Metal Storm logo
Morgion - Biography



Morgion was formed in 1990, stemming from influences such as Entombed, Autopsy and Paradise Lost. Originally formed by Rhett Davis, Dwayne Boardman and Jeremy Peto, Morgion was driven to compose memorably heavy music with original lyrical themes and songwriting to distinguish them from their contemporaries.

Morgion rehearsed for a full year in closed sessions before recording their five song debut demo "Rabid Decay", and supported the recording with numerous live shows throughout 1992. In 1993, Morgion recorded two tracks for "Travesty", a 7" release. In 1994 Morgion added Bobby Thomas and Ed Parker and began a new chapter by incorporating more melody and atmosphere. The band recorded nearly an hour of new demo material, which Relapse Records later released as the "Among Majestic Ruin" album. Two cover songs from the sessions appeared on Dwell Records' Celtic Frost Tribute ("Innocence and Wrath" and "The Usurper"). Both Thomas and Parker would eventually leave the band, both being replaced by Gary Griffith.

In 1999 Morgion released their highly regarded "Solinari" album. This was their most ambitious recording yet, a perfect blend of heaviness and dark atmosphere. The high acclaim of "Solinari" proved to be a landmark in Morgion history.

The band has since gone through turbulent times with line-up changes and obstacles over the last few years, and many?including the band themselves?thought all was lost until their reformation in 2002. Both Boardman and Davis had previously gone their own ways for a period of time before returning to their calling. Determined to continue fresh without relying on past accomplishments, 2002 became the year of focus and change for the band as they began weeding out all negative elements. After months of strain and difference, Peto was permanently removed from the lineup, and Justin Christian was introduced to handle Bass duties. The band initiated a split from Relapse Records. No longer tied by obstacles, Morgion completed their writing of new material and embarked on the Doomination Of Europe 2003 Tour, in which Adrian Leroux (formally of Mindrot) helped contribute vocal duties.

In July of 2003, Morgion officially announced U.S. label Dark Symphonies as their new label partner, and began the process of recording the new album "Cloaked by Ages, Crowned in Earth" with Mathias Schneeberger ("Solinari") at the helm of production.

"Cloaked by Ages, Crowned in Earth" was released Tuesday, April 27, 2004.

Source: Morgion Official Website []