (Bathory).


Let me correct that for you
Some bands change and become better (Bathory), some still be awesome (Iron Maiden) and there's the ones who become bad (Children of Bodom).

Although I do admit that this album isn't too bad


Written by Guest on 21.06.2011 at 18:16

Are you crazy?
Bathory changed and become bad!! Requiem and Octagon is bad, not because it's don't have anything with the other viking albuns, but Post - Hardcore don't fit Quorthon voice, although "Destroyer Of The Worlds" is quite good.


There seems to be a misunderstanding here. It's a common knowledge that Requiem and Octagon kind of sucks ass... But by the looks of your first comment I believe that he got the feeling (I got that feeling as well) that you said "Bathory was better when they played only black metal bu they went bad when they went to do viking stuff"...

Unless Daniell really thinks Octagon and Requiem are good.. in that case I don't know what to say.
DjentDude - 22.06.2011 at 04:55  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.06.2011 at 01:00

Did someone just say CoB have gotten better with time.

I believe so.. yikes.
Grody2themax - 22.06.2011 at 08:09  
I really liked some of the riffs on this album actually, which was a surprise for me. Some of it reminded me of Roope's old band Stone, and I love stone haha. Overall, it was a solid album and I don't think the bands intentions were to make us shit our pants, but to just have fun with it.

Like you said, the foreground elements really add to this album and give it a nice atmosphere. Although, even though I used to really like this band, I guess my musical tastes have changed a bit since and I can't get too into it.
Troy Killjoy - 22.06.2011 at 14:05  
Written by Grody2themax on 22.06.2011 at 08:09

Overall, it was a solid album and I don't think the bands intentions were to make us shit our pants, but to just have fun with it.

So CoB are like Anthrax post-State of Euphoria.
Milena - 22.06.2011 at 15:29  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.06.2011 at 14:05

Written by Grody2themax on 22.06.2011 at 08:09

Overall, it was a solid album and I don't think the bands intentions were to make us shit our pants, but to just have fun with it.

So CoB are like Anthrax post-State of Euphoria.

I have that same impression
Amatsu Mikaboshi - 22.06.2011 at 15:58  
As for Iron Maiden I think the X-Factor is one of their best, darkest, and strongest albums, hell the "war-themed" songs on that album are more better in the adjectives mentioned then in A Matter Of Life And Death's.

BUT ON TOPIC!!!!

Windrider, I also wrote a review for this months ago to most annoyance ( ) almost on similiar lines but now I don't know what to do with it....
Sword_Chant - 22.06.2011 at 21:52  
I agree for the most part with the review, but I wouldn't say the vocals were great at all in fact I felt they were one of the biggest let downs when comparing the strength of his voice in all Bodom releases. It's better than Blooddrunk, but it's a long way from the full potential of COB.
Milena - 23.06.2011 at 17:09  
Written by Sword_Chant on 22.06.2011 at 21:52

I agree for the most part with the review, but I wouldn't say the vocals were great at all in fact I felt they were one of the biggest let downs when comparing the strength of his voice in all Bodom releases. It's better than Blooddrunk, but it's a long way from the full potential of COB.

I think that's just a production thing. Harsh vocals generally sound all alike, and a person who has a nice technique can almost always pull them off. And Alexi's been doing that for years, so you can assume there's nothing wrong with his voice right now
Doc Godin - 23.06.2011 at 23:50  
Quote:
To get this point you must understand and accept that Children Of Bodom are now a new band playing new music.

See, that's the problem, in all actuality they really aren't. To me they sound like a band still trying to appeal to the same crowd they did 8 years ago, but are just coming up flat because they fail to realize that crowd has grown and matured, they haven't.

Sure, there it is an improvement from Blooddrunk, but they could have done that playing with their feet. The review just seems like an over reaction to the fact that this was slightly better.
Troy Killjoy - 24.06.2011 at 04:10  
Written by Doc Godin on 23.06.2011 at 23:50

The review just seems like an over reaction to the fact that this was slightly better.

My thoughts exactly.
berserkLP - 18.08.2011 at 01:08  
I have to admit first that I am not the biggest fan of CoB but they do produce some classic songs every now and then. For me the album was just more of the same and nothing to write home about. I didn't even manage to get through the whole album the first five songs bored me so much. Sometimes I feel they care more about showing off their guitar skills than playing with passion and making music that makes me want to get up and headbang. I missed having a song like "Deadnight Warrior" or "Needled 24/7" and the songs seemed to merge into one after a while.
AngelofDeth - 14.03.2012 at 01:02  
Written by Milena on 21.06.2011 at 10:06

'The only problem is that one has to obey to the music and let his mood be controlled by it, which some experts unfortunately have unlearned during years.'
I hate that shit too. If you don't put the CD in the player and not expect to hear anything at least half decent, chances are you WON'T. I hate those 'tr00' metalheads who listen to something only to pick it apart later. The music is there to immerse you (shit, let me know if I used that verb right).


Yes 'tr00' metalheads are annoying for not likeing something because it doesnt fit a certain standard
but 'fanboys' are just as bad for liking something just because a certain band made it.

If this album didnt have Children of Bodom slathered over the cover i garuntee half the people that like this album wouldnt even give it a second look.

So most of the people who do like this album and 'let your mood be controlled by it' are just as guilty as the 'tr00' kids b.c you only like it because its made by CoB.

It usually takes a few spins to truly take an album out of context of a bands previous work(which happened to me with with Turisas' SUaS. I didnt like it at first but once i seperated it from VW i liked it) but when you do that with this album, it still sounds like shit. The problem is that this album simply doesnt sound good. Its watered down, terrible mixing and alexi's guitar sounds out of tune half the dam album.

I dont hate this album b/c its not 'tr00', i dont like this album cuz it sounds BAD.
Troy Killjoy - 14.03.2012 at 01:13  
Written by AngelofDeth on 14.03.2012 at 01:02
I dont hate this album b/c its not 'tr00', i dont like this album cuz it sounds BAD.

Agreed. I listen to enough music that is "untrue"; I don't have to worry about tarnishing my image by listening to CoB.

If I liked the music, I wouldn't lie about it. And I certainly don't "spoil" the potential to enjoy it because of the band name on the album cover. I think every album has a chance to wow me.

With the exception of Venom. I gave up on them officially.
Milena - 14.03.2012 at 01:18  
Written by AngelofDeth on 14.03.2012 at 01:02

Yes 'tr00' metalheads are annoying for not likeing something because it doesnt fit a certain standard
but 'fanboys' are just as bad for liking something just because a certain band made it.

If this album didnt have Children of Bodom slathered over the cover i garuntee half the people that like this album wouldnt even give it a second look.

So most of the people who do like this album and 'let your mood be controlled by it' are just as guilty as the 'tr00' kids b.c you only like it because its made by CoB.

It usually takes a few spins to truly take an album out of context of a bands previous work(which happened to me with with Turisas' SUaS. I didnt like it at first but once i seperated it from VW i liked it) but when you do that with this album, it still sounds like shit. The problem is that this album simply doesnt sound good. Its watered down, terrible mixing and alexi's guitar sounds out of tune half the dam album.

I dont hate this album b/c its not 'tr00', i dont like this album cuz it sounds BAD.

I didn't talk about you in specific, but if you feel offended by my post (almost a year ago, lol), I'm guessing being called a "true" metalhead is your number one pet peeve.

I never listened to CoB extensively back when I was 16 or so, when people usually do that. Out of them I've got a couple of nice memories and some catchy songs. This album currently sits at around 6.5-7 in my personal ratings... it was about a 7.5-8 when it first got out but I've heard a lot of better things since then which put it into perspective. I've gotten a lot more spins of it than Blooddrunk, and I personally don't think it's that bad at all, it's just average to good at times. I've never considered this band to be any source of genius, just a source of pretty solos and similar sonically sparkly things. They're good for short term fun - Follow The Reaper, I believe, I've rated with a nine but I usually don't listen to it as a full album any more.

You said a lot of people wouldn't give this a second look if the name on the cover weren't CoB, but a lot of the people wouldn't hate this with a passion if it weren't CoB. I DID hear a lot of good things that made my ratings more evenly spread out, but I've also heard a lot of REALLY cringe-worthy things. The kind where you can't even finish a listen. EVEN IN MY FAVE EVER GENRES. So I honestly don't think this is bad at all. Again, you might really find this cringe-worthy regardless of the name on the cover, I am not talking about you. Just saying that some people are a bit polar when all they do is either extremely praise or harshly criticize releases that are ALL average. Just a bit of perspective.

AGAIN, this is just my opinion. But in order to say "dude, this is crap" you need to know what crap is. And then you call whatever you want crap; Images and Words, or The Gallery, or Elegy for all I care.
Mr. Doctor - 14.03.2012 at 01:24  
People still care about this band?

AngelofDeth - 14.03.2012 at 08:59  
Written by Milena on 14.03.2012 at 01:18

You said a lot of people wouldn't give this a second look if the name on the cover weren't CoB, but a lot of the people wouldn't hate this with a passion if it weren't CoB..


yes that is true and i think that hate is a lil unneccesary and overdramatic also.

Written by Milena on 14.03.2012 at 01:18

I didn't talk about you in specific, but if you feel offended by my post (almost a year ago, lol), I'm guessing being called a "true" metalhead is your number one pet peeve.


anyway i wasnt trying to be aggressive or seem pissed, just trying to state why alot of people dont like this album regardless of the CoB name.
Milena - 14.03.2012 at 09:26  
Written by AngelofDeth on 14.03.2012 at 08:59

anyway i wasnt trying to be aggressive or seem pissed, just trying to state why alot of people dont like this album regardless of the CoB name.

Just because my post was long doesn't mean I thought you were aggressive.
Anyway, like Mr.Doctor above stated, it's pretty pointless to discuss this album now, I haven't played it since April last year and I'm sure it was even longer for you
R'Vannith - 14.03.2012 at 10:56  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.03.2012 at 01:24

People still care about this band?






What if I told you they still have a massive fanbase?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Relentless Reckless Forever 10 14.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Albums Children Of Bodom - Relentless Reckless Forever 9 05.03.2010 by
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Halo Of Blood 7.5 13.07.2013 by Zaphod
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper 5.5 17.09.2006 by BurbotsRevenge
News Children Of Bodom - Oslo And Malmö Shows Cancelled 4.5 04.07.2012 by LeChron James



Hits total: 3656 | This month: 34