Rating:
9.3
Deathspell Omega - Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice
February 2004


01. First Prayer
02. Sola Fide I
03. Sola Fide II
04. Second Prayer
05. Blessed Are The Dead Whiche Dye In The Lorde
06. Hétoïmasia
07. Third Prayer
08. Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice
09. Odium Nostrum
10. Jubilate Deo (O Be Joyful In The Lord)
11. Carnal Malefactor
12. Drink The Devil's Blood
13. Malign Paradigm


Deathspell Omega needs no introduction. Producing remarkable work for over a decade, they have placed a firm foothold over the black metal industry. Known for their trademark sound, they are one of the most respected metal bands in the modern era. And with the release of Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice, they began to accumulate the recognition they deserved.

Right off the bat, the first thing that will be noticed is the gargantuan length of the album. Clocking in at an intimidating 1:20 hours, it actually becomes a drawback of the album. But this irritancy becomes bearable by the prayers, which are basically airy tracks, which provide intervals between the other songs.

Typically, the riffs in the album are complex, long and pretty ambiguous. The guitars have a very thick tone, and tend to be relentlessly fast. The vocals don't try to stand out. It's harsh, has a menacing accent, but only supplements the music. But the most outstanding musical element in the record is the drumming. Not just pallid blast beats, the drums are chaotic, wild and out of control during the extreme moments, yet it resonantly trudges during the slower parts. Overall, the performance is diverse, intriguing and a wonderful display of musicianship.

The lyrical content on the album is based on metaphysical Satanism. The lyrics of the band are often hailed as unique and insightful. It uses statements from the bible/church, and the band portrays Satan as god. But most importantly, it's fascinating, and hence adds substance to the record, and does not mar it with cliché and half-baked lines.

Production wise, the album becomes a bit challenging to listen to. The guitars buzz, and whatever rhythm is achieved is hidden beneath a wall of noise. It may all just sound like an ugly cacophony of instruments to the untrained ear. But after repeated listens, it all falls in place.

With the prayers in the album, the album gets split into three parts. The prayers are slower songs, with dawdling and recurring riffs and weird chants in the background. These tracks set the tone for the proper songs which make the album eerie and murky. The song structures are distinct and varied. Wildly chaotic moments quickly transcend to mid-paced riffs, with some defined melody ("Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice"). Some songs even have choruses, and stay uniform throughout ("Sola Fide I & II). "Jubilate Deo (O Be Joyfvl in the Lord)" and "Malign Paradigm" have majestic and epic riffs with some incredible melody.

Overall, the album is eerie, unique and extremely captivating. Deathspell Omega have truly reinvented the wheel with this record. Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice is a welcome breath of fresh air to the black metal industry and is a cornerstone for yet another stage of evolution for the genre.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Deathspell Omega
Album: Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice


 


written by VloRD | 20.06.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 91  
Search this topic:  


koob - 30.06.2011 at 21:57  
I think the vocals are one of the most important element of this album !
azucarnegra - 06.08.2011 at 10:45  
Written by koob on 30.06.2011 at 21:57

I think the vocals are one of the most important element of this album !


Quite right!
Slayer666 - 06.08.2011 at 14:33  
This is the weakest part of DSO's "Trilogy", IMO. Good stuff, but DSO would really shine only in later albums.
8.3 - 8.5 from me, no more.
Mr. Doctor - 06.08.2011 at 14:45  
Written by Slayer666 on 06.08.2011 at 14:33

This is the weakest part of DSO's "Trilogy", IMO. Good stuff, but DSO would really shine only in later albums.
8.3 - 8.5 from me, no more.


Meh I find it equally strong if not stronger than the others. The lenght of the album is too long though but I guess it has to do with the concept but I do think the track Drink the Devil's Blood was completely unnecessary since it didn't really have anything to dow ith the concept of the mass as the res tof the songs has.

This guy totally ninja'd me in doing this review. I will probably write mine anyway just because... My rating would be quite similar though
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2011 at 15:32  
Weakest part of the trilogy? I declare batshit. Over time Paracletus has pretty much revealed itself to be the weakest if you ask my incredibly humble self. It's all irrelevant really as we all know the addendums are DSO's best work.
Mr. Doctor - 06.08.2011 at 16:03  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2011 at 15:32

Weakest part of the trilogy? I declare batshit. Over time Paracletus has pretty much revealed itself to be the weakest if you ask my incredibly humble self. It's all irrelevant really as we all know the addendums are DSO's best work.


You are talking about Kenose right?
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2011 at 16:07  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.08.2011 at 16:03

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2011 at 15:32

Weakest part of the trilogy? I declare batshit. Over time Paracletus has pretty much revealed itself to be the weakest if you ask my incredibly humble self. It's all irrelevant really as we all know the addendums are DSO's best work.


You are talking about Kenose right?

Yep, and Unchaining the Kitchen or whatever it's called.
Mr. Doctor - 06.08.2011 at 16:09  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2011 at 16:07

Yep, and Unchaining the Kitchen or whatever it's called.


Chaining The Katechon.
That one is good but not nearly as good as albums like Fas or SMR,Q, let alone Kenose. Don't know why you mention it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2011 at 16:12  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.08.2011 at 16:09

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2011 at 16:07

Yep, and Unchaining the Kitchen or whatever it's called.


Chaining The Katechon.
That one is good but not nearly as good as albums like Fas or SMR,Q, let alone Kenose. Don't know why you mention it.

Because it's like, er, my opinion man. That should be easy to understand. There's more ideas on that little EP than on say, Paracletus, and as a singular work it pwns most other DSO releases.
Mr. Doctor - 06.08.2011 at 16:38  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2011 at 16:12

Because it's like, er, my opinion man. That should be easy to understand. There's more ideas on that little EP than on say, Paracletus, and as a singular work it pwns most other DSO releases.


For some reason I knew you were going to answer lebowski style.
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2011 at 16:44  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.08.2011 at 16:38

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2011 at 16:12

Because it's like, er, my opinion man. That should be easy to understand. There's more ideas on that little EP than on say, Paracletus, and as a singular work it pwns most other DSO releases.


For some reason I knew you were going to answer lebowski style.

I don't even like the film so it's with a sense of irony ;]
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.08.2011 at 16:50  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2011 at 16:44

I don't even like the film so it's with a sense of irony ;]


By EVERY ONE loves that film, and regards it as the best thing since sliced bread

Not me though. It's enjoyable for one viewing but that's it, nothing more. Probably the weakest Coen brothers film.
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2011 at 16:55  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.08.2011 at 16:50


By EVERY ONE loves that film, and regards it as the best thing since sliced bread

Not me though. It's enjoyable for one viewing but that's it, nothing more. Probably the weakest Coen brothers film.

I quite liked the first half of the film which was quite amusing but it felt like it took a massive tonal shift in the second half and that put me right off. It just seemed to lose what it set out to do.
Daniell - 06.08.2011 at 18:24  
I'll join the party of those who don't hold Big Lebowski in such high esteem. Fargo, No Country for Old Men, Miller's Crossing, Barton Fink, Dead Simple, True Grit - they're all better.
VloRD - 21.01.2012 at 11:59  
Written by Slayer666 on 06.08.2011 at 14:33

Meh I find it equally strong if not stronger than the others. The lenght of the album is too long though but I guess it has to do with the concept but I do think the track Drink the Devil's Blood was completely unnecessary since it didn't really have anything to dow ith the concept of the mass as the res tof the songs has.

This guy totally ninja'd me in doing this review. I will probably write mine anyway just because... My rating would be quite similar though


Please do! It'll be nice to compare yours with mine
Mr. Doctor - 21.01.2012 at 12:45  
Written by VloRD on 21.01.2012 at 11:59
Please do! It'll be nice to compare yours with mine


You quoted the wrong fella though XP But thanks for the comment... I might work on it when I get the chance. I liked your review so this is not a competition
VloRD - 21.01.2012 at 16:58  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.01.2012 at 12:45

Written by VloRD on 21.01.2012 at 11:59
Please do! It'll be nice to compare yours with mine


You quoted the wrong fella though XP But thanks for the comment... I might work on it when I get the chance. I liked your review so this is not a competition

Yikes! I posted it through my mobile...and thank you!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Deathspell Omega - Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice 9 15.02.2011 by Destructo
Reviews Deathspell Omega - Fas - Ite, Maledicti, In Ignem Aeternum 5.5 04.08.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Deathspell Omega - Paracletus 5.5 11.11.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Albums Deathspell Omega - Mass Grave Aesthetics [EP] 4.5 24.11.2013 by mz
News Deathspell Omega - New EP Available For Streaming 4.5 25.07.2012 by ArcesseEum



Hits total: 3240 | This month: 38