John Haughm - +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13" review



Reviewer:
8.3

11 users:
7.82
Band: John Haughm
Album: +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13"
Release date: September 2011


01. + 46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13"


Agalloch front man John Haughm has gone rogue.

Back in September he released this single, +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13", via Anthem Records - which can be streamed and purchased here exclusively.

Being only five-and-a-half minutes in length, it's incredibly difficult to describe what's going on, especially considering how minimalistic a song it is. It's an experimental/ambient style that reflects a natural phenomenon (as depicted in the mesmerizing cover art) with an element of spirituality, something not uncommon in an Agalloch album. Being a spiritually-charged release, you're bound to get a spiritually-charged review. Here she goes.

+46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13" is a sonic escape into another world - one of colorful hallucinations, rich textures, somber skies, endless meadows... a world filled with the light and beauty utterly lacking in the day-to-day grind we've all become slaves to. This song is a statement, something to capture the essence of man's struggle to co-exist with something that predates our very existence: nature. The simplicity demands your attention and buries the question deep within your sub-conscience: What is our purpose?

Musically, there are some interesting artistic effects going on here, reminiscent of Alan Parsons' A Valid Path with its combination of electronic and pop music, that build a euphoric atmosphere for the listener to bathe in and totally lose themselves to reality. You can almost feel the branches on the trees reaching towards the sun in the sky as the simple melody drenches your soul with redemption and knowledge. You begin to understand the logic behind the co-existence. All questions become answers.

John Haughm has certainly proven he knows more than just screams and growls with his work in Agalloch. This solo effort only serves to portray yet another dimension of his mind. And if you let it, this simple five-minute single can add yet another dimension to yours.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 05.12.2011 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 76   Visited by: 317 users
05.12.2011 - 01:37
malaikat


BTW, how's that guitar effect/technique called? I enjoy it very much, and always love to hear it (Agalloch used it on the last album on "Black Lake" and "Ghosts"; as well as Cynic and some kraut-rock bands), but I don't know what's its name.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 01:40
Carl Berg
Carl Berg
Now this is interesting. A side-project from the Agalloch mainman and I haven't heard about it? Hope there still are some copies left to order. Excellent review as well.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 01:55
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Sounds like their might be some Thomas Köner worship going on by that song title and the style described (well, aside from the melody). Sounds very "me" anyway.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 02:34
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by malaikat on 05.12.2011 at 01:37
BTW, how's that guitar effect/technique called?

Unfortunately I honestly don't know. I wish I did though. Then I could look for similar artists that utilize it.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 02:35
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Carl Berg on 05.12.2011 at 01:40
Now this is interesting. A side-project from the Agalloch mainman and I haven't heard about it? Hope there still are some copies left to order. Excellent review as well.

The publicist from the label said there's still enough to go around.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 02:36
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 05.12.2011 at 01:55
Sounds like their might be some Thomas Köner worship going on by that song title and the style described (well, aside from the melody). Sounds very "me" anyway.

I don't know the name Thomas Köner off-hand, but the Bandcamp page mentioned other similar outfits than Haughm took inspiration from (which I added to the album's additional info). Not sure if you've heard of any of those, but I definitely thought of you when I first heard this.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 02:42
malaikat
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.12.2011 at 02:34

Unfortunately I honestly don't know. I wish I did though. Then I could look for similar artists that utilize it.


Damn shame :/

If it helps you, these guys used it quite a bit in their ambiental albums ("Inventions For Electric Guitar" is entirely made with that sound/effect/technique) - well, more than your average band at least:

Loading...
05.12.2011 - 02:45
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by malaikat on 05.12.2011 at 02:42
If it helps you, these guys used it quite a bit in their ambiental albums ("Inventions For Electric Guitar" is entirely made with that sound/effect/technique)...

Thanks! I'll be sure to investigate into that world more in the coming weeks.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 03:00
strade
Anything the man touches is a masterpiece.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 03:01
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by strade on 05.12.2011 at 03:00
Anything the man touches is a masterpiece.

I'm beginning to think that. Even his worst stuff can be considered good.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 03:05
strade
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.12.2011 at 03:01

Written by strade on 05.12.2011 at 03:00
Anything the man touches is a masterpiece.

I'm beginning to think that. Even his worst stuff can be considered good.


Yep. Just bought. Ah, my third 7" of the year after Thorn (Enslaved) and Autre Temps (Alcest). I love 'em.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 03:14
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by strade on 05.12.2011 at 03:05
Yep. Just bought.

Awesome. I know Jon (from Anthem Records) and John (the artist) will appreciate it.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 03:18
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Awesome review. I love the music. Considering to buy it
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 03:19
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Ag Fox on 05.12.2011 at 03:18
Awesome review. I love the music. Considering to buy it

Even though I'm literally dirt poor, I think I might splurge.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 05:24
Chobo_jokeR
A nice review for a nice song. Well done.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 05:32
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Chobo_jokeR on 05.12.2011 at 05:24
A nice review for a nice song. Well done.

Thanks.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 06:49
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Sweet song. Sounds like something straight out of the 80's. XD
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 06:59
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
Fortunately, he won't be rogue for long, he gave us his coordinates after all.
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 07:01
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by LeChron James on 05.12.2011 at 06:59
Fortunately, he won't be rogue for long, he gave us his coordinates after all.

When I Google the album title I get the geographical location of stars and earthquakes. :/
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 07:06
silenius
Beautiful song, started drooling while listening to it, wich is always a good sign!^^ ordering it now.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 07:08
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by silenius on 05.12.2011 at 07:06
Beautiful song, started drooling while listening to it, wich is always a good sign!^^ ordering it now.

Glad to hear you enjoyed it. I was honestly a little worried I'd be the only one.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 08:25
Cyroth
Great stuff
----
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 09:06
PocketMetal
Thanks for the review , there was 0% chance I could find this thing on my own .
I kinda worship agalloch xD
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 09:09
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by PocketMetal on 05.12.2011 at 09:06
Thanks for the review , there was 0% chance I could find this thing on my own .
I kinda worship agalloch xD

No problem. It's amazing how this has seemingly flown under everyone's radar, including my own. Considering the man behind the music you'd think the internet would have worked its magic and we'd be talking about this since September.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 10:16
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Very good five and a half minutes slow soothing song. My perspicacity blows an Incredible!!! on this song. Good listen while sleeping.
----
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 10:40
Milena
Learning To "X"
From the album description: Described as "lush melodic, and beautifully improvised guitar experiments that are sonically and spiritually aligned with originators of such ambiance such as Manuel Gottsching, Tangerine Dream, or Popol Vuh, and contemporary practitioners such as Burning Star Core, Oneohtrix Point Never, or Emeralds."

It's like, "let's name some of the stuff you probably haven't heard of to send a subliminal message how the artist is mighty and cool and you're an ignorant." He is cool though. Just hate when people write stuff like that.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 11:15
elseif
Good find.
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 11:33
Angel_Lament
Coool, gotta try it!
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 13:06
Merchant of Doom
Reminds me of Philips Glass in his "repetitive" phase... Not my cup of tea or my type of music, so I will abstain from commenting for once!
Loading...
05.12.2011 - 13:18
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Milena on 05.12.2011 at 10:40

From the album description: Described as "lush melodic, and beautifully improvised guitar experiments that are sonically and spiritually aligned with originators of such ambiance such as Manuel Gottsching, Tangerine Dream, or Popol Vuh, and contemporary practitioners such as Burning Star Core, Oneohtrix Point Never, or Emeralds."

It's like, "let's name some of the stuff you probably haven't heard of to send a subliminal message how the artist is mighty and cool and you're an ignorant." He is cool though. Just hate when people write stuff like that.

Not in the slightest. You're thinking in a very Metal-centric manner. Don't assume this is exclusively marketed at such an audience. Tangerine Dream, Emeralds and Burning Star Core, and probably some of the others, are well established names in their fields. Just because someone lives on a diet of a few tropes of metal styles doesn't instantly vilify alien-sounding artists as fodder for "coolness". It's not his fault if he's writing about stuff you've never heard of. To him they may be day-to-day thoughts and occurrences like "x-prog metal band" might be to you.
Loading...

Hits total: 6771 | This month: 2