Enthrope - Tomorrow's Dead Days review



Reviewer:
9.2

55 users:
8.47
Band: Enthrope
Album: Tomorrow's Dead Days
Release date: June 2010


01. Cloud Six
02. The Last Lunation
03. Moon Chains Descent
04. Illumination Paradox
05. Enemy Within
06. End It All
07. Dead Sun Fragment
08. The Desolate
09. Stars Of Nhagrad


Melodic death metal is an exhausted genre which had very limited means of expression in the first place. But since it sold so well to adolescent metal fans with low expectations, it flourished on the barren soil of its narrow repertoire. Once in a while a promising band emerges, shines for a while and vanishes into the sea of mediocrity also called mainstream musical business, never to be heard again.

I sincerely hope that Enthrope will not share the fate of hundreds of bands before them. While not strictly a melodeath band, they do have enough distinguishing features of the genre that allow one to categorise them as such. Atmospheric melodic death metal with a dark progressive edge - how does that sound? Not too good, I agree. Fortunately, Enthrope's music sounds much much better. Rarely do we get a debut album from an obscure band that has such a fantastic, powerful and juicy sound. It feels like the music wants to tear itself out of the speakers and land on my head. Thundering bass drums, razor sharp and crystal clear guitars, deep bass guitar, keyboards - everything perfectly balanced.

The most beautiful thing is that the music itself is at least as excellent as its production, or even better. Mostly mid-tempo, with beautiful, relaxed guitar solos and catchy, memorable riffs. Occasional ethereal female vocals (especially in "The Desolate", where they play a major part) wonderfully complement male vocals, which range from deep growls to some clean singing. Every song is a separate story and, unlike most metal albums nowadays, every one of them is memorable and unique - lushly arranged, exquisite and elegant. Such rich and ripe compositions usually are the work of very experienced musicians, and, reading Enthrope's lineup I see that this is the case. Some of the members have been around since the mid-nineties.

I heard this album in 2011. If I listened to it when it was out, in 2010, it'd be the debut of the year for me. If you have an open mind for music that will challenge you, or if you want a slightly different take on a well know topic, give Enthrope a try. I can't imagine you could regret it.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 15.07.2011 by Writes overly honest and totally subjective reviews when fancy strikes him. Which is not often. Which is probably good, all things considered.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 264 users
15.07.2011 - 20:45
Daniell
No, you don't
This coming from someone who usually hates melodeath - it must be really good
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
15.07.2011 - 20:48
MechanisT
Account deleted
Excellent review!
"Atmospheric melodic death metal with a dark progressive edge"; absolutely spot on! I discovered this band from your staff pick, so I guess a big thank you is in order here for helping me discover this awesome-yet-obscure band! Agreed with the rating too. Excellent album.
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 08:46
Ag Fox
Angel No More
I love this album too, and you brought it to my attention earlier in the year
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 11:27
Merchant of Doom
Great album... definitely one of the best of 2010...
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 11:45
Milena
Learning To "X"
Must listen to this.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 13:56
Draugen
Nice, will definitely check this one out.
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 14:45
JÄY
Metal slave
Geez, with the description of the music, album title and cover art, ill im seeing is omnium gatherum. how similar is the music?
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 16:06
Daniell
No, you don't
Completely dissimilar
Fuck associations, just listen to it!
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 17:52
The Benighted
This was a really well constructed album. Great review, as well.
----
Learn to adapt to the change, or get washed away like tears in the rain.
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 20:18
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Melodeath from finland is usually something prefer to skip, but your review intrigued me...
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
17.07.2011 - 16:47
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
At last after almost 3 years i finally got a melo-death album which doesn't suck.. This album is simply wonderful, beautiful solos, memorable riffs and a subtle dark progressive edge to it just as said in the review.. You must get this... And nice review as always

This album delivers
Loading...
29.07.2011 - 23:20
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Daniell on 16.07.2011 at 16:06

Completely dissimilar
Fuck associations, just listen to it!


The prerfect cure for insomnia this album My God this is one of the most boring albums I have the displeasure to sit through for a long time. Great musicians but now they should learn to write great music as well
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.10.2011 - 13:04
Cryzpin
Totaly despise the review. This is an unmemorable, uninspiring essence of mediocrity. It just kicks me in the balls anytime I try to fully focus on and embrace the music.
And where the hell is exactly the talent you are all talking about?!
Loading...
06.10.2011 - 16:03
Daniell
No, you don't
I take it you didn't like the album
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
22.05.2013 - 18:57
IronArkadius666
Written by Daniell on 16.07.2011 at 16:06

Completely dissimilar
Fuck associations, just listen to it!


Actually I find this album quite similar to OG, maybe not to Beyond but now and then elements of NWS pop out at me, or rather elements of Enthrope pop out of NWS since this came first.
The "dark progressive" element you speak of I can hear on NWS and even SHOSW.

I don't know if you are a fan of OG, but I like to think of this album as a more perfected version of them.
Loading...

Hits total: 5394 | This month: 21