Metal Storm logo
Fates Warning - Theories Of Flight review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

220 users:
8.41
Band: Fates Warning
Album: Theories Of Flight
Release date: July 2016


Disc I
01. From The Rooftops
02. Seven Stars
03. SOS
04. The Light And Shade Of Things
05. White Flag
06. Like Stars Our Eyes Have Seen
07. The Ghosts Of Home
08. Theories Of Flight

Disc II [acoustic bonus tracks]
01. Firefly
02. Seven Stars
03. Another Perfect Day
04. Pray Your Gods [Toad The Wet Sprocket cover]
05. Adela [Joaquin Rodrigo cover]
06. Rain [Uriah Heep cover]


Fates Warning's brand of progressive metal is quite unique. Instead of trying to impress the listener with their instrumental prowess in every song (you know which band I have in mind), they focus on creating an interesting and engaging musical experience. Their incredible skill clearly shows, but it's not so in-your-face, nor does it ever become the goal in itself.

After the long awaited and very solid Darkness in A Different Light, the sky was the limit for Fates Warning, and man, did they soar right up there. Every song on the album is spot on. From the impressive opener adorned with fantastic guitar solos, through more concise, riffy and melody-driven numbers, to the long 10-minute compositions; all songs shine with inspired variety driven by memorable hooks, catchy choruses, intriguing passages and stellar performances from every member of the band. Musicianship on a progressive album doesn't get any better.

The shorter songs rank among the most melodic and memorable in Fates Warning's discography. "Seven Stars", "SOS", "White Flag", to name just a few - they grab the listener's attention and refuse to let go. But it's the long ones that elevate this album to masterpiece status. "The Light And Shade Of Things" has some of the best vocals Ray Alder has ever done. His extraordinary vocals are interspersed with enough memorable moments to fill at least 3 more songs. The haunting "The Ghosts Of Home" spends some time building up to an explosion of progressive madness, and then moves between atmosphere and emotions. All ingredients merge smoothly into one hell of a track, forming probably the most impressive gem in this resplendent collection of great songs. An in-depth description of these two long songs alone would be enough to fill another review, so let me just stop here.

Fates Warning, like no one else, manage to meld seamlessly the progressive with the accessible. It seems to me that over 30 years since their full-length debut, they might've just released one of their best albums. Or perhaps the best? You be the judge.





Written on 02.07.2016 by Writes overly honest and totally subjective reviews when fancy strikes him. Which is not often. Which is probably good, all things considered.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 313 users
02.07.2016 - 11:07
Rating: 10
Nihil Aeternum

Very good review, thank you. It really is one of the(ir) best albums, much better than the last one. I hope that it will not only enthuse the old fans but also new ones.
Loading...
02.07.2016 - 13:25
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Fates Warning never cease to amaze me. This review got me pumped for the new album even more. I haven't listened to the whole thing yet.

I never listened to a bad FW album. Their best? Well, that's a statement right there.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.


My Instagram
Loading...
02.07.2016 - 14:07
Rating: 9
Daniell
_爱情_
Written by BloodTears on 02.07.2016 at 13:25

I never listened to a bad FW album. Their best? Well, that's a statement right there.

Technically, I didn't say it was their best
Loading...
02.07.2016 - 18:27
Rating: 8
JayMo4

That first paragraph sums up why this band stands out to me in this genre, and why I am very much looking forward to hearing this album.
Loading...
03.07.2016 - 12:17
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Daniell on 02.07.2016 at 14:07

Written by BloodTears on 02.07.2016 at 13:25

I never listened to a bad FW album. Their best? Well, that's a statement right there.

Technically, I didn't say it was their best


Sure, but you did leave that open to discussion. I've heard the album yesterday and I'm very impressed. Need more time though.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.


My Instagram
Loading...
03.07.2016 - 23:25
strade

For me nothing will ever beat the one two punch of The Spectre Within and Awaken the Guardian, but FW have certainly carved out a very impressive career throughout (particularly compared to many of the other efforts by washed up post-golden era titans). My favorite Alder albums remain Parallels and Inside Out, but I'll give this a shot one of these days.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
05.07.2016 - 18:03
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
FW is one of rare bands what still know how to write decent songs, DT is way to overated and even this is bad and week album, others was much other, still better as any single DT album in 90's and 00's and 10's
Let the battle begging what is best prog pioneers DT or FW, FW wins by experts, DT by fan boys and girls
same as sport
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
19.07.2016 - 07:36
Rating: 9
theembryo

Could not agree more, especially concerning Alder's vocals. Production is excellent, after just a brief listen, I went and bought the release straightaway! Thanks to Daniell and MS as always.
Loading...
24.07.2016 - 08:04
MrRictusGrin

This is the best FA album since 2000. Only 3 albums ago, I know, but this one doesn't feel forced ( "Darkness..." did to me ). "Ghosts Of Home" is clearly a re-working ( or follow-up? ) to the song "Still Remains" ( 2000 ), and along with "SOS" elevate this album to excellent status.
Loading...
26.08.2016 - 22:16
Rating: 9
BlankFile

Its a great comeback from an amazing band. A very good and consistent album, they are stil in great shape.

"The Light and Shade of Things" my favourite track of this CD for sure.
Loading...
24.01.2017 - 20:44
Rating: 9
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Ray Alder has never sounded better. Amazing. Excellent review and thanks.
----
rekt
Loading...

Hits total: 8170 | This month: 13