Grown Below - The Long Now review



Reviewer:
7.3

3 users:
7.67
Band: Grown Below
Album: The Long Now
Website: http://grownbelow.bandcamp.com/album/the-long-now
Release date: September 2011


01. Trojan Horses
02. Devoid Of Age
03. The Abyss
04. Minaco II - Nebula
05. End Of All Time
06. The Long Now
07. Malklara


A couple minutes in to The Long Now, I was bracing for a long hour. It started off as yet another of what I just referred to as an "SSDD: Same Shit, Different Dudes" release. Post-Rock/Metal medium paced riffing, growled vocals.

Then the Belgian band shifted gears into the obligatory Mellow Moments phase that seemingly all these post-y acts do... and, to an extent, won me over.

Bass took primary focus while the guitars shifted to a light, floating ethereal quality. These parts were not just short little divergences from familiar mid-paced riffing, but went on for extended periods of time. Enough to ease you in and lull you to a semi-conscious blissful daze.

The vocalist shifted gear as well, to a clean sung voice... He won't be topping any best front man polls 'round these parts, but his voice was flawed and conveyed some form of sorrow that really enhanced the already particularly well done quieter voyages.

Grown Below toss in other elements, such as synthed string accompaniment, as well as some female vocals which harmonize both with the clean and growled male parts.

And perhaps another effect of these extended vacations from the distortion pedal is that when they return to (post-)"rock!" mode it makes those riffs more enjoyable as well.

The whole album seems a bit better put together and executed than a lot of the others I've reviewed this year. While it might be odd that I extol the non-\m/ sections on a review for a metal site, those sections are what will convince me to revisit the album and listen to it after the review is up...


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 22.11.2011 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 86 users
22.11.2011 - 22:10
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I might have to check this out just for that cover art.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
23.11.2011 - 00:52
Milena
Learning To "X"
Wow, that cover sure is amazing.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
23.11.2011 - 00:55
Kuroboshi
It seems like lately Sludge/doom/post/black releases have been popping up like mushrooms. No love lost though! And that cover art is really cool!
Loading...
23.11.2011 - 01:14
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Sounds like the same formula used by a different band taking advantage of a genre soooo over-saturated. That being said I will listen because I am a post metal apologist.
Loading...
23.11.2011 - 10:42
Merchant of Doom
One of the best sludge/doom/post-everything albums of the year. Rating is far too low. 8.5 for me.
Loading...
23.11.2011 - 21:29
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Merchant of Doom on 23.11.2011 at 10:42
One of the best sludge/doom/post-everything albums of the year. Rating is far too low. 8.5 for me.

I don't think you've ever agreed with anyone about anything.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
24.11.2011 - 00:31
Merchant of Doom
I have... well, actually, I don't remember that... No, hang on, I do agree with DerRozzz, occasionally...
Loading...
24.11.2011 - 04:28
Slinky666
Account deleted
I like their music and the clean vocals are matching. Growling guy should go deeper and less growl-y in his singing and could even growl without saying anything, for the sound like a bass guitar. Experiment with humming. Get it!
Loading...
25.11.2011 - 08:41
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I finally got around to listening to this but I fell asleep during the first song and woke up long after the album was over.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
26.11.2011 - 00:11
Merchant of Doom
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.11.2011 at 08:41

I finally got around to listening to this but I fell asleep during the first song and woke up long after the album was over.



you are indeed a killjoy...
Loading...
26.11.2011 - 04:38
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Merchant of Doom on 26.11.2011 at 00:11
you are indeed a killjoy...

It's in my nature. D:
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 3592 | This month: 9