Midnattsol - Where Twilight Dwells

7.9 | 96 votes |
Release date: 31 January 2005
Style: Folk metal, Gothic metal


139 have it
14 want it

01. Another Return
02. Lament
03. Unpayable Silence
04. Haunted
05. Desolation
06. Enlightenment
07. Tårefall
08. Infinite Fairytale
09. På Leting
10. Dancing With The Midnight Sun
11. Tapt Av Håp

Additional info
- All lyrics written by Carmen E. Espenæs, except Lament: lyrics by Christian Hector and Tapt Av Håp (Solveigs Sang): lyrics by Henrik Ibsen
- Produced by Alexander Krull & Midnattsol
- Recorded 2003/2004 by Alexander Krull at Mastersound-Studios in Fellbach (www.mastersoundstudio.de)
- Assistant Recording Engineers Martin Schmidt, Mathias Röderer & Thorsten Bauer
- Keyboards recorded 2004 by Stephan Adolph at SAD-Studio (soundartdesign@gmx.de)
- Additional Keyboards recorded at Mastersound Studios
- Mixed by Alexander Krull, Birgit Öllbrunner & Chris Merzinsky at Mastersound Studios
- Mastered by Alexander Krull at Mastersound Studios
- Design & Layout by fabianritterartworks (funritter@online.de) & Midnattsol
- Bandphotography by Jens Howorka (www.blendfabrik.com)
- Cover Artwork by Ingo Römling (www.monozelle.de)
- Cover-Picture of Carmen by Katja Piolka (www.piolka.de)
- Parts of the used landscapes were photographed by Daniel Fischer & Bernd Hector
- Prologue & epilogue by Christian Hector/Doreen Krase, translated by Carl Begai
- English lyrics & all additional texts proof-read by Carl Begai
- Midnattsol-logo by Chris Merzinsky, Birgit Öllbrunner

Staff review by
Midnattsol is the last new combo from Norway and "Where Twilight Dwells" is their first release through the Austrian label Napalm Records. Midnattsol plays a nice Gothic music with some Folk influcences. I say with "Folk Influences" because for sure this is not Folk Metal, we are more into Gothic Metal but however that's not really hard to have the feeling that the band wants to give a nice touch to their music and for sure some acoustic and traditional instruments are perfect to give nice melodies. Anyway, Folk or not, this album is one of the first good surprise when it comes to talk about the best newcomers of this beginning of the year 2005… And now of course you'll know why…

published 25.01.2005 | Comments (0)

Found in 4 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 6468 | This month: 6