Rating:
8.6
Oranssi Pazuzu - Kosmonument
26 October 2011


01. Sienipilvi [feat. Marko Neuman]
02. Komeetta
03. Uusi Olento Nousee [feat. Marko Neuman]
04. Luhistuva Aikahäkki
05. Maavaltimo
06. Siirtorata 100 10100
07. Andromeda
08. Loputon Tuntematon
09. Kaaos Hallitsee
10.


Oranssi Pazuzu's debut work - Muukalainen Puhuu - appeared like a vibrating constellation of paranormal activities in the northern sky. All of a sudden a cosmic assault of psychedelic and obscure black metal soundscapes started flickering and dispersing their otherworldly essence all over the place. It's nothing new anymore that the demons have invaded space and conquered it. That's what Oranssi Pazuzu's first attempt was; what their second album - Kosmonument - pushes for has to be the establishment and colonization of the previous effort's legacy.

If you're familiar with Muukalainen Puhuu then you know what to expect, although in the case of such weird bands sometimes you really don't know what will follow. In their case though they start from where their 2009 album ended, with one difference: they expand their personal experimentation territory even more by taking their sound to a new level. On one hand the post-ritual aesthetic ("Sienipilvi"), the mechanical repetitive undertones, the emerging psychedelic pulses ("Andromeda" - isn't it like a space trip in the aforementioned valley of stars?) through the effects, the echo, the keyboards ("Siirtorata 100 10100", "∞"), the guitar injections or even the hypnotizing bass lines ("Luhistuva Aikahäkki") deliver a comatose psychosis vibe. On the other hand, the aforementioned core of hypnotizing madness bursts into a gentle yet nauseating whirlwind of intensity ("Komeetta") either with a more massive sound perspective and an ominous vibe ("Uusi Olento Nousse", "Loputon Tuntematon") or with a more distracting psychedelic aspect ("Maavaltimo", "Kaaos Hallitsee"). It's not that instrumental though, whenever required Juho's rasping boiling edge gets infused in the overall outcome as if he was transmitting unintelligible threatening messages from a long lost lunar station.

Something I deeply enjoyed has to be the repetition of musical meters and ideas. It's like a sound warren into the continuum. Not only do you dive deeper into the band's visions, but you also encounter a tricky sound version of a labyrinth. Although it might seem as if you've been doing circles around the same corner for some time now, there's this kind of magic that won't let your interest fade. On the contrary, you're being entangled into the cosmic web of interstellar waves that after a few spins in a row seems like Kosmonument has anchored somehow into your subconscious world. It truly is background music; and at the same time it isn't.

If you find comfort into non-compromising black metal soundscapes and Muukalainen Puhuu hasn't crossed your way so far, then Kosmonument will oddly invade your privacy. Hallucinating and nightmarish at the same time, it intends to lull you in an unfriendly environment without fear, but with passion.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Oranssi Pazuzu
Album: Kosmonument


 



Written on 30.11.2011 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››

Guest review by
Apothecary

Rating:
9.5
Ya know how sometimes people jokingly refer to Enslaved as "the Pink Floyd of black metal?" Well if Enslaved are the godfathers of this modern fusion of black metal with progressive underpinnings, then Oranssi Pazuzu took the whole idea and completely threw it out the window. In 2009, this little-known Finnish band appeared like a Close Encounter Of The Third Kind with their debut Muukalainen Puhuu, an album praised for its unique sound and originality. And here they are again, returning from the outer regions of the Andromeda Galaxy with 2011's follow-up, Kosmonument. But what exactly is Kosmonument, anyway? Is it psychedelic music? Is it black metal? Is it both? Or is it neither? The truth is, endeavoring an answer to any of these questions is pretty useless, because, quite simply, there aren't any. But then, that's part of the beauty that is Oranssi Pazuzu: the more you try to understand their music, the less you do, and vice versa. It's best to just surrender to the ethereal nature of this album, and let it take you over.

Read more ››
published 24.01.2012 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 44  
Users visited: 223  
Search this topic:  


malaikat - 30.11.2011 at 17:16  
I'm so glad this got a high rating. Definitely an out-of-the-box band if I ever heard one.

And what's more, I still can not comprehand that they are from Finnland! Finnish metal was always too melodic for my tastes (even blac/death, to my ears at least), so at first I figured these guys were from Norway.

Or that hellish dimension from "Event Horizon", that sounds about right.
Troy Killjoy - 30.11.2011 at 17:23  
Written by malaikat on 30.11.2011 at 17:16
Finnish metal was always too melodic for my tastes (even blac/death, to my ears at least)

You should go listen to Horna.
malaikat - 30.11.2011 at 18:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.11.2011 at 17:23

Written by malaikat on 30.11.2011 at 17:16
Finnish metal was always too melodic for my tastes (even blac/death, to my ears at least)

You should go listen to Horna.


Never heard of them, to be honest.

Will check them out, sir
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.11.2011 at 18:59  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.11.2011 at 17:23

Written by malaikat on 30.11.2011 at 17:16
Finnish metal was always too melodic for my tastes (even blac/death, to my ears at least)

You should go listen to Horna.


I would suggest Clandestine Blaze and Satanic Warmaster which are both superior to Horna.
Troy Killjoy - 30.11.2011 at 19:07  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.11.2011 at 18:59
I would suggest Clandestine Blaze and Satanic Warmaster which are both superior to Horna.

They work just as well (especially SW), I just wanted to point out not all Finnish metal is watered down melodic stuff.
BitterCOld - 30.11.2011 at 19:10  
I can't wait to hear this. it's been out a month... and it is still another 3 weeks or so before it lands in the New World...
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.11.2011 at 19:30  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.11.2011 at 19:07

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.11.2011 at 18:59
I would suggest Clandestine Blaze and Satanic Warmaster which are both superior to Horna.

They work just as well (especially SW), I just wanted to point out not all Finnish metal is watered down melodic stuff.


ha okay, sorry for misunderstanding
Unhealer - 30.11.2011 at 19:37  
I've listening to this since it came out, excellent album.
I love all the groove & psycho holding hands with black metal, it's so damn fun. And thank god they sing in their native language, I like that.

This also led me to check their previous effort, I liked that one even better.
Slayer666 - 01.12.2011 at 00:22  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.11.2011 at 18:59

I would suggest Clandestine Blaze and Satanic Warmaster which are both superior to Horna.


Beherit, much? Specially the early stuff, which bears some slight resemblance to this album.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.12.2011 at 03:02  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.11.2011 at 18:59


I would suggest Clandestine Blaze and Satanic Warmaster which are both superior to Horna.

There are very few things in this world that Satanic Warmaster and Clandestine Blaze are superior to. Pretty much about as generic as a band can get.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.12.2011 at 03:27  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.12.2011 at 03:02

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.11.2011 at 18:59


I would suggest Clandestine Blaze and Satanic Warmaster which are both superior to Horna.

There are very few things in this world that Satanic Warmaster and Clandestine Blaze are superior to. Pretty much about as generic as a band can get.



Yes, they are generic, but so are Horna. But at least Satanic Warhamster and Clandestine Blaze are better and far superior in what they do than Horna.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.12.2011 at 03:32  
They should both be named Generic Warmaster and Clandestine Blasé ;]
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.12.2011 at 03:33  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.12.2011 at 03:32

... Clandestine Blasé ;]


coming from someone who immensely enjoyed Clandestine Blaze not too long ago
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.12.2011 at 03:36  
Me? I've never liked them.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.12.2011 at 03:39  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.12.2011 at 03:36

Me? I've never liked them.


I remember talking to you about them and you liking Church Of Atrocity and Deliverers Of Faith although you fiound those generic you did enjoy them.
Troy Killjoy - 01.12.2011 at 03:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.12.2011 at 03:39
I remember talking to you about them and you liking Church Of Atrocity and Deliverers Of Faith although you fiound those generic you did enjoy them.

On topic! ]<
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.12.2011 at 03:42  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.12.2011 at 03:39


I remember talking to you about them and you liking Church Of Atrocity and Deliverers Of Faith although you fiound those generic you did enjoy them.

I'm pretty sure you're confusing me with someone else. I've never found a Mikko Aspa project I even remotely liked. I haven't even listened to the band in many years.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.12.2011 at 03:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.12.2011 at 03:40

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.12.2011 at 03:39
I remember talking to you about them and you liking Church Of Atrocity and Deliverers Of Faith although you fiound those generic you did enjoy them.

On topic! ]<

Saw that one coming from miles away

Okay Oranssi Pazuzu a fun band but that's it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.12.2011 at 03:44  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.12.2011 at 03:42

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.12.2011 at 03:39


I remember talking to you about them and you liking Church Of Atrocity and Deliverers Of Faith although you fiound those generic you did enjoy them.

I'm pretty sure you're confusing me with someone else. I've never found a Mikko Aspa project I even remotely liked. I haven't even listened to the band in many years.


Okay, DSO is not his project but he is part of it.
Don't you like Stabat Mater and Fleshpress?

But of course supposed to talk about the okay OP
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.12.2011 at 03:48  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.12.2011 at 03:44


Okay, DSO is not his project but he is part of it.
Don't you like Stabat Mater and Fleshpress?

But of course supposed to talk about the okay OP

Haha, you remember imaginary conversations we had but you don't remember real ones we did have. Go check the Stabat Mater album thread for how I feel about Aspa and his bands ;] and yeah DsO would be just as great if he wasn't part of the band.
Slinky666 - 01.12.2011 at 06:17  
In my opinion, this album sounds like a try-out but some like it so I won't say more.
Troy Killjoy - 01.12.2011 at 06:20  
Written by Guest on 01.12.2011 at 06:17
In my opinion, this album sounds like a try-out

What do you mean by that? You think it sounds like a demo?
Mikyz - 01.12.2011 at 15:12  
In the same vein as their last album but somewhat less accessible. I prefer their last album but this one is great as well, it has some kind of a drone feel, there's a lot of repetition of the same guitar lines. Good review, describes the album very well.
Mr. Doctor - 01.12.2011 at 21:54  
Written by Mikyz on 01.12.2011 at 15:12
I prefer their last album but this one is great as well


Lol que?
Anyway: I really liked this album... Less accesible but at it's also because they dared to do other things which resulted in some very interesting moments.. Just as good as the first album imo. it's just kind of sad that the last track is just one long ambient track.
IronAngel - 02.12.2011 at 02:52  
I didn't think this was less accessible than the debut. The production was more pleasant, and this had a certain laid-back, hypnotic groove that appealed to me. Repetition is my thing, and Kosmonument is somehow warm and comforting. Like a black metal lullaby, to be honest!
Troy Killjoy - 02.12.2011 at 03:01  
Written by IronAngel on 02.12.2011 at 02:52
I didn't think this was less accessible than the debut.

Agreed. I actually found its hypnotic psychedelic funk factor much more inviting. It's almost got a warm/fuzzy feel to it.
Mr. Doctor - 02.12.2011 at 03:17  
Written by IronAngel on 02.12.2011 at 02:52
I didn't think this was less accessible than the debut.


My comments goes to the fact that this album features far more ambient influences (there's two track of just ambient stuff... either you like them or you don't) and the moments of full black metal tracks are definitely more intense than the debut which was clearly a more "fun" record.

Repetition is also a factor that some people don't appreciate that much, I myself love it but it's obvious that this album is more repetitive than the debut, therefore harder to get into for someone new to it. There are far more people not into repetition in music than those who are into it.
Troy Killjoy - 02.12.2011 at 03:20  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.12.2011 at 03:17
definitely more intense than the debut which was clearly a more "fun" record.

Disagree. I actually think the opposite, with this album being the "fun" album and the debut being more abstract and challenging.

Both of them have their pros and cons and are obviously similar, but the subtle differences make for pleasant disagreements such as this.

I'd say that's the mark of a band doing a good job of keeping it fresh and interesting.
Mr. Doctor - 02.12.2011 at 03:22  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.12.2011 at 03:20
Disagree. I actually think the opposite, with this album being the "fun" album and the debut being more abstract and challenging.


It goes under the definition of fun obviously but it goes without saying that a track like Uusi Olento Nousee is FAR more agressive than any track from the debut.
Troy Killjoy - 02.12.2011 at 03:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.12.2011 at 03:22
It goes under the definition of fun obviously but it goes without saying that a track like Uusi Olento Nousee is FAR more agressive than any track from the debut.

Aggressive, sure. But that doesn't immediately equate to a decrease in the accessibility department. At least not for me. I mean, I consider a lot of raw black metal easy to get into and that is usually far more aggressive stuff than say, melodic atmospheric stuff like Sun of the Blind or Darkspace.
Mr. Doctor - 02.12.2011 at 03:27  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.12.2011 at 03:25
But that doesn't immediately equate to a decrease in the accessibility department.


*sigh' Of course not Troy... I'm just talking about people who aren't really into black. If I had to present both albums to someone who isn't too keen on black metal I'll bet my house they'll find the debut easier to digest as I already tried with some folks.

There's nothing challenging about the debut to me, this one with far more ambient and therefore more abstract sounds just check the last song, not many will care about it if they aren't already into ambient... Still not really challenging but like I said before (maybe I should have said that earlier), on a n00b-level, this is less accessible than the debut.
Troy Killjoy - 02.12.2011 at 03:30  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.12.2011 at 03:27
Still not really challenging but like I said before (maybe I should have said that earlier), on a n00b-level, this is less accessible than the debut.

Nope, I totally get what you're saying. I think I see this as easier to get into because personally I find ambient black metal easy to get into.

On the whole, ya I'd probably agree that the debut probably has more "mass appeal" than this one.
Mr. Doctor - 02.12.2011 at 03:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.12.2011 at 03:30
"mass appeal"


Yeah, that was the word I should have used in the beginning. Fucking languages how do they work?!
Merchant of Doom - 02.12.2011 at 12:01  
I loved their debut... I will give this one a go too!
Czerny Reiter - 02.12.2011 at 20:28  
I found the debut superior but have come to warm up to this release since I first got it. This one has a slightly more opressive atmosphere whereas the previous one was light and flightier (or "fun", if you will). Will have to continue listening to better form an opinion, but I encourage you all to check their half of the 2010 split, I love the guitar-heavy theme of those tracks.
Troy Killjoy - 02.12.2011 at 21:21  
Written by Czerny Reiter on 02.12.2011 at 20:28
I encourage you all to check their half of the 2010 split...

With Candy Cane? That's a total mindfuck of a split.
R'Vannith - 03.12.2011 at 15:36  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.12.2011 at 03:27

Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.12.2011 at 03:25
But that doesn't immediately equate to a decrease in the accessibility department.


*sigh' Of course not Troy... I'm just talking about people who aren't really into black. If I had to present both albums to someone who isn't too keen on black metal I'll bet my house they'll find the debut easier to digest as I already tried with some folks.


I actually found this one more accessible (save for the first half of that 'Uusi olento nousee' track) but that might be because I've heard their debut. I suppose if you're at least slightly familiar with some form of psychedelic music you might find this more 'easy going' than other Black metal.
Mr. Doctor - 03.12.2011 at 15:40  
Written by R'Vannith on 03.12.2011 at 15:36
I actually found this one more accessible (save for the first half of that 'Uusi olento nousee' track) but that might be because I've heard their debut.


I own their debut.
I'm comparing albums on a more massive scale. This album has a harsher sound and more emphasis on ambient which a lot of people would find hard to digest specially comparing it to the debut which is a more "chill-out" record. I'm not talking about personal experience as I love both cds. Just commenting of how I've seen people not much into BM commenting on both albums where the debut got better comments.
R'Vannith - 03.12.2011 at 15:45  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.12.2011 at 15:40

Written by R'Vannith on 03.12.2011 at 15:36
I actually found this one more accessible (save for the first half of that 'Uusi olento nousee' track) but that might be because I've heard their debut.


I own their debut.
I'm comparing albums on a more massive scale. This album has a harsher sound and more emphasis on ambient which a lot of people would find hard to digest specially comparing it to the debut which is a more "chill-out" record. I'm not talking about personal experience as I love both cds. Just commenting of how I've seen people not much into BM commenting on both albums where the debut got better comments.


Ah I see what you mean, I agree about the description of their first album as 'chill-out'. There is a bit of that here too but this one's definitely more demanding on the old attention span. Not sure I'd say it's harsher though.
Mr. Doctor - 03.12.2011 at 16:25  
Written by R'Vannith on 03.12.2011 at 15:45
Not sure I'd say it's harsher though.


Yeah, you're right on that. I'm using the term "harsh" in the most mainstream meaning possible which shouldn't really apply with you discuss black metal I guess I talked just about ONE song (Uusi Olento Nousee, which I find it hard to get into for some reason) on the whole album so the arguments gets lost there.
R'Vannith - 03.12.2011 at 17:00  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.12.2011 at 16:25

Written by R'Vannith on 03.12.2011 at 15:45
Not sure I'd say it's harsher though.


Yeah, you're right on that. I'm using the term "harsh" in the most mainstream meaning possible which shouldn't really apply with you discuss black metal I guess I talked just about ONE song (Uusi Olento Nousee, which I find it hard to get into for some reason) on the whole album so the arguments gets lost there.


Same here with that track, although it's the first 2 minutes or so I find difficult to digest. It's got that sound I've encountered elsewhere from Black metal that I just can't enjoy, kind of just leaves me blank.
Frank Sinistra - 04.12.2011 at 04:40  
This is good but i prefer muukulainen puhuu (is it correct?) than this
my personal opinion is this record is easier to digest than their previous effort, but it didn't manage to impress me the way their last effort did
but still a good enough album to listen to
Apothecary - 04.12.2011 at 18:15  
Nice review, these guys have definitely become one of the newer bands I've been keeping a close eye on. Very unique and distinct sound, me likey
Boxcar Willy - 18.07.2012 at 19:10  
Cool stuff, Need to finish the whole thing though.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Oranssi Pazuzu - Kosmonument 6 01.09.2011 by strade
Albums Oranssi Pazuzu - Muukalainen Puhuu 4.5 06.10.2013 by mz
News Oranssi Pazuzu - New Album In October 4.5 31.07.2013 by Array
News Oranssi Pazuzu - New Album Streaming In Full 4.5 04.10.2013 by Vombatus
News Oranssi Pazuzu - Streaming New Song 4.5 28.08.2013 by !J.O.O.E.!



Hits total: 4145 | This month: 3