Metal Storm logo
Lord Goblin - Lord Goblin review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

22 users:
7.86
Band: Lord Goblin
Album: Lord Goblin
Style: Epic heavy metal, Power metal
Release date: March 2024


01. Northern Skyline
02. The Wanderer
03. The Oracle
04. Freedom Rider
05. Thunderous Smite
06. Light Of A Black Sun, Pt. 1
07. Light Of A Black Sun, Pt. 2

How about some epic heavy/power metal with strong black metal sensibilities?

In the last couple of years, we have had a couple of noteworthy black metal bands branching out to power metal in the form of Stormkeep and Moonlight Sorcery, but I cannot remember having recently come across a power metal band incorporating black metal in their music. Triumpher came somewhat close to that description with their splendid debut album last year, but that was mostly a darker and more sinister version of Manowar and Virgin Steele. Lord Goblin, on the other hand, sound as if Marco Hietala dressed as Messiah Marcolin is fronting a ‘70s occult-leaning and Jethro Tull-loving collab between Dissection and Domine, playing songs that Primordial wrote, and practised in a studio with walls full of posters of Quorthon.

Lord Goblin’s debut EP, The Ordeal (2021), was a power metal release that was striving for epicness, but, despite its solid songwriting and execution, it didn’t do too much else to stand out from the pack. The self-titled debut LP, however, is quite an original piece of music, even when it sounds so traditional and classic. The music is often energetically black metal-ish with riffs sounding as if they were forged by arctic winds in northern darkness, with pounding blastbeats and thundering cymbals, and with anthemic choruses that you cannot help but sing along, cranking the epic-o-metre up to 11. The keyboards snake through to create a more mystical atmosphere, and the blend of all these elements makes for an authentic sound that goes hand in hand with some excellent songwriting.

Lord Goblin is an album set out to catch you unprepared from its very own stoner-doom cover art (fantastic work by Hellish Maggot), which is entirely deceiving in terms of what kind of music is hiding behind it. From the opening maelstrom, “Northern Skyline”, to the closing salvo that is the two-part “Light Of A Black Sun” the album has blackened guitar melodies to die for alongside arcane synths, soaring clean vocals that rip the sky in half, gorgeous solos, and drums that make the songs proggier, more aggressive, and more compelling.

I have rarely heard anyone make power metal as grandiose and as enthralling as this.

“Then, a black sun rose on high
A guide in a world of false light
Its power, beacon in the bright
A call to rise up in might”





Written on 20.06.2024 by Only way to feel the noise is when it's good and loud!


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 90 users
20.06.2024 - 23:28
Nejde
Moderator
I actually listened to the album no later than at work today but not once have I thought of anything black metal related while listening to the album. But I'm definitely gonna listen to it with a completely different approach next time, because there will be a next time and several times more after that. This album is so frickin' good and "Northern Skyline" is probably one of my favourite songs of 2024 so far. Interesting review. Nice one
Loading...
21.06.2024 - 09:43
nikarg
Staff
The opening of "Northern Skyline" is as black metal as it gets, I think 😁
Loading...
21.06.2024 - 13:03
Rating: 9
AndyMetalFreak
A Nice Guy
Contributor
Thanks very much for this review Nik You've officially introduced me to what will inevitably become one of my AOTY contenders! This here has all styles from across the heavy metal board from blackened, to epic, and traditional, all merged together into one, for which I'm reminiscing band's such as Deep Purple, Iron Maiden, and Mercyful Fate, even with sprinkles of Dissection. A total banger from the get go, but I have to agree on the opening track also, definitely one of the highlights this year
Loading...
21.06.2024 - 14:01
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Staff
Ok, this is a pretty great find. Vocals don't always hit for me, but it's the black metal touches that really do it for me.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?
Loading...
21.06.2024 - 15:09
Cynic Metalhead
Paisa Vich Nasha
Vocals are awful, music is good. We have already heard such concoction of trad metal, black metal with little bit of progressive, it's that they have nice fusion to it.

Freedom Rider is highlight for me.
Loading...
21.06.2024 - 16:28
nikarg
Staff
The vocals and the keys are what made me go from "like-a-lot" to "love" this album
Loading...
21.06.2024 - 17:58
A Real Mönkey
I don’t know what is it with covers like that that instantly draw me in, but this album has shot straight up in the list of albums I need to listen to.
----
"Change the world. My final message. Goodbye."

~Last words of Harambe, seconds before he was shot, according to child he shielded from gunfire
Loading...
25.06.2024 - 22:01
4look4rd
The Sasquatch
Music is great but not a fan of the production, drums sound like they are coming from an early 00s drum machine. I guess it adds to the lo-fi black meta vibes.
----
Loading...
26.06.2024 - 11:22
Rating: 7
musclassia
Staff
Adding myself to the crowd that finds the black metal touches elevate this above most of the retro-heavy (I know you highlighted power metal in the review Nik, but I feel like the doom and occult rock elements arguably shape the album more) that comes out these days, although the songwriting is clearly above-average regardless
Loading...
26.06.2024 - 16:05
Rating: 9
Samot
Great album!
----
Um, Dois, Três, Quatro! Yeah! PORRA!!!
Loading...

Hits total: 1685 | This month: 446