Mandragora Scream - Madhouse

8.2 | 28 votes |
Release date: June 2006
Style: Gothic metal


37 have it
3 want it

01. Vlad
02. Dark Lantern
03. Redeemer
04. Frail Midnight
05. Blight Thrills
06. Frozen Space
07. Haunted Heart
08. Silences
09. Omen Reveries
10. Ghost Of Swan
11. Lifeless Haze
12. Nightfall

Staff review by
The Italian gothic ensemble Mandragora Scream appeared with their third full-length try in 2006, both with a refreshed lineup and a refreshed style. Compared to the previous poetic albums Madhouse is more straightforward, this emerges already from the title of the release.

The core elements of this band's music, poetry, mysticism, vampires and fairies actually are still around on Madhouse but this time the music has developed new characteristics. The aggressiveness and power breaks in immediately after the introduction (shorter and simpler compared to the slow, ambient ones of the earlier albums). The style of the group on Madhouse has retained the atmospheric elements, the faint choirs from afar, the screams, groans and whispers but this time the overall approach is faster, catchier and more rock-power-oriented. The melodies are well composed and the instrumental side of the album has no weak points.

published 23.10.2009 | Comments (1)

Found in 3 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 3310 | This month: 6