Metal Storm logo
Dauðaró - Af Moldu Er Ég Kominn review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.3

12 users:
7.92
Band: Dauðaró
Album: Af Moldu Er Ég Kominn
Release date: September 2021


01. I-III
    1 - I. Hin Föla Ásýnd
    2 - II. Sundrung Sjálfsins
    3 - III. Sláttumaðurinn: Komdu Heim
02. IV-VII
    1 - IV. Af Moldu Erum Við Komin
    2 - V. Sálumessa
    3 - VI. Grafhýsið
    4 - VII. Frelsun


The point of a journey is to end up somewhere completely different to your starting point. Dauðaró knows this and made an extreme example of it with their debut.

I can’t remember the last time I discovered a band without having any background information readily available on the internet. I must admit that I haven’t jumped into the unknown with frequency this year. However, there was something about the emotionally detached face haunting the fiery artwork that drew me in. Then I saw 2 tracks clocking at 30 minutes in total and everything was in Icelandic. So I jumped.

In the metal world, Iceland has been mostly known for amassing a healthy number of black metal bands and projects for the past decade. Dauðaró doesn’t seem interested in meeting people’s expectations though so instead we are treated with funeral doom metal and then something completely different. Oh friends, does this album take a turn for the weird and different.

At first the slow, painful riffs pummel through like a silent, gigantic glacier. The droning effects add a very strange type of warmth to the track. Some of the lead guitars have a particular twang to them that make them sound much warmer and brighter. It makes for a confusing, paranoid state of mind as the music remains highly bleak and brooding. The vocals are low in the mix and whispering as if coming from a dying creature. Rather fittingly, the drums have a lifeless sound to them as well. This production is deliberate and well thought out as the hollow drums add another unnerving and inhuman layer on top. These lo-fi aspects seem like a nod to the elder gods of Skepticism and Thergothon. But the dark, disturbing and emotionless tone of the guitars reminds me of the ritualistic doom of The Funeral Orchestra. The creepy factor is high on Af Moldu Er Ég Kominn. Worst of all is the constant feeling somebody watching you or that a climax is about to hit you yet you only feel the constant pull on the back of your head. No release.

The keyboards kick in and slowly but surely we are leaving behind the familiarity of metal and distortion. We step right into deep, ambient music. Ghostly synths take over. The organ-like synths are remarkably gloomy and I get a slight taste of Bach due to the maniacal intensity that is slowly but surely unraveling. This sound is very short-lived however as the pace picks up greatly and evolves into orchestral madness filled with strings and melodies that hint slightly at Dead Can Dance. I’m very impressed with how Dauðaró created two very different songs that connect so seamlessly. The change is so gradual. The final result is hypnotic, elegant and oh so dark. It’s the waltz of the dead. But as the multitude of skeletons finish their final dance, the harsh static sets in. The bell tolls and you are left alone.

You are in a place completely different from where you once were.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8





Written on 21.10.2021 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 92 users
22.10.2021 - 10:15
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Need me more lo-fi funeral doom
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
24.10.2021 - 00:53
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Quote:
there was something about the emotionally detached face haunting the fiery artwork that drew me in

Damn, you're right. It is indeed a face. Until just now, I thought it was a fish. A dead and dried fish. Which, as we all know, is what you usually have for breakfast if you're a true Icelander. Seriously, it really looked like Icelandic fish jerky to me...

Thank you for this review, which came as a big surprise to me. I had discovered the album about three weeks ago and promptly recommended it, because I see it exactly as you do: this is really something completely different. The second track almost made me forget that it was funeral doom, it could as well be the soundtrack to a really bleak, lovecraftian underwater sci-fi epic. Is it funeral synth? Or dungeon doom?

Anyway, I would never have expected Dauðaró to have a band profile and even a front page review so suddenly. I bet a particular staffer had his Romanian fingers in that pie.
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
24.10.2021 - 10:24
nikarg
Mod
This review is spot on. I listened to the album when I saw that Starvynth recommended it but I also didn't expect a band profile and a review as well.
Loading...
24.10.2021 - 12:16
DeliciousDishes
always right
I really liked the general sound of it, but it sadly didn't end up being all that memorable to me. Might be cause I listened to it while doing other stuff, but yeah... I support the general sentiment, that we need to have more lo-fi funeral doom.
----
You are the hammer, I am the nail
building a house in the fire on the hill
Loading...
24.10.2021 - 12:45
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Starvynth on 24.10.2021 at 00:53

Anyway, I would never have expected Dauðaró to have a band profile and even a front page review so suddenly. I bet a particular staffer had his Romanian fingers in that pie.

Hehe
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
25.10.2021 - 22:30
X-Ray Rod
Skandino
Written by Starvynth on 24.10.2021 at 00:53

Thank you for this review, which came as a big surprise to me. I had discovered the album about three weeks ago and promptly recommended it, because I see it exactly as you do: this is really something completely different. The second track almost made me forget that it was funeral doom, it could as well be the soundtrack to a really bleak, lovecraftian underwater sci-fi epic. Is it funeral synth? Or dungeon doom?


Written by nikarg on 24.10.2021 at 10:24

This review is spot on. I listened to the album when I saw that Starvynth recommended it but I also didn't expect a band profile and a review as well.


Thank you for your comments! As you guessed... Radu is sort of forcing me to write more and it seems his annoyance is starting to pay off. He is dead set on making me write up to 100 for this year but I think that is a losing battle. I'm already sattisfied with how I managed to write 12 this year haha.
This was probably the fastest review I've written in a loooong time. Felt like the words just poured out as I gave it a couple of listenings one day, the second one I wrote footnotes and the day after the whole review in one sitting. I guess I'm slowly but surely finding a good way to engage the music and describe it.

It is a really interesting album for sure. I hope that this is not the last time I hear from this project. I also hope that next time the project will try to combine the two "songs". The second track is quite fascinating as Starvynth puts it: Sort of funeral synth.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
12.11.2021 - 05:14
takeshita

This is absolutely amazing stuff and a great review.

Thanks for bringing this band to my attention. I'll definitely keep an eye out for their next release. This one really stuck with me, there's something about the eerie sound, it's not emotional at all, it's... how shall I put this, eerily disconnected from reality. It's hard to describe but I'll definitely be giving this one another listen. And keep up the good work reviewing! You never disappoint!

This is so much different from all the funeral doom I usually listen to but still it somehow fits perfectly with my taste, I absolutely love it!
Loading...
12.11.2021 - 05:20
takeshita

Written by Starvynth on 24.10.2021 at 00:53

Quote:

Thank you for this review, which came as a big surprise to me. I had discovered the album about three weeks ago and promptly recommended it, because I see it exactly as you do: this is really something completely different. The second track almost made me forget that it was funeral doom, it could as well be the soundtrack to a really bleak, lovecraftian underwater sci-fi epic. Is it funeral synth? Or dungeon doom?


You're right. This really is something special. I can't wait to hear their next release. The second track makes me think they come from a background of classical music. It sounds like being lost in the desert.
Loading...
12.11.2021 - 21:35
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Written by takeshita on 12.11.2021 at 05:20

You're right. This really is something special. I can't wait to hear their next release.

Why wait?
Just listen here and now.

----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
12.11.2021 - 23:00
takeshita

Written by Starvynth on 12.11.2021 at 21:35


Why wait?
Just listen here and now.




Wait, what??!?!?!? Are you kidding me right now? I'm right on it!
Loading...
12.11.2021 - 23:17
takeshita

Written by Starvynth on 12.11.2021 at 21:35


Why wait?
Just listen here and now.



Loving this! Are you gonna write a review on this one as well?
Loading...
13.11.2021 - 10:56
X-Ray Rod
Skandino
Written by Starvynth on 12.11.2021 at 21:35

Why wait?
Just listen here and now.


What the... Ok, that was quick. Will listen asap. So curious to find out if they dvelope the sound of the second track. If they decide to combine their two main sounds, etc.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
13.11.2021 - 13:45
takeshita

Written by X-Ray Rod on 13.11.2021 at 10:56

Written by Starvynth on 12.11.2021 at 21:35

Why wait?
Just listen here and now.


What the... Ok, that was quick. Will listen asap. So curious to find out if they dvelope the sound of the second track. If they decide to combine their two main sounds, etc.


I just listened and I loved it. So different! Hope there's a review soon cause I'm having a hard time putting what I'm hearing into words!
Loading...
19.11.2021 - 13:17
EvilKay

These guys are phenomenal
Loading...

Hits total: 950 | This month: 17