Rating:
8.0
Noctem - Oblivion
13 June 2011


01. Popol Vuh
02. The Arrival Of The False Gods
03. Universal Disorder
04. Abnegation And Brutality
05. Invictus
06. Sons Of Hun-Vucub
07. Seeking The Ruin Of Souls
08. Unredemption
09. Q'uma'rka'aa'j
10. A Borning Winged Snake
11. Oblivion


On paper, Noctem would appear to be a pretty typical extreme metal band that's somewhat ambiguous when it comes to defining it as black or death metal. Staple, tried-and-true bits are showcased in a pretty regular fashion. The funny thing is, for how typical they come across, Noctem embodies the basics of all you could want in a good ol' teeth-gnashing extreme album.

Oblivion isn't about reinventing the genre by any measure, instead it's just an album that is as evil and pissed off as possible. That might be what really sets this band apart; pure visceral ferocity. Of course, there is the obvious displays of technical prowess and the necessary distinct melodic riffs to give it that extra dash of evil, but there is no over-emphasis on being as complex as possible as seen in too much extreme metal these days. It's hard to get that feeling of pure rage across when the music sounds too calculated, which is a pitfall Noctem thankfully avoid.

Yet, this album could have been so much more. They've got the fury down, but they lack the rawness. "Raw", now, that's an easy word to toss around when reviewing an extreme metal album. No, for once I'm not talking about the production here. Yes, the production is crisp and clean, but it really fits the sharp, cold feeling Oblivion is all about. It's mostly the percussion that holds it back; it's far too drenched in triggers & click-tracking. That's what separates primal sounding albums from the machine sounding albums. Noctem were almost certainly going for the cold machine sound here, so good on 'em, they nailed it. They nailed everything else on this album, it would have been nice to see them make at least one risky side step.

Yeah, the percussion could have been a little more exciting, but overall Noctem managed to hammer out an angry-as-fuck album on all other fronts, making this another one that's worth checking out.


Band profile: Noctem
Album: Oblivion


 



Written on 05.11.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 208  
Search this topic:  


Yojimbo - 06.11.2011 at 02:13  
Ya know, that's all I'm really into these days anyway. Just hard asskicking metal. I don't need pretensions or mood or anything else that might be mistaken as being "deep" or complex.
psykometal - 06.11.2011 at 02:43  
This is a great band. I found them shortly before this album came out and was very impressed and still remain very impressed with this band. Highly recommend these dudes. \m/
Troy Killjoy - 06.11.2011 at 04:13  
Apparently I listened to Divinity but I don't remember anything about it...which is probably why I don't remember if I checked this out or not. Anyway, your review made me a little curious so I'll try to fit this in before the end of the year. We'll see.
Grody2themax - 06.11.2011 at 23:09  
Written by Yojimbo on 06.11.2011 at 02:13

Ya know, that's all I'm really into these days anyway. Just hard asskicking metal. I don't need pretensions or mood or anything else that might be mistaken as being "deep" or complex.


Doesn't really matter if its complex, deep, or moody. I'm not always in the "I wanna listen to some fucking evil shit mood", and I'm guessing I'm not alone on this since other people have diverse tastes as well. Just saying, if you think music is often "mistaken" as being deep or complex, then you're probably the one whose been mistaken.
Yojimbo - 07.11.2011 at 02:39  
Anytime I get challenged in a post I check the persons' age on their profile. And guess what, it always seems to be some teenager.

I'm not your father

so you don't need to be defensive with me. I wasn't attacking anybody's taste. I was merely saying that I'm mostly into fast, agro stuff.
Mattybu - 07.11.2011 at 03:28  
Listening to this right now and liking it. Really seems to be one of those pure ass kickers of an album.
Troy Killjoy - 07.11.2011 at 05:25  
Written by Yojimbo on 07.11.2011 at 02:39
so you don't need to be defensive with me. I wasn't attacking anybody's taste. I was merely saying that I'm mostly into fast, agro stuff.

It seems to me like you're making an issue out of nothing.

Anyway, what would you rate this? (Just trying to keep it on topic.)
Yojimbo - 08.11.2011 at 05:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.11.2011 at 05:25

Written by Yojimbo on 07.11.2011 at 02:39
so you don't need to be defensive with me. I wasn't attacking anybody's taste. I was merely saying that I'm mostly into fast, agro stuff.

It seems to me like you're making an issue out of nothing.

Anyway, what would you rate this? (Just trying to keep it on topic.)

Maybe you're right.

I like this album. An 8.5. I like the speed and the vocals are pretty good too. I don't think it has much long-term appeal but right now I'm enjoying it.
Troy Killjoy - 03.12.2011 at 07:33  
Quote:
Anyway, your review made me a little curious so I'll try to fit this in before the end of the year. We'll see.

So I've been listening to this over the course of the past week and I've gotta say it kicks more ass than I initially gave it credit for. Surprisingly a very good release and probably my favorite melodic black metal album of 2011.
s_t_s - 28.12.2011 at 15:22  
That's another ass-kicking band I have discovered with Fleshgod Apocalypse ! This album mixes dark fury with inspired riffs and parts ! Now just wondering whether Divinity is as good, need to check it out !
Metal_Buff - 06.02.2012 at 22:25  
Wow this album is killer, there's tons of variety here in the vocals and riffs as well as the overall mood. As the reviewer noted, the drums are fairly unchanging, but fast and brutal enough to keep the energy level very high throughout this beast. There are some extreme high points on here for me, notably the riffs in 'The Arrival of The False Gods, Invictus, and Sons of Hun-Vucub' so I think this one is going to be in heavy rotation for a while!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Black Sabbath - Paranoid (Classic Albums) 4.5 25.08.2010 by vezzy
Reviews Motörhead - The Wörld Is Yours 4.5 20.12.2010 by Captain Obvious
Reviews Lethal Halo - Process Of Progress 4.5 24.05.2011 by The Benighted
Reviews Dischord - Casualties Of War 4.5 13.07.2011 by INÆRIS
Reviews Charlotte - Medusa Groove 4.5 20.05.2010 by BitterCOld



Hits total: 3806 | This month: 59