Metal Storm logo
VV - Neon Noir review



Reviewer:
7.8

37 users:
7.22
Band: VV
Album: Neon Noir
Release date: January 2023


01. Echolocate Your Love
02. Run Away From The Sun
03. Neon Noir
04. Loveletting
05. The Foreverlost
06. Baby Lacrimarium
07. Salute The Sanguine
08. In Trenodia
09. Heartful Of Ghosts
10. Saturnine Saturnalia
11. Zener Solitaire
12. Vertigo Eyes


It's him! No, not him, HIM!

When looking back at rock music in the last thirty years, perhaps one the biggest impacts that has been overlooked was the one made by HIM, one that only seems to grow bigger with time. While HIM may now be in the rearview mirror, VV is the spiritual and, perhaps most importantly, sonic successor to the former band. Although Neon Noir skirts close to the former band's sound, there is just enough difference between the two that this album is a breath of fresh air.

This subtle difference is apparent from the opening "Echolocate Your Love", a strong first foot forward if there ever was one. Leaning more to the pop side of Ville Valo's previous sound, it ushers in the album by rolling out the red carpet. Neon Noir sees VV step out of the shadows of the heartogram... and into the darkness of the human condition. Though tracks like "Run Away From The Sun" errs too close to HIM fare, this isn't another HIM under a new name.

It is when you come across "Loveletting" and "Baby Lacrimarium" (a Roman-era vessel apparently used by mourners to collect tears... no, me neither) that the extent of the pop sensibilities on Neon Noir becomes apparent. It is an interesting sonic journey to the other side of the HIM sound, one that is as engaging as the former, as it takes the other path in the fork in the road.

"Neon Noir" sees Valo's vocals shine; his ability to channel morose feelings while also sounding upbeat has not dimished in the interim years. Indeed, it sounds as if he hasn't aged at all, sounding like not a day has passed since Tears On Tape. This is perhaps the most potent element on the album; although it features some haunting instrumental refrains, it is Valo's voice that remains the center point, as he ranks as one of the best vocalists for this kind of music.

It is when Neon Noir is at its unabashed poppiest that it excels; "In Trenodia" and "Saturnine Saturnalia" capture the balance between HIM-esque brooding melancholy and upbeat pop, which make for an interesting sonic collision. Not that Valo has to escape the shadow cast from his past, but it is evident he knows how to write a hook.

However, I doubt this new turn of style will be to everyone's liking, finding itself in a niche whereby it's too heavy for pop rock fans and too pop for hard rock fans; it is a path that Neon Noir walks in style, but one that some may not wish to tread down themselves. The same can be said of certain tracks; the aforementioned "Run Away From The Sun" sounds like a diluted version of HIM, which I doubt will please either group.

HIM is dead, long live VV.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8





Written on 13.01.2023 by Just because I don't care doesn't mean I'm not listening.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 53 users
14.01.2023 - 13:09
Rating: 8
AnGina--
Dark Phoenix
Saturnine Saturnalia for me is the best work by Ville Valo since Venus Doom was released. Neon Noir is quite reminiscent to HIM and I believe we've all been expecting that, still, nice and fresh; much better than the last two HIM works for me at least.
----
You think darkness is your ally? You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it. Molded by it. I didn't see the light until I was a man. But it was nothing to me but blinding.
Loading...
15.01.2023 - 11:34
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Is it worth to listen? He is good singer, but someone needs writing rock songs to him to sing.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
15.01.2023 - 13:24
Rating: 8
AnGina--
Dark Phoenix
Written by Bad English on 15.01.2023 at 11:34

Is it worth to listen?


Depends on what you're looking for.

The GLS666/RR era is long, long gone.

The new material is very reminiscent of HIM (how could it not be), for me I'd say it's somewhere between Venus Doom and Dark Light. Definitely a much more solid record I have expected.
----
You think darkness is your ally? You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it. Molded by it. I didn't see the light until I was a man. But it was nothing to me but blinding.
Loading...
17.01.2023 - 10:28
Rating: 7
SamuelYK

Written by AnGina-- on 14.01.2023 at 13:09

much better than the last two HIM works for me at least.


for me as well, although I thought the vocals could have been a bit better since we know Ville can do more, but I like the songs a lot, it's still good songwriting and enjoyable melancholia
Loading...
17.01.2023 - 15:14
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by AnGina-- on 15.01.2023 at 13:24

Written by Bad English on 15.01.2023 at 11:34

Is it worth to listen?


Depends on what you're looking for.

The GLS666/RR era is long, long gone.

The new material is very reminiscent of HIM (how could it not be), for me I'd say it's somewhere between Venus Doom and Dark Light. Definitely a much more solid record I have expected.



He will tour a lot, IO wonder if HIM songs be plaid

https://www.udiscovermusic.com/news/vv-loveletting-neon-noir-tour-2023/
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
18.01.2023 - 08:42
Rating: 7
SamuelYK

Written by Bad English on 17.01.2023 at 15:14

Written by Bad English on 15.01.2023 at 11:34

Is it worth to listen?


He will tour a lot, IO wonder if HIM songs be plaid


it's 50 - 50 of new and old
Loading...
28.01.2023 - 19:36
Rating: 8
AnGina--
Dark Phoenix
Written by SamuelYK on 17.01.2023 at 10:28

for me as well, although I thought the vocals could have been a bit better since we know Ville can do more, but I like the songs a lot, it's still good songwriting and enjoyable melancholia


I was just contemplating his vocal work on NN while listening to the record today (I have had it on repeat for quite a while not and it doesn't get boring, which is a very good sign for me) and I do have to say I actually enjoy his "new" vocals. It's quite a huge difference comparing to earlier days, that is for sure, but I daresay he sounds far more mature and suave on Neon Noir and I think he can mend his vocals with the atmosphere of each and every track just perfectly.



----
You think darkness is your ally? You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it. Molded by it. I didn't see the light until I was a man. But it was nothing to me but blinding.
Loading...
28.01.2023 - 19:37
Rating: 8
AnGina--
Dark Phoenix
Written by Bad English on 17.01.2023 at 15:14

He will tour a lot, IO wonder if HIM songs be plaid


Yes, quite a few, even from GLS666, RR era. I do have tickets for the Vienna show and I really hoper it will be a blast.
----
You think darkness is your ally? You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it. Molded by it. I didn't see the light until I was a man. But it was nothing to me but blinding.
Loading...
28.01.2023 - 19:40
Bad English
Tage Westerlund
Written by AnGina-- on 28.01.2023 at 19:37

Written by Bad English on 17.01.2023 at 15:14

He will tour a lot, IO wonder if HIM songs be plaid


Yes, quite a few, even from GLS666, RR era. I do have tickets for the Vienna show and I really hoper it will be a blast.



I see, maybe you should write concert review
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Hits total: 1297 | This month: 1297