Metal Storm logo
Switching Modes/Scales

02.09.2006 - 02:34
BehindSpace336
I've been playing guitar for about 6 years, but where my technique fourishes, my theory lacks.. I've been playing mostly in Minor for the last 2 years. I just started playing phrygian while writing songs, and i love how it sounds. But I've been listening to a lot of Opeth and Darkane, and they seem to switch to different modes a lot in the midst of their songs. Thing is, whenever I write something in a certain mode(lets say minor, for the sake of discussion) I have a hard time fitting in a riff that's in a different mode(like phrygian) yet other bands seem to do it so easily. And it's not that i can't just put them together and play them, it's the fact that it always comes out sounding weird, and it seems like the song isn't flowing together like it should.. I know there are plenty of experienced and very skilled musicians on this forum and I hope i can get a good answer because i want to be a more versatile player, especially when writing music. I don't wanna just stay on one path the whole time. Any help is appreciated! thanks in advance.
04.09.2006 - 20:57
Arian Totalis
The Philosopher
Maby you should consider building from the ground up. getting a little bit of a fresh start.
One great way to learn theory is to start off with Major Triads, then moving on to Realative
Minors, I would assume you already know Your circle of fifths, But if you don't, it'd
be a good Idea to study those as well.
----
"For the Coward there is no Life
For the hero there is No Death"
-Kakita Toshimoko

"The Philosopher, you know so much about nothing at all." _Chuck Schuldiner.
09.09.2006 - 22:07
Valentin B
Iconoclast
this is only 10% ontopic,but i don't want to start a new topic
what are the secrets of neoclassical metal?like a section in "downfall" by CoB,or that light-speed bit in Yngwie Malmsteen's black star at 3:00 i think
what are the modes,scales,which types of chords do you arpeggio?
16.09.2006 - 00:37