Rating:
8.3
Vader - Welcome To The Morbid Reich
12 August 2011


01. Ultima Thule
02. Return To The Morbid Reich
03. The Black Eye
04. Come And See My Sacrifice
05. Only Hell Knows
06. I Am Who Feasts Upon Your Soul
07. Don't Rip The Beast's Heart Out
08. I Had A Dream...
09. Lord Of Thorns
10. Decapitated Saints
11. They're Coming...
12. Black Velvet And Skulls Of Steel
13. Raping The Earth [Extreme Noise Terror cover] [Digipak bonus]
14. Troops Of Tomorrow [The Exploited cover] [Digipak bonus]


Ladies and gents, let's have a look at one of the great moments of world cinema, a masterpiece of mass entertainment and witty dialogue, "Pulp Fiction":

VINCENT: (..) you know what the funniest thing about Europe is?
JULES: What?
VINCENT: It's the little differences. A lotta the same shit we got here, they got there, but there they're a little different.
JULES: Examples?


Vader plays seemingly the same shit as about a million other death metal bands, but it's the little differences that set them apart from a nameless mass and put them where they belong, at the pinnacle of death metal: occasional very melodic, short riffs; pseudo-choirs; surprising keyboards; whispers; non-conventional drumming. After the furious primal onslaught of Litany no one could have any doubts about Vader's place in death metal, regardless of taste. But even though every album afterwards was very solid, none of them reached the absolute heights of Litany, and every next one was slightly weaker than its predecessor, with Necropolis being really stale and simply boring.

Until now. Welcome to the Morbid Reich is, I'm very pleased to say, Vader's strongest release since the unsurpassable Litany. Another change of lineup must've been exceptionally good for the creative powers that Vader thrives on, because most of the songs are top notch, brimming with long-lost energy and verve. Vader seems to have mastered what Slayer made their trademark on Reign in Blood - they're able to make several songs played at the same tempo, yet every one of them is arranged slightly differently, especially drumming-wise, thus never boring the listener. Special kudos for "Don't Rip Beast's Heart Out", "Come See My Sacrifice" and "Only Hell Knows". These three songs could easily find a spot on the best Vader albums like De Profundis or the aforementioned Litany. The rest aren't far behind in terms of quality, together forming a very convincing album that, at least to these ears, has no competition among this year's death metal releases.

With bands like Vader, lack of progress or development isn't a bad thing at all. Album after album, they perfect their art, sometimes soaring higher than usual, like this year, but never really veering from their once chosen path. I at least don't expect anything else from these guys.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Vader
Album: Welcome To The Morbid Reich


 


written by Daniell | 24.09.2011



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 45  
Users visited: 472  
Search this topic:  


JCJen7 - 24.09.2011 at 09:32  
Score seems a bit low after the review you gave it. But regardless, very solid album.
Daniell - 24.09.2011 at 09:59  
Low? a score over 8 is really high.
R'Vannith - 24.09.2011 at 10:34  
This album gives Litany a run for it's money I think. As for the score I'd have to agree, it does seem a little low for how you describe it in the review, not that that matters of course it's what you say in the review that's most important.

When you say that 8 is really high, don't you think that that is subject to opinion? I mean, to go down the ratings nitpicking line of thought, I would give an eight to a reasonably good album, 9 to a great album and 10 to a bloody ripper. You can call that overrating things if you wish but it's just how I rate albums.

Frankly I don't care how you rate it, just how you describe it. And how you describe this album in this review would make pretty much any metal fan not familiar with the album want to check it out.
malaikat - 24.09.2011 at 10:44  
Not sure if better than Litany or Impressions in Blood imho, but a damn good album it is.

EDIT: how can a rating of 8.3 be low, for god's sake? Not every good album is a 9 or 10. True, it could be 8.5 or something like that, but that's a difference of 0.2 points we're talking about.
For me: 8 is very good, highly above average, enjoyable even after multiple spins;
9 - excellent, a rarely good album, album that has only minor flaws such as one weak song or smth like that, album that is by all means awesome but it lacks "something" to be a great one;
10 - flawless, one in a thousand, album that literally has no weak seconds, let alone weak songs. Only a cuople of these appear per year, imho. Some bands may have discography of 20+ very good or excellent albums, but not a single truly great one.
Apothecary - 24.09.2011 at 11:44  
Hmm.... haven't checked it out yet for fear of it being nothing overly special, but after reading this review, you have convinced me otherwise sir. I'll definitely give it a spin!
jupitreas - 24.09.2011 at 12:22  
I beg to differ. This album is as boring and uninspired as Necropolis before it. Definitely not amongst the best death metal this year.
Baz Anderson - 24.09.2011 at 12:45  
I think this is the best Vader album for a long time...
Xim - 24.09.2011 at 14:16  
I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.
Angelic Storm - 24.09.2011 at 14:35  
Written by Baz Anderson on 24.09.2011 at 12:45

I think this is the best Vader album for a long time...


Couldn't agree more!
Enemy of Reality - 24.09.2011 at 15:33  
100% agree with the review. I used the same arguments for my review.

Some say that they got into auto pilot after Litany, but still i prefer listening to auto pilot Vader than to IDI and all deathcore shit bands.
Iron Nostarion - 24.09.2011 at 16:01  
Great review, man.
I want to get this album so bad, already sounds great from what I've heard.
Evil Chip - 24.09.2011 at 17:26  
Nice quote about Pulp Fiction!
psychoticone - 24.09.2011 at 17:44  
Great to see many faces of the same band. This time the musicanship is greater than ever, maybe album didn't hit the pick of creativity but the hell, there is a solid piece of death metal that we expect.
Boxcar Willy - 25.09.2011 at 03:45  
Was going to buy this for $15 canadian... should i have?
Fat & Sassy! - 25.09.2011 at 07:21  
Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16

I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.


I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.
Void Eater - 25.09.2011 at 08:06  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.09.2011 at 07:21

Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16

I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.


I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that MetalStorm is full of fanboys who think that an album they like being rated below 9 means that the person hates the album and needs to be more objective when giving scores.

As far as this album, just another on the list of great 2011 death metal. Disma, Deceased, Exhumed, Autopsy, Obsucra, Hate Eternal, Origin, Sonne Adam, Nader Sadek, and of course Illud Divinum Insanus
Aetherius - 25.09.2011 at 17:17  
Cant wait to get this!
JCJen7 - 25.09.2011 at 22:58  
Written by Daniell on 24.09.2011 at 09:59

Low? a score over 8 is really high.


I realize a score over 8 means that it is a great album, and an 8.3 is actually higher than I would have rated it. But reading your review, I would have thought the rating would be around a 9.5.

but it's the little differences that set them apart from a nameless mass and put them where they belong, at the pinnacle of death metal
The pinnacle of death metal is an 8.3?


Vader seems to have mastered what Slayer made their trademark on Reign in Blood - they're able to make several songs played at the same tempo, yet every one of them is arranged slightly differently, especially drumming-wise, thus never boring the listener

and

they perfect their art

That's all I meant.

I am sorry that my comment fueled another 'you just don't understand the numbers' or 'your just another one of those idiot metal-stormers that thinks anyting under a 10 is an insult' rants. No, it's not that I don't understand numbers, it's that you didn't take the time to comprehend my comment.

I simply meant that given hefty praises such as this band being the pinnacle of death metal, this album perfecting their art, and having it compared to the relentlesness of Reign in Blood I expected a higher rating. Now put down the pitchforks, and back away from my front door. I didn't mean no harm!
Daniell - 25.09.2011 at 23:16  
Vader are at the pinnacle of death metal since "Litany", which doesn't mean every album will be as good as that No worries by the way, no harm done!
sq_xeper - 26.09.2011 at 01:34  
Best album since Litany????? how about Impressions in Blood?? that album means death metal excellence!
Welcome to the Morbid Reich is definetely better than Necropolis, its a really great record, I would give it a 8.8
Troy Killjoy - 27.09.2011 at 19:23  
I think this was a pretty good album...although I wouldn't go on about it as much as you, but that's just opinion. Regardless, you can't really go wrong with Vader.
Daggon - 14.10.2011 at 04:50  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.09.2011 at 07:21

Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16

I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.


I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.


I think the problem is that people don't know how to listen when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

A great solid album, totally better than their previous "Necropolis" that had lots of fillers and less of killers (lol), I've been enjoying this since its release, and I find it quite good, but then again, Vader is one of those bands that somehow I always find great.
Troy Killjoy - 14.10.2011 at 06:32  
Written by Daggon on 14.10.2011 at 04:50

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.09.2011 at 07:21

Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16
I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to listen when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to quote others without copying the first few words in a sentence.
Fat & Sassy! - 14.10.2011 at 18:47  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.10.2011 at 06:32

Written by Daggon on 14.10.2011 at 04:50

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.09.2011 at 07:21

Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16
I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to listen when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to quote others without copying the first few words in a sentence.

I think the problem is problem. >:[
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.10.2011 at 18:48  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 14.10.2011 at 18:47

Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.10.2011 at 06:32

Written by Daggon on 14.10.2011 at 04:50

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.09.2011 at 07:21

Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16
I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to listen when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to quote others without copying the first few words in a sentence.

I think the problem is problem. >:[


I think the problem is that this new Vader is as yawn inducing as their perevious couple
R'Vannith - 15.10.2011 at 12:22  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.10.2011 at 18:48

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 14.10.2011 at 18:47

Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.10.2011 at 06:32

Written by Daggon on 14.10.2011 at 04:50

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.09.2011 at 07:21

Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16
I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to listen when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to quote others without copying the first few words in a sentence.

I think the problem is problem. >:[


I think the problem is that this new Vader is as yawn inducing as their perevious couple


I think the problem is that there are people too tied up with problems (and seriously.. yawn inducing? )
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.10.2011 at 12:36  
Written by R'Vannith on 15.10.2011 at 12:22

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.10.2011 at 18:48

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 14.10.2011 at 18:47

Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.10.2011 at 06:32

Written by Daggon on 14.10.2011 at 04:50

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.09.2011 at 07:21

Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16
I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to listen when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to quote others without copying the first few words in a sentence.

I think the problem is problem. >:[


I think the problem is that this new Vader is as yawn inducing as their perevious couple


I think the problem is that there are people too tied up with problems (and seriously.. yawn inducing? )

I think the problem is people don't know how to cut down on quotes.

Marcel would love this if it had a more rough production job. Fact.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.10.2011 at 13:28  
@JOOE it would indeed be a lot better with a rougher ('more rough' is quite incorrect ) production job. The slick production job is what makes it yawn inducing for me.
Oh and the triggered drums also don't help here at all. Every band that uses triggered drums should be shot.
Daniell - 15.10.2011 at 13:33  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.10.2011 at 12:36

Marcel would love this if it had a more rough production job. Fact.

Marcel loves everything more if it has rawer production. I'm sure he'd be fan of George Michael if his songs were badly produced. If something is well produced, it can't be good

But seriously, what is with "Ride the Lightning" Marcel? It has perfectly clear production, and yet you gave it a 10? Unless you start telling me that it's production has a lot of bite and grittiness
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.10.2011 at 13:41  
You two are as bad as each other when it comes to production though rough production can do wonders for an album.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.10.2011 at 13:49  
@Daniell sometimes a clear production does work like for instance for a band such as Dream Theater. I would hate a rough production on that sort of music
And tbh RtL had a clear production for that time and a production perfectly fitting the album.
But most death metal just dies a little to a lot when a clear production is employed is just like most funeral doom death/doom doom/death suffer at the hands of a clear production whereas most epic doom gains from it.
So it's not a case of me wanting rough production on every single release around. But Vader would gain immensely if they get a rougher production and like I also said when they do away with the triggers. That would make it all sound a lot more organic and less processed.
Daniell - 15.10.2011 at 16:08  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.10.2011 at 13:49

@Daniell sometimes a clear production does work like for instance for a band such as Dream Theater. I would hate a rough production on that sort of music
And tbh RtL had a clear production for that time and a production perfectly fitting the album.
But most death metal just dies a little to a lot when a clear production is employed is just like most funeral doom death/doom doom/death suffer at the hands of a clear production whereas most epic doom gains from it.
So it's not a case of me wanting rough production on every single release around.


Even though I was mainly kidding about your love for bad production, I agree with you to some extent. To some extent, because I think you're breaking world records in complaining about too clear production

Some bands, or even sub-genres, are better off with no-so-clear production. Black metal is the best example - even though lots of excellent black metal releases have good production (like Satyricon's "Rebel Extravaganza". As for doom, I don't really see why, say, Mourning Beloveth should sound better with worse production. Or Evoken, or Mournful Congregation, or Funeralium. I deliberately picked bands that I know you value (and so do I), that have very good, dare I say clear, production, and still their music loses none of its impact. But then we'd have to determine the definition of "clear production" - etc, etc etc. So it's quite pointless to go in that direction. The most neutral and universal thing to say would be that perception of production is as personal as the perception of the quality of the music itself.

The sub-genre on which I completely agree with you about production is death metal. For example, I can't imagine Coffins' "Buried Death" (which I'm listening to right now) with more polished sound. 50% of this album's quality lies in its incredibly dirty, abrasive sound. Death's "Leprosy" is another good example. It benefits from dirty sound. Which is even more apparent when we look at Death's next album, "Spiritual Healing", which, at least in my opinion, suffers from too sterile sound. Examples are galore, and I'm sure you'd quote even more of them
Diamonds - 21.10.2011 at 05:26  
Tisk, tisk, tisk.. Vader is easily one of my favourite bands. top THREE even. but their last two albums have been so uninspired and boring.. i'm very dissapointed but i'll always have faith in the classics.
Diamonds - 21.10.2011 at 05:27  
The Beast is still their best imo.
Daniell - 21.10.2011 at 09:22  
Written by Diamonds on 21.10.2011 at 05:27

The Beast is still their best imo.


Second worst, only after "Necropolis"... Go figure
Diamonds - 21.10.2011 at 21:49  
Written by Daniell on 21.10.2011 at 09:22

Written by Diamonds on 21.10.2011 at 05:27

The Beast is still their best imo.


Second worst, only after "Necropolis"... Go figure


really ? i love that album. to each his own.
Mattybu - 22.10.2011 at 19:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.10.2011 at 13:49

So it's not a case of me wanting rough production on every single release around. But Vader would gain immensely if they get a rougher production and like I also said when they do away with the triggers. That would make it all sound a lot more organic and less processed.


I actually somewhat agree here, but I've come to expect a certain kind of clarity on any CD with the Nuclear Blast label on it. Not too much rougher on this one, but it could give it more bite which added on to what it has could be monstrous.
JCJen7 - 24.10.2011 at 03:09  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.10.2011 at 12:36

Written by R'Vannith on 15.10.2011 at 12:22

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.10.2011 at 18:48

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 14.10.2011 at 18:47

Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.10.2011 at 06:32

Written by Daggon on 14.10.2011 at 04:50

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.09.2011 at 07:21

Written by Xim on 24.09.2011 at 14:16
I think the problem is that scores of 8 are coloured yellow, thus an 8 seems low.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to read when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to listen when they are voting scores for albums on this site.

I think the problem is that people don't know how to quote others without copying the first few words in a sentence.

I think the problem is problem. >:[


I think the problem is that this new Vader is as yawn inducing as their perevious couple


I think the problem is that there are people too tied up with problems (and seriously.. yawn inducing? )

I think the problem is people don't know how to cut down on quotes.

Marcel would love this if it had a more rough production job. Fact.


I think I'm ruining the joke...
RavenKing - 24.10.2011 at 03:38  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.10.2011 at 13:49

@Daniell sometimes a clear production does work like for instance for a band such as Dream Theater. I would hate a rough production on that sort of music
And tbh RtL had a clear production for that time and a production perfectly fitting the album.
But most death metal just dies a little to a lot when a clear production is employed is just like most funeral doom death/doom doom/death suffer at the hands of a clear production whereas most epic doom gains from it.
So it's not a case of me wanting rough production on every single release around. But Vader would gain immensely if they get a rougher production and like I also said when they do away with the triggers. That would make it all sound a lot more organic and less processed.


I'm a Black Metal and Thrash fan and I think both genres die when production is too clear. Imo, any extreme metal genre asks for raw production.

Just take Slayer as an example. Production on their early albums (until "Hell Awaits", maybe "Reign In Blood") suited the roughness and violence of the music. Now, listen to "World Painted Blood" or even "Divine Intervention" and tell me if their music benefits more from a raw production or a clear one.

Perhaps I have this opinion because I'm old school and like my metal extreme but when it is polished to the point it removes the rough edges, I think it sounds boring and not genuine. Processed, indeed.
Also, I think reverberation adds depth to the sound and helps a lot in creating an atmosphere.
Finally, like you, I hate triggered drums.
Conemetal - 25.10.2011 at 04:37  
Great review, thanks a lot, I'm going to get my Vader album
Conemetal - 19.11.2011 at 20:41  
I got the album, it's great, like I read in this excelent review. Score seems a bit low
Electrohunter - 01.02.2012 at 16:52  
Great album. In my opinion score should be a little higher...9/10
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 9
theFIST - 05.03.2012 at 22:46  
Written by Void Eater on 25.09.2011 at 08:06

As far as this album, just another on the list of great 2011 death metal. Disma, Deceased, Exhumed, Autopsy, Obsucra, Hate Eternal, Origin, Sonne Adam, Nader Sadek, and of course Illud Divinum Insanus

reading that comment now seems a bit strange..........
@gent_-_orange - 06.03.2012 at 00:03  
Written by theFIST on 05.03.2012 at 22:46

reading that comment now seems a bit strange..........

Seeing as the album was released a couple of months before that comment was posted, I think he was being sarcastic
Winterthrone - 26.03.2012 at 22:19  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.10.2011 at 13:28

Every band that uses triggered drums should be shot.

Every...lol! Then we would lose 90% of Extreme Metal...Marcel we are in 2012...Triggered drums can be used badly (over-triggering), but when used wisely they can be great. I think you tend to generalize things that cannot be generalized.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Vader - Welcome To The Morbid Reich 9 01.02.2011 by AyΣm
News Vader - Bassist Quits The Band 4.5 16.02.2011 by Elodie Artour
Albums Vader - The Art Of War 4.5 06.01.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews Overkill - The Electric Age 4.5 03.04.2012 by AndMetalForAll
Reviews Sacred Reich - The American Way 4 09.12.2007 by



Hits total: 6460 | This month: 51