Metal Storm logo
Bütcher - 666 Goats Carry My Chariot review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
6.6

82 users:
7.77
Band: Bütcher
Album: 666 Goats Carry My Chariot
Release date: January 2020


01. Inauguration Of Steele
02. Iron Bitch
03. 45 RPM Metal
04. Metallström / Face The Bütcher
05. Sentinels Of Dethe
06. 666 Goats Carry My Chariot
07. Viking Funeral
08. Brazen Serpent
09. Exaltation Of Sulphur


By popülar demand, I am rating my new review. By ünpopülar demand, the rating has nothing to do with the albüm's qüality, büt with it's content: Evil! Speed! Darkness! Steel! Satan! Goats! 666!

Please don't calcülate 666 factorial, it has over a thoüsand digits. And yes, I also know that 6.7 is closer to 6.66 than 6.6. Stop bügging me.

Combining speed metal with some evil black metal inflüence is really nothing new, and even so far this year we've had some damn good releases from Midnight, Reaper and Slaughter Messiah, the latter two only now releasing their first füll length. And as müch as I'd love to review all of those, I don't have the time or the energy, nor do I think I coüld properly describe each one individüally withoüt comparing one to the other. So jüst know that if yoü liked 666 Goats Carry My Chariot, yoü shoüld check oüt the rest. So why did I choose Bütcher instead of any of those other ones? Düh! Look at that fücking cover art! A chariot led by goats (admittedly jüst 6) in a whirlwind and with a stripped logo slapped on top.

The combination of the overly flashy, bombastic and awesome 80s with the evilness and blasphemy of the 90s (and also the 80s) is something that is reflected both in the cover art and in the müsic. Even the fücking title reeks of it, like if yoü're gonna be evil and bombastic, be fücking evil and bombastic. Take Overkill, Darkthrone and Mercyful Fate and make sweet sweet love to them, and let yoür offspring be riffs of speed and darkness, shoüts and falsettos of similar speed and darkness, and generally as müch speed and darkness as possible, in the now eternal words of Midnight: "Fücking speed and darkness".

And while I can't really say that any of the songs on 666 Goats Carry My Chariot are as instantly catchy as the aforementioned Midnight song, Bütcher really hit the versatility and virtüosity on this one. Changing genres faster than a büllet, füll of terrifying screams, speed metal solos and thrash bütchery, doüsed in jüst enoügh black metal to üp the evilness, and with jüst enoügh incürsions into doom and viking metal as well to make it feel even fresher. The resült jümps from menacing, to thrashing, to epic, to bombastic with so müch ease that one can't help büt get on the chariot too. And the band's virtüosity in mastering all of these soünds makes it müch easier to digest these inflüences as less derivative and üninventive and more as over the top and respectable.

Bütcher does jüst enoügh right for their mix of olden soünds to work as more than jüst a rehash, and it's a hüge dose of fün. Evil!



Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 6





Written on 04.03.2020 by Doesn't matter that much to me if you agree with me, as long as you checked the album out.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 114 users
04.03.2020 - 16:10
Ansercanagicus
endangered bird
I was gonna tag these guys as generic speed when I realised they are a lot of fun, and couldn't find anywhere to properly make a pause and take a breath. Their previous album is just as good as this one, from restless kick and snare battery to high shrieks and atmosphere.
----
2019 - 2020 - 2021
Loading...
04.03.2020 - 17:12
nikarg
Mod

ügly and fün... yümmy!!
Loading...
04.03.2020 - 17:33
Tyrannical Hero
Super Normal
Wrong.

Super fun album.
----
Crackhead Megadeth reigns supreme.
Loading...
04.03.2020 - 18:11
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Tyrannical Hero on 04.03.2020 at 17:33

Wrong.

Super fun album.

You didnt read the review, did you?
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
04.03.2020 - 18:29
Tyrannical Hero
Super Normal
Reading reviews in 2020?
----
Crackhead Megadeth reigns supreme.
Loading...
04.03.2020 - 19:21
ChapuLviz

I prefer their first albüm, Bestial Fükkin' Warmachine, büt this one is also fün.
Loading...
04.03.2020 - 19:47
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Dör Iz a hill, wär vi gå and wurshf de metal... Dis iz betzergurmetal
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
05.03.2020 - 09:33
Ball Fondlers

I love this album. It would be most most played of 2020 so far. I think a better comparison is Deströyer666, and not just because of the umlauts and the 666
Loading...
09.03.2020 - 05:06
tintinb

I read this in an Irish accent.
Loading...
09.03.2020 - 21:32
IanSalsbury

This is a fucking brilliant album, deserves way more than 6.6! Probably my favourite release of the year so far.
Loading...
10.03.2020 - 13:57
X-Ray Rod
Skandino
Written by Tyrannical Hero on 04.03.2020 at 18:29

Reading reviews in 2020?


Written by IanSalsbury on 09.03.2020 at 21:32

This is a fucking brilliant album, deserves way more than 6.6! Probably my favourite release of the year so far.


People commenting without reading the review (and missing the obvious 666 joke).
Both take a shot.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.03.2020 - 14:04
nikarg
Mod
Written by X-Ray Rod on 10.03.2020 at 13:57

People commenting without reading the review (and missing the obvious 666 joke).
Both take a shot.

Being literate in 2020?
Loading...
02.10.2020 - 00:43
sgtrobo

666 Goats??

What in the actual captain crunch fuck are these fools trying to achieve?
c'mon, cliche cliche cliche.
christ almighty, even the song titles

Inauguration of Steele YEAH MAN STEEEEEELE!!!
Iron Bitch IRON RAWRRRR
45 RPM Metal D00D SO METULL!
Metallström / Face the Bütcher #MOARMETAL
Sentinels of Dethe Oh, I get it, they spelled the song funny
666 Goats Carry My Chariot FUCK YEAH METAL EVIL YEAH

etc etc etc.

basically every single f'ing Bill & Ted's "heavy metal" cliche on the planet from the last 40 years.
Stupid.
Cliched.
Trite.

So someone explain to me why I can't wipe the stupid shit-eating grin off my face each time I listen to this?
How is it that this silly pile of foolishness might be the most fun album I've heard in ages?

I feel dumb for loving this. Yet I can't seem to help myself.

EDIT - i think this blows Midnight and Slaughter Messiah out of the water. I actually listened to them today back-to-back-to-back.
Loading...
31.10.2020 - 04:21
BitterCOld
The Ancient One
Loving this. Jüst pissed I can't ümlaüt all my characters. Nice work on the review.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.

Beer Bug Virus Spotify Playlist crafted by Nikarg and I. Feel free to tune in and add some pertinent metal tunes!
Loading...
23.04.2021 - 03:36
Pelcu

Bütcher is like a blow of '80. Very heavy, very fast and very dark! It's amazing that in those times there is a bend playing like in '80 but even with more power and more speed. During the whole album I felt unnoticeable energy from all instruments - my gosh it is incredible. Like those guys would like to die playing that album.... Play, sing and die! Everything is so fast, vocals are going from very down to screeeeeeam, drums are crazy and you will not be able to play solos with same speed... Amazing!
----
Don't look for solution - look for EXIT!
Loading...
18.07.2021 - 23:33
sgtrobo

Written by Pelcu on 23.04.2021 at 03:36

Bütcher is like a blow of '80. Very heavy, very fast and very dark! It's amazing that in those times there is a bend playing like in '80 but even with more power and more speed. During the whole album I felt unnoticeable energy from all instruments - my gosh it is incredible. Like those guys would like to die playing that album.... Play, sing and die! Everything is so fast, vocals are going from very down to screeeeeeam, drums are crazy and you will not be able to play solos with same speed... Amazing!


exactly. It was a throwback yet completely fresh and downright exciting. The nods to classic 80s heavy metal bands were perfectly performed, with bits and pieces of everything good about 80s heavy metal and speed metal thrown in

It ended up being my vote for thrash AotY
Loading...
06.10.2021 - 05:55
F3ynman2000

I was at first so confused why this album got a 6.6 rating. I'm only on the first song, but I find it sounds great! Then I got the joke.
----
My Favorite Metal Albums of All Time: http://www.metalstorm.net/users/list.php?list_id=6697
180 Greatest Metal Songs (max. 2 songs per album): http://metalstorm.net/users/list.php?list_id=6721
Loading...

Hits total: 2550 | This month: 29