Bandcamp music player

Rating:
10
Ulver - Kveldssanger
1996


01. Østenfor Sol Og Vestenfor Maane
02. Ord
03. Høyfjeldsbilde
04. Nattleite
05. Kveldssang
06. Naturmystikk
07. A Cappella (Sielens Sang)
08. Hiertets Vee
09. Kledt I Nattens Farger
10. Halling
11. Utreise
12. Søfn - Ør Paa Alfers Lund
13. Ulvsblakk


Let's go back in time a little bit. To the time the Norwegian Black Metal scene started to appear [late 80's - early 90's], the time when bands like Mayhem, Emperor, Immortal, Darkthrone and Satyricon made their first demos and albums, their first steps to immortality. In the other hand, Ulver was known as "the weird boy", always different, never ignored. Along with Carpathian Forest, Ulver was the most underrated act of this movement. But when a band like this is constantly underrated, it's a sign of an unlimited but misunderstood talent. And a perfect example of it is this, ulver's second album, Kveldssanger.

This is definitely one of the most challenging albums ever. It defies the "rules" and characteristics of Black Metal, and pushes the boundaries of metal itself. It also takes the roots of Norwegian folk to another level, to an ethereal place where the machines and the traditional instruments fit perfectly, like made for each other.

In terms of creativity, this album is a river of harmony and power, flowing through a dark and fundamental atmosphere, amazingly created by its musical richness.

I highly recommend this album, not only to Black Metal fans, but to everyone who is into metal, and to everyone who claims to have a good taste in music. In a few words: Go buy it now!

1.2.3... Go!


Band profile: Ulver
Album: Kveldssanger


 


written by Liebesliederwaltzer | 02.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 138  
Search this topic:  


UnholyMenace - 09.03.2007 at 21:31  
Definitely the best release from Ulver so far.
Spyroid - 14.11.2007 at 19:43  
Maybe you should've mentioned more clearly that this is not a metal album at all.

I think this album is pretty amateurely composed, so think's the band themselves I've heard. Neverthless it's good, but not more than 7. It's to short, and to many fillers. Of course it's very skilled of a metalband to write a folk music album, but actually, if you look at pure folk artists and compare them to this album, this is veeeery simple music. Anyhow, it's still got a pagan/black metal "spirit" somewhere, which might make it more apealing to metal fans.
As I said, 7 but not more.
Xnoybis - 14.11.2007 at 20:46  
Garm made reference to it being immature in composition and execution, not as a criticism but merely as a critique of their own performance as a bunch of 18 year olds. He's also said that those comments have been taken out of context and essentially that forumwarriors have made a mountain out of a molehill with them.

the album certainly was daring, defying groupthink by trying to express their interpretation of the black metal aesthetic in a completely separate form of music.

it could be longer, but ultimately i like the length. it's short enough to enjoy in it's entirety in one sitting, but also short enough that you can just hit "repeat" and let it go again without getting old.

I'd probably give it a 9 overall, although i have to be in a specific mood or frame of mind to totally enjoy it.

while "Bergtatt" is my absolute favorite Ulver album, this one, their sophomore effort, gave fans a very early foreshadowing of what the band would do in the future.

i give it high marks for daring originality, overall atmosphere, and execution.
Ellie - 19.11.2007 at 05:05  
I like this review. I've never listened to much Ulver; so I think I will go pick up this album
Elio - 02.06.2009 at 17:20  
Written by Spyroid on 14.11.2007 at 19:43

Maybe you should've mentioned more clearly that this is not a metal album at all.

I think this album is pretty amateurely composed, so think's the band themselves I've heard. Neverthless it's good, but not more than 7. It's to short, and to many fillers. Of course it's very skilled of a metalband to write a folk music album, but actually, if you look at pure folk artists and compare them to this album, this is veeeery simple music. Anyhow, it's still got a pagan/black metal "spirit" somewhere, which might make it more apealing to metal fans.
As I said, 7 but not more.


Sorry to quote you after so much time but this is exactly what I think of this album. Same rating for me too.
Uirapuru - 21.10.2009 at 05:10  
Written by Spyroid on 14.11.2007 at 19:43

Maybe you should've mentioned more clearly that this is not a metal album at all.


LOL

Truth... I listened to this album expecting a blasting atmospheric black metal.

But its a good album nevertheless, It was a nice surprise. Reminded me of Diadema Tristis, that i listened before Kveldssanger.

''Halling'' is such a beatiful song. Reminded me of Final Fantasy's ''Town OST''
Mr. Doctor - 02.11.2009 at 17:59  
Such a beautiful album, really touching music and I disagree with some people, I don't see any fillers at all, the the tracks are there for a reason.

Touching music, I will buy this one asap. The best thing is that I can just put this album with the speakers without my family whining about it, since it's pretty nice music.
Jiri - 18.04.2010 at 19:51  
Excellent work of art. Garm is perfection!
tuerda - 15.08.2011 at 06:44  
I have always seen Ulver's first three albums as sort of going together. We have Bergtatt which is folk music + black metal, then we have this one, which is just folk music, and then we have nattens madrigal, which is just the black metal part. Its like the second and third albums split up the first one. All three of them are excellent, although I agree with the prevailing opinion that Ulver did black metal better than they did folk music.
musclassia - 03.11.2011 at 20:37  
Spyroid^ pretty much sums up my thoughts perfectly.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Ulver - Kveldssanger 4.5 13.04.2014 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Ulver - Shadows Of The Sun 4 04.10.2008 by Stuart
News Ulver - New DVD Details Revealed 3 26.10.2011 by Angel_Lament
News Ulver - New Release Streaming Online 3 19.08.2013 by Jiri
News Ulver - New Album Tracklist And Cover Revealed 3 06.08.2007 by Spyroid



Hits total: 6536 | This month: 43