Rating:
8.0
De Magia Veterum - The Divine Antithesis
7 February 2011


01. Part 1: Transfiguration
02. Part 2: The Stench Of Burning Wings
03. Part 3: The Flaming Sword
04. Part 4: The Heavens
05. Part 5: Torn Between Ruins, Faith And The Divine
06. Part 6: Burning Hands And A Crown Of Flames
07. Part 7: Angelical Deformity


Do you hate hosting people at your apartment? Especially when they're relatives or family friends and you have to act a certain way around them? Well, you've found the ideal album to make them go away at their own will. It's not pretentious to enjoy your "favorite" music at 2 am for example; oh wait, or is it?

Are you sure you want to partake in this schizoid dissonance? It wasn't made for a benevolent cause, unless you consider this abusement park a place where humanity can daydream. No fucking way. And if you think you will survive this discordant experience very easily then I have to admit that you've been fooled. Don't take into consideration the cover artwork with the inverted Jesus on drugs and the hallucinating angels. This is definitely not the sound of an angel's trumpet! The truth shall shine with the title of the album; if the artwork is some kind of a divine thesis, then the sound is The Divine Antithesis. Not only has Mories de Jong been productive and creative during 2011, but also ecstatic to the extent of insanity; De Magia Veterum is only one aspect of his artistic psychosis.

The whole album is a wall of sound itself and disharmony reigns supreme. Disturbing guitars as if someone was ringing an alarm trespass on the tranquility of your ear drums. Volcanic noisy riffing fumes the place even more and bass lines that pound like a lunatic's hyper-euphoric heartbeat are the keys to paranoia. The fact that the drumming seems to fail enough times to synchronize with the rest of the instruments is definitely on purpose. It sets sail on parallel key signatures so as to strengthen the anti-instrumentation process. As for the vocals, demented choked screams from afar or bizarre recitations should not be considered some kind of right-as-rain interpretation, it's sickening! That's why you should worship it. The album is chaotic and so is the production, with one difference, the havoc in terms of production doesn't ruin the disorder in the song-writing factor.

Either you love it or hate it - because that's the only category in which you could place this album - it doesn't make any difference at all since The Divine Antithesis' major role is to ruin your peacefulness. Proceed with extra caution, reactions may differ drastically from person to person and undesirable behavior may occur; ask your doctor, at the asylum.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: De Magia Veterum
Album: The Divine Antithesis


 



Written on 03.10.2011 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 57  
Users visited: 206  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 31.12.2011 at 19:27  
Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 19:24
Yes that is exactly what happened to me.


I wouldn't judge you for that at all. I did not get into this stuff from one morning to the other.
Justicelust - 31.12.2011 at 19:36  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 31.12.2011 at 19:27

Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 19:24
Yes that is exactly what happened to me.


I wouldn't judge you for that at all. I did not get into this stuff from one morning to the other.

If I want to get into this stuff it would take me a century
FrozenJoy - 05.01.2012 at 20:02  
Um, I've tried with the first track, and I think there are some exaggerations in the review... I mean yeah, this is chaotic (as jooe said), but it's not SO insane as the review implies, I find it listenable, but boring... (Gnaw Their Tongues, well, THAT'S what I call some sickening schizofrenic insanity, and I can't stand it)
Two points: 1) I neither love it or hate it, it's more like "meh" to me... Is that possible? xD
2) The most important question: could someone please (and I mean PLEASE) explain what's the point of the "noise" music this guy plays? Cus honestly, (and I mean no offense to anyone) I just don't get it...
Mr. Doctor - 05.01.2012 at 20:10  
Written by FrozenJoy on 05.01.2012 at 20:02
I just don't get it...

Hopefully this won't sound pretentious but that's pretty much it: If you don't get it, you just don't... I highly doubt that if I explain to you what I feel with this stuff it would suddenly change your mind. I think the experimentation of layers and songwriting not to mention the brilliant use of samples is actually far superior to a lot of prog stuff.
Troy Killjoy - 05.01.2012 at 20:15  
Written by FrozenJoy on 05.01.2012 at 20:02
2) The most important question: could someone please (and I mean PLEASE) explain what's the point of the "noise" music this guy plays?

I think the review explains it masterfully to be honest. I was going to come up with some lame attempt at describing the purpose but trust me - the review explains it much better than I ever could.
FrozenJoy - 05.01.2012 at 21:31  
I think you're right, probably it isn't my cup of tea, and that's that... Anyway, thanks guys, my question was kinda silly now that I think of it, like as if I was waiting for you to tell me something that would suddenly change my point of view in music and make me like it=P
Who knows, maybe someday I'll try this again just for the sake of it and like it, like it has happened with most of the music I listen to
3rdWorld - 26.04.2012 at 15:00  
So much more listenable compared to GTT. And a bit addicitive too !!

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums De Magia Veterum - The Divine Antithesis 9 11.07.2011 by (((O)))
Albums De Magia Veterum - The Blood Of Prophet And Saints [EP] 6 13.05.2014 by Alex Fenger
Albums De Magia Veterum - The Deification 6 15.10.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Albums De Magia Veterum - Spikes Through Eyes 4.5 22.11.2012 by Alex Fenger
Reviews The Project Hate MCMXCIX - Bleeding The New Apocalypse (Cum Victriciis In Manibus Armis) 4.5 25.03.2011 by Ag Fox



Hits total: 4129 | This month: 75