Metal Storm logo
Drudkh - Всі Належать Ночі (All Belong To The Night) review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.4

69 users:
7.65
Band: Drudkh
Album: Всі Належать Ночі (All Belong To The Night)
Release date: November 2022


01. Нічний (The Nocturnal One)
02. Вітряки (Windmills)
03. Листопад (November)
04. Поки Зникнем У Млі (Till We Become The Haze)


Since their formation back in 2002, Drudkh have remained a consistent force and real household name in atmospheric black metal, creating many wonderful and memorable albums such as all time genre classics Autumn Aurora, and Blood In Our Wells. So here they are years later with their twelfth release, Всі Належать Ночі (All Belong to the Night), and the question is, has this band managed to pull off yet another mighty release, despite all the circumstances surrounding it?

Now, one can only imagine how tough this past year has been for the Ukrainian atmospheric black metal band Drudkh, following the unrest and uncertainty their nation has had to endure, but despite living through such tough circumstances, the band have shown a great resilience and ploughed through to bring you their twelfth release Всі Належать Ночі (All Belong to the Night), an album that acts as a glimmer of light and hope to the darkness that has spread across their beloved nation.

Over the years, Drudkh have shown incredibly imaginative songwriting skills, and have also shown great pride and glory to their motherland Ukraine, generally by providing us with lyrics in their mother tongue, as well as lyrical themes being set around the nation they cherish and hold so dearly. Their lyrical themes are often based on tales from Slavic folklore as well as Slavic literature, inspired by national poets, such as Taras Shevchenko, Antin Pavluk, and Yakiv Hryhorovych Savchenko. The atmospheric soundscapes they create are simply stunning works of art, they have crafted some of the most beautiful, awe inspiring, and majestic nature-oriented themes in metal, and have done so by incorporating so many folk-inspired melodies through various use of instrumentation, and Всі Належать Ночі (All Belong to the Night) follows this trend.

While this album only contains four tracks, it reaches a length of over 45 minutes, but long tracks with lengthy atmospheric build ups are certainly not an uncommon theme for this band. Most of the band's former magic well and truly remains on this album, with the usual hypnotic, rhythmic tremolo riffing, thunderous blast beat drumming, and passionate harsh vocals, which are not overdone, and effortlessly controlled and effective. Most importantly, their signature sound and tone is forever present, so by now you needn't expect much in the way of experimentation, as Drudkh had mastered their structure and style during their early days, and have since stuck by that. This may seem to lack in originality, but they make up for this in sheer passion and devotion, and it's a style many have come to know and admire.

On the whole, Всі Належать Ночі (All Belong to the Night) is a rather uplifting, melancholic album, with the theme being set around hope and inspiration for the tough times in which the band have been currently going through, and acts as a beacon of light for their nation that has had to endure such great suffering, but that doesn't mean Drudkh have detergent from their aggressiveness. The opening track sets a dark, cold, atmospheric tone which carries on through the album, with their aggression overlapping it. This album also contains some of the band's most gripping melodic moments in their career, for instance, that soft sweeping guitarwork at the opening to "Листопад (November)", but it's the final track, "Поки Зникнем У Млі (Till We Become the Haze)", that has become the main highlight for me on this impressive album, with the slow, haunting build-ups containing a highly effective rhythmic drumming pattern, which then builds up in a dramatic fashion.

Всі Належать Ночі (All Belong to the Night) is a testament to this band's strength and character through these times, and it shows this band's quality has not gone undermined, but remains as strong as ever.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8





Written on 10.11.2022 by And well there you have it.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 180 users
11.11.2022 - 08:55
Lanthros

It's been long time since I've really listened to them. This review makes me want to jump back in.
Loading...
11.11.2022 - 17:08
Chainer
Witch Hunter Gen
Written by Lanthros on 11.11.2022 at 08:55

It's been long time since I've really listened to them. This review makes me want to jump back in.

Never a better time than now. Their previous release, in addition to the majority of the discography is consistently strong.
----
Written by Dangerboner on 02.11.2009 at 08:11

Everything he doesn't like is metalcore. Britney Spears, Elton John, Michael Moore, and green beans are also metalcore, in case you guys didn't know.
Loading...
11.11.2022 - 17:30
prnzokoshiroltra

Class review for a class artist

testament to the importance of songwriting nuance > gimmicky bells & whistles (though the latter depends on how fresh/appealing the 'gimmick' haha)

---------------
last 3 records spun -
----------------
Xentrix - Seven Words
Houkago Grind Time - The 2nd Raid
Spider God - Fly in the Trap
----
No one can fend off 100 multi-colored Draculas
Loading...
11.11.2022 - 23:35
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Good reviev and slavic folklore and literature are ulnown for foreigners and forgotten by slavs them selves...
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
13.11.2022 - 01:54
grapemass98

A user on the site rateyourmusic under the nickname fuerlee stole your review and passed it off as his own.

https://rateyourmusic.com/release/album/drudkh/всі-належать-ночі-all-belong-to-the-night/
Loading...
13.11.2022 - 06:55
Rating: 8
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by grapemass98 on 13.11.2022 at 01:54

A user on the site rateyourmusic under the nickname fuerlee stole your review and passed it off as his own.

https://rateyourmusic.com/release/album/drudkh/всі-належать-ночі-all-belong-to-the-night/

That's interesting, very well spotted and thanks for letting me know.
Loading...
13.11.2022 - 14:05
grapemass98

It's just that this isn't the first time he's been stealing texts straight from the metalstorm website. As I understood from the mouthpiece of this album, he was already working somewhere as an editor and he was caught translating a review. And now he is doing the same!
Loading...
13.11.2022 - 15:55
Rating: 8
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by grapemass98 on 13.11.2022 at 14:05

It's just that this isn't the first time he's been stealing texts straight from the metalstorm website. As I understood from the mouthpiece of this album, he was already working somewhere as an editor and he was caught translating a review. And now he is doing the same!

This is wrong and shouldn't be happening! I will have to look into this, and thanks for the information
Loading...
16.11.2022 - 04:03
Rating: 9
JayMo4

Maybe it’s the edible talking, but I really enjoyed this album. Probably some of their best since BIOW.
Loading...
16.11.2022 - 14:59
Rating: 7
ScreamingSteelUS
Editor-in-Chief
Written by grapemass98 on 13.11.2022 at 14:05

It's just that this isn't the first time he's been stealing texts straight from the metalstorm website. As I understood from the mouthpiece of this album, he was already working somewhere as an editor and he was caught translating a review. And now he is doing the same!

Written by AndyMetalFreak on 13.11.2022 at 15:55

This is wrong and shouldn't be happening! I will have to look into this, and thanks for the information

As grapemass points out, this is not an isolated incident - it seems that this individual has stolen hundreds of reviews from Metal Storm (and who knows how many other publications), translated them into Russian, and posted them on various websites, of which Rate Your Music is only one. We did get in touch with Rate Your Music about this incident, and they have agreed to investigate the user and delete their reviews. Unfortunately, seeing as the plagiarism is quite widespread and it's impossible to stamp this out fully on the internet - especially given the language barrier - we'll have to take this as a limited victory, but we've at least gotten a good result from RYM.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention, grapemass. We greatly appreciate the tip.
----
"Earth is small and I hate it" - Lum Invader

I'm the Agent of Steel.
Loading...
18.11.2022 - 11:57
grapemass98

Always happy to help. I myself learned about this incident purely by accident.

https://vk.com/wall-200015377_929

It's a shame that there are a lot of such people in the information industry. But sometimes justice still triumphs over them, and this pleases!
Loading...
23.11.2022 - 15:27
Daniell
_爱情_
Starting with Eternal Turn of the Wheel I found Drudkh's releases disappointing. Being among my favourite black metal bands, I grew more and more disenchanted with them.
This new album is much, much better and for the first time in a long time I'm enjoying a Drudkh album from start to finish.
Loading...
23.11.2022 - 15:53
Rating: 8
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Written by Daniell on 23.11.2022 at 15:27

Starting with Eternal Turn of the Wheel I found Drudkh's releases disappointing. Being among my favourite black metal bands, I grew more and more disenchanted with them.
This new album is much, much better and for the first time in a long time I'm enjoying a Drudkh album from start to finish.

I feel as if they lost a certain spark at that point, but I really like this album, it's almost like the Drudkh of old is returning. I felt more passion behind this release, especially in the vocals, I think the situation they've been in has really urged them on to continue.
Loading...

Hits total: 2547 | This month: 243