Rating:
5.0
Cavalera Conspiracy - Blunt Force Trauma
28 March 2011


Disc I [CD]
01. Warlord
02. Torture
03. Lynch Mob
04. Killing Inside
05. Thrasher
06. I Speak Hate
07. Target
08. Genghis Khan
09. Burn Waco
10. Rasputin
11. Blunt Force Trauma
12. Psychosomatic [bonus]
13. Jihad Joe [bonus]
14. Electric Funeral [Black Sabbath cover] [bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [Live Les Eurockéennes Festival]
01. Sanctuary
02. Territory
03. Terrorize
04. The Doom Of All Fires
05. Inner Self/Nevertrust
06. Arise/Dead Embryonic Cells
07. Desperate Cry/Propaganda
08. Wasting Away
09. Black Ark
10. Holiday In Cambodia/Biotech Is Godzilla
11. Hearts Of Darkness
12. Refuse/Resist
13. Troops Of Doom
14. Must Kill
15. Roots Bloody Roots
+ Sanctuary [video]


Everyone knows the story. Max Cavalera left Sepultura in the '90s (with brother Igor finally departing about 10 years later) and everybody felt simply swell about it. No feelings were hurt, everyone moved on with a smile.

Naturally, fans felt torn between the "old" Sepultura and the "new" Sepultura. Then a magical thing happened: Max and Igor overlooked their differences and reunited with Cavalera Conspiracy. And thus, the fans rejoiced. With the release of their debut, Inflikted, in 2008, the Cavaleras set the bar relatively high for its follow-up.

And that's when this fan jumped off the bandwagon.

Blunt Force Trauma is a straightforward groove metal album. Not necessarily the "four-letter word" kind of groove metal, but the good kind. Almost. See, what prevents this from actually being "good" (subjectivity warning) is the total lack of variation. The riffs are incredibly simplistic, repetitive, simplistic, repetitive, sim -- okay, you get it. This is the musical equivalent of watching the pendulum inside a grandfather clock.

Now, in spite of the repetition, there is a decent amount of groove. Obviously. Hence the name of the genre. This is where it gets tricky. Because all the songs sound the same, and riff-by-riff there isn't anything special going on, one could argue it's filled with danceable music. Others may argue it's completely dull, and they definitely have reason to believe that as a result of the incredibly formulaic song structures.

That isn't the only problem with Blunt Force Trauma. It feels devoid of passion, as if the songs were thrown together overnight. Kind of like this review. All in all what you're left with is a major disappointment... or at the very least, a minor one. It really depends on what you thought of Inflikted. As with any band whose background story has a way of superseding the music, Cavalera Conspiracy have released an album that will likely divide their fans: a situation the Cavaleras aren't exactly unfamiliar with.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 7


Band profile: Cavalera Conspiracy
Album: Blunt Force Trauma


 



Written on 25.11.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 32  
Users visited: 312  
Search this topic:  


Doc Godin - 25.11.2011 at 21:47  
I'm starting to get the feeling mainstream albums are arbitrarily going to receive a negative review from you...

I'd agree with the review to some degree, but it's not THAT bad.
Troy Killjoy - 25.11.2011 at 21:49  
Written by Doc Godin on 25.11.2011 at 21:47
I'm starting to get the feeling mainstream albums are arbitrarily going to receive a negative review from you...
I'd agree with the review to some degree, but it's not THAT bad.

Nah, it's just part of my negative review series. I'm wrapping it up soon, only 3 more to go.

But there are plenty of mainstream albums I like this year. My list of top-bottom 2011 releases is proof of that (Insomnium, Benighted, Shining, Amon Amarth, etc.).
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.11.2011 at 21:52  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.11.2011 at 21:49

But there are plenty of mainstream albums... Benighted, Shining.

Mainstream? Really Troy? Unless we're talking "mainstream" as it were.
Troy Killjoy - 25.11.2011 at 21:54  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.11.2011 at 21:52
Mainstream? Really Troy? Unless we're talking "mainstream" as it were.

Mainstream in the sense that they are popular within the world of metal (for the most part) and even more popular within the confines of extreme metal.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.11.2011 at 21:56  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.11.2011 at 21:54

Mainstream in the sense that they are popular within the world of metal (for the most part) and even more popular within the confines of extreme metal.

I could probably agree on Shining there, Benighted though have 35,000 listeners on Last.fm (compared to Shining's 90,000) so I dunno.
Troy Killjoy - 25.11.2011 at 21:58  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.11.2011 at 21:56
Benighted though have 35,000 listeners on Last.fm

That's it? Huh. That's unfortunate... I figured between the hype Icon received online and then with a new release this year they'd be a lot more popular. Oh well, I still stand by the fact that not all mainstream music is bad.

If I could review Adele's latest on here it would probably receive a high 7, so I'm not as biased as these reviews likely make me out to be.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.11.2011 at 21:59  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.11.2011 at 21:58

That's it? Huh. That's unfortunate... I figured between the hype Icon received online and then with a new release this year they'd be a lot more popular. Oh well, I still stand by the fact that not all mainstream music is bad.

If I could review Adele's latest on here it would probably receive a high 7, so I'm not as biased as these reviews likely make me out to be.

Nah, I know you're going for the obviously poor releases, and poor for a reason. Evanescence are still decent though
Edmund Fogg - 25.11.2011 at 22:31  
Wait. Am I reading this correctly? A cover of Electric Funeral...Worth to chect the album just for that. I don't think Cavalera Conspiracy was made to have albums that listens in one spin. A few trracks from time to time and this might get a better rating.

Edit: Okay..listened to Electric Funeral and it's a definite No for me.
SBGMetal - 25.11.2011 at 23:30  
It really isnt that bad i jus expected more from their second c.d considering that the first one had a lot of cool riffs in it
bluegreengod - 26.11.2011 at 01:34  
Everybody poke the sad little man with a stick! ---> ]:<
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2011 at 01:38  
Feel free to write your own review.
Angelic Storm - 26.11.2011 at 01:39  
"Inflikted" was far from being a masterpiece, but it was pretty good, even ocassionally great. This album is definitely quite a bit weaker IMO...
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2011 at 01:40  
Written by Angelic Storm on 26.11.2011 at 01:39
"Inflikted" was far from being a masterpiece, but it was pretty good, even ocassionally great. This album is definitely quite a bit weaker IMO...

My thoughts exactly. It's not like I was dying to listen to more of Inflikted but it was definitely much better than this album.
Angelic Storm - 26.11.2011 at 01:48  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.11.2011 at 01:40
My thoughts exactly. It's not like I was dying to listen to more of Inflikted but it was definitely much better than this album.


Well, "Inflikted" was quite a way off from the greatness of the best Sepultura albums, but on it's own merits it was decent enough, and showed a bit of promise. But instead of building on that, they seem to have gone backwards with their latest. It's only saving grace is that it is probably better than "Kairos", but then that wouldn't be difficult.
NLthrasher - 26.11.2011 at 05:14  
The Black Sabbath cover is a big joke...:lol: probably one of the worst covers i've ever heard
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2011 at 05:15  
Written by NLthrasher on 26.11.2011 at 05:14
The Black Sabbath cover is a big joke...:lol: probably one of the worst covers i've ever heard

Agreed. The copy I reviewed didn't feature the track so there wasn't anything for me to say about it, but I listened to it later on Youtube and wow. Would have spent a good paragraph bashing that.
NLthrasher - 26.11.2011 at 05:30  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.11.2011 at 05:15

Written by NLthrasher on 26.11.2011 at 05:14
The Black Sabbath cover is a big joke...:lol: probably one of the worst covers i've ever heard

Agreed. The copy I reviewed didn't feature the track so there wasn't anything for me to say about it, but I listened to it later on Youtube and wow. Would have spent a good paragraph bashing that.

For the most part I agree with your revieuw. Saw them ones live as support act for Judas Priest and they are not my cup of tea though
Merchant of Doom - 26.11.2011 at 11:10  
I just found this a rather simplistic album...
Kuroboshi - 26.11.2011 at 11:26  
Hey Troy, I just love reading your bash-reviews. They're a hoot. Don't have time to listen to all of the albums though, busy as I am. I'm really impressed by the amount of metal that you manage to digest, how the hell do you find time? :O
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2011 at 22:03  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 26.11.2011 at 11:10
I just found this a rather simplistic album...

My problem is that it was overly simplistic. I mean, I listen to a lot of black and doom and those genres definitely have their share of simplicity, but this takes simple to:
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2011 at 22:04  
Written by Kuroboshi on 26.11.2011 at 11:26
Hey Troy, I just love reading your bash-reviews. They're a hoot. Don't have time to listen to all of the albums though, busy as I am. I'm really impressed by the amount of metal that you manage to digest, how the hell do you find time? :O

Thanks for the compliment.

For the most part I spend all my free time listening to music. Before my work shut down I would listen before I left for work, on my mp3 player on the way to work, on my break at work, mp3 on the walk home, then at home until I went to sleep. More or less the same now, only I'm not working.
Boxcar Willy - 27.11.2011 at 06:37  
WHOLE.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
'Nother
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Level.
Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2011 at 06:40  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 27.11.2011 at 06:37
...

No no more like "hoa...nuth-a...lebba".
Boxcar Willy - 27.11.2011 at 06:43  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 27.11.2011 at 06:40

Written by Boxcar Willy on 27.11.2011 at 06:37
...

No no more like "hoa...nuth-a...lebba".

You are a very wise man, you know that?
ScreamingSteelUS - 27.11.2011 at 07:06  
I've always felt that Max Cavalera has done nothing BUT recycle and rehash, ever since the decline of Sepultura. Soulfly, Nailbomb, Cavalera Conspiracy, whatever - they all sound pretty much the same to me. At least in Sepultura he could throw in some fantastic material now and then, but this review confirms what I had only suspected about his latest release.
Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2011 at 07:49  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 27.11.2011 at 07:06
I've always felt that Max Cavalera has done nothing BUT recycle and rehash, ever since the decline of Sepultura.

You know as the years go by and he's involved with more and more of these derivative releases it really is hard to build a strong case for him. He's like the personal embodiment of Metallica: a strong, influential start to a career that quickly spiraled out of control in a matter of albums.
Kuroboshi - 27.11.2011 at 15:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.11.2011 at 22:04

Written by Kuroboshi on 26.11.2011 at 11:26
Hey Troy, I just love reading your bash-reviews. They're a hoot. Don't have time to listen to all of the albums though, busy as I am. I'm really impressed by the amount of metal that you manage to digest, how the hell do you find time? :O

Thanks for the compliment.

For the most part I spend all my free time listening to music. Before my work shut down I would listen before I left for work, on my mp3 player on the way to work, on my break at work, mp3 on the walk home, then at home until I went to sleep. More or less the same now, only I'm not working.

...That's a lot of listening... Don't you get tired? I get exhausted sometimes when I've listened several hours. Maybe you should start writing some music of your own; I bet you have a lot of ideas. (Or maybe they were all used up in "Dethday". )
Troy Killjoy - 27.11.2011 at 19:00  
Written by Kuroboshi on 27.11.2011 at 15:32
...That's a lot of listening... Don't you get tired? I get exhausted sometimes when I've listened several hours. Maybe you should start writing some music of your own; I bet you have a lot of ideas. (Or maybe they were all used up in "Dethday". )

I think the only time I get tired is when I check out a bunch of new releases and all of them suck. Times like that I just listen to something I know is good though. It's different when I review albums like this though, because I've already listened to it before to get an idea of how bad it is so it's no longer a "shockingly bad" release.

As for ideas... I suppose I get some from time to time, but I've never been good with constructing artistic stuff.

My Dethday demo is a lot better than Blunt Force Trauma, for the record.
RockeRoy - 30.11.2011 at 11:13  
Boring as hell, Inflikted was much better... imo Blunt force trauma is one of the worst Metal releases ever by a band who plays in a genre that i usualy like.
Slinky666 - 01.12.2011 at 07:01  
This music is simplistic but its sound and lyrics are sufficiently entertaining for me
4look4rd - 17.01.2014 at 17:40  
Listening to metal for complexity is like going to a McDonalds and expecting a gourmet meal.

Inflikted is a great album, the first half is easily a 9/10 in my book but the quality drops as you go along. Blunt Force Trauma is a lot more consistent but not as good, 7/10.
deadone - 22.01.2014 at 03:38  
Written by 4look4rd on 17.01.2014 at 17:40

Listening to metal for complexity is like going to a McDonalds and expecting a gourmet meal.


I agree. I think once metal starts getting complex, it loses a lot of the appeal. And in many cases it stops being metal (e.g. Dream Theatre).

I like Blunt Force Trauma but then I prefer my metal straight forward and not overly complex or "indepth".

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Aenygmist - Creation Born Of Trauma 6 03.07.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Dødsengel - Imperator 4.5 16.05.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Grisâtre - Esthaetique 4.5 17.06.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Soreption - Engineering The Void 4.5 26.01.2014 by qlacs
Reviews Reverence - The Asthenic Ascension 4.5 08.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!



Hits total: 4542 | This month: 45