Britny Fox - Biography




In short, most every hard rock fan of the "hair band" genre knows who Britny Fox is. And most fans of the band knows that the band formed in Philadelphia back in 1986, and was fronted by vocalist/rhythm guitarist "Dizzy" Dean Davidson. The band released their self-titled debut album in 1988 which was very successful and sold over a million copies. During that time, vocalist/rhythm guitarist, "Dizzy" Dean Davidson, lead guitarist, Michael Kelly Smith, bass guitarist, Billy Childs, and drummer, Johnny Dee toured extensively in support of the album. Shortly after the release of their second album, Boys In Heat Davidson left the band for good.

In 1990, and after several days of auditioning, Davidson was replaced by vocalist/rhythm guitarist, Tommy Paris. Paris brought new ideas and high energy to the band which resulted in the 1991 release of their third album, Bite Down Hard. Although Bite Down Hard is one of the bands best albums ever released, it didn't do as well as expected due to the grunge movement of that era, and Britny Fox disbanded in 1992.

Britny Fox reunited with the same line-up in 2000 and released their fourth album, titled Springhead Motorshark in 2003, before disbanding again shortly after.

In 2007, bass guitarist Billy Childs reformed the band under new management and toured through 2007-2008 before disbanding yet again for various reasons.

In late 2014, Billy Childs, Tommy Paris and original drummer Johnny Dee united to reform the Bite Down Hard era lineup. Original lead guitarist, Michael Kelly Smith expressed no interest in the band and touring again so he has been replaced by Chris Sanders.

Britny Fox is back once again and ready to rock. The band is currently writing for a new album, and plans to book and perform select dates only at this time.

(Source: Facebook, 9.11.2015)