Metal Storm logo
Darkspace - Dark Space III I review



Reviewer:
N/A

121 users:
8.18
Band: Darkspace
Album: Dark Space III I
Release date: September 2014


01. Dark 4.18
02. Dark 4.19
03. Dark 4.20


So, one of the biggest ambient black metal bands released their new album this year. Time to lose some words on that. Darkspace from Switzerland continue their journey through the dark space (no pun intended as it's the actual name of their albums) with Dark Space III I. And not only that but even the songs are simply called "Dark 4.18", "Dark 4.19" and "Dark 4.20". Looks like the band is quite out of ideas, doesn't it? However, the important point is the music, so let's have a closer look at that.

The band plays ambient black metal and though I'm no expert in this sub-genre I can say that it is more ambient than metal. So let's call it ambient music, made with synth sounds and chilling soundscapes. From this we can view upon the black metal parts as a mere addition to the atmosphere with other elements, namely guitars, bass, vocals and programmed drums. A few words should be used to describe the drums here. The band doesn't even try to make them sound like real ones, they are more of an ambient element and mostly build up a simple drum wall as background, which makes the other instruments sound harsher and the music overall colder.

As I said I'm not too familiar with the genre and I also didn't follow the band until this year. However, from my listening experience of Dark Space III I I would describe the music as some sort of sci-fi ambient with black metal elements. I didn't pay attention to the lyrics, yet there are some spoken phrases in the end of "Dark 4.20" that sound like a part of story with its plot somewhere in space. The end is quite a cliff-hanger and leaves the listener waiting for the next album. The music in general has great elements and building a huge atmosphere. As there are sounds of technical stuff here and then and this overall space-like sci-fi feeling, it is quite unfamiliar for the standard barbarian black metal fan. Maybe rather ambient fans are attracted to this music, yet I think it's quite easy to get into as it has a relaxing component which combines very well with the cold and eerie black metal parts.

To summarize, Darkspace deliver a very good album here, recommended for both black metal and ambient fans, though the latter ones may have an easier access to it. From the structure and story telling parts it seems as if it's part of some kind of saga that goes on for several albums, long year fans may forgive me if I'm wrong on that. Dark Space III I leaves a curious, yet satisfied feeling like a good movie with more parts to come. The music is cinematic and therefore great for anyone who has time to relax and let pictures in his head be built up by it. I really hope it won't be too long until the next album comes out.





Written on 13.12.2014 by "The future is not guaranteed, all we have is today.
And Today, we have Metal." - Karl Sanders


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 210 users
13.12.2014 - 19:21
Susan
Smeghead
Sounds like nice ambient/black metal until you said this:

"The music is cinematic and therefore great for anyone who has time to relax and let pictures in his head be built up by it."

Now I'm very excited to listen
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
13.12.2014 - 19:48
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
I knew you'd do a good job when I moved this one over to you
Pretty on point review, I would indeed say that this is one of their more ambient-heavy albums, but I like that a lot, it's always bugged me when a band gets labeled as "ambient black metal" when they only have like two or three moments of synth presence throughout an entire album. This one is pretty deserving of the hype, probably my favorite Darkspace up to now along with the debut.
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
13.12.2014 - 20:00
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Apothecary on 13.12.2014 at 19:48

I knew you'd do a good job when I moved this one over to you
Pretty on point review, I would indeed say that this is one of their more ambient-heavy albums, but I like that a lot, it's always bugged me when a band gets labeled as "ambient black metal" when they only have like two or three moments of synth presence throughout an entire album. This one is pretty deserving of the hype, probably my favorite Darkspace up to now along with the debut.

Ambient black metal doesn't have to any synth in to be ambient black. Velvet Cacoon were amongst the first wave of bands to "popularise" ambient black metal and they are largely devoid of anything like that. If the guitars produce enough fuzz or haze to create a certain atmosphere then that counts as ambient in my book.
Loading...
13.12.2014 - 20:05
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Guest on 13.12.2014 at 20:00

Ambient black metal doesn't have to any synth in to be ambient black. Velvet Cacoon were amongst the first wave of bands to "popularise" ambient black metal and they are largely devoid of anything like that. If the guitars produce enough fuzz or haze to create a certain atmosphere then that counts as ambient in my book.

And, as usual, you have to use the first opportunity you get to swoop down and correct about the specifics of labels. All I meant was that I don't like it when something's described as "ambient black metal" but doesn't really see to lean much towards the ambient end of things. That's all.
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
13.12.2014 - 20:07
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Apothecary on 13.12.2014 at 20:05

And, as usual, you have to use the first opportunity you get to swoop down and correct about the specifics of labels. All I meant was that I don't like it when something's described as "ambient black metal" but doesn't really see to lean much towards the ambient end of things. That's all.

I'm only going on what you said: "it's always bugged me when a band gets labeled as "ambient black metal" when they only have like two or three moments of synth presence throughout an entire album"

That implies that ambient bm requires synth, which is historically not true.
Loading...
13.12.2014 - 20:10
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Guest on 13.12.2014 at 20:07

I'm only going on what you said: "it's always bugged me when a band gets labeled as "ambient black metal" when they only have like two or three moments of synth presence throughout an entire album"

That implies that ambient bm requires synth, which is historically not true.

Ok, fine then man, change "synth" to "ambient" and everything should be kosher. I think we've all experienced instances of not wording things entirely the way we meant them to be interpreted.
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
13.12.2014 - 21:38
Lit.
Account deleted
I would've never have pieced together the thought of Darkspace being relaxing music.
Loading...
13.12.2014 - 23:23
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
One of the bands I never realy can get into it ... and ne of rare as well (in what I can get into it)
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
14.12.2014 - 00:35
Zap

Written by Guest on 13.12.2014 at 21:38

I would've never have pieced together the thought of Darkspace being relaxing music.

Yeah relaxing isn't really the first word that comes to mind. I mean I just think of a big, black, cold nothing while listening to Darkspace. That might be relaxing in its own way...
Written by Apothecary on 13.12.2014 at 20:10

I think we've all experienced instances of not wording things entirely the way we meant them to be interpreted.

I experience that every time I say or write anything at all.
----
And the tears that we will weep today
Will all be washed away
By the tears that we will weep again tomorrow
Loading...
14.12.2014 - 13:07
Windrider
Raureif
Written by Apothecary on 13.12.2014 at 19:48

I knew you'd do a good job when I moved this one over to you
Pretty on point review, I would indeed say that this is one of their more ambient-heavy albums, but I like that a lot, it's always bugged me when a band gets labeled as "ambient black metal" when they only have like two or three moments of synth presence throughout an entire album. This one is pretty deserving of the hype, probably my favorite Darkspace up to now along with the debut.

Thanks
Loading...
16.12.2014 - 11:18
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
I tried this, unfortunately I just didn't get it. Not shocking I suppose really. Excellent review and thanks.
----
rekt
Loading...
16.12.2014 - 14:57
BitterCOld
The Ancient One
I liked it, but much preferred the far more intense III. good write-up.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.

Beer Bug Virus Spotify Playlist crafted by Nikarg and I. Feel free to tune in and add some pertinent metal tunes!
Loading...
20.12.2014 - 20:41
drilltooth

Excellent release
Loading...

Hits total: 3569 | This month: 5