Metal Storm logo
Elegy - Biography




1986 The first demo "Metricide" is recorded.

1988 After recording the second demo "Better Than Bells" the band tours with King Diamond and Angelwitch.

1989 Line-up change: Ed Warby (drums) and Eduard Hovings (vocals) join the band and together they record their third demo "The Elegant Solution".

1993 At a talent search the band wins the recording of their debut album "Labyrinth Of Dreams" and gets their first label deal with Shark Records.

1994 Another line-up change: Dirk Bruinenberg replaces Ed Warby and Gilbert Pot (guit) joins the band. They record their second

album "Supremacy", which is released in the spring of '94, and Elegy tour with bands such as Annihilator, Phantom Blue, The Gathering and Gorefest.

1995 The thirdd album "Lost" is released in the summer of '95 and receives great reviews. Eduard Hovinga (voc) and Gilbert Pot (guit) leave the band just before the tour with Yngwie Malmsteen is supposed to start.

1996 Ian Parry (voc), formerly of Hammerhead, Mono Pacific, Airrace, joins the band. With more than 10 years of experience, a

successful solo career and a brilliant voice that spans more than three octaves he is the perfect replacement. The band records the EP "Primal Instinct", which is released in the summer of '96.

1997 In May the album "State Of Mind" is released and Elegy supports Stratovarius during a very successful European tour.

1999 Line-up change: Chris Allister (keys) joins the band and in August the concept album "Manifestation Of Fear" is released. In September '98 Elegy tours with the US Metal band Kamelot.

2000 The album "The Forbidden Fruit" is recorded, to be released on September 18th, 2000. Patrick Rondat (guitar), formerly of Jean Michel Jarre, joins the band. Chris Allister (keys) and Henk Van der Laars (guitar) leave the band.

Elegy's new album is all about man's urge and many weaknesses existing over thousands of years in search of the ultimate "Forbidden Fruit". Elegy has consciously put together a masterpiece of metalized musical explosions, in a melancholic madness, to grip our attention, awaking senses we never even realized exist.

Featuring their new guitarist ex-Jean Michel Jarre axeman Frenchman Patrick Rondat, the album was recorded in Excess Studio in Rotterdam along with Günter Werno (Vanden Plas) who participated as guest musician.