Rating:
5.9
As You Drown - Rat King
7 October 2011


01. Conqueror
02. Slaves To The Kingdom Of Fear
03. You Should Be Paranoid
04. Rabid Wolves In Sheep's Clothing
05. Your Loyal Betrayer
06. The Coming
07. The Nothing
08. Bleeding Structure
09. Cleansing Hands


Well, here we go again, more cookie cutter death metal. Sure, As You Drown is slightly less banally unexciting than a lot of boring death metal, but being minutely better than crap doesn't make Rat King album of the year by any stretch.

It's a shame really, because that is some fine-ass artwork, and a pretty cool album title. Lucky us though, what we get is another group of excellent musicians writing more generic death metal. In fact, as long as everyone is just copying + pasting things, I figure I could probably just slip my review for Rose Funeral's Gates Of Punishment in here and not a soul would be the wiser. I mean, if the bands aren't going to put an ounce of creativity into their music, why should I put an ounce of creativity into my reviews? It's only fair, really. I'm curious as to why labels sign bands like these - not meant as an insult, merely a question of itching curiosity - who the hell looks at a band like this and sees something that stands apart from the mass?

Ironically, you need to be a great musician to make generic death metal it seems. As You Drown definitely have that on their side, despite using those talents rather tastelessly. There's a few nifty riffs & grooves that make a dash for it, before being swiftly caught by the prison guards which are the generic aspects of this album.

Honestly, As You Drown is another band that is capable of awesome things, but prefers to pander to the crowds who will worship any old crap with harsh vocals and click track.


Band profile: As You Drown
Album: Rat King


 



Written on 25.10.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 143  
Search this topic:  


Diamonds - 25.10.2011 at 04:11  
I have got to say that i agree with the majority of this, although i still enjoy listening to this album from time to time i can't lie. like with a lot of the music i enjoy listening to, it's good walking music. you don't have to pay attention to anything in particular that's going on because nothing stands out. just puts a bounce in my step and let's me forget about the panderous chatter of the streets. 'Bleeding Structure' however, damn fine song. also check out Driven By Hatred from their first release. that song is just one riff after another of pure awesomeness.
Edmund Fogg - 25.10.2011 at 16:40  
I don't listen to a lot of Death, so it's nice for the casual listener to have another generic Death release, or else I would just forget about this genre. Good background music, but nothing really stands out. I guess I'll forget about them until a new generic album comes along
Troy Killjoy - 25.10.2011 at 22:54  
I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover. Probably won't bother with it immediately anyway, but might check it out just too see if I agree with the review.
!J.O.O.E.! - 26.10.2011 at 00:04  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.10.2011 at 22:54

I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover.

Have to say I thought the same.
psykometal - 27.10.2011 at 03:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.10.2011 at 22:54

I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover. Probably won't bother with it immediately anyway, but might check it out just too see if I agree with the review.

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 26.10.2011 at 00:04

Have to say I thought the same.

Hahaha I thought the exact same thing and completely ignored it's existence. And just like Trory I may or may not check them out...
Murder - 31.10.2011 at 23:40  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 26.10.2011 at 00:04

Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.10.2011 at 22:54

I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover.

Have to say I thought the same.


+1
DNorbs - 04.11.2011 at 21:54  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.10.2011 at 22:54

I assumed this was a deathcore album based on the cover. Probably won't bother with it immediately anyway, but might check it out just too see if I agree with the review.


It is a deathcore album, in my opinion. He compares this to Rose Funeral, who are also a deathcore band.

Regardless, I agree that the band has chops, but they are generic.
Troy Killjoy - 05.11.2011 at 03:55  
Written by DNorbs on 04.11.2011 at 21:54
It is a deathcore album, in my opinion.

I think it's more like core-tinged death metal as opposed to deathcore directly if that makes sense, but the deathcore elements are definitely noticeable.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums As You Drown - Rat King 8 13.10.2011 by Diamonds
Reviews Fisthammer - Devour All You See 6 21.04.2012 by Milena
Reviews King - Forged by Satan's Doctrine 6 10.02.2012 by s7mon
Reviews King Of Asgard - ...To North 6 19.07.2012 by Susan
Reviews Various Artists - We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year 6 09.11.2010 by RAZAWOLF



Hits total: 2759 | This month: 4