Rating:
5.5
R.U.S.T. (CYP) - Forged In The Fire Of Metal
5 August 2011


01. The Thunder Rolls
02. Metal Child
03. We Are Rock N Roll
04. Phoenix In The Night
05. In The Streets Of Rock N Roll
06. Lady Of The Lake
07. Straight To The Top
08. Queen Of The Amazons
09. The Beginning
10. Forged In The Fire Of Metal


If I had a dollar for every time I've seen this problem arise, I'd have like...50 dollars. Cool riffs, horrendous vocals. Granted, with many bands, the cool riffs make up for the shit vocals, this isn't the case with R.U.S.T. - their riffs aren't that cool. In fact, you'd need some extremely awesome riffs in order to make up for these shouty attempts at singing.

I guess this band is making some sort of attempt to be Manowar. It's your pretty basic power-drenched traditional heavy metal. Quasi-epic guitar work, some failing attempt at epic vocals. Actually, after closer inspection, there's nothing about this album that's really all that good. It seems you can pass off any type of boring, derivative garbage if your vocals are distractingly bad enough. Perhaps these guys should have tried to pull off some extreme-power metal/hardcore hybrid, as this guys talents seem to lie a lot closer to shouting into the mic than anything else. The most troubling question of all is; who told this guy he was good? Either he sounds significantly better live, or there's some bizarre friendship dynamics going on, in which case he's managed to scare the rest of the band into submission.

Good side of the album? Well, forget everything I said about "cool riffs", "listenable riffs" would have been far more apt. There's nothing particularly great about them, just generic, run o' the mill heavy-power metal stuff. I wish there was a better description, but if asked to describe this album in retrospect, the only thing I could think of would be; "some dude shouting in my ear while a band tries to play Manowar in the background."


 



Written on 09.09.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 96  
Search this topic:  


Cynic Metalhead - 09.09.2011 at 23:32  
"Perhaps these guys should have tried to pull off some extreme-power metal/hardcore hybrid, as this guys talents seem to lie a lot closer to shouting into the mic than anything else"

YOU MEAN GOING FOR DEATHCORE SHIT??! Cause that's what it really hinging on...! The riffs is the only element that has swings my vote to atleast 6 too, besides that its totally garbage....! and btw a very decent interview.
Mattybu - 09.09.2011 at 23:33  
Is Lady of the Lake a cover of the Rainbow song from Long Live Rock & Roll?
BoxCar Willy - 10.09.2011 at 05:48  
This sounds like something i would burn.
Cathaldus - 10.09.2011 at 08:57  
Yet again I find myself disappointed by the quality of reviewing on this site. You place the reviewing tasks of releases in the hands of haters that write like they are fixated on impressing their 12yr old younger brother with their skillful uses of profanity. A more positive approach to ANY metal artist review would be some constructive criticism without calling the work 'garbage'. How about some suggestions directed to the band members and the listeners on what areas need work? A little background on the band and its members would be nice also. Where do they come from? What obstacles did the band overcome just to put forth a recorded effort to add to our world of metal? Doc, I'm not ripping on you personally, but please, if you do not like power/heavy metal.. let someone else write the reviews on these bands so your dislike of the genre doesn't come bleeding through.

\m/ - - \m/
Doc Godin - 12.09.2011 at 06:40  
Written by Cathaldus on 10.09.2011 at 08:57

Yet again I find myself disappointed by the quality of reviewing on this site. You place the reviewing tasks of releases in the hands of haters that write like they are fixated on impressing their 12yr old younger brother with their skillful uses of profanity. A more positive approach to ANY metal artist review would be some constructive criticism without calling the work 'garbage'. How about some suggestions directed to the band members and the listeners on what areas need work? A little background on the band and its members would be nice also. Where do they come from? What obstacles did the band overcome just to put forth a recorded effort to add to our world of metal? Doc, I'm not ripping on you personally, but please, if you do not like power/heavy metal.. let someone else write the reviews on these bands so your dislike of the genre doesn't come bleeding through.

\m/ - - \m/

Admittedly, not my best review by any means - oddly enough, not for any of the asinine reasons you list.

A) Constructive criticism? This isn't play school, these men are adults. Though I'm sure they don't appreciate my review, I'm sure they can find the fairly blatant reason behind each profanity-drenched statement. I could write a polite, gentle review and give them a nice big gold star sticker for tryin' their darndest, though I somehow doubt that would be of much interest to readers. I think I simultaneously stated what needs improvement, while writing something that was at least remotely entertaining.

B) Background info on the band? I write reviews, not band bios. I try to take all my music at face value, hence why you'll see me tear apart bad albums from even my all-time favourite bands. Face value - I take the music for what it is, not the personal history behind it. As far as adding to our world of metal? Uh...If anything, this band detracts.

C) Not liking power/heavy metal? Uhm...No, I just don't like generic heavy/power metal, just as I don't like generic black metal, generic death metal, generic thrash, generic stoner, generic doom, etc, etc.

Your complaints seem entirely misplaced. Your complaining almost entirely about my style of writing, which, I'll admit is quite abrasive a lot of the time, but nothing about any tangible fallacies.
Valentin B - 15.09.2011 at 09:52  
There's a band called R.U.S.T. hailing from here who also play Manowar-influenced heavy metal, and they are also about to release their first album. the similarities don't stop there though, the vocals are also somewhat lacking (but then again these guys are quite young, not much older than you or me so i'll give em some slack), they're actually quite decent: http://www.metalhead.ro/rust/muzica-rust/ just play one of the three tracks over there. When i saw you reviewed this album i instantly thought it was them you were talking about.

as for this R.U.S.T., yeah, they're ridiculous. the vocals are embarassing, and this is coming from a former rabid Manowar fan.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews 3 Inches Of Blood - Fire Up The Blades 7.5 17.11.2009 by BoxCar Willy
Articles A Year In Metal - 2011 Highlights Through The Eyes Of The MS Staff & Elite 6.5 10.02.2012 by BlueMobius
Articles Metal Storm's Favorite Album Artwork: The Results! 6.5 01.09.2012 by Haiwaan Das
Reviews Mpire Of Evil - Hell To The Holy 6 07.04.2012 by RottingDeathHead
Reviews Babylon Mystery Orchestra - The Godless, The Godforsaken, And The God Damned 6 23.04.2010 by Mikyz



Hits total: 3260 | This month: 4