Rating:
8.3
John Haughm - +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13" [Single]
20 September 2011


01. + 46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13"


Available as an impeccably mastered one-sided 7" vinyl record, pressed on white vinyl and contained in packaging with exhaustive information detailing the natural phenomenon depicted on the cover, in a hand-stamped and numbered edition of 500 copies.

Described as "lush melodic, and beautifully improvised guitar experiments that are sonically and spiritually aligned with originators of such ambiance such as Manuel Gottsching, Tangerine Dream, or Popol Vuh, and contemporary practitioners such as Burning Star Core, Oneohtrix Point Never, or Emeralds."


Agalloch front man John Haughm has gone rogue.

Back in September he released this single, +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13", via Anthem Records - which can be streamed and purchased here exclusively.

Being only five-and-a-half minutes in length, it's incredibly difficult to describe what's going on, especially considering how minimalistic a song it is. It's an experimental/ambient style that reflects a natural phenomenon (as depicted in the mesmerizing cover art) with an element of spirituality, something not uncommon in an Agalloch album. Being a spiritually-charged release, you're bound to get a spiritually-charged review. Here she goes.

+46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13" is a sonic escape into another world - one of colorful hallucinations, rich textures, somber skies, endless meadows... a world filled with the light and beauty utterly lacking in the day-to-day grind we've all become slaves to. This song is a statement, something to capture the essence of man's struggle to co-exist with something that predates our very existence: nature. The simplicity demands your attention and buries the question deep within your sub-conscience: What is our purpose?

Musically, there are some interesting artistic effects going on here, reminiscent of Alan Parsons' A Valid Path with its combination of electronic and pop music, that build a euphoric atmosphere for the listener to bathe in and totally lose themselves to reality. You can almost feel the branches on the trees reaching towards the sun in the sky as the simple melody drenches your soul with redemption and knowledge. You begin to understand the logic behind the co-existence. All questions become answers.

John Haughm has certainly proven he knows more than just screams and growls with his work in Agalloch. This solo effort only serves to portray yet another dimension of his mind. And if you let it, this simple five-minute single can add yet another dimension to yours.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 05.12.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 76  
Users visited: 304  
Search this topic:  


malaikat - 05.12.2011 at 01:37  


BTW, how's that guitar effect/technique called? I enjoy it very much, and always love to hear it (Agalloch used it on the last album on "Black Lake" and "Ghosts"; as well as Cynic and some kraut-rock bands), but I don't know what's its name.
Carl Berg - 05.12.2011 at 01:40  
Now this is interesting. A side-project from the Agalloch mainman and I haven't heard about it? Hope there still are some copies left to order. Excellent review as well.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.12.2011 at 01:55  
Sounds like their might be some Thomas Köner worship going on by that song title and the style described (well, aside from the melody). Sounds very "me" anyway.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 02:34  
Written by malaikat on 05.12.2011 at 01:37
BTW, how's that guitar effect/technique called?

Unfortunately I honestly don't know. I wish I did though. Then I could look for similar artists that utilize it.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 02:35  
Written by Carl Berg on 05.12.2011 at 01:40
Now this is interesting. A side-project from the Agalloch mainman and I haven't heard about it? Hope there still are some copies left to order. Excellent review as well.

The publicist from the label said there's still enough to go around.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 02:36  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.12.2011 at 01:55
Sounds like their might be some Thomas Köner worship going on by that song title and the style described (well, aside from the melody). Sounds very "me" anyway.

I don't know the name Thomas Köner off-hand, but the Bandcamp page mentioned other similar outfits than Haughm took inspiration from (which I added to the album's additional info). Not sure if you've heard of any of those, but I definitely thought of you when I first heard this.
malaikat - 05.12.2011 at 02:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.12.2011 at 02:34

Unfortunately I honestly don't know. I wish I did though. Then I could look for similar artists that utilize it.


Damn shame :/

If it helps you, these guys used it quite a bit in their ambiental albums ("Inventions For Electric Guitar" is entirely made with that sound/effect/technique) - well, more than your average band at least:

Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 02:45  
Written by malaikat on 05.12.2011 at 02:42
If it helps you, these guys used it quite a bit in their ambiental albums ("Inventions For Electric Guitar" is entirely made with that sound/effect/technique)...

Thanks! I'll be sure to investigate into that world more in the coming weeks.
strade - 05.12.2011 at 03:00  
Anything the man touches is a masterpiece.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 03:01  
Written by strade on 05.12.2011 at 03:00
Anything the man touches is a masterpiece.

I'm beginning to think that. Even his worst stuff can be considered good.
strade - 05.12.2011 at 03:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.12.2011 at 03:01

Written by strade on 05.12.2011 at 03:00
Anything the man touches is a masterpiece.

I'm beginning to think that. Even his worst stuff can be considered good.


Yep. Just bought. Ah, my third 7" of the year after Thorn (Enslaved) and Autre Temps (Alcest). I love 'em.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 03:14  
Written by strade on 05.12.2011 at 03:05
Yep. Just bought.

Awesome. I know Jon (from Anthem Records) and John (the artist) will appreciate it.
Ag Fox - 05.12.2011 at 03:18  
Awesome review. I love the music. Considering to buy it
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 03:19  
Written by Ag Fox on 05.12.2011 at 03:18
Awesome review. I love the music. Considering to buy it

Even though I'm literally dirt poor, I think I might splurge.
Chobo_jokeR - 05.12.2011 at 05:24  
A nice review for a nice song. Well done.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 05:32  
Written by Chobo_jokeR on 05.12.2011 at 05:24
A nice review for a nice song. Well done.

Thanks.
Fat & Sassy! - 05.12.2011 at 06:49  
Sweet song. Sounds like something straight out of the 80's. XD
LeChron James - 05.12.2011 at 06:59  
Fortunately, he won't be rogue for long, he gave us his coordinates after all.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 07:01  
Written by LeChron James on 05.12.2011 at 06:59
Fortunately, he won't be rogue for long, he gave us his coordinates after all.

When I Google the album title I get the geographical location of stars and earthquakes. :/
silenius - 05.12.2011 at 07:06  
Beautiful song, started drooling while listening to it, wich is always a good sign!^^ ordering it now.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 07:08  
Written by silenius on 05.12.2011 at 07:06
Beautiful song, started drooling while listening to it, wich is always a good sign!^^ ordering it now.

Glad to hear you enjoyed it. I was honestly a little worried I'd be the only one.
Întunecatul - 05.12.2011 at 08:25  
Great stuff
PocketMetal - 05.12.2011 at 09:06  
Thanks for the review , there was 0% chance I could find this thing on my own .
I kinda worship agalloch xD
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 09:09  
Written by PocketMetal on 05.12.2011 at 09:06
Thanks for the review , there was 0% chance I could find this thing on my own .
I kinda worship agalloch xD

No problem. It's amazing how this has seemingly flown under everyone's radar, including my own. Considering the man behind the music you'd think the internet would have worked its magic and we'd be talking about this since September.
Cynic Metalhead - 05.12.2011 at 10:16  
Very good five and a half minutes slow soothing song. My perspicacity blows an Incredible!!! on this song. Good listen while sleeping.
Milena - 05.12.2011 at 10:40  
From the album description: Described as "lush melodic, and beautifully improvised guitar experiments that are sonically and spiritually aligned with originators of such ambiance such as Manuel Gottsching, Tangerine Dream, or Popol Vuh, and contemporary practitioners such as Burning Star Core, Oneohtrix Point Never, or Emeralds."

It's like, "let's name some of the stuff you probably haven't heard of to send a subliminal message how the artist is mighty and cool and you're an ignorant." He is cool though. Just hate when people write stuff like that.
elseif - 05.12.2011 at 11:15  
Good find.
Angel_Lament - 05.12.2011 at 11:33  
Coool, gotta try it!
Merchant of Doom - 05.12.2011 at 13:06  
Reminds me of Philips Glass in his "repetitive" phase... Not my cup of tea or my type of music, so I will abstain from commenting for once!
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.12.2011 at 13:18  
Written by Milena on 05.12.2011 at 10:40

From the album description: Described as "lush melodic, and beautifully improvised guitar experiments that are sonically and spiritually aligned with originators of such ambiance such as Manuel Gottsching, Tangerine Dream, or Popol Vuh, and contemporary practitioners such as Burning Star Core, Oneohtrix Point Never, or Emeralds."

It's like, "let's name some of the stuff you probably haven't heard of to send a subliminal message how the artist is mighty and cool and you're an ignorant." He is cool though. Just hate when people write stuff like that.

Not in the slightest. You're thinking in a very Metal-centric manner. Don't assume this is exclusively marketed at such an audience. Tangerine Dream, Emeralds and Burning Star Core, and probably some of the others, are well established names in their fields. Just because someone lives on a diet of a few tropes of metal styles doesn't instantly vilify alien-sounding artists as fodder for "coolness". It's not his fault if he's writing about stuff you've never heard of. To him they may be day-to-day thoughts and occurrences like "x-prog metal band" might be to you.
Milena - 05.12.2011 at 13:44  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.12.2011 at 13:18

Not in the slightest. You're thinking in a very Metal-centric manner. Don't assume this is exclusively marketed at such an audience. Tangerine Dream, Emeralds and Burning Star Core, and probably some of the others, are well established names in their fields. Just because someone lives on a diet of a few tropes of metal styles doesn't instantly vilify alien-sounding artists as fodder for "coolness". It's not his fault if he's writing about stuff you've never heard of. To him they may be day-to-day thoughts and occurrences like "x-prog metal band" might be to you.

I was more thinking about the manner of writing, as in screaming "I'm in a niche, I'm in a niche!", because you can't deny that, even if those are very familiar names in their fields, it still is a reasonably small field. It sends a message of "this is not for you, get off my playground." Though, this is all coming from a girl who imagines words as little people with all kinds of features, moving along their merry ways and arguing, so I might be slightly out of line

Not that I'm against this, I think it's a wonderful idea. It's very amusing to think that, while we argue about the finesses of metal genres and the prowess of certain artists on this and similar forums, there are people out there who couldn't tell doom metal apart from death metal, metalhead from a goth and who'd be quite baffled to be present at even one metal gig or metalheads' gathering. It only occurred to me in the past few months that there is a myriad of other genres completely out the "mainstream's" grasp as well. Maybe we should all have some tea and rock out together, so a metal artist doing a piece of experimental music certainly gets kudos from me.
jupitreas - 05.12.2011 at 13:49  
Actually, way more people know about Tangerine Dream (a completely legendary band that had an impact on more genres than I can name) than most black metal bands. Ambient music is nothing new and its also nothing new for metal musicians to tackle this style.
Milena - 05.12.2011 at 13:54  
Written by jupitreas on 05.12.2011 at 13:49

Actually, way more people know about Tangerine Dream (a completely legendary band that had an impact on more genres than I can name) than most black metal bands. Ambient music is nothing new and its also nothing new for metal musicians to tackle this style.

Yeah, they're the only band out of this bunch I've heard of, so I guess that's the case with a lot of people. And mind you, although it's "nothing new" to people who follow the underground circles, there's quite a few metalheads and other alternative music lovers who still haven't heard the impact on this genre on their most beloved type of music. I still haven't figured out where is the line that separates "music with ambiance" and purely ambient music.
Introspekrieg - 05.12.2011 at 13:57  
Written by jupitreas on 05.12.2011 at 13:49

Actually, way more people know about Tangerine Dream (a completely legendary band that had an impact on more genres than I can name) than most black metal bands. Ambient music is nothing new and its also nothing new for metal musicians to tackle this style.


Yes, I don't know many black metal bands that have done music for Tom Cruise films.
Mr. Doctor - 05.12.2011 at 19:07  
Pretty sweet stuff though, I almost wanted to buy it but meh, it's vinyl so I would buy it and couldn't play it

Edit: Fuck it, the artwork is cute so I'm going to buy it. It's cheap.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 19:45  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.12.2011 at 19:07
Edit: Fuck it, the artwork is cute so I'm going to buy it. It's cheap.

Happy to hear you caved.
Mr. Doctor - 05.12.2011 at 19:53  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.12.2011 at 19:45

Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.12.2011 at 19:07
Edit: Fuck it, the artwork is cute so I'm going to buy it. It's cheap.

Happy to hear you caved.


Yeah, when I read the part that said "when you buy the vinyl you get a download link" all my doubts went away.
Now just hoping my copy will arrive fine. I'm quite the pessimistic fuck so I just can't wait to get it.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 19:54  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.12.2011 at 19:53
I'm quite the pessimistic fuck so I just can't wait to get it.

Did you read the description of what's inside? It looks like a really sweet package when all's said and done, especially for such a low price. For a hand-numbered limited edition solo single from John Haughm. It doesn't get much better than that.
Mr. Doctor - 05.12.2011 at 20:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.12.2011 at 19:54
Did you read the description of what's inside? It looks like a really sweet package when all's said and done, especially for such a low price. For a hand-numbered limited edition solo single from John Haughm. It doesn't get much better than that.


It's pretty nice for the price although I can't stop laughing at the fact that it costs me more the shipping than the single itself.
Slayer666 - 05.12.2011 at 20:36  
A 300 word review for 5 minutes of music. Well done, Troy, you've outdone yourself.
Troy Killjoy - 05.12.2011 at 20:38  
Written by Slayer666 on 05.12.2011 at 20:36
A 300 word review for 5 minutes of music. Well done, Troy, you've outdone yourself.

Thanks! I was honestly surprised at how much I was able to write about one 5-minute song. I guess it practically wrote itself.
Merchant of Doom - 06.12.2011 at 00:34  
Now, let's get a grip. It's pretty decent, but it's something we already heard in the '70s... (yes, I'm old), so, I don't really see the point of it. Or, yes, he is entitled to revisit some old crap, but just don't get your violins out...
Troy Killjoy - 06.12.2011 at 00:43  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.12.2011 at 00:34
Now, let's get a grip.

So much for not commenting. >>

I don't think anyone needs to get a grip to be honest. It's a very good single from a musician who has obviously stepped out of what he's renowned for. My rating isn't too high (at least I don't think it is) and the majority of people here think of it as a beautiful song. It's not like this is receiving the same kind of attention Wintersun did with their debut.
Merchant of Doom - 06.12.2011 at 10:10  
Yes, I wasn't going to comment, but I just can't believe that such a derivative piece of music is getting so much praise. Yes, it's a good "song", 35 years too late. Now, Mr Haughm can revisit all he likes, stepping out of his usual boundaries, but it's still something pretty boring, unless you like to be hypnotized.
Troy Killjoy - 06.12.2011 at 10:16  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.12.2011 at 10:10
...but it's still something pretty boring, unless you like to be hypnotized.

Ignoring the word song in quotes... I'd say it looks like a lot of people enjoy being hypnotized then.
Saeed_P - 06.12.2011 at 10:17  
Cant believe that! it was the biggest surprise for me to see this topic!
and also its great!
Troy Killjoy - 06.12.2011 at 10:18  
Written by Saeed_P on 06.12.2011 at 10:17
Cant believe that! it was the biggest surprise for me to see this topic!
and also its great!

I was surprised when I received the review request in my inbox.

I was like... John Haughm? Solo project? Ambient music? Color me excited.
Saeed_P - 06.12.2011 at 10:29  

so screwy! i think someone who pm you to write a request knew that you know you'r stuff !
+1
its seems just an ambient music. i hope the rest of tracks be a more metal than this.:)
Troy Killjoy - 06.12.2011 at 10:31  
Written by Saeed_P on 06.12.2011 at 10:29
so screwy! i think someone who pm you to write a request knew that you know you'r stuff !
its seems just an ambient music. i hope the rest of tracks be a more metal than this.:)

Well it's nice to feel like you've got some knowledge sometimes.

As for releasing metal material, I highly doubt he'll be doing that with his solo project. He's already got Agalloch to vent his metal creativity; I think this is designed to help him release some more of his artistic thoughts that wouldn't be suitable for the sound of Agalloch.
Saeed_P - 06.12.2011 at 10:39  
Maybe you're right. and this genre is going to be awesome ; but we know many artist and band that performs this kind of music! (ex: Voidwork) i expected more than this from haughm even in this particular genre ( that is so sensitive to peform in its best way)
sorry for my bad english, english is not my native (original) language.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Benevolent - The Covenant 4.5 22.03.2014 by mz
Reviews Scar Symmetry - The Unseen Empire 4.5 14.11.2011 by J. N.
Reviews Alcest - Les voyages de l'âme 4.5 05.01.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Azaghal - Nemesis 4.5 29.03.2012 by 3rdWorld
Reviews Holodomor - Témoignages de la Gnose Terrestre 4.5 11.07.2012 by Alex Fenger



Hits total: 5095 | This month: 68