Rating:
7.3
Grown Below - The Long Now
26 September 2011


01. Trojan Horses
02. Devoid Of Age
03. The Abyss
04. Minaco II - Nebula
05. End Of All Time
06. The Long Now
07. Malklara


A couple minutes in to The Long Now, I was bracing for a long hour. It started off as yet another of what I just referred to as an "SSDD: Same Shit, Different Dudes" release. Post-Rock/Metal medium paced riffing, growled vocals.

Then the Belgian band shifted gears into the obligatory Mellow Moments phase that seemingly all these post-y acts do... and, to an extent, won me over.

Bass took primary focus while the guitars shifted to a light, floating ethereal quality. These parts were not just short little divergences from familiar mid-paced riffing, but went on for extended periods of time. Enough to ease you in and lull you to a semi-conscious blissful daze.

The vocalist shifted gear as well, to a clean sung voice... He won't be topping any best front man polls 'round these parts, but his voice was flawed and conveyed some form of sorrow that really enhanced the already particularly well done quieter voyages.

Grown Below toss in other elements, such as synthed string accompaniment, as well as some female vocals which harmonize both with the clean and growled male parts.

And perhaps another effect of these extended vacations from the distortion pedal is that when they return to (post-)"rock!" mode it makes those riffs more enjoyable as well.

The whole album seems a bit better put together and executed than a lot of the others I've reviewed this year. While it might be odd that I extol the non-\m/ sections on a review for a metal site, those sections are what will convince me to revisit the album and listen to it after the review is up...

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Website: http://grownbelow.bandcamp.com/album/the-long-now


 



Written on 22.11.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 86  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2011 at 22:10  
I might have to check this out just for that cover art.
Milena - 23.11.2011 at 00:52  
Wow, that cover sure is amazing.
Kuroboshi - 23.11.2011 at 00:55  
It seems like lately Sludge/doom/post/black releases have been popping up like mushrooms. No love lost though! And that cover art is really cool!
tea[m]ster - 23.11.2011 at 01:14  
Sounds like the same formula used by a different band taking advantage of a genre soooo over-saturated. That being said I will listen because I am a post metal apologist.
Merchant of Doom - 23.11.2011 at 10:42  
One of the best sludge/doom/post-everything albums of the year. Rating is far too low. 8.5 for me.
Troy Killjoy - 23.11.2011 at 21:29  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 23.11.2011 at 10:42
One of the best sludge/doom/post-everything albums of the year. Rating is far too low. 8.5 for me.

I don't think you've ever agreed with anyone about anything.
Merchant of Doom - 24.11.2011 at 00:31  
I have... well, actually, I don't remember that... No, hang on, I do agree with DerRozzz, occasionally...
Slinky666 - 24.11.2011 at 04:28  
I like their music and the clean vocals are matching. Growling guy should go deeper and less growl-y in his singing and could even growl without saying anything, for the sound like a bass guitar. Experiment with humming. Get it!
Troy Killjoy - 25.11.2011 at 08:41  
I finally got around to listening to this but I fell asleep during the first song and woke up long after the album was over.
Merchant of Doom - 26.11.2011 at 00:11  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.11.2011 at 08:41

I finally got around to listening to this but I fell asleep during the first song and woke up long after the album was over.



you are indeed a killjoy...
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2011 at 04:38  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 26.11.2011 at 00:11
you are indeed a killjoy...

It's in my nature. D:

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Grown Below - The Other Sight 6 05.03.2014 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Grieving Age - Merely The Fleshless We And The Awed Obsequy 4.5 06.12.2013 by Northern Danger
Reviews High On Fire - Snakes For The Divine 4.5 06.03.2010 by oroboros
Reviews Helllight - ...And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell... 4.5 04.04.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Tombs - Fear Is The Weapon 4.5 22.12.2010 by oroboros



Hits total: 2889 | This month: 29