Draconian - A Rose For The Apocalypse review



Reviewer:
6.0

450 users:
8.18
Band: Draconian
Album: A Rose For The Apocalypse
Release date: June 2011


01. The Drowning Age
02. The Last Hour Of Ancient Sunlight
03. End Of The Rope
04. Elysian Night
05. Deadlight
06. Dead World Assembly
07. A Phantom Dissonance
08. The Quiet Storm
09. The Death Of Hours
10. Wall Of Sighs [bonus]


Being around since 1994, Draconian is one of those bands that had to be patient so as to see their visions come true and it wasn't until 2003 when their melodic gothic doom/death metal debut came to the surface. Despite their heavy influences from pioneering acts with personal sound (Theatre Of Tragedy, Katatonia, Paradise Lost to name the more dominant ones) they managed through their inspirational/emotional status and persuading performance to reach the hearts of the aforementioned scene's audience and create quite a buzz around them.

And then Arcane Rain Fell, one of the richest releases of the later years in this very specific field of metal rewarded everyone that had entrusted their hopes on Draconian and everyone could notice their audience growing in numbers day by day. It was its lyrical theme but most and above all the way they interpreted the grief and sorrow, but also the scornful wrath, of the most sang figure in metal history, the exiled Archangel.

During The Burning Halo EP they started showing a less affected and more spot-on gothic metal face with a doom-flirting background and it was with Turning Season Within they moved towards this sound to a wider extent. Less affected/elegant and more straight-forward compositions in terms of emotion were its main characteristics, failing to create the captivating aesthetic which was the locomotive lever that made them what they are.

Three years later, a promising title and cover artwork started a high mobility among the ranks of the band's audience. Their fourth and long-awaited full-length was reality. Turning Season Within was a step forward for the sound of the band whereas their later effort, A Rose For The Apocalypse, is a step backwards simply because it adds nothing new to the musical journey of Draconian. The only factor that seems to have progressed has to be Lisa Johansson's entrancing interpretation, apparently though she's not enough to take off the rope from the band's neck. It's not a bad album, but it's not good either. It just doesn't live up to any expectation. The band tried to rehash the fresh sound of their previous effort and blend it partially with the aesthetic of past glories without succeeding.

What Draconian seem to be missing nowadays is the art of making a song stick to your mind, an essential element for bands like them that rely on atmosphere. Of course there are bands without memorable compositions that possess the charisma of earning the respect of the listener in their very own way, Draconian never were and don't seem to be one of them these days. In one hand they have their influences, something welcome (even to the extent they breathe through their work), on the other hand they seem to copy themselves to a level that makes you think you've been there before and it was far better, so what's the point? Anders' grunts have remained the same, but this time they seem they're not working things out. It must be the poorer musical environment that's not enough and doesn't seem to help him stand at the front with grandeur. Even the "cinematic" recites don't possess not 1% of the poetic aura they had back in Arcane Rain Fell. And in this mire of composing mediocrity here come the 64 minutes of duration that make this experience nearly traumatic. It's too much for a shadow of themselves. In the end there's not pretty much to recall and more or less the negative aspects surpass any flickering hope.

"September began with a goodbye to my heart ". The way I feel about this album has already been said (and done) by Draconian themselves, I couldn't express it better, "we are mere whisperings of a heartfelt elegy".


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 02.09.2011 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."

Guest review by
Vonpire
Rating:
9.5
Whenever I hear Draconian playing, I feel a bag of mixed feelings: calm but heavy, deep and majestic. And especially something I don't feel with many bands... chills all over my spine. And that for me is priceless.

The first time I heard this album it didn't hit me exactly like I was expecting. Fortunately, what I thought of the album upon my first listen has been completely changed with the subsequent hearings. Now I put it at a high level of excellence, at the level of previous Draconian works. It brings them a more mature sound, but with the same geniality and force as ever, clearly showing that they are a top gothic/doom metal act with merit.

Read more ››
published 29.09.2011 | Comments (68)


Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 82   Visited by: 517 users
06.09.2011 - 01:12
Merchant of Doom
Written by BitterCOld on 05.09.2011 at 20:39

I have to wonder why 40 watt warning keeps coming up in a thread about another band... i didn't realize it was one or the other...

but i could have sworn this was about draconian.


we are allowed a little OT? Surely...
Loading...
06.09.2011 - 03:38
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.09.2011 at 01:12

Written by BitterCOld on 05.09.2011 at 20:39

I have to wonder why 40 watt warning keeps coming up in a thread about another band... i didn't realize it was one or the other...

but i could have sworn this was about draconian.


we are allowed a little OT? Surely...


some, sure... just wondering why the whole whining about Warning thing in a Draconian review thread has crossed into another Draconian review thread and the Warning review thread.

nvm the prior post which made it seem as one had to like one or another.

clearly the OW masturbates to Draconian and hates Warning.

i slash my wrists to Warning, and don't really care for (this) Draconian

You don't seem to like either.

just seems an odd correlation to repeat ad infinitum.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
06.09.2011 - 10:47
Merchant of Doom
I didn't read the previous reviews, so I can't comment. No idea why Behdad brought the Warning up. Maybe because it's a completely different kind of Doom? i.e. because I'm criticising Draconian I must like stuff like Warning and 40 Watt Sun? In fact, I do prefer this Draconian album to any of Warning's. And I find Pat Walker's voice pretty annoying. Give me growls any day.
Loading...
09.09.2011 - 17:19
hadriel
A tad bit harsh I think, but generally agree with the review. tbh I got a little bored my first listen through and since then have had trouble making it through the whole album again. Just doesn't compare to their past releases, I was expecting more from Draconian.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 15:24
Cassian
After some times listening to this album, I figure out that it is somehow underestimated by a lot of people. After such a resounding success its predecessor is, we - fans of Draconian - probably expected something better or at least similar. The band does not believe so however. As we may have noticed, Turning Season Within is fairly heavier than their previous works, and slightly moves towards another direction of gothic-with-more-doom metal. Certainly, we looked forward to another album which sounds, perhaps, the same. So, when Draconian decided to soften their music a wee bit and create deeper and more melodic songs, many of us were disappointed. Personally, I feel that Lisa's voice sounds is wider, and she herself plays an important role when it comes to delivering the melodic parts of the songs, as in Elysian Night, Dead World Assembly, and especially The Quiet Storm which sounds a bit experimental.

A Rose For The Apocalypse is simply an amazing album, which proves that Draconian is more than creative - they always renew themselves for the better. I believe a true fan of Draconian will fall deeply in love with this album as much as their previous works, or even more.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 17:11
serega25
Cassian +10
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 17:35
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by Cassian on 11.09.2011 at 15:24

I believe a true fan of Draconian will fall deeply in love with this album as much as their previous works, or even more.


A 'true' fan? As opposed to what, a 'false' fan? That makes no sense to me, you're either a fan of the band's music or your not. There is no elevated status among such fans rendering them 'true'.
A fan of the band may well dislike this album, so these individuals are to be considered as 'false' fans?

Personally I enjoyed the album, can't say I'm 'deeply in love' with it though, it's nowhere near their best. As a fan of the band I guess I must be 'false'.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 18:43
Vonpire
Popcorns anyone!?
----
Beware the Shadows of Dusk
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 20:42
vezzy
Stallmanite
Written by Vonpire on 11.09.2011 at 18:43

Popcorns anyone!?


I'd rather have some regular popcorn, tyvm.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 20:44
BitterCOld
Gringo
Besides, your tears are salty... should probably counter that with a sweet snack. salt + more salt = bad pairing.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 20:46
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
I believe he has sand in his vagina too.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 21:06
vezzy
Stallmanite
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.09.2011 at 20:46

I believe he has sand in his vagina too.


Quit being such a mean troll, Joe.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 21:08
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by vezzy on 11.09.2011 at 21:06

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.09.2011 at 20:46

I believe he has sand in his vagina too.


Quit being such a mean troll, Joe.

I am not an average troll, I am an excellent troll.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 21:12
vezzy
Stallmanite
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.09.2011 at 21:08
I am not an average troll, I am an excellent troll.


Trolls trollin' trolls, ftw, f yeah.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 21:13
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by vezzy on 11.09.2011 at 21:12

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.09.2011 at 21:08
I am not an average troll, I am an excellent troll.


Trolls trollin' trolls, ftw, f yeah.

This makes me want to post a particular Limp Bizkit song right here on everyone's nizzle.
Loading...
11.09.2011 - 21:17
vezzy
Stallmanite
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.09.2011 at 21:13

This makes me want to post a particular Limp Bizkit song right here on everyone's nizzle.


Just don't let the fuzz 'durst' ya, m'kay?
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
12.09.2011 - 00:45
Vonpire
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.09.2011 at 20:46

I believe he has sand in his vagina too.


Mamaki oh meretriz!
----
Beware the Shadows of Dusk
Loading...
15.09.2011 - 06:46
WhyDoIDoThis
Beautiful lyrics. Beautiful melodies. Beautiful presentation. Beauty Level: 99
I must say I'm a fan. I really like The Quiet Storm. "...and we see ourselves for the first time as the ones we truly are.." Ah, Beauty. Thou hast saved me from the abyss of my depression and spurred my soul into action.
----
Woah!? I'm a female? No way! You're far too observant. Tone that down a bit.
Loading...
13.03.2012 - 08:32
The Melting Snow
I liked the album a lot. Especially Elysian Night, The Death of Hours and Dead world Assembly. True they sound less dark and melancholic, but i like the improved riffs and melodies.
Loading...
09.07.2012 - 08:30
Opethian
This album was such an Epic disappointment. The bland vocals, minimal inspiration, energy & focus I want to say that this is why Lisa quit the band. Its a shame because Tristania & Draconian are my two most favorite 'Gothic Metal' band. I hope (If there is a next time) that they get their heads out of their asses and deliver us some great 'Gothic' music. Thats if they find an exceptional replacement for Lisa
Loading...
12.10.2012 - 20:52
ManiacBlasphemer
Black Knight
Wondering why such a harsh opinion about an excelent album like this... This album has a lot of memorable tracks, The Drowning Age, The Last Hour of Ancient Sunlight, Deadlight, Dead World Assembly, Wall of Sighs or The Death of Hours are some marvelous songs. It is a little bit different compared to their first opus, but an obvious path since it was hinted by their 3rd opus, Turning Season Within. I do not get why this album deserves such a low mark when it definitely does not, I think this review is unfair for both the band and the album. I prefer the other one, much more realistic and more credible than this one.

You can definitely feel the Draconian feeling in this album, same like in the others.
Loading...
01.12.2013 - 22:03
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Why change when you've already reached maximum level?
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...

Hits total: 9107 | This month: 34