Rating:
7.8
Opeth - Heritage
14 September 2011


01. Heritage
02. The Devil's Orchard
03. I Feel The Dark
04. Slither
05. Nepenthe
06. Häxprocess
07. Famine
08. The Lines In My Hand
09. Folklore
10. Marrow Of The Earth
11. Pyre [bonus]
12. Face In The Snow [bonus]


The general consensus when a great band dares to move away from their original Death Metal sound is usually not positive. However Opeth have done it before masterfully with Damnation in 2003. They are back at it with one of the year's most anticipated albums, Heritage.

Cutting to the chase: Compared to their previous releases, Heritage lacks character. Despite the song structures being very progressive rock and the vocals being crazy good, the absence of catchy guitar riffs or memorable growls is a downer. One can positively recognize Opeth as the artist, especially since a lot of the songs borrow tidbits straight from the Ghost Reveries period. Certainly they manage to perpetuate a dark atmosphere throughout the album, but the mellowness of the whole thing is borderline irritating to someone expecting their trademark sound. I know we have been forewarned by Mikael Åkerfeldt himself about this being a throwback kind of release. Still, I believe this would be either catchier or more aggressive. Nevertheless the album does feature good moments, mostly from the jazz-infused portions of the songs.

Most of the vocal work by Mikael is spot on and even more breathtaking than ever before. And yes, we are talking about clean vocals only, which is unfortunate. Technically there is nothing to complain about, musicianship is at an all-time high. But when your band has members or former members of Bloodbath and Arch Enemy, listeners are bound to expect a little ferociousness whether in the form of harsh vocals or hell-spawn guitar riffs.

This is undeniably the one album that will have fans divided. On its own it is a great 70s-inspired throwback progressive rock album. Assessed as part of Opeth discography it fails to win me over completely. It is grand if you are into progressive rock and the band need to be applauded for the effort and guts to do something like this at this stage of their career. But ultimately the dearth of grabbing melodies endures as the downfall of Heritage.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Opeth
Album: Heritage


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 20.09.2011

Guest review by
SauradipGhosh

Rating:
8.6
Heritage poses more questions than answers. Have Opeth reached a creative cul-de-sac? Have they chucked their "Extreme Progressive Death Metal" for good? Have they finally shed their "Underground Garage Band" (I am quoting Akerfeldt from an earlier interview) and have ventured out into the Pantheon of the "mainstream" Gods from their hallowed underground temple so frequented by hordes of reverent worshipers?

Read more ››
published 29.05.2012 | Comments (32)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2 3
Comments: 134  
Users visited: 1119  
Search this topic:  


Lit. - 20.09.2011 at 04:12  
JCJen7 - 20.09.2011 at 04:15  
Just got mine in the mail today! what a coincidence
Marcus - 20.09.2011 at 04:18  
Won't have a chance to hear it for a while but I have to disagree on principle with one point; Akerfeldt's clean vocals, to me, were always the best part. I can't wait to hear another album that does away with the death metal vocals entirely especially since there were so stale on the Watershed. But again, I've always been one to prefer their more mellow side over their heavier side any day of the week.
Fredd - 20.09.2011 at 04:40  
Good review, exactly what I think of this album.
pisymbol - 20.09.2011 at 04:45  
I am disappointed by this review. Not so much because of the rating (we can agree to disagree on that), but the reasons: despite the nod to the fact that this is Opeth's greatest work with respect to musicianship, its no good because of the lack of death growls? Really?

If you are an Opeth fan, I think you will absolutely adore this album. Period.
Rulatore - 20.09.2011 at 04:53  
Written by Lit. on 20.09.2011 at 04:12




Just what I thought.

I liked the drum and bass work. The problem with this one is that sometimes gets too boring
ryche76 - 20.09.2011 at 05:00  
I picked up a copy yesterday with the bonus DVD and I must say the packaging is pretty impressive. There is no doubt that Mikael and Opeth are brilliant musicians. I say good no them for taking a risk, and for my liking it has paid off acceptionally well. There are moments in some songs where I think " what are they doing ? " but after hearing it in its entirety it works so well. Then watching the DVD and seeing Mikael talk about the recording of the album I admire "Heritage" even more. Well I will say this, it is better then the effort Queensryche dished out back in July. Out of 10 I would rate it a solid 8. Bring on the 18th of December I say !!!!!!
stationarytravel - 20.09.2011 at 05:24  
Yes, we've heard that before. No catchy + no growlz = no character. Nice "review".
Demonic Tutor - 20.09.2011 at 05:48  
JCJen7 - 20.09.2011 at 05:58  
Haha, i quite liked the review. You gave a non-perfect score to Opeth what do you expect?

You shall be criticized until you are one of the chosen ones that can appreciate their pure, unadultered passion
Demonic Tutor - 20.09.2011 at 06:03  
Written by JCJen7 on 20.09.2011 at 05:58

Haha, i quite liked the review. You gave a non-perfect score to Opeth what do you expect?


I know. I didn't think I would see the day of this happening. Seeing that I've been a longtime fan and all.
Unhealer - 20.09.2011 at 06:38  
Average review, doesn't say too much of what the album sounds like really besides all that has been said before we could finally listen to it. But it's accurate after all.

I liked this album a lot, my problem was the feel of "lack of structure" on some songs... Mikael said that he usually writes piecing different riffs together. I think his writing process didn't go well with this album concept, since it worked perfectly before.
For example, I though "Famine" would be the best track for the song idea, instead is a little messy in my opinion... I just wait for the doomy riff with flute which is one of the sweetest moments of the record placed on an average song. And it's repetition at the end ruins the magic of it a little bit.

That said, I just love it. Well deserved 9.5 or so for me. "I feel the dark" is an increidible track.
BitterCOld - 20.09.2011 at 06:41  
DT split the wickets between the haters who will completely freak out and froth at the keyboard because a progressive metal band just chucked aside every single metallic element and the hordes of fanbois who think everything Opeth ever recorded is the best thing put to tape and that Mikael >>> Beethoven.

and there will be some rational people in the middle, but for the most part, brace for whining from the two extremes.

<- 7 from me. good prog, but nothing really stuck with me.
Captain Obvious - 20.09.2011 at 07:21  
In situations like this I'd like to paraphrase Phil Anselmo by saying ''I hope you dig it. If you don't, then don't fucking listen to it''.
Evil Chip - 20.09.2011 at 07:46  
Nice review though a little bit more could be said. It lacks of orientation.Everything seems a little bit random and those more compact songs are quite forgettable. There some incredible parts and tracks, and overall is a good album. A 7 for me.
Doc Godin - 20.09.2011 at 09:33  
If anything, I found this review to be pretty generous. I don't get why people complain about points being knocked off for the lack of metal/death growls. To me, that dynamic is what made Opeth interesting in the first place; the interplay between the mellow, ambient parts and the steamrolling death metal parts. This sounds basically like forgettable prog-rock to me. Each isolated aspect irritates me a bit, however, when they're combined it sounds great.

I wouldn't even consider this a "risk". Yes, it's a risk in the sense that it might alienate fans (like myself up until Watershed), but to me it sounds like less of a risk and more of a band that's run out of ideas.
M C Vice - 20.09.2011 at 09:53  
It sounds like Damnation, but it lacks the charisma and spirit (or whatever you want to call it) that Damnation had.
!J.O.O.E.! - 20.09.2011 at 10:10  
7.8. A good score for a good album.
malaikat - 20.09.2011 at 10:37  
A damn good review, and the fair rating. This is the key:

"On its own it is a great 70s-inspired throwback progressive rock album. Assessed as part of Opeth discography it fails to win me over completely. "

In other words: great prog rock album, not so great Opeth album.

As to @MC Vice said, I feel completely different, I've got the feeling that Heritage is much more diverse than Damnation - although I still prefer Damnation
Hammer Pie - 20.09.2011 at 11:39  
Written by BitterCOld on 20.09.2011 at 06:41

DT split the wickets between the haters who will completely freak out and froth at the keyboard because a progressive metal band just chucked aside every single metallic element and the hordes of fanbois who think everything Opeth ever recorded is the best thing put to tape and that Mikael >>> Beethoven.

and there will be some rational people in the middle, but for the most part, brace for whining from the two extremes.

I've never understood this "rational middle" cliche. How is it different from saying anyone whose opinion is too far from your own is an idiot?
Roro - 20.09.2011 at 12:31  
I am not sure if they chose the right decision to stick with prog rock. off course anything from Opeth is un-negotiable but i expected something greater.
Milena - 20.09.2011 at 12:47  
Wow, I expected more flaming
No opinions from me, I always fall asleep during Opeth albums (not that it's a bad thing, they just hit the right frequency) so I haven't formed one yet.
malaikat - 20.09.2011 at 13:06  
Written by Milena on 20.09.2011 at 12:47

Wow, I expected more flaming
No opinions from me, I always fall asleep during Opeth albums (not that it's a bad thing, they just hit the right frequency) so I haven't formed one yet.


In 90 days, I expect at least one Ponderer-like guest review
redbackrecordz - 20.09.2011 at 14:02  
Heritage is amazing! Just like every single one of Opeths albums, from the heavy to the mellow, thats what makes Opeth so original, amazing vocal and musicianship, to be able to record this album the way they did is pure talent! I have already listened to this more times than I can remember, along with the rest of there albums, cant wait for the next one!!!!!!!!
JD - 20.09.2011 at 14:04  
I agree with the rating.
Slayer666 - 20.09.2011 at 15:03  
A way too generous review/rating for this boring album.
A shame Opeth always ruins the good, atmospheric parts with prog wankery. You're awesome musicians, we get it already. This goes for all of their albums, not just this one.
malaikat - 20.09.2011 at 15:17  
Written by Slayer666 on 20.09.2011 at 15:03

A way too generous review/rating for this boring album.
A shame Opeth always ruins the good, atmospheric parts with prog wankery. You're awesome musicians, we get it already. This goes for all of their albums, not just this one.


Well, they are prog band, not gothic/sludge atmospheric band.

I mean, bashing prog band for having "prog wankery" is like bashing thrash metal because it's riff based. Or bashing black metal for being LoFi. Or bashing folk metal for using folk melodies. Or...

Nah, you get the picture.
Milena - 20.09.2011 at 15:50  
Written by malaikat on 20.09.2011 at 15:17

I mean, bashing prog band for having "prog wankery" is like bashing thrash metal because it's riff based. Or bashing black metal for being LoFi. Or bashing folk metal for using folk melodies. Or...

Well, there IS a review on MA bashing Ensiferum for folk interludes
@gent_-_orange - 20.09.2011 at 15:53  
I think the score should be a bit higher (probably around 8.3 if iwas going to be ultra precise) Regardless you summed this album up very well.

Axenrots drumming is great aswell.
Mr. Doctor - 20.09.2011 at 15:58  
Written by pisymbol on 20.09.2011 at 04:45

If you are an Opeth fan, I think you will absolutely adore this album. Period.


I'm sorry but I couldn't help wondering wha the hell did you mean by saying this?
Just because I agree with the review (I would give it a 7,0 or so tbh) I'm suddenly not an Opeth fan? Yeah...
malaikat - 20.09.2011 at 15:58  
Written by Milena on 20.09.2011 at 15:50

Written by malaikat on 20.09.2011 at 15:17

I mean, bashing prog band for having "prog wankery" is like bashing thrash metal because it's riff based. Or bashing black metal for being LoFi. Or bashing folk metal for using folk melodies. Or...

Well, there IS a review on MA bashing Ensiferum for folk interludes


Yeah, I remeber it, that's where I got the idea
Richard - 20.09.2011 at 16:11  
Written by Doc Godin on 20.09.2011 at 09:33

I don't get why people complain about points being knocked off for the lack of metal/death growls. To me, that dynamic is what made Opeth interesting in the first place; the interplay between the mellow, ambient parts and the steamrolling death metal parts.


Absolutely, that's a big part of Opeth's appeal - the contrast is what made them interesting.

Having influences from 70's prog rock is fine, but if Opeth have gone completely regressive and retro, then that's surely the opposite of the nature of 'progressive music'? Bloodbath are rehashing 90's death metal, but that makes them progressive compared to Opeth rehashing 70's prog rock - sort of.
Enemy of Reality - 20.09.2011 at 16:29  
If this was a new band, everyone would be praising them.
I like it a lot.
Merchant of Doom - 20.09.2011 at 16:42  
Written by Slayer666 on 20.09.2011 at 15:03

A shame Opeth always ruins the good, atmospheric parts with prog wankery.


I loved that bit!

Anyway, it's pretty patchy, but it's played beautifully and it's a grower (not a growler, unfortunately). I agree with the reviewer about the missing growls... then, it would have been a 7.9 for me... Good effort, but MA needs to forget about prog for a minute or two. Otherwise they'll turn into Porcupine Tree, eventually (is that a bad thing? lol...)
R'Vannith - 20.09.2011 at 17:00  
Written by Richard on 20.09.2011 at 16:11

Having influences from 70's prog rock is fine, but if Opeth have gone completely regressive and retro, then that's surely the opposite of the nature of 'progressive music'? Bloodbath are rehashing 90's death metal, but that makes them progressive compared to Opeth rehashing 70's prog rock - sort of.


I like the logic in that thought.
But i'm not so sure that using the term '70's prog rock' to describe this album, or any album for that matter, actually captures what it sounds like, even a prog rock album from the 70's. After all '70's prog rock' isn't of exactly the same sound, sure you can use it in general terms but saying that Heritage is fitting of this description is vague. I don't really understand how describing this album in that way actually gives anyone an accurate impression. For those who listen to 70's prog rock, they would find this description frustratingly broad. For those who know next to nothing about prog rock they would base the description of '70's prog rock' simply of what they have heard of it, or think it sounds like.

Basically what I'm saying is when the reviewer says '70's prog rock' I have no idea what they think that that sounds like. Unless there is some common understanding among metalheads, or people in general, as to what '70's prog rock' sounds like that I just haven't picked up on.
pisymbol - 20.09.2011 at 17:01  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.09.2011 at 15:58

Written by pisymbol on 20.09.2011 at 04:45

If you are an Opeth fan, I think you will absolutely adore this album. Period.


I'm sorry but I couldn't help wondering wha the hell did you mean by saying this?
Just because I agree with the review (I would give it a 7,0 or so tbh) I'm suddenly not an Opeth fan? Yeah...


Yes, that is what I was saying, if you don't agree with me, you are not a real fan! :-)

No, I was not saying that:

I think the overwhelming majority of Opeth fans (whether metal is their favorite genre of music or not) will generally enjoy Heritage as a solid release.

What I don't like with this review is the reason for the score, not the score itself.
ZainabMouhammed - 20.09.2011 at 17:06  
I think a true fan will stick behind:kiss: them band and appreciate all their work , ofcourse we miss harsh vocal but we can just listen to the old albums , i think this is a great album and am enjoying it alooot and if it makes Mikael happy then am happy
Slayer666 - 20.09.2011 at 17:24  
Written by malaikat on 20.09.2011 at 15:17

Well, they are prog band, not gothic/sludge atmospheric band.

I mean, bashing prog band for having "prog wankery" is like bashing thrash metal because it's riff based. Or bashing black metal for being LoFi. Or bashing folk metal for using folk melodies. Or...

Nah, you get the picture.


Fair enough, I expressed myself poorly.
What I meant to say was that I kind of enjoy the non-prog, atmospheric parts but the prog wankery parts bore the hell out of me.
And they're not completely a prog band, there is a lot of other stuff going on in their music, so it's not really fair comparing what I said to "it's stupid to bash thrash for being riff based".
malaikat - 20.09.2011 at 17:29  
Written by Slayer666 on 20.09.2011 at 17:24


Fair enough, I expressed myself poorly.
What I meant to say was that I kind of enjoy the non-prog, atmospheric parts but the prog wankery parts bore the hell out of me.
And they're not completely a prog band, there is a lot of other stuff going on in their music, so it's not really fair comparing what I said to "it's stupid to bash thrash for being riff based".


Well, that's ok. As for me, I didn't hear any of the "prog wankery" in their songs, except for Watershed maybe (that SuperMario keyboard bridge always seemed unnatural to me), but that's just me.
Merchant of Doom - 20.09.2011 at 17:51  
Written by R'Vannith on 20.09.2011 at 17:00

Written by Richard on 20.09.2011 at 16:11

Having influences from 70's prog rock is fine, but if Opeth have gone completely regressive and retro, then that's surely the opposite of the nature of 'progressive music'? Bloodbath are rehashing 90's death metal, but that makes them progressive compared to Opeth rehashing 70's prog rock - sort of.


I like the logic in that thought.
But i'm not so sure that using the term '70's prog rock' to describe this album, or any album for that matter, actually captures what it sounds like, even a prog rock album from the 70's. After all '70's prog rock' isn't of exactly the same sound, sure you can use it in general terms but saying that Heritage is fitting of this description is vague. I don't really understand how describing this album in that way actually gives anyone an accurate impression. For those who listen to 70's prog rock, they would find this description frustratingly broad. For those who know next to nothing about prog rock they would base the description of '70's prog rock' simply of what they have heard of it, or think it sounds like.

Basically what I'm saying is when the reviewer says '70's prog rock' I have no idea what they think that that sounds like. Unless there is some common understanding among metalheads, or people in general, as to what '70's prog rock' sounds like that I just haven't picked up on.


well, I 'm quite old and I listened to lots of 70s prog rock when I was young and I know exactly what the reviewer means... it's not vague and I don't find it frustrating, also because 70s prog rock has been mentioned millions of times in relation to Opeth. I find it quite strange that it's vague for you... if you don't get the reference, maybe it's time for you to broaden your horizons and listen to some 70s prog rock? I'm not being patronizing, but lots of "modern" metal is deeply rooted in the past, so it's always useful to listen to old stuff as well as to new.

As far as the comment about progressive music being progressive and not regressive: progressive music has nothing to do with a progressive view of music... it's the structural pattern of the music...
Mr. Doctor - 20.09.2011 at 17:58  
Written by pisymbol on 20.09.2011 at 17:01

I think the overwhelming majority of Opeth fans (whether metal is their favorite genre of music or not) will generally enjoy Heritage as a solid release.


In that case that's what you should have written in the first place, the first comment wasn't really good at explaining your point.
Now, my two cents about the review: Regardless if people accept it or not, what most people liked about Opeth in the first place was the contrast between the ambient parts and the death metal parts. It was Opeth's appeal and what was mostly interesting about them.
This album totally lacks any sort of contrast of that kind and I can totally understand people not liking it because of it... and I agree with them but I keep my score at 7,0-7,5 because I just see this album as a curiosity, almost as another band, like... Opeth 2.0 hehehe.

"Hey what about Damnation?!"
Well, prog like Heritage isn't really my thing at all but I can still apreciate it for what it is. Damnation on the other hand is far more atmospheric and simple comapred to Heritage, having a more "Opeth-sound" to it imo.
BlankFile - 20.09.2011 at 18:19  
I agree with the review. As i said before this album reminds me a lot of bands such as Pain of Salvation or Transatlantic. Its a good Progressive Rock cd indeed, but when it comes to Opeth we always expect a more powerfull, involving and mindblowing cd, with lots of variations, and off course with the Death Metal touch in it. An evolution of Watershed for instance would be fantastic, but the band choose another path and we have to respect that. One thing´s for sure: This album is going to divide Opeth fans for the better and the worse.
malaikat - 20.09.2011 at 18:28  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.09.2011 at 17:58



Regardless if people accept it or not, what most people liked about Opeth in the first place was the contrast between the ambient parts and the death metal parts. It was Opeth's appeal and what was mostly interesting about them.
This album totally lacks any sort of contrast of that kind and I can totally understand people not liking it because of it... and I agree with them but I keep my score at 7,0-7,5 because I just see this album as a curiosity, almost as another band, like... Opeth 2.0 hehehe.




YES. This is exactly how I think. Opeth are indeed great musicians and even greater band, but I doubt Heritage will be anymore than a "curiosity" to me. It is an awesome album on it's own, but it's just doesn't have that musical feeling, mise en scène, that made us love Opeth in the first place.
dr.doom - 20.09.2011 at 19:29  
Just picked it up and got done listening to it all the way through (it came out today in America).

Not really impressed, there's nothing compelling on here compared to what I'm used to in Opeth, and it seems like they're forcing this whole prog thing on me a little too hard. Yeah, it get it, you're talented musicians and songwriters. But I want something with a little punch from these guys.

Even when I find sections I really like, the song just kind of drifts off in some odd direction and I completely lose interest. IMO, this release lacks focus.

Not to say I don't enjoy it, but it's more background music for me, not something I would want to sit and listen to on its own (again).
BitterCOld - 20.09.2011 at 20:24  
Written by Hammer Pie on 20.09.2011 at 11:39

Written by BitterCOld on 20.09.2011 at 06:41

DT split the wickets between the haters who will completely freak out and froth at the keyboard because a progressive metal band just chucked aside every single metallic element and the hordes of fanbois who think everything Opeth ever recorded is the best thing put to tape and that Mikael >>> Beethoven.

and there will be some rational people in the middle, but for the most part, brace for whining from the two extremes.

I've never understood this "rational middle" cliche. How is it different from saying anyone whose opinion is too far from your own is an idiot?


there is a massive difference between having a differing of opinion and the standard MS tanking/score inflation.

if someone has the Opeth discography scored between 7's and 10's, with a spread, i'll take their opinion seriously, even if they differ from mine. if someone has Opeth's entire discography scored at 9+, or write reviews like this one, i have no problem ridiculing their tastes and just flat out discarding their opinion. Just as i disregard anyone who tanks an artist's entire discography...


i have my favorite bands, but it doesn't mean that everything they've ever put out is a 9 or 10.

but then again, this is MS, where apparently to 70% of our users, every album ever recorded is a 9, 10, or a 1... and a score like a 7 (Good) or 7.8 (almost very good) is viewed as a slam and attack on the artist.
MaiSweettShaadow - 20.09.2011 at 21:47  
TheLostChord - 20.09.2011 at 23:42  
I was the 420th user visitor to this review. huh huh.

As far as the album goes, I was totally surprised all the way through it. It is FUCKING AWESOME to listen to in an altered state of mind! The mixing and atmosphere is really trippy!

The songs are decent. I need to hear it more to really wrap my mind around it. I'm not disappointed, but I'm not blown away either.

The album is decent.
Fat & Sassy! - 21.09.2011 at 00:11  
Written by malaikat on 20.09.2011 at 15:17

Written by Slayer666 on 20.09.2011 at 15:03

A way too generous review/rating for this boring album.
A shame Opeth always ruins the good, atmospheric parts with prog wankery. You're awesome musicians, we get it already. This goes for all of their albums, not just this one.


Well, they are prog band, not gothic/sludge atmospheric band.

I mean, bashing prog band for having "prog wankery" is like bashing thrash metal because it's riff based. Or bashing black metal for being LoFi. Or bashing folk metal for using folk melodies. Or...

Nah, you get the picture.


Another example of how misunderstood progressive music is. "Sophisticated" artistry and experimental tendencies =/= wankery. If shamelessly flaunting your talent in being great at playing an instrument defined progressive rock, then a good amount of bands that fall under the metal genre is progressive. There is so much more to bands that fall under the progressive music label, and "wankery" is not what defines the music.

Written by Slayer666 on 20.09.2011 at 17:24

And they're not completely a prog band, there is a lot of other stuff going on in their music...


Which makes it what? Progressive, right?

And although this album is not the best example of awesome prog rock, I think (for the most part) Mikael and the gang keep the music tight, focused and tasteful. I think Beardfish's release this year is much better though, but they also have been doing this kind of thing for years.
Hammer Pie - 21.09.2011 at 02:27  
Written by BitterCOld on 20.09.2011 at 20:24

Written by Hammer Pie on 20.09.2011 at 11:39

Written by BitterCOld on 20.09.2011 at 06:41

DT split the wickets between the haters who will completely freak out and froth at the keyboard because a progressive metal band just chucked aside every single metallic element and the hordes of fanbois who think everything Opeth ever recorded is the best thing put to tape and that Mikael >>> Beethoven.

and there will be some rational people in the middle, but for the most part, brace for whining from the two extremes.

I've never understood this "rational middle" cliche. How is it different from saying anyone whose opinion is too far from your own is an idiot?


there is a massive difference between having a differing of opinion and the standard MS tanking/score inflation.

if someone has the Opeth discography scored between 7's and 10's, with a spread, i'll take their opinion seriously, even if they differ from mine. if someone has Opeth's entire discography scored at 9+, or write reviews like this one, i have no problem ridiculing their tastes and just flat out discarding their opinion. Just as i disregard anyone who tanks an artist's entire discography...


i have my favorite bands, but it doesn't mean that everything they've ever put out is a 9 or 10.

but then again, this is MS, where apparently to 70% of our users, every album ever recorded is a 9, 10, or a 1... and a score like a 7 (Good) or 7.8 (almost very good) is viewed as a slam and attack on the artist.

Yeah, I agree that score inflation is silly. People know that if they vote everything a 1 or a 10, it gives them more pull over the average score than someone who votes honestly, and that's a fatal flaw with tallying average votes from the public.

But if you think not everything your favorite band has put out is a 9 or a 10, that's still just your opinion. If someone does think Opeth is the best band ever and has the entire Opeth discography scored a 9 or a 10, I still don't see how that makes their opinion any less valid. Everyone has their favorite albums, but that's not okay if several of those favorite albums come from one band whose style you really like? And if someone thinks Opeth is boring and has their whole discography voted low, does that automatically make them a bandwagoner or an idiot? When you're dealing with subjective taste, I don't understand how "I really love this band" and "I really hate this band" are extreme, label-worthy opinions.
Fat & Sassy! - 21.09.2011 at 02:36  
Written by Hammer Pie on 21.09.2011 at 02:27

...


Although what you're saying does make sense, you cannot argue that *most* people who have voting patterns like that are senseless fanboys or whatever. Most people who rate things 1's or 10's usually go with the "I like it" or "it sucks, cus I don't like it" perspective. No middle-ground. Sure their opinion is valid in *my* eyes, to an extent. But that's not how the rating system works, and personally, I think most of us don't think like that. Our views and opinions are a bit more complicated than that... Hence the more than yay-or-nay voting system!

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2 3


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Opeth - Watershed 7.5 22.08.2008 by TopGun
Reviews Opeth - My Arms, Your Hearse 7.5 09.11.2007 by
Reviews Evergrey - Torn 4.5 04.10.2008 by K†ulu
Reviews Demons And Wizards - Touched By The Crimson King 4.5 27.04.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Shaman - Immortal 4.5 08.03.2008 by Evil Chip



Hits total: 19453 | This month: 114