As You Drown - Rat King review



Reviewer:
5.9

10 users:
7.10
Band: As You Drown
Album: Rat King
Release date: October 2011


01. Conqueror
02. Slaves To The Kingdom Of Fear
03. You Should Be Paranoid
04. Rabid Wolves In Sheep's Clothing
05. Your Loyal Betrayer
06. The Coming
07. The Nothing
08. Bleeding Structure
09. Cleansing Hands


Well, here we go again, more cookie cutter death metal. Sure, As You Drown is slightly less banally unexciting than a lot of boring death metal, but being minutely better than crap doesn't make Rat King album of the year by any stretch.

It's a shame really, because that is some fine-ass artwork, and a pretty cool album title. Lucky us though, what we get is another group of excellent musicians writing more generic death metal. In fact, as long as everyone is just copying + pasting things, I figure I could probably just slip my review for Rose Funeral's Gates Of Punishment in here and not a soul would be the wiser. I mean, if the bands aren't going to put an ounce of creativity into their music, why should I put an ounce of creativity into my reviews? It's only fair, really. I'm curious as to why labels sign bands like these - not meant as an insult, merely a question of itching curiosity - who the hell looks at a band like this and sees something that stands apart from the mass?

Ironically, you need to be a great musician to make generic death metal it seems. As You Drown definitely have that on their side, despite using those talents rather tastelessly. There's a few nifty riffs & grooves that make a dash for it, before being swiftly caught by the prison guards which are the generic aspects of this album.

Honestly, As You Drown is another band that is capable of awesome things, but prefers to pander to the crowds who will worship any old crap with harsh vocals and click track.


 



Written on 25.10.2011 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 143 users
25.10.2011 - 04:11
Coconut Racecar
I have got to say that i agree with the majority of this, although i still enjoy listening to this album from time to time i can't lie. like with a lot of the music i enjoy listening to, it's good walking music. you don't have to pay attention to anything in particular that's going on because nothing stands out. just puts a bounce in my step and let's me forget about the panderous chatter of the streets. 'Bleeding Structure' however, damn fine song. also check out Driven By Hatred from their first release. that song is just one riff after another of pure awesomeness.
Loading...
25.10.2011 - 16:40
Edmund Fogg
I don't listen to a lot of Death, so it's nice for the casual listener to have another generic Death release, or else I would just forget about this genre. Good background music, but nothing really stands out. I guess I'll forget about them until a new generic album comes along
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
25.10.2011 - 22:54
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover. Probably won't bother with it immediately anyway, but might check it out just too see if I agree with the review.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
26.10.2011 - 00:04
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.10.2011 at 22:54

I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover.

Have to say I thought the same.
Loading...
27.10.2011 - 03:18
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.10.2011 at 22:54

I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover. Probably won't bother with it immediately anyway, but might check it out just too see if I agree with the review.

Written by Guest on 26.10.2011 at 00:04

Have to say I thought the same.

Hahaha I thought the exact same thing and completely ignored it's existence. And just like Trory I may or may not check them out...
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
31.10.2011 - 23:40
Murder
Written by Guest on 26.10.2011 at 00:04

Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.10.2011 at 22:54

I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover.

Have to say I thought the same.


+1
Loading...
04.11.2011 - 21:54
DNorbs
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.10.2011 at 22:54

I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover. Probably won't bother with it immediately anyway, but might check it out just too see if I agree with the review.


It is a deathcore album, in my opinion. He compares this to Rose Funeral, who are also a deathcore band.

Regardless, I agree that the band has chops, but they are generic.
Loading...
05.11.2011 - 03:55
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by DNorbs on 04.11.2011 at 21:54
It is a deathcore album, in my opinion.

I think it's more like core-tinged death metal as opposed to deathcore directly if that makes sense, but the deathcore elements are definitely noticeable.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...

Hits total: 3507 | This month: 18