Rating:
7.7
The Browning - Burn This World
3 October 2011


01. No Escape
02. Not Alone
03. Bloodlust
04. Standing On The Edge
05. Burn This World
06. Ashamed
07. Living Dead
08. Forgotten
09. Time Will Tell
10. Tragedy Of Perfection
11. Dominator
12. I Choose You
13. The Sadist
14. The Broken [bonus]
15. Time Will Tell [Scott Brown Hardstyle mix]


Deathcore for dance clubs, eh?

No, wait! Don't go! Keep reading!

My uncanny lvl. 68 telepathy skill tells me that a lot of people are going to hate this album. Deathcore haters almost certainly will. Same with those fanatical electro purists you encounter on your internet radio site of choice (you know, the "Skrillex = homostep" guys). Take some pretty simple techno tunes and mix them with some pretty generic deathcore, and that's a solid enough description of The Browning's new album. Commencing back pat right now.

But, point is, with all that in mind, hopefully your jaded ass will be impressed by the quality of Burn This World. It's actually pretty fucking fun. FYI! Staccato deathcore guitar work works well with dance music. This shit will get you karate dancing regardless of your feelings toward breakdowns and dance music. So do that line of sunshine, put that spandex thing on, and grab your sledge hammer. Shit's gonna get crazy… Better go get some water too... Gum? Yeah, I got gum.

Trouble is, the jolts and jitters Burn This World's genre-hybridization causes will wear off. All that chain-smoking and your self-imposed daily beer consumption quotas will help kill your little Jujitsu dance mid-tornado kick, and the breakdowns, the dumb melodramatic lyrics, the computerized and synthy melodies will probably all start giving you headaches... Actually, scratch that "probably". They will give you headaches. This isn't an album to listen to in one sitting. It's built to be played two or three tracks at a time, maybe at a party. And since this is an album review and all, that is a significant problem. I have a lot of fun with it at first, but always end up turning it off prematurely and/or ADD-hopping through the intro bits until I find something to multitask with to it.

But you can still go ahead and color me the colors of the hot topic t-shirt of a cover design surprised. Turns out all my friends and old lady friends are wrong. I can be pretty hip. The songs I enjoy on this, I, like, uh, really enjoy? Texas, home of nu-cowboys, Aryan basketball overlords, and Rick Perry's "inspirational meteorology", has actually produced some pretty forward-thinking stuff this holy year, all the while not abandoning and, if anything, paying respect to tried-and-trveish formulas. The Browning delivers their stuff skillfully—with some of the most back-breakingly thick chugs I know of—and the production is the shit. This is an interesting and fun album despite its various drawbacks. Give it a shot.

This is what Illud Divinum Insanus should have sounded like.


Band profile: The Browning
Album: Burn This World


 



Written on 04.10.2011 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 44  
Users visited: 196  
Search this topic:  


hadriel - 07.10.2011 at 03:41  
At first pass I thought this band was your typical deathcore band trying to appeal to the huge hipster electronic movement that's going around (at least in my area). I didn't give it a fair shake and just listened to a few samples though. Your review has motivated me to go back and actually listen to this album now and I'm actually a bit excited. Thank you good sir for keeping me in check, not fair to judge it off first appearances! (or sounds rather)
Troy Killjoy - 08.10.2011 at 06:48  
Whoooaaa worst album ever.

I took a chance on it based on your review...regretting it immediately.
Slayer666 - 08.10.2011 at 12:34  
Nice. Two of the fucking gayest and hippest most modern and compatible genres mixed together. Sounds like fun. A drunk friend puking on your shoe kinda fun.
Void Eater - 08.10.2011 at 20:08  
Yeah, this was crap. I like some deathcore, as long as it has sufficient metal influences, but this... Garbage. Breakdowns+breakdowns+electronic nonsense+breakdowns. And don't be making fun of Texas; we brought you Devourment.
wormdrink414 - 08.10.2011 at 23:03  
So. A little back story here. Hated this at first. Had a review with a 4 score written up about a month ago, but I kept coming back to listen to it. Like, a lot. I just ended up liking it. Of my buddies I played it for, the same shit happened more or less to them. Apparently my friend's little sister and her friends (who listen to Suicide Silence, and shit like that) really liked it. So the 7 and the .7 pained me some too. Just tried to be honest. I'm a martyr! Worship me!

And about ripping on Texas, I did that out of love, dude. Been to four states, and Texas is easily on my top 3 that I still really want to visit.
Void Eater - 09.10.2011 at 03:01  
The same thing happened to me with Carnifex not long ago. A few months back I wrote that they were among the worst bands I've ever heard, but lately I've been enjoying them. Same thing actually happened with Devourment a year ago or so.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.10.2011 at 13:38  
I thought it couldn't be as bad as most peple said. But goddamn skippy it's even worse. Totally horrendous crap not even worth a 1.
Angelic Storm - 10.10.2011 at 14:06  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.10.2011 at 13:38

I thought it couldn't be as bad as most peple said. But goddamn skippy it's even worse. Totally horrendous crap not even worth a 1.


There's probably less than 10 albums I've heard in my whole life that I wouldn't even give a 1... what makes this that bad? Ive not heard it, so Im just intrigued!

Funnily enough, when I saw the name of this band, I thought it might be a new band formed by Mike Browning. (From Morbid Angel, Nocturnus, etc...) Seems I was wrong... hehe
Mr. Doctor - 10.10.2011 at 16:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.10.2011 at 13:38

I thought it couldn't be as bad as most peple said. But goddamn skippy it's even worse. Totally horrendous crap not even worth a 1.


I gave it a 3. I'm yet to hear an album so horrendous and insulting that would force to give it a one. I mean... "worst ever" are some big words to me, juast like "perfect". I was thinking of giving it a 2 but there were some moments when there was only electronica that were half decent/mediocre so I gave it a 3. Classy band that should never touch the metal genre and should just stick to awful electronica, at least there's a chance of fewer people throwing their shit at them. .P
Heka69 - 10.10.2011 at 18:38  
"Take some pretty simple techno tunes and mix them with some pretty generic deathcore"
In other words: nothing new. It's just overused old shit. I personally have no respect whatsoever to artists who just keep on spinning old riffs, rhytms, melodies (even thought this has none) and song-structures. It ain't worth a 7, not nearly.
"Good job guys, you did the same thing that 60 bands have done before you, but since you used overtriggered drums on your recording to make it sound electro-like, imma call you decent".

MAKES ME RAGE, DAMMIT.
Guib - 11.10.2011 at 00:54  
Is this actual dog piss ?? Cos it smells the same. And to be honest it sounds about as good as a decapitated pig trying to squeal after realizing he's headless. Enough said
snake? snaaaake! - 11.10.2011 at 12:19  
Burn my ears and this album.
malaikat - 11.10.2011 at 13:58  
Damn. I really liked this. WHY GOD
GT - 11.10.2011 at 22:18  
I have to check this out!
MechanisT - 11.10.2011 at 22:40  
Written by malaikat on 11.10.2011 at 13:58

Damn. I really liked this. WHY GOD


Save yourself. While you still can. D:
Angelic Storm - 11.10.2011 at 22:46  
I heard one song off this album earlier, and whilst it wasn't quite as horrifically bad as I'd feared, I still have no desire to hear this album... techno is just not my thing!
Introspekrieg - 12.10.2011 at 00:05  
I have heard much worse than this, really not all that terrible. I'll give 'em credit for trying...

Very nice (and brave) review!
Ag Fox - 13.10.2011 at 15:19  
Good job on the review
Slayer666 - 13.10.2011 at 23:26  
You guys are waaay over-reacting. As crappy as it may be, I've still heard much worse and not by deathcore/metalcore bands.
Troy Killjoy - 13.10.2011 at 23:40  
Written by Slayer666 on 13.10.2011 at 23:26
You guys are waaay over-reacting.

My overreaction is a reflection of my opinion. I think this album is straight-up St. Anger bad. A piece of shit. I consider myself worse off for ever heaving heard it.

That doesn't mean everyone will feel the same way. Hell, I bet there's people out there who consider TB to be one of their all-time favorite bands.
Slayer666 - 13.10.2011 at 23:49  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.10.2011 at 23:40

My overreaction is a reflection of my opinion. I think this album is straight-up St. Anger bad. A piece of shit. I consider myself worse off for ever heaving heard it.

That doesn't mean everyone will feel the same way. Hell, I bet there's people out there who consider TB to be one of their all-time favorite bands.


And my sentence "You guys are over-reacting" is my way of saying "I don't share your opinion that this album is ultimate crap", that's all. I never meant to say you really are flipping out or some such.
And what did St. Anger ever do to you?
Troy Killjoy - 13.10.2011 at 23:59  
Written by Slayer666 on 13.10.2011 at 23:49
I never meant to say you really are flipping out or some such.
And what did St. Anger ever do to you?

No I completely understood that. All forum discussion, even when people state things like it's a fact, they know it's their opinion.

METALLICA SUCKS. That's a subjective statement, but for that one person it holds true. No point getting into a discussion about opinions though...anyone who comments in a forum knows the deal.

As for St. Anger - to be honest I wasn't all "ZOMG" style change but it just sucked as it was. Kind of like this album. It's not like I hate on it for mixing metal with electro stuff or whatever, I just think the product itself is utter shit.
RavenKing - 14.10.2011 at 00:20  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.10.2011 at 13:38

Totally horrendous crap not even worth a 1.


Agreed.
swatata - 15.10.2011 at 13:29  
Dont know why you hate on this album so much.This is revolution. I loved it and i listen to it everyday. Its heavy and progoressive.Also Korn are doing somethin like that with their next album. And the first 2 songs from it sound awesome.
Edmund Fogg - 15.10.2011 at 17:54  
Written by swatata on 15.10.2011 at 13:29

Dont know why you hate on this album so much.This is revolution. I loved it and i listen to it everyday. Its heavy and progoressive.Also Korn are doing somethin like that with their next album. And the first 2 songs from it sound awesome.


Are you really, seriously saying that this is progressive? Have you heard any good techno like Sphoongle to say something like that? Or to some good Metalcore (no bands comes to mind)? This is just basic,monotonous mix of the 2 with no real effort at making it cohesive(breakdowns are not considered as bridges imo). Please open your ears musically before saying something is progressive.
Troy Killjoy - 15.10.2011 at 20:59  
Written by swatata on 15.10.2011 at 13:29
This is revolution. Its heavy and progoressive.

There is so much wrong with this I don't even know where to begin.

Also, using modern Korn as a reference is never a good thing.
swatata - 16.10.2011 at 10:13  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.10.2011 at 20:59

Written by swatata on 15.10.2011 at 13:29
This is revolution. Its heavy and progoressive.

There is so much wrong with this I don't even know where to begin.

Also, using modern Korn as a reference is never a good thing.


For the 2 posts above. This is my own opinion. I dont listen to metalcore or deathcore but this thing got me by something.I maybe like the modern sounds that they use in all the songs. And for the progressive part maybe i didnt say it exactly right. I wanted to say about all the breakdowns in the songs and the changing rhytm.Sorry if you misudnerstood me. And the new Korn album in my opinion the first 2 songs are awesome. Maybe i just like these "wub-wub-wub" sounds mixed with metal more than the others.
jhook - 16.10.2011 at 23:12  
Well.. thats certainly an interesting fusion of genres, but just, no.
and btw saying this is "progoressive"is kind of ridiculous.... assuming you meant progressive and not something else
brapp32 - 19.10.2011 at 23:25  
Really Troy worst album ever. You gotta hate something out there more than this. I actually kind of like it.
Troy Killjoy - 20.10.2011 at 05:10  
Written by brapp32 on 19.10.2011 at 23:25
Really Troy worst album ever.

Not anymore. I just listened to Lulu.
psykometal - 20.10.2011 at 20:45  
I dig the idea here and I really enjoyed the 2 EPs that preceded this but this album was kinda meh to me when I first listened to it [but that may be just because it was released while I was on a tech death binge] so I will need to listen to it more before I say "the 2 EPs were def a lot better than this". By progressive I don't think he meant progressive like Dream Theater and Opeth are progressive but progressive as in for -core this is showing progression beyond just standard fair -core, it's something new for a change; even if the riffs are still relatively chug-a-chug the electronic/dubstep additions are relatively "fresh". And if I had to choose between this and Asking Alexandria this is by far the better imo.
Troy Killjoy - 20.10.2011 at 22:28  
Written by psykometal on 20.10.2011 at 20:45
the electronic/dubstep additions are relatively "fresh".

Please, like mixing electronic and metal is fresh. And don't get me started on how stale dubstep is.

psykometal - 20.10.2011 at 23:13  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 20.10.2011 at 22:28

Written by psykometal on 20.10.2011 at 20:45
the electronic/dubstep additions are relatively "fresh".

Please, like mixing electronic and metal is fresh. And don't get me started on how stale dubstep is.

LMAO on the pic! Hence the "" marks around it, haha. That's what I see and hear all over the place when people are talking about how "amazing and fresh" bands like Asking Alexandria are because of the type of electronics they are using, and The Browning use similar electronics [but imo do it better than Asking Alexandria]. So many people consider them a "...breath of fresh air in an otherwise stale genre...".
Troy Killjoy - 20.10.2011 at 23:16  
Written by psykometal on 20.10.2011 at 23:13
So many people consider them a "...breath of fresh air in an otherwise stale genre...".

Ah I understand where you're coming from now. Makes sense.
opeth771 - 27.10.2011 at 22:45  
This is very original and I like it... You guys are so close minded
Troy Killjoy - 27.10.2011 at 22:48  
Written by opeth771 on 27.10.2011 at 22:45
You guys are so close minded

There's a difference between being close-minded and just not liking something.

I gave this a chance; hence, I went in with an open mind. I listened to over half of the album. I was incredibly disappointed, disgusted, you name it. It did not sit will with me because I prefer listening to music that I consider good, and this album did not fulfill that requirement.

In fact I don't think any of us here who don't like it are close-minded. We all gave it a chance and we decided it sucked based on what it sounded like.
Uldreth - 27.10.2011 at 22:51  
The one song I heard so far doesn't sound as horrible to me as people claim it to be. The deathcore parts utterly suck (and I say that as a person who really doesn't mind the occasional deathcore, as well as an Ion Dissonance, Born of Osiris and As Blood Runs Black fan) however the electronica parts I have found to be relatively ok. Still I dunno if I should bother with the rest of this...

As for that picture, despite it being supposedly sarcastic, it essentially is correct in a literal sense. The early dubstep movement was far different than the mainstreamized washmashine crap that exists nowadays, anyone who claims otherwise is either ignorant or just as blinded by bias as a random non-metalhead is who is like WAAARGH METULZ IZ JUST SCERAMING!!!!!444. Sure you can find that bland too, it is understandable since it is quite minimalist, but it is a totally different species. Yes, I have listened to enough dubstep to know, and yes, I will say this literally EVERY TIME someone brings this up
Lit. - 29.10.2011 at 06:53  
More like "Burn This Album."
Troy Killjoy - 29.10.2011 at 07:02  
Written by Lit. on 29.10.2011 at 06:53
More like "Burn This Album."

At least SOAD wanted people to steal theirs...
Grody2themax - 08.11.2011 at 07:50  
I lol'd at the "(you know, the "Skrillex = homostep" guys)" part. Honestly, don't think i'll be checking this out though... Furthest I'd do is listen to it on youtube or mediafire it.
GT - 09.11.2011 at 18:59  
I actually quite like it. The electronic parts in particular. The deathcore parts are a bit meh, but not bad as such. With a bit more practice it could be really good
Boxcar Willy - 16.11.2011 at 05:30  
Is this not the definition of crabcore?
Olli - 23.11.2011 at 20:39  
You made it sound interesting so I checked it out on youtube, I quite like the drumming but the techno sounded so happy compared to the metal it made me laugh out loud
Boxcar Willy - 09.01.2012 at 02:01  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 16.11.2011 at 05:30

Is this not the definition of crabcore?

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/CRABCORE/139120982790083


seriously check this.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Browning - Burn This World 9 20.07.2011 by psykometal
Reviews The Browning - Hypernova 7.5 14.10.2013 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews The Chant - This Is The World We Know 5.5 03.01.2011 by 4look4rd
Reviews Pest - The Crowning Horror 4.5 30.07.2013 by Lanthros
Albums Nolentia - May The Hand That Holds The Match That Will Set This World On Fire Be Blessed Above All 4.5 27.03.2013 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 4028 | This month: 58