Metal Storm logo
Updates - reviews


Reviews
Diskord - Degenerations

It's been nearly a decade since the last Diskord album, and that decade still hasn't been able to untangle Diskord's music.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.08.2021 by RaduP | Comments (4)

Reviews
Unreqvited - Beautiful Ghosts

Funny how you can pick an album expecting it to be depressive black metal, and it turns out to be symphonic love-themed post-rock. The one-man band and the dead man's hand, and whatnot.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.08.2021 by Netzach | Comments (0)

Reviews
Leprous - Aphelion

Plenty of bands have taken stylistic directions that have lost them fans; fewer of them manage to win part of that lost fanbase back whilst continuing in the same direction. With Aphelion, Leprous may not convince everyone that was put off by Pitfalls, but they've at least got me back on board.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.08.2021 by musclassia | Comments (12)

Reviews
Hour Of 13 - Black Magick Rites

This is a record that was digitally released on November 1st, 2020, for just 24 hours. For those of you that missed it, Black Magick Rites is out on August 27th via Shadow Kingdom Records, the label that released the band's self-titled debut album back in 2007.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.08.2021 by nikarg | Comments (8)

Reviews
Act Of Denial - Negative

Given the various extreme metal backgrounds of the more prominent members of this supergroup, it's perhaps surprising that the sound leans so close to one of those backgrounds in particular, but at least they know how to perform that style well.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.08.2021 by musclassia | Comments (0)

Reviews
Ex Deo - The Thirteen Years Of Nero

Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears!

Read more ››
Posted: 23.08.2021 by omne metallum | Comments (5)

Reviews
Deafheaven - Infinite Granite

And just like that, the 'hipster black metal band' become merely the 'hipster band'.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2021 by musclassia | Comments (10)

Reviews
Lorna Shore - -And I Return To Nothingness

Deathcore and a Lewandowski cover. Where have I seen that before?

Read more ››
Posted: 21.08.2021 by RaduP | Comments (6)

Reviews
Burial In The Sky - The Consumed Self

It was about time for these saxophone tech death lads to finally live up to their potential.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.08.2021 by RaduP | Comments (4)

Reviews
Wolves In The Throne Room - Primordial Arcana

Back in my day, Wolves In The Throne Room only needed four tracks to be impressive!

Read more ››
Posted: 21.08.2021 by RaduP | Comments (10)

Reviews
Vouna - Atropos

Greeks do it better. And I am not biased.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.08.2021 by nikarg | Comments (8)

Reviews
Between The Buried And Me - Colors II

Even for a band with a history of album 'sequels', sticking 'II' on the end of your most celebrated album's title and making that the name of your new record is a bold move.

Read more ››
Posted: 19.08.2021 by musclassia | Comments (13)

Reviews
Tacoma Narrows Bridge Disaster - The World Inside

Nearly a decade ago Tacoma Narrows Bridge Disaster contacted me, requesting I review Exegesis. Back in the day I was a slut and pretty much said "Yes!" to any review request that made its way to my inbox. Burnt out on Post-It bands at the time I was blown away. Will I be again, nine years on with The World Inside?

Read more ››
Posted: 18.08.2021 by BitterCOld | Comments (7)

Reviews
Fractal Universe - The Impassable Horizon

If you thought for a moment that technical death required German precision, or American directness, or Canadian brutality, well, you would be right. However, the creativity of French people is not to be underestimated.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.08.2021 by Dream Taster | Comments (8)

Reviews
Paysage d'Hiver - Geister

If you thought that Paysage d'Hiver couldn't possibly come up with something different after last year's two-hour odyssey that was Im Wald, you wouldn't be completely wrong. Just not in the way you'd expect.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.08.2021 by X-Ray Rod | Comments (2)