Rating:
9.7
Necrophagist - Onset Of Putrefaction
14 September 1999


01. Foul Body Autopsy
02. To Breathe In A Casket
03. Mutilate The Stillborn
04. Intestinal Incubation
05. Culinary Hyperversity
06. Advanced Corpse Tumor
07. Extreme Unction
08. Fermented Offal Discharge
09. Dismembered Self-Immolation [bonus]
10. Pseudopathological Vivisection [bonus]


You think a band can't be Brutal and Technical at the same time? You are wrong dude, Necrophagist is one of those bands that merge brutality with complexity. This German guy (you won't believe this, "Onset Of Putrefaction" was recorded, executed, etc. by just one man: Muhammed Suicmez) released "Onset Of Putrefaction" as his (nowadays "their" because after this album Muhammed gathered other musicians) first full length, not many actually know this band so let's review this album right now.

The album starts with "Foul Body Autopsy," a regular song with some good solos and just ok music, not the best one for sure. In fact if you hear only this song you won't at all be impressed, but that's the beauty of the album. When "Foul Body Autopsy" ends the rest of the album is a true orgy of complexity, brutality and awesome music. "To Breathe In A Casket" starts very fast and brutal, however the guitars in this song are fantastic so at this point you are aware of what you are getting yourself into, brutal as hell yet technical and complex. The real highlight comes when you pay close attention to the guitar performance, most Brutal Death Metal bands use only power chords and similar chords, well not this time baby, Muhammed uses all kinds of difficult scales and awesome irregular chords, so the guitars in "Onset Of Putrefaction" are incredible. (I'm afraid of saying this, but I think Muhammed gets very close to Trey of Morbid Angel.)

The best song of "Onset…" is "Culinary Hyperversity," a multifaceted song with an incredible intro, the most brutal song in this album for sure. The drum machine is awesome (the double bass bits are really crushing), the riffs are even catchy and of course the solos are very good and complex. This song will blow your mind so be warned.

The production is good, not as good as the re-release in 2004, but this album is not about the production at all, this album is all about it's music achievements and incredible songs, this album is really extraordinary and we all must buy it now, and I mean right now.

Highly Recommended.


Band profile: Necrophagist
Album: Onset Of Putrefaction


 


written by Herzebeth | 07.07.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 25  
Users visited: 257  
Search this topic:  


KryptoN - 29.07.2006 at 03:06  
Awesome album. I have to disagree with one thing in the review... I was especially impressed by "Foul Body Autopsy" and it remains my favorite song by them. Well my story is that a friend (Dream_of_Hate) sent me a few songs (including FBA) and that was it. The next day I ordered both of their albums.

It's amazing how much one man can achieve. This is truly one of the very best death metal albums I have ever heard. No weak moments at all.

If you enjoy death metal, get this fucking album, now.
Jerk - 29.07.2006 at 06:45  
Foul Body Autopsy is such a good song. Mabey it's too technical for non guitar players. There's so much going on in the 2 minutes of that song. Great album.
Wo0dy - 29.07.2006 at 07:46  
i agree, this album kicks alot of fucking ass, muhammed is a very talented guitarist
Dangerboner - 30.07.2006 at 02:56  
This album slightly edges out Epitaph. It's faster, but still technical. I just wish they had a human drummer.
Stigmatized - 30.07.2006 at 04:10  
Written by Dangerboner on 30.07.2006 at 02:56

This album slightly edges out Epitaph. It's faster, but still technical. I just wish they had a human drummer.


I think the inhuman guitarist makes up for it.
Dangerboner - 30.07.2006 at 04:11  
Written by Stigmatized on 30.07.2006 at 04:10

Written by Dangerboner on 30.07.2006 at 02:56

This album slightly edges out Epitaph. It's faster, but still technical. I just wish they had a human drummer.


I think the inhuman guitarist makes up for it.




You're totally right.
slayer_666 - 20.12.2006 at 22:43  
Foul Body Autopsy


best song on that album by far!!!!!
spirit_inblack - 21.12.2006 at 00:37  
One amazing tech-death album. Fermented Offal Discharge has one of the most insane solos ever. I prefer this release over Epitaph. Muhammed is from Turkey right? But his parents immigrated to Germany? Well, anyways, fuckin great album.
OminousDeath - 09.11.2007 at 22:41  
omg...necrophagist blows my mind!!
BloodTears - 09.11.2007 at 23:38  
Necrophagist is a special band. I discovered them a long time ago and I always felt they were special since the beginning. This album proves my theory.
BreadGod - 10.11.2007 at 04:50  
Seeing this review makes me want to listen to the album right now. I especially love the magnificent solo on 'Fermented Offal Discharge'.
flamey - 17.11.2007 at 22:04  
spirit_inblack; indeed Muhammed is Turkish but born in Germany.. actually his parents were quite religious and he had to play guitar secretly, learnt to play it all by himself and look at him now, fooking amazing.
Deadmeat - 03.11.2008 at 18:43  
Quote:
I especially love the magnificent solo on 'Fermented Offal Discharge'.

This is an awesome solo. Melody fits perfect with brutality!
acfromthekc44 - 18.11.2008 at 20:34  
I love this album. my favorite song is Fermented Offal Discharge. the Solo is fuckin awesome, and the rythym to the solo is even more impressive.
AyΣm - 25.03.2009 at 18:52  
First band I knew, and it's still of my favourites, Intestinal Incubation and Extreme Unction are really impressive songs. THE technical band to my eyes.
bloodwrage - 01.08.2009 at 09:43  
Written by AyΣm on 25.03.2009 at 18:52

First band I knew, and it's still of my favourites, Intestinal Incubation and Extreme Unction are really impressive songs. THE technical band to my eyes.

You just jumped straight into the technical brutal death metal, huh? Props to ya. I love this album and it has become one of my favorites. Fermented Offal Discharge and Foul Body Autopsy are great songs.
Tatras - 02.09.2009 at 21:27  
Really great album, for me perfect, simply best album by Necrophagist and possibly one of the best ever made in Technical Death Genre. 10
thewall30 - 02.02.2010 at 18:25  
This shit sounds fucking insane! Sounds really good, thinking about getting it...
Opeth1992 - 12.05.2010 at 03:49  
I'm not sure if it's it's necessarily my favorite, but To Breath in a Casket is super brutal. I love each song on this album. Which song is the best on the album? There is only one answer...all of them. Necrophagist is easily the best modern Tech Death Band out there and definitely one of the best death metal bands period. Amazing album.
Opeth1992 - 12.05.2010 at 04:04  
Cryzpin - 30.12.2010 at 14:41  
Written by Stigmatized on 30.07.2006 at 04:10

Written by Dangerboner on 30.07.2006 at 02:56

This album slightly edges out Epitaph. It's faster, but still technical. I just wish they had a human drummer.


I think the inhuman guitarist makes up for it.

No. Dangerboner hit the nail. The vast difference between outstanding virtuosic guitar work and flat almost boring recurent machine drumming sequences is the one biggest deficit of the album.
Just feel what creative and ultra-skilled human drummer can add to techdeath music on Cryptopsy's "None So Vile" or Lykathea Aflame's "Elvenefris".
With such a level of drumming, the album would be unstoppable.
Destructo - 30.12.2010 at 19:33  
A real pity they have released just 2 albums as yet. I really crave for hearing more from Necrophagist.
Tetravirulence - 18.05.2011 at 02:23  
One word : Brutal
BeastOfMetal456 - 06.08.2011 at 18:33  
Fermented Offal Discharge has my all time favorite solo.
Boxcar Willy - 10.09.2011 at 06:09  
\m/ (>.<) \m/

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Necrophagist - Onset Of Putrefaction 6 15.06.2010 by Carl Berg
Metal arena Necrophagist: Onset of Putrefaction or Epitaph? 6 10.07.2011 by king_matt
Reviews Last Days Of Humanity - Putrefaction In Progress 4.5 17.10.2006 by Dangerboner
Reviews Deeds Of Flesh - Reduced To Ashes 3 05.08.2007 by theflyingmachine
Reviews Marduk - Those Of The Unlight 3 09.06.2007 by Katatronik



Hits total: 6948 | This month: 54