Burzum - Fallen review



Reviewer:
5.3

273 users:
7.52
Band: Burzum
Album: Fallen
Release date: March 2011


01. Fra Verdenstreet
02. Jeg Faller
03. Valen
04. Vanvidd
05. Enhver Til Sitt
06. Budstikken
07. Til Hel Og Tilbake Igjen


The notorious Count is back with yet another addition to the black metal scene with his first English-titled album, Fallen. And while Varg's post-prison releases are a big deal just for the fact that a murderer's name is attached to the music, the material presented isn't exactly anything stunning. There is definitely something stellar about this album though: the cover art, William Adolphe Bouguereau's very own "Douleur d'amour". Unfortunately, the music doesn't reflect the beauty of the painting.

See, back in the early '90s Burzum was a household name in the Norwegian black metal scene. Then that whole murder/self-defense/prison term thing happened and some years later we had Belus and Fallen released within a year of each other.

So what of the music? Essentially you're in for the typical Vikernes menu. Lo-fi appeteasers, a dissonant garden salad, a grim and frostbitten blue-rare steak, and a... goat for dessert? I don't know, I feel out of touch with the black metal scene when listening to this, much like Varg is showing himself to be out of touch. Especially with those... clean "vocals"? And choruses? He's like Captain Jack Sparrow. The world around him is shrinking, yet his seclusion has led him to believe he's still a master at what he does. Although I'd venture so far as to suggest the captain is a bit of a master at what he does...

15 years in prison did a noticeable number on the Count. The noted perfectionist has all but let his music become somewhat of a shadow of its former self, kind of like a sterile version of Det som engang var with its subtle ambiance to accompany the traditional black metal sound. That being said, Varg is in a no-win situation here. Burzum fans will compare this to his previous works - widely regarded as black metal masterpieces - and black metal fans will compare this with the likes of Wolves In The Throne Room. In either case Fallen will fall to both past and present, although even on its own terms there isn't anything this release can provide that hasn't been provided already.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 4
Production: 7


 



Written on 13.11.2011 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 71   Visited by: 477 users
07.12.2011 - 20:32
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist

Posts: 18929
From: Canada

Written by Guest on 07.12.2011 at 19:00
Anyway! I have an question: Is this really "Black Metal"?

You could say it's atmospheric black metal. I don't know if I'd call it ambient black metal because that style is usually reserved for the likes of Velvet Cacoon, Darkspace, Paysage d'Hiver, etc.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.01.2012 - 11:55
Danny Thomas

Posts: 550
From: USA

Written by psykometal on 14.11.2011 at 03:56

Honestly I liked the album, I enjoyed the clean vocals. I am choosing not to compare this (or Bellus) to his older work because the man has been in prison for 15 years and he hasn't written BM in that long either. He also had that brief period in prison when he renounced all things BM and wrote the 2 ambient albums. Also I haven't seen any interviews with him about his mentality on BM or if he even intended to write BM the way he used to or if he has had some sort of epiphony and has decided to "evolve" his writing process and his ideals on what he wants his music to sound like. It feels to me that the latter is the case and these new albums are maybe supposed to be some kind of new face to Varg Vikernes; the man has had nothing but time in the past decade to think about his musical ideology and philosophy.


I agree with this so much
----
Our children are dead. Burnt in the ruins that were left by war.
Loading...
25.02.2012 - 09:44
Monolithic
♠♠♠

Posts: 663
From: UAE

I love it when I read reviews like this seeing people comparing previous works to get a better image of what is going on. I think it's the only solution when you don't anything to say regarding the music but your determination for putting the album in a box and rating it A+ or F does not stop you.
To be honest, I enjoy the album and I think it deserves much more than receiving such low ratings in reviewing. Hmmm...nothing to do here, just showing my disagreement with the review over the ratings and the general description regarding Varg and his work, who may receive an additional 10 years for the attempted self-defense against Troy Killjoy over his album. (Just kidding )
Loading...
25.02.2012 - 12:54
Mr. Doctor
Skandino

Posts: 16468
From: Sweden

Written by Monolithic on 25.02.2012 at 09:44

I love it when I read reviews like this seeing people comparing previous works to get a better image of what is going on. I think it's the only solution when you don't anything to say regarding the music but your determination for putting the album in a box and rating it A+ or F does not stop you.


Well, even if this was an album front a different band so I had nothng to compare to... I would still find it highly average. Nothing special going on here but that's just me.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 00:32
Monolithic
♠♠♠

Posts: 663
From: UAE

Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.02.2012 at 12:54

Written by Monolithic on 25.02.2012 at 09:44

I love it when I read reviews like this seeing people comparing previous works to get a better image of what is going on. I think it's the only solution when you don't anything to say regarding the music but your determination for putting the album in a box and rating it A+ or F does not stop you.


Well, even if this was an album front a different band so I had nothng to compare to... I would still find it highly average. Nothing special going on here but that's just me.

True indeed...I have different standards to review an album, and that doesn't mean either my standards or yours are correct or invalid. We just think different about this album or every album. (in general)
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 04:22
Kass
St. Anger

Posts: 4108
From: Germany

Written by psykometal on 14.11.2011 at 03:56

Honestly I liked the album, I enjoyed the clean vocals. I am choosing not to compare this (or Bellus) to his older work because the man has been in prison for 15 years and he hasn't written BM in that long either. He also had that brief period in prison when he renounced all things BM and wrote the 2 ambient albums. Also I haven't seen any interviews with him about his mentality on BM or if he even intended to write BM the way he used to or if he has had some sort of epiphony and has decided to "evolve" his writing process and his ideals on what he wants his music to sound like. It feels to me that the latter is the case and these new albums are maybe supposed to be some kind of new face to Varg Vikernes; the man has had nothing but time in the past decade to think about his musical ideology and philosophy.

Seconded.
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
11.03.2013 - 22:55
Skøllgrim
Northern

Posts: 369


Actually fallen is a Norwegian word as well.
----
"Popbutikk med platt lyrikk
Skit vil ingen hava"
Loading...
14.03.2013 - 18:33
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook

Posts: 7347
From: Canada

Written by Skøllgrim on 11.03.2013 at 22:55

Actually fallen is a Norwegian word as well.

I think Troy corrected himself on this awhile back. (or someone corrected him )
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
14.03.2013 - 19:20
Skøllgrim
Northern

Posts: 369


Written by Boxcar Willy on 14.03.2013 at 18:33

Written by Skøllgrim on 11.03.2013 at 22:55

Actually fallen is a Norwegian word as well.

I think Troy corrected himself on this awhile back. (or someone corrected him )

The review still says this is "his first english titled album"
----
"Popbutikk med platt lyrikk
Skit vil ingen hava"
Loading...
14.03.2013 - 19:43
Mr. Doctor
Skandino

Posts: 16468
From: Sweden

Written by Skøllgrim on 14.03.2013 at 19:20
The review still says this is "his first english titled album"

Meh, dude got lazy to correct it I guess... He isn't around anymore and I lack the powers to edit it. You can always ask some of the higher powers to edit it. XP
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
14.03.2013 - 20:17
Skøllgrim
Northern

Posts: 369


Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.03.2013 at 19:43

Written by Skøllgrim on 14.03.2013 at 19:20
The review still says this is "his first english titled album"

Meh, dude got lazy to correct it I guess... He isn't around anymore and I lack the powers to edit it. You can always ask some of the higher powers to edit it. XP

No no I don't really care all that much, and I know he's away and all, just wanted truth to be told.
----
"Popbutikk med platt lyrikk
Skit vil ingen hava"
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 6784 | This month: 7