Warbringer - Worlds Torn Asunder review



Reviewer:
9.0

214 users:
8.16
Band: Warbringer
Album: Worlds Torn Asunder
Release date: September 2011


Disc I
01. Living Weapon
02. Shattered Like Glass
03. Wake Up... Destroy
04. Future Ages Gone
05. Savagery
06. Treacherous Tongue
07. Echoes From The Void
08. Enemies Of The State
09. Behind The Veils Of Night
10. Demonic Ecstasy
11. Sacrifice [Bathory cover] [limited edition bonus]
12. Execute Them All [Unleashed cover] [2008 version] [limited edition bonus]
13. (We Are) The Road Crew [Motorhead cover] [Japanese limited edition bonus]

Disc II [Century Media 25th Anniversary 2013 Reissue Edition]
01. Living Weapon [Live studio rehearsal]
02. Shattered Like Glass [Live studio rehearsal]
03. Future Ages Gone [Live studio rehearsal]
04. Treacherous Tongue [Live studio rehearsal]
05. Demonic Ectasy [Live studio rehearsal]
06. Total War [reissue bonus]
07. Combat Shock [reissue bonus]
08. Severed Reality [reissue bonus]
09. Prey For Death [reissue bonus]


All those x-factors that Evile's Five Serpent's Teeth lacks, Warbringer's Worlds Torn Asunder has in abundance; these guys know what makes fun thrash fun. Namely, the large helpings of pissed-offery, funness, brazenness, speediness, riffs, riffs, more riffs, and some more fucking riffs. When I put Worlds on I feel like hopping around, clawing at shit, throwing shit at shit, and beating shit to shit. And what else could you possibly want from thrash?

It really is a beautiful thing when every song on an album trundles along without snags and toe stubs (especially when there's an acoustic instrumental track). Worlds is one of those albums that'll grab you by the ears and throw you around into walls, knocking over posters and stacks of CDs and porn and whatever else you have around your cave until it ends. Not once did I even consider writing this review while it was on. Way too busy getting my thrash on.

Worlds is one of those albums that should have a sticker on it warning you not to put it on while operating heavy machinery or around elderly people or, holy shit, while driving. Put it on, and everything looks like a mosh pit waiting to happen. This is best listened to with a belly full of beer and a half-eaten boar's thigh dangling in your hand in the seclusion of your home. You know, just to be cautious. Listen to it where you can't feasibly throw beer bottles at passing bicyclists and start demolition derbies on the interstate like you always want to. Do Mother's Alliances and Michelle Obama proud, stay safe.

But, gripes, gripes. Really don't have many, but the production is a little on the sub-par side. Sure, everything is performed well enough and precisely here, and the cleanliness really doesn't bother me much, but around the third or fourth spin, I couldn't help but want a bit more of a punch from it. Everything seems to be of equal loudness, so the fact that the riffs and fills all come swinging sledgehammers kind of hinders the overall power a bit. Would have liked a little more variation and dirt.

Let's be honest though, that's a bit of a nitpicky thing to bitch about here.

Don't hesitate to pick this up when you have a chance. Warbringer brought their A-game—particularly the vocalist (the dude's got range now)--and this is, from the play button being hit to the end of the disc, going to tornado kick you repeatedly in the face and rip you a handful of new assholes… and somehow I mean that in a good way. Sure, seems like a few little somethings have been lost in the production approach since their first two full-lengths, but that's all made up for by some considerable leaps forward in songwriting, performance, and all that good stuff. Excellent album here.


 



Written on 28.09.2011 by Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.

Guest review by
Iron Nostarion
Rating:
8.8
Riffs that tear your mind apart, merciless pounding drums, soaring vocals and highly enjoyable solos all come to unite once again under Warbringer's latest effort, Worlds Torn Asunder. A merciless, brutal thrash metal attack that begins strong with its kickstarter "Living Weapon" and ends just as strong with the closer "Demonic Ecstasy", Worlds Torn Asunder is surely an album you cannot miss if you admire the new wave of Thrash, even if in the least sense of the word.

Read more ››
published 30.10.2011 | Comments (0)


Comments

Comments: 22   Visited by: 366 users
28.09.2011 - 15:35
Baz Anderson
There are some good songs ("Savagery"...) but I don't think that this album is anywhere near as good as their last album...
Good, but nothing great...
Loading...
28.09.2011 - 15:42
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Same quality as the previous one. Good enjoyable revivalist thrash. Nothing more, nothing less. Imo currently the most overrated revivalist thrash band, though.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
28.09.2011 - 15:53
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Good one, but I liked Evile's last record even more.

I feel this album has no progress from their last ones.
Of course there are some kickass tracks like "Living Weapon" or "Savagery", but nothing not seen before (Speaking strictly of Warbringer's career, otherwise...)

A 7 for me.
Loading...
28.09.2011 - 16:12
Rulatore
Good as the last one
Loading...
28.09.2011 - 19:37
Daniell
No, you don't
Perfect copycats are back I see. I listened to the album yesterday. "Revivalist" is the nice term, but I call it "rip-off". Originality is non-existent, but the songs are very solid and I did enjoy what I heard. 7-8 from me. Would be more if they actually tried to write their own songs instead of rehashing the classics.
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
29.09.2011 - 01:21
Kingface
I've only listened to this once so far but am immediately very impressed by it. I just find all of Warbringer's material so far to be extremely fun to listen to and no doubt in my mind that they are one of the best new Metal bands around.
Loading...
01.10.2011 - 08:35
Moosh666
I'm really getting sick of people saying Warbringer is 'unoriginal', I've heard every Thrash Metal Band under the sun and none sound anything like Warbringer, and hasn't anyone notice the evident evolution of this band since their last album? This is a great step forward in their career, I give it a 9, although the first 2 tracks were the only songs in the album I didn't like....
Loading...
01.10.2011 - 13:40
Daniell
No, you don't
Written by Moosh666 on 01.10.2011 at 08:35

I'm really getting sick of people saying Warbringer is 'unoriginal', I've heard every Thrash Metal Band under the sun and none sound anything like Warbringer


I think you have a lot of listening to do still. Whoever told you you heard every thrash band under the sun, they lied.
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
02.10.2011 - 14:01
Moosh666
Written by Daniell on 01.10.2011 at 13:40

Written by Moosh666 on 01.10.2011 at 08:35

I'm really getting sick of people saying Warbringer is 'unoriginal', I've heard every Thrash Metal Band under the sun and none sound anything like Warbringer


I think you have a lot of listening to do still. Whoever told you you heard every thrash band under the sun, they lied.


It was a figure of speech XD
Loading...
04.10.2011 - 07:52
Garth Vader
Haven't heard the album yet but as long as we are on the topic of originality I think this album cover from 1989 is evidence that at least something isn't totally original here....
http://www.nolifetilmetal.com/rageofangels.htm
----
Now I so clearly see how I have murdered me
Loading...
06.10.2011 - 18:01
Guib
Thrash Talker
So Marcel again used overrated -_- (just pointing it out)

But yeah anyways, this album is great. Obviously those who already don't like Thrash resurgence will bash it (grin) but for the real thrash enjoyers, you'll love it. Also, some complaining that they are unoriginal, yeah yeah they're not ground breaking you can obviously see that they're inspired by bands like Exodus but calling it rip-off nah man lol but anyways the band's great good song writing, they play well and do awesome thrash metal.
----
- I love my technical, melodic, my thrash, agressive and fast paced, my sludge, well thought, my heavy, heavier and my metal, ever-growing -
Loading...
06.10.2011 - 22:17
wormdrink414
^ We're still whipper-snappers. People who've been listening to thrash a lot longer than us not giving this much love is understandable. Like to think that Warbringer is unique enough, but they're obviously not original. Understand if the old-timers who've had Bonded By Blood and all the old Slayer albums for a couple decades now aren't digging the blatant hero-worship.
Loading...
06.10.2011 - 22:23
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I'm younger than you but I'm with the old-timer crowd when it comes to thrash. This modern crap just doesn't do it for me.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
07.10.2011 - 08:11
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Well well, I find this album quite good, even if "Waking Into Nightmares" is in my humble opinion one of the greatest Thrash metal albums of the past years (making this album not as good as that one), I find this one really good, I mean, as the review says, this shit makes you wanna beat the crap out of everyone around you, and for me, that is the real essence of Thrash metal, yeah, I know, some Demolition Hammer/Exodus/Dead Head worshiping here and there, but in the end, this is what I call influence, and if they know how to play it well, I'm fine with that.

And by the way, I don't think this band is overrated (as Marcel said haha), I think they deserve the praise they have been receiving lately, I mean, they don't deserve more, they don't deserve less, just the value they have right now.

Another awesome addition to this year's growing list of great Thrash metal albums, like the new releases of Toxic Holocaust, Havok, Diamond Plate and probably the new Vektor if it is released this year (haven't listened to the new Evile album in its entirety, but I'm pretty sure I won't like it at all).
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
07.10.2011 - 17:25
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Bloody hell that's some fine drum work! Overall this album is just too bland for me though despite a few great tracks.
Loading...
09.10.2011 - 03:24
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
WANT WANT WANT WANT WANT
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
21.10.2011 - 03:40
Mattybu
Written by Garth Vader on 04.10.2011 at 07:52

Haven't heard the album yet but as long as we are on the topic of originality I think this album cover from 1989 is evidence that at least something isn't totally original here....
http://www.nolifetilmetal.com/rageofangels.htm


I doubt Warbringer would rip anything off from a Christian Metal band... And its a stretch at any rate saying that its a copy

Anyways, I like this review, this album is a real ripper. Walking around listening to Living Weapon makes me just wanna snuff the first person that looks like anything.
Loading...
28.10.2011 - 22:52
ahal
This album is so fucking great, if you are into thrash metal you've got to check this shit out!
Loading...
28.10.2011 - 22:58
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by ahal on 28.10.2011 at 22:52
if you are into MODERN thrash metal you've got to check this shit out!

Fixed.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
30.12.2011 - 22:12
metal_communard
Modern thrash metal, really?
What would "modern" here actually mean? That it wasn't composed and recorded in the 80s and early 90s? That it clearly bears the influence of a thousand shitty metalcore bands? What?

On to the review, for me, the greatest strenght of this record is its "depth" and mood, crowned with some really killer riffs and songwriting that is obviously superior, more nuanced and in any way better thna their previous releases. Here I cannot but agree with Mooosh777, how can you people fail to notice the obvious improvement? This album is in no way a grand expansion of the genre (if that's even possible) some people seem to be looking for.

My grade would be 8.1 (some problems in the riff department, for example the speedy main riff on "Future Ages Gone"; and production lacks that certain punch)
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 03:09
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by metal_communard on 30.12.2011 at 22:12
What would "modern" here actually mean? That it wasn't composed and recorded in the 80s and early 90s? That it clearly bears the influence of a thousand shitty metalcore bands? What?

I guess you can't get upset about the "plastic" production because some of the better thrash albums feature some of that, and I guess you can't fault them for not doing this 25 years ago or so when it actually mattered because they were born in the wrong time, and I guess the minimalistic aggression isn't their fault since they don't really have the same ingenuity as the pioneers and obviously everything they have to be upset about has already been articulated and expressed better than they could ever do, so maybe calling it modern thrash is inappropriate. Maybe we should just call it revivalist thrash like we've been doing all along.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 03:53
metal_communard
Minimalistic aggression? That's hardly a fair assessment of WTA. It's as if you spinned Waking into Nightmares - which is in fact entirely based on what you call minimalistic aggression - a few times, and never bothered to give this one a proper listen.
Loading...

Hits total: 6799 | This month: 25